WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 11th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," which is a sequel to "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" has an impressive 91% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that the new film is smart and entertaining summer blockbuster, while also being visually stunning. However, despite all the positives, some still feel that "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is a better film.

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" cost $170 million to make and should easily earn the $55 million that "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" earned during its opening weekend. "Rise" went on to gross $480 million worldwide.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 7:39:42 AM

why can't you wait til Sunday to post this? it would make more sense, since you will be posting more updates in the next two days(presumably), and it will knock this down the headline ladder significantly. Once that happens, most people will not even bother posting their review in this thread and will only post it in the thread at the top of the ladder. Really, Alex, how long have you been running this site? Don't you know this by now?
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:13:50 AM

From what I hear it's really good. I'll see it on Monday, unfortunately I work during the weekend. Also, I think I'll finally start reviewing movies on thus website, since been visiting for so many years now. I usually review on Rotten Tomatoes, but it's linked to my Facebook and no one gives a sh*t there. I'll start with this movie, then Blade Runner because I recently watched for the first time. So if anyone's interested, my reviews are brief.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:15:22 AM

Sorry for the grammar, using a phone.
Papillon writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:27:19 AM

Didn't know that it was even out yet!

But what Cress said. Obviously.
cress writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:27:39 AM

@codeman. The proprieter of this used car lot has gotten lazy or doesn't give a sh*t anymore about his website. He no longer posts Putnam's reviews anymore, and thus we can no longer post our own reviews either, unless it's in a thread. I used to post a lot of reviews, but I'm now limited to posting reviews in the threads, which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:46:13 AM

@cress Damn that's actually disappointing, I never seem to have a solid home for my reviews. We gotta migrate to a new website, this just doesn't do it for me anymore, it does feel lazier. Anyway, I gave Blade Runner a 9.5/10. It was the on film by Ridley Scott I hadn't seen (besides The Counsler) and now it's my favorite. I just loved the atmosphere, and I went into it knowing nothing about it so I was pleasantly surprised it was this noirlistic, layered detective story and not a sci-fi shoot 'em up. Definitely in my top 10 now.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:51:47 AM

Its superior to Rise and that's saying something... it was wonderful. 9.5/10
cress writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:54:16 AM

@codeman. Yeah, i watched "the final cut" about two weeks ago. Still awesome and visionary. ALIEN is my favorite Scott film.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 9:00:16 AM

I'll still wait for the blu ray.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 9:06:43 AM

ALIEN is definitely a close, close second. Back on topic, I actually didn't think Rise was great. I really enjoyed it and there were a few parts that really stood out, but there were just a couple things I didn't care too much for, like the whole virus thing. I guess I didn't want it to be as simple as something man made instead of something evolutionary.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 11:11:42 AM

Cress knows what's up lol
I'll probably see this Tuesday.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 12:08:47 PM

RAMBOs been gettin into the stool hardeners again
DEEPNECROSYS writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 1:03:02 PM

Don't care.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 3:39:25 PM

The future will be a reflection of unparalleled human observation.
cress writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 6:34:02 PM

I just got out about a half hour ago, and I'll probably repost this in a Sunday thread, but here goes....

PHENOMENAL.

10/10.

FOUR STARS.

Whatever superlatives you can think of is how I feel about this film. One of the best sequels ever. Everything is perfect. The story, the direction, the music, the acting (Oldman is extremely good in his small role). Everything was perfect. I actually went in with lowered expectations because I didn't want to be let down by all the positive reviews I've seen in the press, but I was almost in tears in the first 15 minutes. It's everything that a big-budget Hollywood film should be, yet we are constantly fed schlock like TRANSFORMERS mediocrity and it makes us bad mouth the machine that churns it out. THIS is a towering film that rises above the level of summer popcorn fare. Matt Reeves did an amazing job. Bravo, sir. You nailed it. Give this guy whatever he wants, Hollywood. Caesar/Serkis is just...wow. It was moving, tense, action- packed, and it f*cking had HEART. I haven't been this floored by a film in quite sometime.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 7:06:54 PM

Missed my screening of Dawn so settled for Transformers instead. I would have been better off jumping off the nearest bridge. Terrible film.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 7:27:56 PM

Cress- reading that alone makes me want to go see it now.
DriveMemento writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 8:24:26 PM

It was good but the raid 2 was better
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 11th, 2014 at 9:47:39 PM

im sold cress
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:19:02 AM

Lurking.

Tanman32123 writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:21:10 AM

Beware the all seeing eye! ^
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:36:24 AM

^^Beware the all-crying homo!
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:37:24 AM

Tanman at a bar:

minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:40:22 AM

Tanman's Plenty-of-Fish image




(remember, Tanman's the guy who, a few years back, tried to convince us Justin Bieber was a talented, worthy musician....bet no one but I recalls that one...)
BillyBunter writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:43:34 AM

I can't wait to see this now, you guys got me looking forward to this with the reviews coming in.
I saw boyhood tonight and that was one heck of movie, genuine, ambitious and a real nod to film making as a whole. Worth going to watch with some fantastic performances.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 3:47:06 AM

" come on,tanman,where's your comeback ?"

Come is always on tanman's back...
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 6:17:18 AM

I like to rep the Canadians, what can I say lol
No come back needed my friends.
Raider writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 10:03:55 AM

I feel as if this movie depicts what it's like to have Obama as president.
cress writes:
on July 12th, 2014 at 6:51:27 PM

See...

This is what I'm talking bout, Alex. No one is commenting here about their APE film experience. Move it to Sunday, goddammit.
UnNameable_One writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 1:04:42 AM

Saw it Friday night.......damn good movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 10:22:38 AM

Hearing so many positive reviews of this film. Can't wait to see it today. Thx for the info guys.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 10:23:41 AM

Go Argentina!!! f*ck zee Germans.
FilmStud writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 10:27:35 AM

Here is my mini review- There are SPOILERS in my review.
SPOILER WARNING:
First Act felt like a mini doc*mentary on the Ape life. More Ape than humanoid. Why they used sign language was never really explained since they were taught to speak and write evidence by the big red monkey teaching the younger ones next to some big rock and by there use of English later on in the film. A human just so happens to run into two apes and he shoots one of them just for looking creepy not because of the incident on the bridge ten year prior. That's right 10 years has passed since the last movie in this one but for some reason there is a huge population in San Francisco living in an enclosed space. I don't know about anyone else but if I had 10 years to think about where to live San Francisco would be last on my list. Just a few hours from there are unused crops and land that stretches for miles and miles in the Central Valley. There is no indication in the film that any of them were starving leaving one to ponder what they were eating all this time. Didn't see many human babies in the film so maybe it was like Terminus. Then there is the scene when Scarface Ape manages to acquire an M-4 Rifle and kill two pointless extras. This rifle just happens to be a magic rifle that never runs out of rounds and doesn't require any sort of specific training to operate. Then a few scenes later the Jihad of Apes manage to retrieve numerous magic rifles with no prior training and conquer the humans never needing to reload (which they would not even know how to do) . But not all is lost because Dreyfus played by Gary Oldman has somehow managed to escape a hell fire of apes and rig explosives under the ape tower. The main character Malcolm played by Jason Clarke was great at convincing every character in the movie his ideas without a use of a weapon but for some reason decides he will pull a rifle on Dreyfus in this one instance. This would not have been a problem if the character development didn't already establish Dreyfus was a man who was willing to listen and reason with Malcolm. So what is there next to do except have the character of Dreyfus go Jihad himself and blow himself up to quote "save the human race". What? After surviving 10 years Dreyfus was not the kind of character to blow himself up. (Especially since the explosion didn't cause the tower to crumble anyways- making his suicide worthless and plotless) Malcolm magically survives the explosion. So basically two main characters make a weird and dramatic change to their characters at he end that makes no sense. The movie does great on most of the story development other than what I mentioned and the CGI was flawless. Andy Serkis in my humble opinion does deserve some academy recognition on this one. The struggle between father and son was well established. It was a nice twist from the original to have Caesar fall to his presumed death and not his son. Wished someone set off a nuclear bomb in this one and end with the astronauts returning to earth but perhaps they won't introduce the bombs in this version. Also would have been cool at the end when Malcolm and Dreyfus were in the subway tunnels to have discovered people that didn't quite survive the virus and weren't quite human either or having the surviving humans slowly turning into these human hybrids. Unlike the first one filled with homage of the original movies this one has somehow managed to milk this franchise for Apes 3.
FilmStud writes:
on July 13th, 2014 at 10:38:42 AM

Sorry for the grammatical mistakes. Next time I will write in a word doc*ment and after doing my corrections I will paste it. Reads like a child at the beginning but I hope if I do enough of these my writing style will improve.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved