WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" Role

Posted: July 7th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" RoleSubmit Comment
In a recent interview with Total Film magazine, Guy Pearce spoke about how he turned down roles in such comic book films as "Daredevil" and "Batman Begins," and why he eventually decided to take the main villain role in "Iron Man 3."

"My agent was certainly very excited by the prospect of 'Iron Man 3,' and I knew it would be seen by a lot more people [than my previous films did]," he explained. "But for me, it was just a case of going, 'Well, this will be fun. I like Robert Downey Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow and I like what they did before. When I watched the first one, I thought, 'Wow, there's something different here.'"

Pearce continued: "Shane [Black], who directed the third, had been a fan of mine, apparently. He called up and I had a meeting with him and he said, 'We're not allowed to give you the script but I can tell you all about it.' He ran me through the whole story over lunch. It sounded really interesting. But I did end up saying to my agent, 'I'm not going to do this movie until they show me the script.' And my agent went, 'They really don't want to show you the script.' So I said I wasn't going to do it. They sent me the script via link. 'You have two hours to read it before your computer blows up!' And it was fine - it was exactly what we'd talked about. It's even better than I thought it was going to be; I think it's a great movie."

Source: Total Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 8:57:19 AM

I liked him in the role. Really underrated actor IMO. The movie itself though, was a crap.
Attos writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 9:01:30 AM

^Agreed.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 9:19:41 AM

The 3 rd should a been so much more.
Papillon writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 9:54:05 AM

His best performance was still in Memento and L.A. Confidential IMO.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 5:15:15 PM

so good in memento
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 5:23:56 PM

Zzzzzzzzz.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 7th, 2014 at 8:13:47 PM

If you see IronMan3 in the bigger picture of the Marvel Universe then IM3 was and is actually quite good.

jafinbham writes:
on July 8th, 2014 at 5:16:47 AM

Those earlier roles he turned down simply lacked the ability to breathe fire. That's what he was evidently holding out for.

He did Memento and LA Confidential but his agent was excited about Iron Man 3 and Prometheus? Hey Guy, fire your dumb ass agent. They suck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved