WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Posted: June 27th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the WorksSubmit Comment
We recently heard that Universal Pictures is interested in a sequel to Guillermo del Toro's "Pacific Rim." And now comes word that the studio has scheduled the new film to hit theaters on April 7th, 2017.

Del Toro will return to direct. He'll also co-write the script with Zak Penn (The Incredible Hulk, X-Men: The Last Stand). The sequel will be released in conventional theaters, as well as 3D and IMAX.

Del Toro also revealed that a "Pacific Rim" animated TV series is in the works. Storylines for either project are being kept a secret.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:34:11 AM

I think it would be better if it's an animated series that work like sequel.
cress writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:50:16 AM

Please no Charlie Hunnam. Or that Asian chick. Or even PACIFIC RIM 2.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:01:19 AM

The first was a good popcorn flick a second is not needed.
boogiel writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:02:24 AM

One pacific rim was enough.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:06:04 AM

Make it a prequel and recast the lead actor. He's terrible in everything (including that wanna tough guy biker show).
cress writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:07:51 AM

Didn't Universal step in and greenlight HELLBOY 2, after Columbia passed on doing a sequel because they saw limited box office appeal? And HELLBOY 2 didn't do very well at the box office (THE DARK KNIGHT was released the following weekend). Needless to say, no studio is clamoring to jump in the HELLBOY business again anytime soon.
So Universal is picking up the option on another Del Toro sequel that may or may not be worth their money. This sounds like a dumb move.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:10:18 AM

Sons of Anarchy has been a great series since season 1 and I can't wait for the 7th and final season in September. Charlie Hunnam is good on it but I agree he was miscast in Pacific Rim.

I wish GDT would make Hellboy III first but I will go see a PR sequel because the first was a lot of fun.

Cannon writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:36:28 AM


I mean, yeah, okay, I guess. Keep the fun and superb visual effects. Even the cast was fine ...just write a beter script.

elrei writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 11:12:22 AM

I really hope that by animated TV series they mean ANIME. Right?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 11:30:29 AM

In more interesting news! Here's a list of all the Stephen King related projects goin on!

http://touch.denofgeek.us/denofgeekus/#!/entry/every-stephen-king-movie-and-tv-show-in-development,53ad6330025312186c238609
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 12:28:38 PM

i remember going to go see the 1st one when it came out but i changed my mind and saw something else at the last minute boy was that one of my best judgements i ever made lol.

Guillermo del Toro must be thinking i was james cameron kept his mouth shut by telling him to do his own work and not to direct the hobbit
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 12:56:26 PM

It would be promising if this was still the 80's and we still had Starblazers, Robotech and Voltron showing on television without cable as mainstays, but unless they outsource this to a studio like the ones that did Ghost in the Shell and Akira, then this will be a "lets throw this on the wall and see what sticks" type of thing. Not promising.

A live-action sequel ? Didn't they successfully close the gate (ala StarGate) ? If so, why need a sequel ?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 1:34:36 PM

^$$$^
Words of Wisdom writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 4:29:36 PM

Self-doubt is a fireball.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 4:48:45 PM

http://io9.com/in-transformers-4-michael-bay-urges-you-to-demolish-th-1596868907
FBO writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 5:49:35 PM

I still contend that Hunnam was perfectly cast. Remember that over half of acting is following the director's instructions.

I think Pacific Rim was designed to feel like a live action anime movie. Hence, the acting and romance where purposely stiff and calculated. In that regard both he and Kikuchi (had to look up her name) nailed their parts as per Guillermo's direction.

Now we could argue the merits of producing a live action anime film and whether or not it works, but I am with BadChad on this, Pacific Rim was a great popcorn movie that does not warrant a sequel. They need to leave it as a stand alone movie.
vincere01 writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:12:09 PM

f*ck this sh*t. First was horrible and made michael bays films look like masterpieces. Everything people complain about bay for will go moreso against this movie.

In bays films he at least has a somewhat decent enough story and good acting (mostly) but pacific rim was just bad on all accounts.

The sequel will make even less money here in the U.S. and less worldwide. Asia cant save every monster movie, and if thats who they are going after, and clearly they are, then just release it there. Dont even bring it to the US
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:19:51 PM

All the original cast is coming back, so really, unless you want to see more rock-em sock-em robots, not much point in the sequel.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:45:51 PM

@"Maverick" (whoever you really are): left you a reply. You know where. Love to carry on our little debate. :D
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:48:30 PM

Regarding why Japan surrendered, here's the Japanese Emperor's own words:


Moreover, the enemy has begun to employ a new and most cruel bomb, the power of which to do damage is, indeed, incalculable, taking the toll of many innocent lives. Should we continue to fight, not only would it result in an ultimate collapse and obliteration of the Japanese nation, but also it would lead to the total extinction of human civilization.

Such being the case, how are We to save the millions of Our subjects, or to atone Ourselves before the hallowed spirits of Our Imperial Ancestors? This is the reason why We have ordered the acceptance of the provisions of the Joint Declaration of the Powers....

The hardships and sufferings to which Our nation is to be subjected hereafter will be certainly great. We are keenly aware of the inmost feelings of all of you, Our subjects. However, it is according to the dictates of time and fate that We have resolved to pave the way for a grand peace for all the generations to come by enduring the unendurable and suffering what is unsufferable.





Read it an weep. Maverick. lol.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:50:23 PM

Emphasis added:

Moreover, the enemy has begun to employ a new and most cruel bomb, the power of which to do damage is, indeed, incalculable, taking the toll of many innocent lives. Should we continue to fight, not only would it result in an ultimate collapse and obliteration of the Japanese nation, but also it would lead to the total extinction of human civilization.



I love how people try to tell me what the f*ck I know when they don't know what the f*ck they don't know.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 7:51:59 PM

This is the reason why We have ordered the acceptance of the provisions of the Joint Declaration of the Powers....

This is the reason. Boom. QED motherf*cker.
vincere01 writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 8:58:34 PM

^^^^id say the napalming of tokyo was as bad or worse than the bombs. With nukes the majority were dead instantly and ofcourse radiation killed many after the fact.

But fire bombing the biggest city, with fire that endured most fire fighting techniques, and having to die slowly by fire, and some even watching others literally burn alive. Not to mention all the screams of agony heard all day and night following.

That day must have literally felt like being in the inferno of hell
vincere01 writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 9:09:15 PM

@mink

But to ur point the atomic bombs were the reason that they surrendered. And that was the whole idea behind even using them.

With every island the US took by force, the death toll was climbing exponentially. Not just pure amounts, but overall percentages of troops sent in. They were losing way more than they were killing.

I think up til hiroshima the marines death toll the marines were taking was getting unholy. Something like 5,000 for every 1,000 japs killed. So when considering that the japenese people were bound by duty to their emperor to fight to the last man, woman or child...

I think the final figure estimate was that it would take between 6 and 10 million soldiers dead to take mainland japan. No president would have gone un-impeached if they allowed that kind of death toll while also having the weapon to end the war available and not used it.

And once used even japans emperor knew he had no chance, but at least he had the knowledge and honor to not force his people to endure anymore bombs.

Just think how different today would be if america had conquered mainland japan? Its possible that the japenese as we know them could for sake if argument be extinct or at the very least endagered. That entire island nation could have become a desolate nuclear wasteland with no population. Just buoys set up at the 200 mile mark in the ocean to stay away or risk radiation posioning.

They should really make one of those alternate history movies about this. We had those philidelphia experiment movies involving what if hitler and germany had won the war. Why not? Am I the only one who would find this interesting?
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2014 at 11:00:48 PM

@Sleuth: they have a number of non-fiction books that explore alternate histories, like what if Japan and Germany had won World War 2. Here's one of them

http://www.amazon.com/What-If-Foremost-Military-Historians/dp/B00B558TSO

Great book. Used to own it and its sequel.


Anyway, my point in responding to "Maverick", whoever he or she is, is that no less an authority than the very Emperor of Japan explicitly stated that The Bomb (Little Boy and Fat Man) were the reasons for Japan's capitulation. Not the Soviets, although the USSR declaring war and invading Manchuria had some minimal impact on their decision.

And yes, Japan sent out feelers to Mother Russia at some point, a few times in fact, but they were hardly genuine and more of a political manipulation to win the war without fighting it to a successful conclusion. Only after nuking Hiroshima and Nagasaki did the Japanese even consider surrender to America and the Allies. And that's it. Revise history all you want, but them be the facts, and all the America-hating revisionism won't change a damned thing.

I'd also take issue with those who idiotically claim the USSR "won" World War 2, but that's another argument for another time.



"id say the napalming of tokyo was as bad or worse than the bombs. With nukes the majority were dead instantly and ofcourse radiation killed many after the fact"


I'd disagree for two reasons: first, the damage caused by one atomic bomb was greater than the firebombing, and two, though the destruction of Tokyo did initiate Japan's interest in a peaceful finale to the war, it in itself did not force Japan to capitulate.

Certainly the effect was felt among the Emperor, but another six long ugly months transpired before Japan finally surrendered.

Really, I think after Tokyo's aerial bombardment only the Emperor desired peace, if only to save his people, while the military was probably still pushing ahead for combat.



"That entire island nation could have become a desolate nuclear wasteland with no population. Just buoys set up at the 200 mile mark in the ocean to stay away or risk radiation poisoning."

America had the two bombs, and though the US made Japan think we possessed many more, there was an inability to churn them out like we wanted or needed.

And I really think that if we had bombed every Nipponese city, Japan would still be habitable today. Certainly Hiroshima and Nagasaki are fully inhabited, and unlike Fukushima, the effects of an atomic blast dissipate since there isn't a leaking an exposed radiative core, e.g., Chernobyl. Basically once the radiation dissipates, the area becomes much more inhabitable.

Certainly though had we fought that nation as we might have in lieu of The Bomb, we might now call Japan our 51st state.



What you said about the military death tolls is true, of course, and the closer we got to Japan the harder the battles became, in part due to mainland loyalty and in part because there was a larger number of Japs.

Makes you wonder what Hitler would have made of Operation Sea Lion if he had nukes instead of mere V2s.

Oh, what a moron. Had that f*ck not had to bail out Mussolini's idiotic southern lapdogging, the Wehrmacht would had started earlier on Operation Barbarossa, and General Winter wouldn't have thwarted the Germans so easily. Certainly, coming that close to Moscow only to be defeated by stretched supply lines and frozen fuel had to have blown The Fuhrer's mind.

Regardless, Hitler had to have it all and all at once.

He should have deprived the Allies of Britain, which became the world's largest aircraft carrier during the war, thus preventing Normandy; he should have invested in large battleship groups (not that post-Versailles pocketship crap) instead of U-boats that lost their usefulness once Allies ships learned how to find them; and he should have secured Italy, either by ousting Benito or by outright invading the damned nation. Only then should he have attempted an invasion of Russia. And you know what? He would have won. The Eurasia would have been divided into two spheres: one Japanese, the other Nazi. They could have carved up Africa next. Not to mention Germany had planes for long-range stealth-like bombers plus a nuclear program that died because Hitler forced most of Germany's top physicists to emigrate to the US, hence OUR nuclear program.

Oh, if Hitler had been kinder to the Jews and not such a f*cking moron, he really could have had his Third Reich.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 28th, 2014 at 12:21:54 AM

Well said mink^

I wish I could join in on this conversation but frankly I don't know enough about the history at hand to make a valid argument. I however find it very educational, which is always a good thing.
Mickael writes:
on June 28th, 2014 at 2:23:13 AM

I like movies. But Pacific Rim was not one of them. Nothing redeeming in the first one for a sequel.
vincere01 writes:
on June 28th, 2014 at 11:21:19 AM

@mink

Side note it was me talking and not sleuth.

Bqck to my point on fire bombing tokyo. My point wasnt that it did more or less destruction, thats somewhat debatable. Im just saying the effect on the psyche of the population watching the city burn and everyone dying a slow agonizing death was more traumatic. Be it the biggest japenese city also helps
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2014 at 6:32:53 PM

@Vincere: my apologies, dude.
vincere01 writes:
on June 28th, 2014 at 7:55:19 PM

@mink

Np

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved