WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Sequel Will NOT Focus on Events in Original 1968 Film

Posted: July 15th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Sequel Will NOT Focus on Events in Original 1968 FilmSubmit Comment
After watching "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," many see a way that director Matt Reeves can connect the current franchise to the original 1968 film, "Planet of the Apes."

But Reeves isn't interested in simply moving toward the original movie. He would much rather examine other stories that take place prior to it and see where Caesar and his descendants end up.

"I think some people assume that we're going to get back to the '68 film, like, next. And actually... no," he said. "People have asked me, 'Isn't it boring, because you know how it's going to end?' And I say that's the best part about it. How do we get from here to there?"

Reeves continued: "It could be many movies. I think there are a lot of interesting stories that come, not only from Caesar, but from what comes after Caesar, his children, and his children's children. What happens when humans return? All of those stories... it's so rich. And I think that it's so cool that we know how it ends without knowing how we get there. Because that becomes the fuel for these stories. So it's not going to be next, for sure. We are going to take a while to get there."

Reeves is already signed on to return for the third "Apes" movie, which is set to hit theaters on July 29th, 2016.

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 7:49:05 AM

I agree that this series could go much longer than a trilogy. There are a lot of stories that could be told, without milking it.
xtlhogciao writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:21:25 AM

Yeah. There's stil "Battle for the Planet of the Apes."
jafinbham writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:21:27 AM

Because if there's a film franchise that doesn't milk it, then it has got to be the Planet of the Apes franchise.

I remember being so relieved when they remade the original with Marky Mark. I'd always felt that Charlton Heston never really quite "nailed it" in the original. The iconic classic seemed to be missing something and I now know it was Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch. I only wished that the final scene could have shown Marky Mark ride up on the statue of liberty and screamed "feel the vibration!"
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 10:19:37 AM

Sad thing is sooner or later they'll drop the ball on this series and them they'll reboot asap.
Cannon writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 11:11:26 AM


Dawn was a generic, even downright cliché, script that was buoyed by some rather sophisticated filmmaking from Reeves, particularly concerning the film's numerous set-pieces.

So, while it's nice to see him returning for the third installment, I'd almost rather do something of his own making-and-vision that isn't merely servicing some preexisting franchise.

minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 6:12:43 PM

This whole movie series revolves around the machinations of a CGI ape.

We really have entered the dawn, not of the apes, but of synthetic film-making.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 6:45:29 PM

"Dawn was a generic, even downright cliché, script that was buoyed by some rather sophisticated filmmaking from Reeves, particularly concerning the film's numerous set-pieces."


In other words, Dawn of the Apes is no different than a thousand other summer tent-pole films made in the last fifteen years.

What were you expecting? Lawrence of Arabia? British Beetlemania? Ole Miss? John Glenn? Liston beats Patterson?

Pope Paul, Malcolm X, British Politician Sex
J.F.K. blown away, what else do I have to say

We didn't start the fire
It was always burning
Since the world's been turning
We didn't start the fire
No we didn't light it
But we tried to fight it




And so on and so forth.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:07:46 PM

Propafol, interne-xxx, Verne Troyer having sex
Star Wars Trilojay f*cked away
WHAT ELSE DO I HAVE TO SAY

i just smoked some fire
my whitetryintobemexicanneighbor had it
so i had to grab it
I just smoked some fire
and i bought a tall can to calm my nerves,man

(and by nerves i mean the frustration caused by the six chics at work)
Cannon writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:25:06 PM

"In other words, Dawn of the Apes is no different than a thousand other summer tent-pole films made in the last fifteen years."

Eh, I'd say it's far less obnoxious filmmaking and more respectable storytelling than, say, Pirates of the Caribbean or Transformers or Man of Steel ...at least one tier above the usual "thousand other" summer blockbusters, though I'm still not particularly a hardcore fan of the film either.

"What were you expecting?"

I wasn't necessarily expecting anything.



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved