WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Denzel Washington Offered Lead Role in "The Magnificent Seven" Remake

Posted: June 6th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Denzel Washington Offered Lead Role in "The Magnificent Seven" RemakeSubmit Comment
Back in 2012, it was reported that MGM was remaking the 1960 Western "The Magnificent Seven," with Tom Cruise, Matt Damon, Kevin Costner and Morgan Freeman attached to star.

Since then, very little progress has been made. But in February came word that Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, Equalizer) was in final negotiations to direct the remake.

It seems that Fuqua is now officially on board. And while we have no idea if Cruise, Damon, Costner or Freeman are still attached, it's being reported that Fuqua has reached out to Denzel Washington to play the lead role.

"The Magnificent Seven" revolves around a group of American gunmen hired to protect a small Mexican village from a group of savage bandits. The film was followed by three sequels and a TV series.

Source: SchmoesKnow


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 8:33:12 AM

More Negro doing a remake of a classic? It's another remake, another Hollywood butcher job. No one from the acting pool of today, could even begin to touch the performances of Yul, McQueen, Bronson and the rest. But of course you MUST have a n*gger in the movie and he MUST be one of the heroes! He must also be one of the most racist liberals in Hollywood too! Isn't that the politically correct way of doing things nowadays? And while we are at it, let's add a Chinese and an Arab to be fair. You know, make them colored cowboys.
donangel01 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 9:26:15 AM

@boogiel
"While we are at it, why dont we add an arab and chinese" your forgetting two. After the entertainment business went through the whole "token black guy" phase, these two followed: token gay guy and now the token british guy. Seems like there is a token british guy in every movie or more so tv series. That should round up your list.

Before i am critized , i just wanted to point out that there is nothing wrong with being gay, my post was merely following a casting point. Thank u
Papillon writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 9:36:53 AM

As much as I like Denzel as much this isn't suited for him. Wearing a black stenson and riding on a black horse and shooting with an ancient gun!?

No, not going to work.

And I would murder the prick who would dare reprising McQueen's character!!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 10:20:59 AM

Jesse Eisenberg for El Guapo
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 10:45:19 AM

Sounds ok if they can pull off this cast.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 11:03:32 AM

Actually surprised anybody will work alongside Cruise...that crazy little maniac !!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 12:48:05 PM

Another classic I haven't gotten to watch but I hate remakes and while that cast they list be astounding I feel that Fuqua is not a strong enough director. This is mostly based off his last work on "Olympus Has Fallen" but that film was a mess and that had a very large cast.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 1:56:43 PM

You mean man of fire prequels cause he died
lawman writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 2:20:45 PM

This could work if they did it with a modern spin. How about Cartel instead of bandits and the Seven as maybe vacationing Special Forces or DEA. Washington will NOT make a good cowboy but if they modernized it, he would be great.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 5:12:39 PM

So basically The Desperados, a mix of Desperado and The Expendables.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 5:45:41 PM

Denzel's a badass so I wouldn't mind this
bandolero999 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 5:46:04 PM

Throw in Liam neeeson
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 5:57:41 PM

"And while we have no idea if Cruise, Damon, Costner or Freeman are still attached, it's being reported that Fuqua has reached out to Denzel Washington to play the lead role."



If Denzel is the lead, the other guys are no longer attached because there's no way they're going to play second-fiddle to him.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 7:47:46 PM

One can only hope that he starts smoking like Yul Brynner ... get lung cancer ... and die a horribly painful death. What ? I understood Denzel is a method actor!


f*ck BOSE!!!! AND f*ck THE MOTHERf*ckERS WHO THROW THESE f*ckING ADS ALL OVER THE f*ckING PLACE!!!!!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 10:10:29 PM

@lawman
I like your idea. Half that cast couldn't fit in the Western era. Modern Mexico with the cartel involved would also make the film more relevant and not just a remake.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 10:19:40 PM

I agree. Jamie Foxx was terrible in Django Unchained.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 10:31:39 PM

If I can create a team for this it be:

Kevin Costner
Tommy Lee Jones
Denzel Washington
Mickey Rourke
Antonio Banderas
Jeff Bridges
Mads Mikkelson

I know last one is a throw off but after the Hannibal finale I could buy him as a physical opponent. Bridges, Costner, and Jones have already shown they can carry a Western vibe in modern times. Washington has a methodical way about him I could buy. Rourke can be funny but tough and Banderas, bald but with a thick beard, be like an aged Desperado. Plus he is good at being cunning.
Curbcooler writes:
on June 8th, 2014 at 5:12:35 AM

Boogiel, you are a racist right wing bitch. Kill yourself your right-wing sc*m!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved