WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel's "Doctor Strange" Hires Director, Jared Leto Rumored to Star

Posted: June 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MarvelSubmit Comment
Marvel has announced that it's moving forward with a "Doctor Strange" movie by hiring director Scott Derrickson (Sinister, The Day the Earth Stood Still, The Exorcism of Emily Rose).

Meanwhile, BadassDigest claims that the studio is interested in recent Oscar winner Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) to take on the title role. No word if any other actors are being considered.

"Doctor Strange" has yet to get a release date, but Marvel has two dates reserved for future movies, including July 8th, 2016 and May 5th, 2017.

Source: Marvel, BadassDigest


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 11:45:10 PM

Yes I've heard this very interesting news already, from a man who traveled from the future into the past of about eight hours ago.
cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 11:46:08 PM

Anyone ever make it through MR. NOBODY?
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 11:47:28 PM

nobody, mr.
cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 11:49:36 PM

ha...good one
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 12:01:19 AM

I enjoyed Jared Leto in Lord of War. That's about it.

Not really sure he could ever carry a Marvel movie and there's likely the related, bigger issue of whether or not he can carry a multi-film franchise like Evans, Hemsworth and Evans.

Not seeing it at all. Has age given this guy some chops?
Dirt writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 12:36:01 AM

Leto can do it.

Hemsworth was pretty much nothing prior to Thor. On some crappy show, Home & Away.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 12:41:35 AM

Hey look, pornflys alive!
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 12:50:46 AM

@Dirt: Chris got cast because he looks like how Marvel thought Thor should look, and he could do the role. That and he has a nifty accent and is fairly bankable in such a venture.

Can Jared Leto say the same?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 1:00:14 AM

@mink
I agreed with early rumors about Depp playing the role. If there was ever a role he could do it be that.

@everyone
Random thought but if the film was done 20 years ago, for some reason I would have said Tom Selleck. I feel like he could have physically looked the part and played up the zen thing which is basically the core element of his character on "Blue Bloods". Just throwing that out there as a "what if".
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 1:07:58 AM

@Sleuth: Depp would definitely be the best choice, but he's too far up Burton's ass and too damned busy doing Pirate movies that I doubt his ten-year schedule leaves much room for a Doctor Strange trilogy, or even a one-off.

And even if Tom Selleck was thirty again, I don't see him in the role. His work always vacillated between shoddy corn-ball television (Magnum P.I., Friends) and serious, dry roles (Jesse Stone, Blue Bloods). I just don't see him in the role because of his personality.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 1:13:29 AM

@mink
I suppose. Although Pirates of the Caribbean got put on hold I am wondering if maybe that opens up a chance since he is contracted to Disney.

And my suggestion of Selleck is based off the animated interpretation of Dr. Strange I saw in the 90's "Spider-Man" TV series. He reminded me of Selleck a little. He has an internal intensity. But it was just a weird idea. Can't have good ideas all the time. LOL
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 1:31:17 AM

Selleck should do more voice work
I liked him in Meet The Robinsons

besides he looks like an outhouse wearing two cans of shoe polish
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 1:40:33 AM

Sellick sure does love this Jesse stone character lol Seven televised films
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 2:18:00 AM

I'd like to sellick Joss Stone's hippie black ass
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 2:55:39 AM

Marvel's "Doctor Strange" Hires Director, This Man Rumored to Star

Dirt writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 3:39:35 AM

@Mink

I have no idea to embed photos.

http://images.smh.com.au/2011/04/13/2304164/art-hemsworth-420x0.jpg

In all honesty the only movies I can remember seeing Leto in was Lord Of War and Fight Club. I don't of out of my way to see him in anything. I feel if Hemsworth can make a physical transition in appearance Leto could do the same. I am open to the casting, they would of picked on the fact that he wouldn't cost as much as getting the rumoured Johnny Depp.

Marvel hardly use big names for casting, I honestly wouldn't be suprised if Leto gets this.
Dirt writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 3:41:53 AM

Sigh.. Edit button please.

I am aware my sh*t is all f*cked up, I'm too tired to go over it now.
Wallace writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 4:53:45 AM

VFX Delays Push Wachowskis’ ‘Jupiter Ascending’ To February

http://www.deadline.com/2014/06/wachowskis-jupiter-ascending-delay-summer-2015-wb/
python6 writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 5:14:23 AM

I know this will never happen but if they would take doctor strange animated movie and make it into a live action movie I would be happy
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 9:25:00 PM

@Dirt: I understand what you're saying, I just don't see it. I don't see Leto in the role. He's never led a movie that I can recall, and if he has, who has seen it?

Seems Marvels casts with an eye to marketability. Remember they didn't even want Downey, and Hemsworth was chosen in large part because he physically fits the role of Thor, like Johnson for Hercules.

I just don't see Leto hitting either the looks department or the marketability, but if you're right and I'm wrong, I'll be the first to say so.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 11:17:56 PM

Jared Leto as Dr. Stephen Strange ... really ? Robert Carradine is MORE Stephen Strange then Jared Leto ....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved