WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel's "Ant-Man" Hires Director Peyton Reed, Adam McKay to Rewrite Script

Posted: June 8th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MarvelSubmit Comment
After a desperate search to replace Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) as the director of "Ant-Man," Marvel was finally able to sign a comedic helmer, Peyton Reed (The Break-Up, Yes Man).

And even though director Adam McKay (Anchorman, Step-Brothers) was the first to be offered the job and the first to turn it down, McKay signed on to re-write the script that was initially written by Wright and Joe Cornish (Attack the Block).

The cast, comprised of Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas, Evangeline Lilly, Michael Pena, Corey Stoll and Patrick Wilson, still remains on board. The new film is set to hit theaters on July 17th, 2015.

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 4:50:32 PM

No way it hits that release date
bandolero999 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 4:55:09 PM

yes man was a piece of pig sh*t
Attos writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 5:00:23 PM

This movie quickly spiraled down from "could be awesome" to "will be a pile of sh*t".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 5:05:25 PM

After the directors of "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" surprised me I am keeping my mind open till I see a trailer.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 6:11:06 PM

Well good for them, I guess.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 6:36:11 PM

Anyone seen Dear Mr. Watterson?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2222206/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtmV7-f_j7Y
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 7:02:53 PM

Naw this will suck big floppy donkey d*ck
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 7:31:30 PM

Who carreessss
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 9:31:15 PM

I see Rambo's been hitting The Bay lately.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 9:40:29 PM

lol, sure
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 9:43:53 PM

I think Rambo's a guy named Martin Davies.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 9:50:01 PM

Martin Davies is from Thornaby, UK, knows "Alex" and has all your favorite movies in his Facebook movie list.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 9:59:41 PM

Not much of a hint. It's well after am in London right now. So you could be there or Beijing or Australia right now, or anywhere in between.

I'm guessing Vietnam since you love Rambo so much.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:03:22 PM

Or Australia since you seem to have no predilection for languages other than English, but you could be an American ex-pat for all I know.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:03:50 PM

@mink
You're in London huh? Is it raining or did you catch one of it's rare sunny days? LOL
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:05:06 PM

I'm not in London, Sleuth, I'm in Mexifornia.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:12:01 PM

So Cambodia or Laos, then.

Are you a Western ex-pat? Because your English is better than most Americans, although that's not really saying much...
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:21:55 PM

Is your mission...to get laid?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:25:11 PM

I thought you said you were from Cali mink? or maybe I'm thinking of a different user.. I think I'd be the easiest person to find in Facebook. Go ahead and try, while you're at it add me guys lol

But don't judge me by my Facebook movies, I've had Facebook since I was about 14 and haven't changed my "Likes".
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:28:05 PM

@Tanman: I'm not from California. I'm from Southern Detroit, aka Memphis, but I live in California, aka Mexifornia.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:28:53 PM

Well it should be easy for you to get laid there, Rambo, since the chicks there like them some white meat.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:30:10 PM

The bread has become moldy.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:34:12 PM

You need to move your operation to Bangkok, then.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:35:29 PM

@Rambo: not too long ago. Some months back. Why? You trying to hook me up with Tanman? If so, sorry, I don't do Planes for a date-night movie, and I don't think he'd look good in a dress.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 10:46:39 PM

lol, you mean other than seeing Planes 2 in IMAX 3D, right?
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 11:13:55 PM

Hey now, I wouldn't mind being adopted by Gillian Anderson as long as I get a good breastfeeding once a day.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2014 at 11:18:06 PM

He can suck David's "nipple" instead.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 12:09:14 AM

@mink
Oh sorry I thought you made a typo and meant to say "I am in London". My bad.
vincere01 writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 2:47:34 AM

Just got back from Edge of Tomorrow. Heres some thoughts and a brief review while its still fresh.

In short, its a solid movie. Not amazing or anything, just a solid good almost great film. It definitely has enough about it to make it unique enough to warrant its place in scif fi film pantheon.

The directing was well done, especially when melding the practical and cgi effects on screem at once. Yes this film has tons of cgi as you would think, and honestly this movie could not have been made this well before the tech of today was available. Only some instances were there too much cgi going on without a purpose and I could forgive that considering it didnt detract from enjoyment and because overall the cgi was fantastic.

There were a few scenes in the training warehouse in particular where I felt the cgi failed the film, but I think thats just because the background was so bland that it stood out. Otherwise the action sequences were a pleasure to watch. The main battle at the beach shown in the trailer was a feast for the eyes indeed. However my favorite sequences of action were when cruise and blunt were off on theyre own kicking ass, sadly those were few.

Dispersed between the action sequences there were fine performance's to be found. Cruise as always delivers an intense and engaging performance. Even in the scenes with extensive post production you can feel he is there in those situations due to his commitment to it. Its really par for the course here and nothing new, awesome stunts as always by him as well.

Emily blunt gave a good but not great performance overall. It seemed at times that her unfamiliarity with heavy action/cgi films hels her back. With that said she does has some stand out action sequences that rival cruise with her own intensity and athletic ability. Specificly when she wields her awesome sword. Sword in hand her character seemed to come alive and be a badass.

In the quieter moments I did enjoy the subtlety and nuance each brought to theyre characters. The moments that each of them share where theyre characters were shedding the soldier facade and allowed each other in were nice but not so much or overdone that they messed with the pace.

There was one particular scene between them that I thought fell flat and seemed forced, towards the end just before the "boss battle". To those who have seen it they will know what I mean. How the film is currently structured I do not feel the characters earned that moment. Something tells me a directors cut with deleted scenes will eventually flesh out that story arc and better pave the way for it in the end.

Other than them the rest of the cast was good not great and somewhat stereotypical. Which in a movie this sci fi action packed and fast paced I can live with it. Bill paxton was the only other notable one and he didnt get enough screen time. He did actually, but most of it was exposition and/or a similar scene over and over stlightly different each time. For what he had to work with however I thought he did well.

Story wise I thought overall it was well done. I have not read the source material but im sure liberties were taken. Was not the most original of ideas overall, alien invasion and such, but the iterations of the formula were noteworthy. It took somewhat of a video game approach in the way of the aliens. Making them varied enough to pose strategic threats and to keep thrm unpredictable. Some can burrow underground, some run super fast. Some shoot projectiles and some are straight up melee only. And there are levels to them as far as intelligence and importance. They showed enough to give you insight into them but not in depth enough for you to completely grasp theyre structure.

Im ok with that so much so that it actually plays well. That way the viewer is just as in the dark as the characters, we understand as much as them and adapt as they do. All of them had distinct looks to them and for the most part made good enemies on screen. Beach battle was a sight to behold.

overall editing and pacing was good. Got bogged down a bit in the third act but the action picked up for the finale, third act wasnt bad un a vacuum but compared to first two was slower. The editing was well done and kept the action sequences humming along.

So in summation it was a good movie and specificlly a good sci fi movie, full sci fi. Not talking bullsh*t teeny bopper sci fi warewolf vampire BS. This movie proves that a good original sci fi film can still be done this day and age and it does not need to compromise itself to draw in younger crowds which incidently might be its box office downfall. That remains to be seen. Cruise was again engaging in the role and gives his standard 110%. Good performances overall and some fantastic action sequences. If you like action movies, sci fi movies, or just cruise films id say its a must see. Id also say due to the type of film and action if you can in a theater do so since thats how its intended to be seen.

Score: 8 out of 10

Pros:
-good performances by cruise, blunt and paxton**
- fantastic action sequences
- good pacing and solid direction
- nice blending of practical and cgi effects

Cons:

-**paxton while good was underutilized
- some character moments not earned as currently structured
- some minor cgi issues(in one scene)
- minor bogging in third act
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 10:15:10 AM

Marvel was finally able to sign a comedic helmer, Peyton Reed (The Break-Up, Yes Man)

Like I said. I'm waiting for an actual director.

By the way, Wal-Mart is the company that owned the truck that slammed into Tracy Morgan's limo.


Nice to see what they do AFTER they roll back savings.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 10:15:54 AM

If Tracy Morgan can successfully sue Wal-Mart and WIN ? He'll be the richest mofo on the planet!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved