WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro and "The Incredible Hulk" Writer Secretly Working on "Pacific Rim" Sequel

Posted: June 8th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro and "The Incredible Hulk" Writer Secretly Working on "Pacific Rim" SequelSubmit Comment
Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim" cost a whopping $190 million to make and unfortunately was a big disappointment domestically, grossing only $101 million. But thanks to international sales, the film ended up earning $411 million, enough to begin talks of a sequel.

While promoting his upcoming "The Strain" TV series, Del Toro also spoke about "Pacific Rim 2," revealing: "I'm working very, very hard with Zak Penn (The Incredible Hulk, X-Men: The Last Stand, Elektra). We've been working for a few months now in secret. We found a way to twist it around. Travis Beacham (co-writer of the first film) was involved in the storyline and now I'm writing with Zak because Travis has become a TV mogul."

At this point, Legendary Pictures has yet to give "Pacific Rim 2" the green light, but Legendary CEO Thomas Tull previously said: "It did north of $400 million globally and both the home video sales and the merchandise have way over-indexed, so it seems like fans really loved the world. So we're going to sit down with Guillermo and as long as we think it's authentic and there's something to say, we're certainly open to it."

Regarding the storyline, Del Toro said that Jaeger pilots Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) and Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) will return. "Some people were wondering if we were going to do the prequel," he explained. "I was never interested in doing that first wave of invasion. I"m going for very new, very crazy ideas on the second one, which are very different from the first one — but you will get really great spectacle."

Source: Buzzfeed


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:02:28 AM

I enjoyed Pacific Rim and wouldn't mind a sequel. I generally enjoy Del Toro's work so I'd buy a ticket to this movie.
cress writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:30:37 AM

"...which are very different from the first one — but you will get really great spectacle."

How about a great story instead, which the first one lacked? Or interesting lead actors? Charlie Hunnam was f*cking terrible, along with that Asian chick.

xtlhogciao writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:34:11 AM

Del Toro's going to have trouble bringing "spectacle" with Zak Penn insisting on killing everyone off-screen.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:34:54 AM

Agreed Cress, better leads.
boogiel writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:44:11 AM

Although the first one is quite decent, Pacific Rim is one of those movies that shouldn't have a franchise.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 9:51:17 AM

"Secretly"...yes...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 10:07:10 AM

Guillermo Del Toro and "The Incredible Hulk" Writer Secretly Working on "Pacific Rim" Sequel

Wait ? Zack Penn wrote the Incredible Hulk (Fail), X-Men: The Last Stand (Epic Fail) AND Electra (Epic, Epic Fail with a Pile of Camel sh*t Mounted on Top!) ....

and Guillermo is doing this in SECRET (*because of all the negative critic-acclaim piled on the first one)

... I say, why not ? How can this NOT GO WROOOOONG!!!!!

^*Note ecstatic sarcasm ...
DriveMemento writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 11:49:45 AM

Guillermo Del Toro really disappointed me with Pacific Rim... I don't know if he just got too caught up in the way everything should look but the acting dialog and story was terrible.

None of the actors felt like they meshed, except for Ron Perlman but Ron Perlman can make a B movie good lol seriously that guy can be in anything and act next to anyone and he steals ever scene I swear lol but as I said Pacific Rim was a huge disappointment.

Especially after Del Toro has made such great films, Pans Labyrinth is definitely his master piece and I made the mistake of watching that a couple days before I went to pacific rim. But the Hell Boys are great. Blade 2 is most likely the best of that series. I really enjoyed Mimic. I don't know what happened in Pacific Rim but other then the fact that the movie had monsters and Ron Perlman in it, it felt like Del Toro didn't even direct the movie. He missed the mark big time.
vincere01 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 12:12:03 PM

Posted this last night,


Just got back from Edge of Tomorrow. Heres some thoughts and a brief review while its still fresh.

In short, its a solid movie. Not amazing or anything, just a solid good almost great film. It definitely has enough about it to make it unique enough to warrant its place in scif fi film pantheon.

The directing was well done, especially when melding the practical and cgi effects on screem at once. Yes this film has tons of cgi as you would think, and honestly this movie could not have been made this well before the tech of today was available. Only some instances were there too much cgi going on without a purpose and I could forgive that considering it didnt detract from enjoyment and because overall the cgi was fantastic.

There were a few scenes in the training warehouse in particular where I felt the cgi failed the film, but I think thats just because the background was so bland that it stood out. Otherwise the action sequences were a pleasure to watch. The main battle at the beach shown in the trailer was a feast for the eyes indeed. However my favorite sequences of action were when cruise and blunt were off on theyre own kicking ass, sadly those were few.

Dispersed between the action sequences there were fine performance's to be found. Cruise as always delivers an intense and engaging performance. Even in the scenes with extensive post production you can feel he is there in those situations due to his commitment to it. Its really par for the course here and nothing new, awesome stunts as always by him as well.

Emily blunt gave a good but not great performance overall. It seemed at times that her unfamiliarity with heavy action/cgi films hels her back. With that said she does has some stand out action sequences that rival cruise with her own intensity and athletic ability. Specificly when she wields her awesome sword. Sword in hand her character seemed to come alive and be a badass.

In the quieter moments I did enjoy the subtlety and nuance each brought to theyre characters. The moments that each of them share where theyre characters were shedding the soldier facade and allowed each other in were nice but not so much or overdone that they messed with the pace.

There was one particular scene between them that I thought fell flat and seemed forced, towards the end just before the "boss battle". To those who have seen it they will know what I mean. How the film is currently structured I do not feel the characters earned that moment. Something tells me a directors cut with deleted scenes will eventually flesh out that story arc and better pave the way for it in the end.

Other than them the rest of the cast was good not great and somewhat stereotypical. Which in a movie this sci fi action packed and fast paced I can live with it. Bill paxton was the only other notable one and he didnt get enough screen time. He did actually, but most of it was exposition and/or a similar scene over and over stlightly different each time. For what he had to work with however I thought he did well.

Story wise I thought overall it was well done. I have not read the source material but im sure liberties were taken. Was not the most original of ideas overall, alien invasion and such, but the iterations of the formula were noteworthy. It took somewhat of a video game approach in the way of the aliens. Making them varied enough to pose strategic threats and to keep thrm unpredictable. Some can burrow underground, some run super fast. Some shoot projectiles and some are straight up melee only. And there are levels to them as far as intelligence and importance. They showed enough to give you insight into them but not in depth enough for you to completely grasp theyre structure.

Im ok with that so much so that it actually plays well. That way the viewer is just as in the dark as the characters, we understand as much as them and adapt as they do. All of them had distinct looks to them and for the most part made good enemies on screen. Beach battle was a sight to behold.

overall editing and pacing was good. Got bogged down a bit in the third act but the action picked up for the finale, third act wasnt bad un a vacuum but compared to first two was slower. The editing was well done and kept the action sequences humming along.

So in summation it was a good movie and specificlly a good sci fi movie, full sci fi. Not talking bullsh*t teeny bopper sci fi warewolf vampire BS. This movie proves that a good original sci fi film can still be done this day and age and it does not need to compromise itself to draw in younger crowds which incidently might be its box office downfall. That remains to be seen. Cruise was again engaging in the role and gives his standard 110%. Good performances overall and some fantastic action sequences. If you like action movies, sci fi movies, or just cruise films id say its a must see. Id also say due to the type of film and action if you can in a theater do so since thats how its intended to be seen.

Score: 8 out of 10

Pros:
-good performances by cruise, blunt and paxton**
- fantastic action sequences
- good pacing and solid direction
- nice blending of practical and cgi effects

Cons:

-**paxton while good was underutilized
- some character moments not earned as currently structured

vincere01 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 12:17:27 PM

As far as this movie and del toro. Outside a few films he has made im just not that enthralled with the guy. He has made some really bad choices, and commencing with this sequel and joining forces with penn are just screaming for an intervention.

Then again, as far as penn goes, this is a win. No matter how bad a job he does, it will still be better than his other films listed. I mean, he has to right??? Those were so f*cking bad
cress writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 1:06:18 PM

@Drive. I agree with everything you said. Visually, PACIFIC RIM was amazing. The FX was phenomenal; I was blown away by the work ILM did. It's just that the story and acting stunk. You're right that none of the actors meshed. Charlie Day is actually a funny actor, but he was miscast/written poorly. The British scientist was a cliched, unfunny addition as well. Just an extremely disappointing film for me. Too much cheese, bad acting, cliched characters. Move on to something else, Del Toro.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 1:57:39 PM

EXCLUSIVE: ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ creator Bill Watterson returns to the comics page — to offer a few ‘Pearls’ gems

http://m.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2014/06/06/exclusive-calvin-and-hobbes-creator-bill-watterson-returns-to-the-comics-page-to-offer-a-few-pearls-gems/
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 2:31:27 PM

Make Hellboy III instead! That's the one everyone wants to see and it has far more interesting material! Am I not wrong on this?!
cress writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 2:36:27 PM

I'd go for HELLBOY 3, Sleuth, but it would probably only have middling box office results like the previous films. That's why Universal passed on it.
Attos writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 2:37:24 PM

What Crambo said.
cress writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 2:47:35 PM

What Attos said
KillerCOck writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 3:30:26 PM

how the f*ck is this guy still working?
BillyBunter writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 4:18:25 PM

@vince thanks for the review, I will give it a look this week.

As for Pac rim I agree with all you guys, better story and leads are needed. I know del toro wanted to give it a camp comic book feel but the British scientist guy was annoying and yes Charlie day is funny but was a miss in this. But I would welcome another look at this universe if they could give us a decent story.
vincere01 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 4:38:56 PM

Review edit*
Some CONS were cut off when copy/pasting

Cons:
- cgi had some issues (in one scene)
- third act bogged down a bit
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 6:01:17 PM

I enjoyed the first, so a sequel might do some good, but they should ditch the leads and make it a prequel instead. Really, don't bring those two back because they had no chemistry and their stories were weak. If you insist on bringing them back, strongly script their story.
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 6:10:41 PM

I don't know. Production budget was very nearly 200 mil but the domestic gross was half that. World wide....twice the PB. And sequels don't usually generate better revenue on movies that tank at the box-office like PR.

Wasted money. Invest that 200 million in ten low-budget films instead, because there's weak interest in this franchise.

I don't think this sh*t will ever get made, and I'm not really disappointed.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 7:42:17 PM

The mucus will freeze in the winter.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 7:50:05 PM

I havent seen the film. I've heard people who enjoyed and hated it. Doubt I'll even watch it
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:01:08 PM

All us doubt you'll even watch it.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 8:19:01 PM

@cress
Well we only need one more go to finish the trilogy. Just one more squeeze from studios to finish it.
Buckles44 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 10:45:30 PM

I liked Pacific Rim. There was definitly some weak points in the acting mainly everyone. Hopefully Charlie Day comes back as a scientist.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 10:54:38 PM

I liked Pacific Rim a lot and have watched the Blu-Ray several times since, but GDT really should make Hellboy III next.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 11:09:43 PM

Maybe if it was Planes Rim
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 11:40:22 PM

Good old planes rim, great flick!

PORN-FLY writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 11:58:23 PM

hey TAN
















*c*ckpit*

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved