WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Pearce Comments on "Iron Man 3" Mandarin Twist

Posted: June 14th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Pearce Comments on "Iron Man 3" Mandarin TwistSubmit Comment
"Iron Man 3" is one of the highest-grossing films of all time, but has also managed to frustrate many fans by including a twist revolving around the Mandarin (Ben Kingsley).

In a new interview with IGN, Guy Pearce, who played the villainous Aldrich Killian, commented on the twist. "Personally, I loved it," he said. "I was never a comic book fan growing up, so I have no attachment to the [Mandarin]. I mean, I get it. The loyalty to those characters, I totally get it. But based on the sort of single-entity movie -- and particularly based on Ben Kingsley's performance -- I just adored what that turned into."

Pearce continued: "But I do certainly understand that some die hard fans kind of went, 'Aww... Come on!'"

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 10:44:35 AM

It was dope! better than using the real mandarin. f*cking sh*tty villlan.
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 11:15:40 AM

^^ Agreed
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 1:09:25 PM

I keep saying it was a good twist! People are losing it over this but it really added a sense of realism because it reminded you of figure heads in terrorism and decoys like what Saddam had. And, as I said before, it has the idea that the Mandarin was a symbol of fear and political gain on Killian's part. Hate it if you want, but come on. How would a guy with 10 rings of various powers look on screen?! I'm sure the Mandarin will appear soon, but realistically this was a good way to ease into a bigger idea that the Mandarin presents.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 2:03:50 PM

When asked about Jason Mamoa's Aquaman

Guy merely replied,"f*ck off,mate. Only serious questions."
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 3:47:03 PM

That twist was stupid as f*ck. It's not even remotely hard to make the Mandarin interesting for a film. They should have stuck with the terrorist role, brought back the ten rings, had Iron Man stripped of most of his armor, and be forced to fight the Mandarin in hand to hand combat.

Either way, total f*cking waste of a movie. Anyone who actually reads comics understands this.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 3:56:00 PM

@bc

that sounds too much like Dark knight rises and that was a sh*tty f*ckin movie. I read the comics and I was happy with the twist. I just hated how Pepper helps the save the day at the end. that sh*t was just poorly done.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 4:46:43 PM

Pearce continued: "But I do certainly understand that some die hard fans kind of went, 'That twist was stupid as f*ck.'
bandolero999 writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 6:14:10 PM

f*cking hate iron man 3
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 7:24:21 PM

^^Yeah, not that great. I actually prefer Iron Man 2 over 3 because at least Rourke provided a villain with compelling motivation. Pearce on the other hand was pissed about what? Being snubbed at a party?And the side quest with the kid was virtually unwatchable.

Terrible story, terrible plot, and why 3 made way more money than 2 I do not know.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 7:31:28 PM

Mickey Rourkes Russian accent was so bad it was funny

They tried to make a team up with don cheadle and Robert Downey jr like in the lethal weapon movies

There was too much cgi usage in iron man 3
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 7:47:27 PM

^^Don Cheadle's character sucks period and isn't needed. There's no reason for there to be a token black guy and he's added just so black people can have someone to care about.

And I hated him in both Iron Man 2 and 3. He just plays an arrogant struck match with no personality.

Worst part of Iron Man 3...blowing up all the Iron Man suits. That and Pepper Potts turning into a superheroine.

f*cking terrible.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 8:42:41 PM

It was pretty revealing to ask Guy his opinion about the "twist" concerning Iron Man 3. First, he admitted that he never kept up with comic books, which is refreshing considering the number of Hollywood types that'll say how much they loved comic books as a kid, blah, blah, blah ...
But he brings up a good point. No one wanted to go with the whole Fu Manchu version of The Mandarin, as his character was written in the comic books and if he truly was sourced from the Kathmandu/Tibet area, then they didn't want to incite further possible threats of "the American disease not understanding the Middle East", blah, blah, blah.
But to label the terrorist as a washed up British actor ? Voila! What a way to make a subtle political statement about the George W Bush Jr/Tony Blair years and to show that America can be threatened from the very bosom it has tried to stop suckling on the teat ... blah, blah, blah ...
It's a f*cking story. It either works or doesn't work. It didn't fully work and even Guy Pearce isn't going to nay say those random people who are disgruntled by this movie ....
Words of Wisdom writes:
on June 14th, 2014 at 9:45:18 PM

The turnip farmer sees beyond the horizon.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on June 15th, 2014 at 4:17:12 AM

There is a real Mandarin though. Based on the Marvel One Shot with Ben Kinglsey
jafinbham writes:
on June 16th, 2014 at 4:17:41 AM

Of course he's fine with it. Just like he was fine with the fact that his character could blow fire like Puff the Magic Dragon because he was infected with a virus called Extremis. Talk about jumping the shark. This movie sucked so much ass and was such a slap in the face to fans of the comic.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved