WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Loses Writer, is the Franchise in Trouble?

Posted: July 13th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Loses Writer, is the Franchise in Trouble?Submit Comment
"The Amazing Spider-Man" films have been very profitable for Sony Pictures, but failed to surpass the success of Sam Raimi's original trilogy. With the studio planning to expand the Spider-Man universe, the hope was that "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" would have performed better.

The next film in the pipeline is "The Amazing Spider-Man 2," which is set to hit theaters on June 10th, 2016. But now comes word that Sony is having some difficulties, which may result in the delay of the third film and possibly change the release plan of the spin-off films, "The Sinister Six" and "Venom."

In a new interview with IGN, Robert Orci, who was hired along with Alex Kurtzman to write "The Amazing Spider-Man 3," revealed that he's no longer attached to the project and that he's no longer aware of the franchise's future.

"I don't know what their plans are for that franchise," he explained. "I've read probably as much as anyone else. Spider-Man's not going to go away any time soon. When it all happens and how has yet to be determined."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 7:04:16 AM

Good! Keep it that way! May be it will save us from that sh*t franchise.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 7:23:18 AM

"The Amazing Spider-Man 2," which is set to hit theaters on June 10th, 2016"

Proofread you jackass!!
trutsky465 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 8:47:34 AM

Phew. Orici can't write or direct. Now please fire his ass from star trek and those two franchises might actually have a chance of not even surviving but turn out to be up to par...
besides what else would the studio executives think from the guy who brought us cowboys and aliens.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 11:38:46 AM

I didn't realize how many franchises Orci and Kurtzman have destroyed! I mean Spider-Man, Star Trek, Transformers. These need to be stopped! They have no taste for any of these franchises and have never tried to capture what makes each franchise unique.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 12:30:46 PM

overhyped, didn't even see the 2nd film yet and don't intend to unless i got payed to waste the time
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 2:58:55 PM

You know it's funny I saw Ender's Game, based off the book from the 80's as you all know, and I have to say the problem with a lot of modern films is something that encompasses the problems in atmosphere, character development, and so forth...specificity. I saw Amazing Spider-Man 1 and all these films and they are such general concepts.

They don't have specific markers to separate them from others like them. I imagine I'll eventually watch ASM2, but I know it's just really lame generality that separates the great classics from modern, mass audience-pleasers. Now Ender's Game was far from a classic. Tearing out half the juicy elements from the books does that to a film, but it was still more interesting compared to others.

If it were a perfect world I'd stop publication of YA novels, call Raimi back to direct Spider-Man, and have a mass reckoning of Hollywood's now idiotic leadership in studios. I know integrity doesn't exist anymore in Hollywood, minus the old dogs for the most part and a few exceptional new people, but my God it's a slap in the face now. And Orci, who went out and told fans of Star Trek they have to deal with what he writes even if it's not at all like Star Trek, is a leading problem/example. There is no passion anymore.

It's as if "Eye of the Tiger" became a slogan for people. All about the glory, not about the passion.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 3:00:42 PM

I meant that line specifically from "Eye of the Tiger". I'm just way too tired to give a sh*t if that part doesn't make sense.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 3:19:22 PM

@Sleuth

TASM 2 gave me an even worse headache than Transformers AoE. It's just a mess of a movie. Spider-Man 3 is a classic by comparison.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 5:04:56 PM

@Deaft0ne
I'm so sorry you had to endure that. LOL Course I always thought "Spider-Man 3" wasn't as bad as everyone said. Minus the poor use of Venom I could get behind the whole movie's concept.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 7:29:50 PM

The "franchise" fell into trouble the day Sony decided to reboot Raimi's trilogy in favor of Marc Webb's plagiarized bullsh*t that merely recapitulated what Raimi had previously done.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 8:16:21 PM

This new franchise shouldn't have started in the first place. TAMS2 had pretty colors, but the Oscorp nonsense and Peter & Gwen's will they won't they dribble completely destroyed any and all character development.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 9:51:31 PM

Best news I have heard since the World Cup final....
jafinbham writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 6:57:15 AM

That last piece of sh*t was so horrible that some of the fight scenes literally looked like a cartoon. CGI crap. It looked like animation for christ's sake. And didn't Sony invent computer generated....everything. I mean they're Sony. I know damn well that they can do CGI better than that...on their Vaio's.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved