WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Earl Jones Won't Return as Darth Vader for New "Star Wars" Films

Posted: June 5th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Earl Jones WonSubmit Comment
Disney is working on a new "Star Wars" trilogy, as well as at least three spin-offs focusing on origin stories of some of the characters. And while plenty of actors from the original trilogy are returning, James Earl Jones just confirmed that he won't be back.

"Oh no. I've got no illusions that I will or even hankerings to be in them, but I'm very proud to have been part of the original," he said, despite the fact that the Han Solo and Boba Fett spin-offs will likely take place when Darth Vader was still alive.

When asked if he'll at least watch "Star Wars: Episode VII," Jones replied: "Perhaps. I have no idea where they'll go with it, but I hope they sustain the success of the first ones and do it well."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 9:50:20 AM

No sh*t
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 9:59:40 AM

His appearance on Big Bang Theory was one of the only genuine funny things to happen on that show in years. Him and Carrie Fisher made that episode and the most recent season.
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:11:41 AM

Actually, he was really funny in "The Angriest Man in Brooklyn". That was the Only funny moment in the entire film.
boogiel writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:44:46 AM

All due respect, no need for him to reprise darth Vader. Jones's legacy as the voice of darth vader will continue to live on.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:17:06 AM

I kinda wondered if ole Darth would return for the spin off films.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:17:06 AM

I kinda wondered if ole Darth would return for the spin off films.
shafe41 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:18:54 AM

I read his comments in the voice of Morgan Freeman.
Attos writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:20:33 AM

@Sleuth
I agree. That show has never been very funny, but my family likes it. And when JEJ showed up, I rolled my eyes. But as soon as he said "I LOVE STAR WARS TOO", I was in.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:44:23 AM

@Attos
The first four seasons had flair and every once and awhile it has a good moment but Chuck Lorre takes forever with developing his characters. It took 7 seasons to get the two main love interests to get engaged. LOL He just draws out stuff too much and rides the "One-liner" train too much. But yeah that episode with JEJ was one of the best. When he knocks on Carrie Fisher's door to play ding dong ditch:

Carrie: "It's not funny anymore James!"

James: "Then why am I still laughing!"

LOL That was too much. All we needed was Mark Hamill and the journey to hilarity would have been complete. LOL
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 12:12:46 PM

@Sleuth and Attos

I can find the show to be hilarious sometimes. I've probably seen about 50 episodes, I always said I was going to marathon it and watch them all but I still haven't and likely won't. There's only a couple shows that are consistently funny throughout the shows entirety.

Like Friends and Frasier. Great shows that lasted ten and eleven seasons. Frasiers my fav lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 12:16:52 PM

I'm sure there are enough DV impressionists out there to save them the money and hassle.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 12:21:53 PM

@Tanman
If I were a smarter man Frasier be my choice but Friends wins out due to the growth and wonderful bond of the cast that existed on and off camera. Just a consistently funny and heartwarming show. The ending was a tearjerking finale.
j-man writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:01:38 PM

For fans of of the film snatch

http://youtu.be/vskHXtPuvBk
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:11:38 PM

^ ^ LOLOLOL!

f*cking brilliant!
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:18:46 PM

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/06/05/mark-hamill-walt-disney-world-star-wars-weekends-photo-hints-at-episode-7-appearance

Mark hammil actually dosnt look half bad for his age anymore. Sneak peak at his possible look for ep 7 minus the jedi robes ofcourse. All the training paid off, must have lost at least 40 lbs
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:21:48 PM

@tan

Fraiser is my fav sitcom as well. Well one of them. Top 3. I also enjoyed spin city (pre charlie sheen) and cheers.
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:25:43 PM

@tan

Ever watch cheers? If u liked fraiser u should like it. Fraiser actually started on cheers and is a spin off of it. Grammars character does not show up til season 3, but his screen time grows all the way to season 11 and last few seasons he is main cast.

Lilith is there as well. They did have a few family inconsistent facts from cheers to fraiser but overall his character stays the same.

Also there are a handfull of fraiser episodes that will much much more enjoyable when u see cheers as they are directly connected.

Specificly the eps where sam malone, woody, diane and his ex wife the childrens singer come into play. All that began on cheers
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:27:54 PM

^^^also theres an episode of fraiser late in its run when his family goes to boston for a conference and he runs into cliff the mailman and they all go to his retirement party and alot of the cheers cast was in that one
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 4:27:56 PM

I'm watching "The Birdman of Alcatraz", 1962 with Burt Lancaster which reminds me he made "The Train", (1964) where he plays a French resistant trying to stop the stolen paintings from France heading to Germany by train.

Now, that copycat f*cker of George f*cking Clooney thought he'd do better than that with The Monuments Men!!

f*cking useless *sshole!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:02:10 PM

@Sleuth

Haha Yeah, it has it's moments where their jokes are very intelligent.

@vince
I've seen.. Probably less then ten episodes of Cheers. But frasier is just f*cking amazing man, I don't know why but I just have always loved loved that show.

There was one episode where no matter what he does and tries to do he just simply can't get to his party. The city is throwing one in his honor but he get mugged and a lot of other stuff. At the end he calls a cab and the dude in the cab is having a bad day.

So rather then get out and go to his party, he sits there and helps the guy out. Which I loved, it shows so much about the character.
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:48:48 PM

"minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 7:56:17 PM
Actually I did. I had sex with a girl named Anna in the back of a white Ford Taurus.

So you're wrong there, Bullsh*tt."


LOLOL!

I AM really glad you had sex on your prom's night Mink as I really believed you barely touched One woman in your entire nerdy life!

You lucky bastard! You had more room in the back of that Taurus while I had to struggle in the back of my VW Golf II GTI 16v where I was suppose to get out within a f*cking eternity!

We did manage in the end but bloody hell not the most practical car for your actual date!

Memories, sweet memories!
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:49:27 PM

Ya I remember that lol. Had it at the space needle. But seriously, if you enjoyed fraiser you should watch cheers, give it another shot.

My wife had seen a few eps with her mom and saud she didnt like it. But we watched the entire run of fraiser on netflix and she loved that so she decided to give cheers a shot.

She actually started to enjoy it after first 10 eps or so, and by the time fraiser came on the show she already loved it and he became just a bonus. Its all the same creators and writers for the most part. And there are some episodes of cheers that almost completely focused on fraiser so its almost like a fraiser episode.

Plus there are alot of events in his past eluded to in fraiser that you get to see in cheers. I watched fraiser first and then cheers and enjoyed seeing all those thing previously mentioned. For instance his marriage to lilith and its collapse are shown in detail(funny sh*t too) as well as his attempted suicide and his other failed marriage.

So in summation, you should watch cheers tan. It is a revered show in many top 10 lists. Finale is also a high rated one
bandolero999 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:56:58 PM

James earl jones is still alive?
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:33:19 PM

That interesting, I guess, but there's no need for him to reprise the voice role since Vader probably won't appear in any capacity and I doubt the spin-offs will feature his role at all.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:34:17 PM

@Bullitt: I'm a nerd on the inside, only.

On the outside I'm a f*cking stud.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:37:38 PM

@vince

Yeah man. I'll get to watching them eventually
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:43:15 PM

Eventually=never.
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:53:17 PM

^^^exactly lol

Tan proly has a laundry list full of stuff he will "eventually" watch. Stop slackin boy!
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:55:23 PM

Well, that ER and Planes isn't going to watch itself.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:59:35 PM

When I was a child we had a thing in the family. If we asked father if we could do something, like go to the zoo or get some ice cream, he would say "maybe". My mother always said that if he says "maybe" and not "we'll see", it means "no". So I spent my entire childhood deciphering my father's intention through his vague noncommittal replies.

Reminds me of Tanman. If he says "eventually", you know that means "never" and that copy of whatever will be like that present-day dog in that episode of Futurama, the one where it's chained outside waiting for Fry to return, which he never does because he's a thousand years into the future.
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:09:48 PM

^^^think for a second what it would be like if tan magicly was sent 1000 years into the future like fry.

I see it playing out almost exactly like futurama. Tan will speak highly of the film "classics" of his day and mention planes.

They will then tell him "oh that movie?, we show that sh*t in our future elevators instead of sh*tty elevator music"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:13:46 PM

What would be really funny is if he made Darth Vader stammer and stutter through the whole debacle.

I know I would laugh.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:14:39 PM

lol. Reminds me of Captain America making a list in Winter Soldier of all the things he's missed, like music and movies.

If that were tan, his list would read "Planes, Cars, Cars 2, Time Travel Mater, The Running Man? Rick Astley".
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 9:02:49 PM

Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 9:20:38 PM

Disney will not pass up an opportunity to have Darth Vader in future films whether they are in some solo films or as some sort of clone or flashbacks.

Vader is too iconic of a character to just abandon just because James Earl Jones won't voice the character again.

My vote for a suitable replacement would be Dennis Haysbert.
The Dark Knight writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:10:04 PM

other than cprime, triggax, vincent, sleuth and minkowski, does anyone on here say anything intelligent?
The Dark Knight writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:13:45 PM

sry, i said vincent but his name is vincere.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:23:48 PM

I'd like to believe I'm rather intellectual ^ But to each his own lol

Mink and Vince-
Lmfao you guys never stop. I've never seen planes damn it! Haha And yeah, I will admit I do take forever toget around to watching something on my list of things to watch.

And I've still got like 15 episodes left of ER lol
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:27:18 PM

We have to have a meme, tan. For years it was Lindsay Lohan, then it was Dustin Putman, then it was Alex. Now it's you and Planes.

We don't think you're in the same category of those people, but like I said, we have to have a place to hang our joke hat, and that's you and your rather slow way of getting around to watching any movie that isn't from Pixar.

I hope you understand, and I hope you realize we mean no real harm.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 12:34:29 AM

It's all in fun an games my man lol Good news! They just caught Justin Bourque! f*cker should get the chair.
FlowersItaly writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 1:20:49 AM

Send Xmas Flowers to Italy through online shopping store at right price and spread the aura of your love here, there and everywhere. Flower is something that brings love and happiness to the lives of your dear ones.
http://www.flowers4italy.com/Christmas-Flowers-Italy.asp
SoftimusPrime writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 11:11:03 AM

I love this guy. Jones has that rare gravitas and respectable authority on screen. Early Jack Ryan flicks were a great example of this.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 3:27:04 PM

Tan writes:

Mink and Vince-
Lmfao you guys never stop. I've never seen planes damn it!!!

if you stop the quote there it actually slunds like he is angry that he hasnt watched it yet! Lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved