WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" and "Boyhood" Impress Critics and Dominate Box Office

Posted: July 14th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" and "Boyhood" Impress Critics and Dominate Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The sequel to "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," called "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," took first place at the domestic box office this weekend, grossing $73 million, well ahead of the $55 million debut of its predecessor.

Internationally, the film earned another $31.1 million for a worldwide total of $104.1 million. It has yet to be released in much of the world due to the Worst Cup. At this point, however, the movie should have no problem surpassing the $481 million earned by "Rise of the Planet of the Apes."

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" cost $170 million to make and has an impressive 91% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. Just like with "Rise," many are expecting for Andy Serkis and 20th Century Fox to launch a campaign for Serkis to be considering for a Best Actor Oscar.

Meanwhile, Richard Linklater's "Boyhood," which stars Ethan Hawke and took over a decade to shoot, was released in five theaters and earned $359,000. That's $71,800 per theater, the second best performance of the year, behind "The Grand Budapest Hotel," which took in $202,792 from each theater.

"Boyhood" has a 100% fresh rating from over one hundred critics, which makes it the best-reviewed film of the summer so far.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Papillon writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:25:26 AM

"...in much of the world due to the Worst Cup."


You mean the World Cup, don't you?

Proofreading much?
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:36:47 AM

That was his futile shot at humor


He must of got laid


Or laid on
boogiel writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:38:53 AM

Boyhood sequel: Manhood
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:55:32 AM

May have to check out Dawn now.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 9:14:36 AM

God I hope that was an intentional mistake...f*ck soccer
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 9:15:05 AM

Can't be a mistake if it was intentional I guess..derp
Dre-EL writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 9:42:32 AM

"Worst Cup" huh, let me guess, your team didn't win.
To bad so sad
bye bye
Axl Gross writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:37:50 AM

I always find it funny how these reviews will say things like, "'Boyhood,' which stars Ethan Hawke and took over a decade to shoot," but they never elaborate on those things XD

Oh, and "Worst Cup" is funny, too. It almost makes you think it wasn't a typo, haha.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 12:08:08 PM

Hidden meaning creates humble balance.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 12:32:34 PM

@axl

Just google it man. They basically recorded a kid growing up over 10+ years and incorporated a story behind him.

So.. Who else was Happy Germany won the world cup!? I know I was lol had my flag out and my jersey on :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 5:49:20 PM

Jesus Christ, what's everyone saying? It been over 5 hours without a comment
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 6:59:28 PM

@Tanman
I'm glad Germany won. I root for Italy usually but that was a nice last minute goal.

@everyone
I admit I knew Dawn was going to be good. Andy Serkis is an incredible physical actor and the cast of Jason Clarke, Gary Oldman, and Keri Russell edge it out nice. I love Linklater films which are smart, emotional, and very philosophical. He hasn't made a movie I've seen that I've hated yet. Yet to see Waking Life though.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:05:02 PM

Alex is trashing soccer because it's a loser game played by dark-skinned sweating sissies, i.e., Germans, and not men, unlike American football where there's an actual sense of grueling physical competition and real winners and losers.

Soccer is for pansies, third-world leftists, people who believe everyone gets a gold star regardless of how well they play.

It's also a game so boring it makes American baseball look like The Running Man, or for tanman, Super Mario Kart.

As for the actual news...no one gives a f*ck.
lebowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:22:20 PM

mink you should try to play the game first and see for yourself if its not for men,just saying,now dont get mad and destroy me i enjoy your comments,oh and i wanna see this movie
cress writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:37:56 PM

Anyone seen ALAN PARTRIDGE: ALPHA PAPA? I thought it was hilarious. Steve Coogan cracked me up.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:45:32 PM

I've played soccer and it's nothing but standing around for hours. Way too "cooperative", way too little competition. Hardly even a sport, much less an awesome lone.

I'd rather play f*cking volleyball instead.

http://www.anncoulter.com/columns/2014-06-25.html
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:48:43 PM

Anyone seen NEED FOR SPEED? I thought it was atrocious. Aaron Paul f*cking sucks.

minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 7:50:32 PM

trutsky465 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:12:38 PM

Say what you will but linklater has come along way since dazed and confused.

and regarding DotPotA, haven't seen it yet, yet I surprisingly liked the 1st. The cast seems strong excluding Jason Clark. Never really cared for him as an actor. Prolly gonna give it viewing via download when I actually have time....

btw just finished fight clubs blu ray 10yr anniversary DVD. f*cking awesome. Anyone else watch it yet? Palahniuk and Fincher really know how to have fun and f*ck with their audiences.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:30:48 PM

"Worst Cup"

My guess he did watch the tournament after all...haha.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:58:42 PM

I used to be on a rugby team in San Diego
Now THATS a friggin manly sport

You get p*ssy because youre playing a mans sport
Not because youre playing a popular one
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 8:59:27 PM

Well popular to the fans that dont mind a game ending in 0-0
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 9:01:44 PM

A movie gets a fresh rating of 100 from a hundred critics and we dont hear about it
because of typo riddled Spiderman news
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:13:37 PM

Rugby IS many, more manly in some ways than American football (no padding, helmets, et cetera) but that doesn't fly in a nation increasingly pussified by losers who think the only sport people should play is one where neither team really loses and there's no chance of injury outside a hangnail.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:16:08 PM

That was a good 24 finale and of course it ended with another cliffhanger.

Rumor has it that the 24 panel at Comic-Con will announce another 12 episodes next weekend.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:16:53 PM

f*ck me, www.24spoilers.com has been slashdotted. That finale must have been balls to the wall crazy.


"Error 522 Ray ID: 14a27360c7bb067f
Connection timed out"


"The Slashdot effect, also known as slashdotting, occurs when a popular website links to a smaller site, causing a massive increase in traffic. This overloads the smaller site, causing it to slow down or even temporarily become unavailable."




Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:24:04 PM

@mink

It was very good and better than I thought it would be. The last lines of dialogue from Heller were very emotional.

Also mink, let's truce. I don't want to fight anymore and I miss when we had positive discourse as opposed to a pissing contest.

Think about it.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:25:53 PM

For all you f*ckers, Cat's Eye is out on BluRay. Pretty sure Dustin has ten copies already.

http://yts.re/movie/Cats_Eye_1985_1080p

Ugh. Dustin actually thinks Lake Placid has "ripened" with age. What the f*ck is that fat stupid f*ck smoking? Lake Placid is a downright stupid, tame "horror" film, ever more stupid and tame a decade plus later.

f*cker also thinks Under My Skin was a perfect film, probably because it has hairy c*ck shots.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:29:50 PM

"Also mink, let's truce. I don't want to fight anymore and I miss when we had positive discourse as opposed to a pissing contest."




I'm a man of war, not a man of peace, but since you asked like a decent human being, I'll give it a shot.

It's what Jack Bauer would do.



minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:34:59 PM

Under My Skin had some exceptional cinematography and great ambient music, but the plot, story, acting and dialogue undercut everything else.

Basically a really well-shot and edited mid-budget quasi-art house film with no commercial value whatsoever.

And ScarJo naked really killed any lust I had for her, especially in the scenes wherein her post-pregnancy fat spills over her vacuum-sealed jeans and I had to stare into rolling, roiling valleys of cow-cud cellulite.


The shot of her examining her genitals with a lamp didn't help sell the film as anything more than a ScarJo sexploitation project either.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:35:11 PM

@mink

Honestly I thought about it a lot today. I know I can say crazy sh*t but that's a product of stress from 2 jobs and such. I obviously like to talk and continue

Let's keep it wine and roses.

Also, I will miss the hell out of Jack Bauer when he really has his final curtain call. It's a trip to know this character started in 01 and had been such a part of a cultural lexicon of action/anti-heroes.

I would even argue that Jack Bauer now eclipses John McClane as a save-the-day character.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:36:06 PM

.,and*
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:42:01 PM

Robocop is one of the biggest heaps of cinematic trash ever made. A truly pointless film that not only fails to live up the original film in any meaningful way but also fails to live up to both the action/sci-fi genre and its owned damned reason for existing, i.e, exploring what it means to be a man locked inside a machine.

A muddling, meandering, flat mess of vapidity wrapped around a core of extraneous, useless exposition and CGI/VFX, although the ED209s were pretty cool, except for the part where RoboSlop jumps on top of one like a 1930's stop-motion bullriding film.

Horrible. Horrible f*cking film that should have never been made, one that's rendered Joel "Homeless Man" Kinnaman radioactive and ruined Padilha's nascent Hollywood career. I hope.

Tanman32123 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:45:29 PM

Who would want to buy Catseye on Blueray.. I don't think that's a movie I'll ever watch again.

Mink- I only watch soccer during the Euro and World cups. Other then that I could give a f*ck about soccer. I watch Hockey and Some Baseball and just started getting into Football 2 years ago.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:46:52 PM

@Deaf: The character of John McClane has one excellent film, two arguably average films, one barely-passable film, and one really, really horrible film.

Jack has 8.5 seasons of non-stop, tight, incendiary kickass action where his role never suffers, where he always delivers even when his supporting characters do, where he never fails to enthrall the audience even when the writing is, at best, mediocre, and where he is, always and forever, the quintessential American hero.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:50:30 PM

@Tanman: you didn't like Cat's Eye? It's one of King's better adaptations! Shaking my head at you. Great film. Features a young Barrymore, a youngish Woods and Alan King in one of his more memorable roles. And you get three stories for the price of one, all of which are entirely enjoyable on their own.

You make my prostate ache.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:54:05 PM

And I said that sh*t about soccer because American libtards like it, and they like it because America doesn't yet dominate it. They like soccer because it undercuts the notion America is "the greatest nation in the world". They hate that sh*t because they're such amazing patriots, I guess. Well f*ck them and f*ck their United Nations girly sport. And if America ever does get fully into soccer, we'll whoop ass like we always do.

f*cking communist one-worlders.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:57:41 PM

What I get when I go to 24spoilers.com

Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 10:58:11 PM

@mink

Yeah and also Jack Bauer is a seminal everyman that viewers can identify with and rationally justify his actions.

Bauer is also not throttled by a grab-bag of one-liners like McClane is.

The only way Old Habits Die Hard can be decent is if John McTiernan directs it and it has a hell of a good script.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:03:09 PM

Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:06:04 PM

Wtf that has to be the 2 Walker brothers. That's not Paul on the right.

Eerie pic nonetheless.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:07:06 PM

@Deeaf: I don't think there will be a new one, tbh, because the last one was so awful and universally reviled, Willis is no spring chicken and has a continually diminishing fan base, and Bruce wants too much damned money for a franchise that's hardly filling up theaters.

More than likely they'll reboot it as an action-comedy with Taters as McClane, Jonah Hill as Powell, and Jesse Eisenberg as Hans Gruber.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:09:05 PM

@mink

There was something I read, maybe on comingsoon.net that said a 6th and final Die Hard is planned. If you google it then it should come up.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:11:38 PM

Yep. That's his two brothers. Apparently everyone on Instagram wants to have their babies. Looks a little too much like the Aryan Nation, but whatever.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/14/tyrese-gibson-fast-and-furious-7-wrap-party_n_5584363.html?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592



I like how that one dude says the Walker brothers have excellent gene,s but then would blanch if you said something about minority genetics.


Speaking of brothers and f*cked-up genetics....compare that above image to this one:



What the f*ck is Lana/Larry/Loser going to do when he/she/it goes bald like his/her/its brother? Comb his/her/its ass hair up his/her/its back?
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:16:32 PM

@mink

Yeah f*ck the Wachowski abominations. I think it's hilarious that since Cloud Assless bombed and Poopiter Descending will bomb that WB is forcefully Godfathering them into making another Matrix trilogy.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:16:38 PM

@Deaf: yeah I read some of that. Seems Zeus may come back but McClane will go it alone like he did in the first one, supposedly in Tokyo as part of Nakatomi's 30th anniversary celebration of McClane's very first outing. Sounds like the script story is heading in the right direction, then.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:21:17 PM

@Deaf: According to LR, the W creatures submitted a draft to WB for consideration. Not really feeling that thought because I think they were empty after the first one and it's hard for me to imagine they have anything left to offer, especially after that sh*tty Cloud Atlas and Jupiter Ascending, which looks even f*cking worse. Didn't WB do Speed Racer too?

Christ, who are they sucking off to keep getting work?

And the Den of Geek people are insane. They actually think Reloaded and Revolutions are better than the first film.

http://www.denofgeek.com/movies/the-matrix/29538/rumours-resurface-of-new-matrix-trilogy

Christ, people will say just about anything to look different and unique and get attention.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:22:29 PM

@mink

Yeah i'd like to see Die Hard end on a high note in the final film. The 5th was such a joke that it made me depressed. A bad guy eating carrots? WTF!

Also the fake headed cgi Willis at the very end was just embarrasing. It was so obvious and uncanny valley-esque.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:28:14 PM

@mink

Revolutions was such a pile of sh*t. Setting nearly the entire film in the "Real Dirty Long Johns World" killed any sense of excitement. Asking the audience to care about the fate of Zion held no weight since it was barely established in Reloaded.

Bad Screenwriting 101 comes to mind when it comes to Matrix2&3. The Neo/Smith battle which was DBZ via bad CGI was just as dreadful.
trutsky465 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:31:21 PM

@Deaftone, you're right, die hard is planned. I read Jackson will be back and its gonna Hans Grubers sister this go around. Tired plot tired actors sh*tty directors with greedy hands = the death of an awesome franchise.
trutsky465 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:36:51 PM

And really the plots are so thin now. They were prolly meant for something else, then Willis gets his hands on something and has the names changed. I mean what was that opening scene in last die hard, good day to sucky f*cky? Prolly some of the worst acting Brucy Bruce has mustard out in his career. Lazy,egotistical and sleep walking are clearly Bruce's methods for acting now.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:41:09 PM

@Deaf: most people get that the final battle between Neo and Smith was totally cribbed from DBZ, but many people miss that the "epic" battle on top of the semi in Reloaded was stolen wholecloth from a scene in the DBZ Android Saga IIRC. That's what I mean when I say they're empty. Seriously, are they going to steal from Dragon Ball GT next? Ugh.

And bad writing is right. Still trying to figure out why Reloaded and Revolutions made Neo a cameo in his own film and why there were so many secondary characters that were either neglected or poorly developed, such as the annoying bald kid and the Zion elder council. The guy screaming whilst firing from his APC was also annoying, and there seemed to be no real concern from the audience if Zion survived because we were never allowed to connect with any of its citizens.

The endless gobbledegook didn't help alleviate the story's shortcomings either, although I think the W creatures thought otherwise.

More Matrix films? No thanks. Just give me an HD trailer for the original film already.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:43:46 PM

@trutsky

Yeah my worry is that Fox will throw together some sorry-ass script, pay Bruce Willy his 20 mil to smirk, and just look the other way in hopes of this 6th Die Hard clearing $250 mil worldwide, then calling it a day.

I hope i'm wrong but by a 6th film all bets are off.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:48:24 PM

@mink

Yeah, my prediction for more Matrix movies is overwrought production values like Cloud Atlas and what you see in the Jupiter Ascending trailers. No sense of subtlety at all.

Neo will return as a big swinging sloppy d*ck and plotlines will be ignored and it will be all black leather and bravado.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:52:26 PM

Mink-

To be honest I haven't seen it since I was about 13 or 14. I don't recall to much from the film but I could give it another go. Maybe I'll enjoy it much more as an adult.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2014 at 11:52:52 PM

@Crambo

Yeah it was definitely something else. Very emotional and in the spirit of what 24 has been.

10/10
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 2:10:44 AM

Cannot believe they did the two things I was sure they wouldn't: kill Audrey and send Jack to Russia.

So this is how the series ends? Not with a bang befitting 24 but a whimper befitting Dexter?

You lost me, dude.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved