WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"22 Jump Street" Sets Father's Day Record at Box Office, "How to Train Your Dragon 2" Close Behind

Posted: June 15th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"22 Jump Street" Sets FatherSubmit Comment
"22 Jump Street," the sequel to "21 Jump Street" that stars Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill, has secured the top spot at the domestic box office with earnings of $60 million, the second best result for an R-rated comedy, behind "The Hangover: Part II" ($86 million). It did, however, set the Father's Day record.

The original movie hit theaters in 2012 and opened to $36.3 million. It went on to gross $202 million worldwide. "22 Jump Street" almost doubled the result and has an impressive 83% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend was "How to Train Your Dragon 2," which had to settle for second place with $50 million, despite opening in almost 1,000 more theaters than "22 Jump Street."

The new animated film, which has a 92% fresh rating, was expected to open north of $55 million, but still beat the original movie, which opened in 2011 to $43.7 million. It went on to gross almost $500 million worldwide.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Attos writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 9:31:29 PM

Casey Kasem died on Father's Day.
Sucks.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:13:02 PM

Right because you two went back, right? The man passed away in old age. Nothing tragic at all. I wonder why humans must make themselves feel a certain way about something, that which has nothing to do with personally at all. As for this news. Its not news at all. A sequel to a sh*tty idea and another animated film. Its all prequels, sequels', comic book and animated films. Most of them all are done poorly to begin with.
triggax writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:38:54 PM

Idiot^

Weekend box office numbers, typical news stories on just about every movie site on the internet.

Yah. Not news at all.

Sour f*cking idiot. Casey Kasem dying is a sad event, not because anyone here knew him personally but these so called humans tend to follow certain peoples careers in media and these certain broadcasters that have lengthy careers like Kasem could have very potentially influenced someones life enough to give a sh*t about his death.

Before trying to be the cool guy that just doesn't give a sh*t. Try using your f*cking head first. Brainless *sshole.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:48:56 PM

Humans passing away at old is not tragedy, its part of life. Because you knew who he was via a tv show and some lame ass yrs eve bullsh*t. No I'm realistic, if he had been murdered car crash that I could see. People are way too emotional about things that have nothing to do with them. Say your rest in peace ECT. That's fine but making something personal that which is not, is a default behavior people learn. But hey its nice to see trig come out and contribute to the tread.
triggax writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:53:06 PM

Who the f*ck are you? What could you possibly know about my contributions to this bullsh*t place, you've been a member for all of 11 days.

Thank you for filling us in on how we should feel about death, though.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:53:38 PM

And ill bet dollars to donuts you think birth is a miracle which happens every seven minutes on this planet. Or what about the other countless elderly people who pass away everyday. Would you morn them too?
trutsky465 writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 11:55:07 PM

Actually I've been on here for a long time, its just for some reason I had to create a new account. Been here since 09
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:21:45 AM

Amen trigg lol
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:40:01 AM

Someone let the trolls out again^^^^^
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:43:24 AM

"is not tragedy"

Nobody said it was tragic. How can you deny that someone's death (knowing them or not) can be sad? People mourn the death of strangers all the time, there's nothing wrong with doing so. Get a grip yo.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:00:45 AM

"get a grip yo"? Who are you, Aaron Pauls downsymdromed stunt double. And say what will. But to quote Cormac McCarthy"truth has no temperature". Did you morn what Maya Angelou passed away a few weeks ago, who had way more of a positive influence on the masses? No, like I said before, say your respects is fine. But saying it sucks or anything with a underbelly of sadness is just stupid when you don't know the person and they died the "ideal" way of old age. Yea he had a successful career. Good for him and his family. But grief should be reserved for those who knew the one who passed away at old age.
is it a sad time for his family/friends, most likely but for everyone else who didn't know this person, there is no reason. So once again tanny boy, I'm being realistic, not emotional about something that has nothing to do with me. I'm not a spot light whore
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:05:49 AM

Hey trutsky you dumb sh*t, d*ck Clark hosted New Year's Rockin' Eve and he died in 2012.

Casey Kasem hosted Top 40 Countdowns on the radio for decades and was very influential in helping the careers of many artists with exposure like Michael Jackson, Aerosmith, Whitney Houston and Pat Benatar to name a few.

He was very well-known and well-liked by generations of people.
telur writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:06:01 AM

impressive, we will get 23 jump street in 3D
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:11:29 AM

trutsky is quoting the worst film of last year, The Counselor.

The script for that was so cornball and preposterous with pretentiousness that it tells me Cormac McCarthy is either severely senile or out of ideas for prose.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:17:54 AM

@dt yea you can tell how much I give a sh*t about "rockin new years eve" and the top 40. A kid locker a drug addict a Mick jagger wanna be and that just leaves one badass. And while I get what you are saying. He didn't find the talent. The people decided what was good music and he just introduced the musicians after they did the work. You can say for his time, he was the most successful hype man. Playing by verbatim what others told him to.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:19:17 AM

Kid licker* f*cking auto correct
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:22:49 AM

Actually I read the f*cking book about ten yrs ago dumbass. Thanks for playing though.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:26:52 AM

Gee, I wonder who Trutsky is....

But I don't disagree with him.

Dude was 82. He had a full, long life, and he wasn't doing sh*t with it towards the end. And people die. Big deal. Film at eleven.


Moving on...great news if you're a Taters fan, or a fan of the original. I'm neither. But hey, good for everyone else.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:28:50 AM

"that it tells me Cormac McCarthy is either severely senile or out of ideas for prose."

lol, but no, seriously though, there was no where for him to go but down after Blood Meridian. And easy cash is easy cash. Not like Stephen King didn't write some really terrible sh*t for tv and film, and a lot of that was when he was young.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:30:51 AM

I swear though, leave a vacuum and some *sshole will try to fill it.

I go away for a while and some random nonsense-spewing douchebag wants to be me.

Spewing angry nonsense is MY f*cking job!





Really, you can't be me and you ain't like Mike. So fuggidaboutit, nigga.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:31:43 AM

When artists like Tom Waits, Lovage left lane cruiser start making the top 40 then maybe ill tune in and maybe then ill give a sh*t who is announcing then. Until then I will continue to equate what the top 40 plays to radioactive waste.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:32:37 AM

@trutsky

The Counselor was an original screenplay written by Cormac McCarthy, it was not a novel beforehand.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Counselor

Thanks for playing though.

minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:38:25 AM

Will Deaftone finally have a fellow troll to play with?


Tune in tomorrow to find out!
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:41:40 AM

Who the f*ck is Tom Waits?


"you've been a member for all of 11 days"

Oh, I doubt that very much.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:43:44 AM

Kasey Casem is dead.

Who the f*ck cares?





No really, who?

Thought so.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:46:56 AM

Mink, you are not the only one who believes people are to sensitive when it comes to celebrity deaths. And dt you're right. I just got a pissy at your comment. But hey I can take accountability when I f*ck up. At least I can admit I can't walk on water. Plus I'm tired as f*ck and jet lag.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:47:17 AM

@Otis Minkowski

I enjoy you too.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:48:38 AM

At mink my old avatar was yourmomgiveshead. Yet Alex blocked it for some reason.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 1:53:57 AM

You don't know who Tom waits is? Musician actor. Been in the fisher king, book of Eli, wrist cutters, imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus's plus over 20 albums.
triggax writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 9:50:01 AM

And you wouldn't give a f*cking sh*t if he died.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:25:17 PM

Do I know the man personally no, if I did then yes I would. Its because were human. Its part of life.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:27:49 PM

Now if buddy Wakefield or Tara hardy passed away , yes I would. Because they are dear friends of mine.
trutsky465 writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 12:41:07 PM

Besides that, we're all gonna die someday
that's the exciting part. The tricky bitch is living for a living. So no I don't get sentimental over people who die from old age, who had a successful life. And trig, I respect you sir. When you do post on here, you actually contribute with an original voice. So don't view my comments as daggers towards you. I just see it as what it is, some old guy who I never met passed away. Wasn't murdered or in a horrific accident. Why some people want to b overly sensitive about something that has nothing to do with them personally is beyond me. But hey, it takes all kinds, right?
Attos writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 4:45:07 PM

f*cking hell. All I did was make a comment on some guy dying on Father's Day.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved