WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Chris Hemsworth in Michael Mann's "Cyber" Thriller

Posted: June 5th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Chris Hemsworth in Michael MannSubmit Comment
Today we have the first photo of Chris Hemsworth (Thor) in the upcoming cyber thriller, tentatively called "Cyber," which is directed by Michael Mann (Heat). Check it out below.

Plot: Set within the world of global cybercrime, the story follows a furloughed convict and his American and Chinese partners as they hunt a high-level cybercrime network from Chicago to Los Angeles to Hong Kong to Jakarta.

The new movie co-stars Viola Davis, Tang Wei and Wang Leehom. It's set to hit theaters on January 16th, 2015.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 9:58:23 AM

People hate on Hemsworth but at least the guy is trying to be diverse. I thought he did a good job as Thor and in the film "Rush". This looks fun and, although I have yet to see a Mann film for some reason, I hear he is an incredible director so let's see where this goes. Any good films of Mann I should watch? I hear Heat of course is one and Miami Vice apparently was better than I thought it was. But what are his other big ones?
elrei writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:27:25 AM

Mann is a solid director but after a masterpiece as "Heat" it's hard to top yourself.

"Collateral" was good. The ending was kinda of a let down, but still.

I have yet to see "Miami Vice" or "Ali".
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 10:35:23 AM

@Sleuth

Michael Mann is a brilliant director!

You Have to watch "Heat", "Manhunter" and "Thief" (1981) beautiful soundtrack from Tangerine Dreams.

I liked Hemsworth in "Rush" obviously and I'm looking forward to any Mann's film. That's how good he is.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:37:56 AM

@elrei
Oh wow I actually saw Collateral. It was a good film and I enjoyed the lead duo. I likes the ending simply because after all that chaos it ends in a quiet whisper which to me was poetic. LOL

@Papillion
He directed the first Hannibal Lectar film? No way! And what's Thief about?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:39:30 AM

@elrei
I apologize. That sounded rude. I mean "oh wow" as in I forgot that I had seen a Mann film.
DriveMemento writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:40:15 AM

Public Enemies was GREAT

Miami Vice he definitely missed the mark. But i guess the rumor was the cast was out partying every night till like 4 in the morning. Jamie and Colin would just show up hung over if they would even show up at all.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 12:40:42 PM

thor and michael mann.thats just a f*cked up combination.sorry theres nothing good on hemsworth.f*cker plays the same character in every movie.just a gay australian version of triple H.
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 12:54:03 PM

@Sleuth

Thief was one of James Caan's best performance as a professional safecracker and Mann used the same character in Heat with De Niro.

Also, "The Last of The Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis is a masterpiece too, one of my all time favourite film.
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:09:21 PM

What is remarkable with Mann is how the shooting scene in "Heat" is very intense and I don't how he does it but he makes it very real like you're part of it. I remember being in the cinema and it made me feel like I was in the middle of the street with bullets grazing my ears. I'm not gonna lie: it gave me goosebumps!

Also, the sound effect in his films are very special and the effects are quite real. I noticed in "Collateral" that he used an unusual celluloid film that makes you part of the film in a very immersive way.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 1:39:52 PM

@Papillon
Holy sh*t he is one of the few directors to
Work with Day-Lewis? I've been missing out I a hell of a director. And yeah Collateral was very immersive in the story. Watched it in high school drama class. I was blown away at how brilliant the story moved along at a pace. I mean it was two guys riding around in a taxi! It was also one of the first movies I took Mark Ruffalo seriously as an actor. LOL
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 3:22:02 PM

Michael mann has yet to make a bad movie in my eyes. Yes miami vice wasnt up to his normal standards but its still an ok movie. I enjoyed it, even with that no talent retard foxx in it. Collateral was a much better film and cruise carried foxx through that one.

How much better would that movie have been if instead of foxx they had gotten denzel?? Or even andre braughter. God it would have been so much better.

on hemsworth, hes not terrible and I honestly believe he has more talent then generally thought. I think he compares nicely to heath ledger. Towards the end of his life he was finally starting to break the mold of hearthrob and doing quite nicely in dramatic roles.

On a seperate note, involving ruffalo. Hes actually from the town I live in here in Wisconsin. Hes got a rather large family and 4 generations of it living here. The family actually owns quite a large portion of consumer industry here. Hair salons, restraunts etc. Almost all carry the family name. Went to high school with his youngest brother. He was a bit of an entitled douche bag though.
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 3:23:57 PM

^^^Unfortunately I dont believe he likes to come to town much if ever, considering ive never seen him around. But then again I dont frequent his family's establishments
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 3:53:38 PM

Nice post Vince.

The only thing I can say about Ruffalo is that I like his calmness and has a good pace within its acting. But I didn't like him "In The Cut".

Nice blow job but he was too nice to be a homicide detective.
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:21:10 PM

^^^ thanks

Was it a face full of his hairy junk what put you off? Or was it meg ryan fresh out of plastic surgery hell? Melty face....
Papillon writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 5:35:05 PM

@Vince

Definitely Meg Ryan's face surgery and I believe she wasn't America's sweetheart after that. Shame though, I really liked her throughout the 90's until "In The cut".

Botox or not, she really lost her porcelain beauty face. And lips. Shame.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 6:54:50 PM

Interesting. Let's see what Mann can wring from Hemsworth, since he's been able to do wonders with talentless actors like Jamie Foxx, although one could not and would not expect a return to the form of his peak years of Heat and Collateral, but it's certainly nice to imagine a movie that makes the Mann fan forget Public Enemies and Miami Vice, which aped Micheal's artistic style without epitomizing it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:09:16 PM

I think it is super-snazzy for Chris to climb into Michael Mann's world ... hell, he can't do any worse than Jamie Foxx and Colin Farrell.

Hopefully, we'll get more Heat and less Miami Vice.
c-prime writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:40:29 PM

I was hoping Michael Mann wouldn't shoot this film digitally, but based off IMDb, I see I'm not getting my wish.

I know I remarked before on how it was nice to see directors like Mann and Danny Boyle and David Fincher throw their support in earnest behind digital photography, but the technology really seem to have clouded up Mann's filmography in the aughts.

"Collateral" looked fantastic to me then and now, and having finally heard Mann lay out his reasons for going relatively for going with digital Sony cameras in "Side By Side", so as to capture all those dark L.A. nighttime exteriors in such a unique way as he did, I embrace his decision all the more.

"Miami Vice" and "Public Enemies", however, look like sh*t. There were several sequences in the latter, such as the big shootout in the forest, where it felt like I was watching a music video. It took me out of the whole experience. I remember reading an interview with Mann where he stated he couldn't envision any other way to shoot that movie - I think his decision was one of many that crippled the film.

IMDB and Wiki inform me that the same Sony camera used to shoot "Public Enemies" was also used to shoot "Rachel Getting Married" and "Cloverfield" - I can see that stylistic choice being appropriate for those two, the former a film being set at a wedding (and thus, looking like a high-quality wedding video) and the latter being a found-footage flick. But for a cops-and-robbers action pic/period drama, the visuals could've been less distracting and more immersive if a different filming apparatus had been used.

A talent of this director's caliber shouldn't be putting out something that looks like a big-budget student movie. I'm excited for this movie - which based off one of the actor's Twitter accounts, might've actually been renamed "Black Hat" - but I want it to be up to snuff with the quality of work by MM that we've witnessed in the past.
c-prime writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 7:42:07 PM

I was hoping Michael Mann wouldn't shoot this film digitally, but based off IMDb, I see I'm not getting my wish.

I know I remarked before on how it was nice to see directors like Mann and Danny Boyle and David Fincher throw their support in earnest behind digital photography, but the technology really seem to have clouded up Mann's filmography in the aughts.

"Collateral" looked fantastic to me then and now, and having finally heard Mann lay out his reasons for going relatively for going with digital Sony cameras in "Side By Side", so as to capture all those dark L.A. nighttime exteriors in such a unique way as he did, I embrace his decision all the more.

"Miami Vice" and "Public Enemies", however, look like sh*t. There were several sequences in the latter, such as the big shootout in the forest, where it felt like I was watching a music video. It took me out of the whole experience. I remember reading an interview with Mann where he stated he couldn't envision any other way to shoot that movie - I think his decision was one of many that crippled the film.

IMDB and Wiki inform me that the same Sony camera used to shoot "Public Enemies" was also used to shoot "Rachel Getting Married" and "Cloverfield" - I can see that stylistic choice being appropriate for those two, the former a film being set at a wedding (and thus, looking like a high-quality wedding video) and the latter being a found-footage flick. But for a cops-and-robbers action pic/period drama, the visuals could've been less distracting and more immersive if a different filming apparatus had been used.

A talent of this director's caliber shouldn't be putting out something that looks like a big-budget student movie. I'm excited for this movie - which based off one of the actor's Twitter accounts, might've actually been renamed "Black Hat" - but I want it to be up to snuff with the quality of work by MM that we've witnessed in the past.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2014 at 11:21:35 PM

Everything is going digital, and soon film will be a niche product. As soon as all projectors go digital, that'll be the end of film, really. No more massive shipments of film reels. I can even envision a time when movies are streamed through fiber-optic to DPs from the studios.

And Miami Vice and Public Enemies did look like sh*t. I even kept thinking the low-quality was an artifact of the 480 DVD transfer, but no, the BluRay looks like sh*t too.

I think Mann uses digital because it handles low-light much better than film, and it gives the "film" a grain, which mimics the silver halide crystals found in actual film



Anyway, you can rest assured that the Sony camera used for Public Enemies won't be used for Cyber, as most film-makers are now using some variant of the RED camera set, like the EPIC, which has a 5k CCD (or at the very least the 4k RED ONE), much higher than that of the Sony camera, which was, even for the time, pretty limited, although not as limited as those sh*tty hybrid Panavision cameras.

http://www.red.com/products/epic


I think Cyber will look fine, and I think MV and PE suffered because digital was just coming into its own then, and has thus had a few years to greatly mature.


EDIT: Yeah, PE was using Arriflex and Sony. Looks like Cyber is using an Alexa XT, which seems to have a limited 2K HD for 16:9. Not looking good. Hopefully they're employing more cameras than this sh*t.

http://www.arri.com/camera/alexa/cameras/camera_details/alexa-xt-plus/subsection/technical_data/
c-prime writes:
on June 6th, 2014 at 12:02:12 AM

True, REDs are pretty state-of-the-art. Fincher's next movie, "Gone Girl", was shot on one featuring their hot new Dragon sensor, and based on test footage I've seen of its capabilities, the photography is absolutely stunning. I'm very anxious to see how the finished work turned out, even if Ben Affleck is likely to consume one-third of the frame.

I've got no qualms against digital's proliferation whatsoever, so long as it doesn't hamper the presentation of the filmmakers' vision, la the aforementioned Michael Man movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved