WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set Photos Show Costumes and Creatures

Posted: June 3rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set Photos Show Costumes and CreaturesSubmit Comment
Today we have new photos from the set of JJ Abrams' "Star Wars: Episode VII," which is currently filming in Abu Dhabi and is clearly focusing more on practical effects like the original trilogy.

TMZ says that the scenes are meant to take place on Tattooine and include a giant pig-like creature that was controlled by five men inside its belly. Check out all the photso below.

"Star Wars: Episode VII" is set to hit theaters on December 18th, 2015.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:03:56 AM

A day way too late *sshole
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:06:03 AM

you'd figure that using cgi would be more "practical" than building, then getting 5 guys into that thing.
Papillon writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:07:33 AM

^ ^ I got banned for less than that Bando but that made me LOL!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 10:28:12 AM

Gay like Thor 2 gay like capt America 2.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 10:28:43 AM

Late like always.
boogiel writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 10:40:25 AM

Mmmm...mutated pig/bacon
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 11:51:38 AM

These are some really cool pics and i'm all for as many practical fx as possible considering how much of a cgi sh*tfest the prequels were.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 12:08:33 PM

Lol I wonder if they're going to leave this set abandoned like they did the other ones
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 3:26:57 PM

^^ No but disney will sell it to you for a couple million
cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 4:26:06 PM

Photos of the Millennium Falcon and advanced X-Wing from London

http://m.tmz.com/#Article/2014/06/03/star-wars-episode-7-millennium-falcon-set-photos
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 5:02:03 PM

Love. Love everything about. Practical effects are better
In most cases, allowing a more immerse environment for the actors and the audience.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 6:52:37 PM

Looks so much better than the prequels. I love practical effects and I greatly appreciate how Abrams and Disney aren't going the all-digital route.

Also nice to see the old-school analog modelers getting some work.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 6:54:16 PM

"you'd figure that using cgi would be more "practical" than building, then getting 5 guys into that thing."

Not really. It takes at least two or three guys to make a 3D model. Model it, texture it, light it. And it still looks fake. But give three experienced modelers a few days and they can build the real thing.
Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:00:33 PM

^^ Which might actually mean something if not for the fact that the prequels employed all manner of on-location set designs, full-scale models, puppetry, props etc.

The behind-the-scene photos of The Phantom Menace are practically identical to what we see here.
Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:25:30 PM


In relation to Disney, Scott Derrickson of Sinister, The Exorcism of Emily Rose and The Day The Earth Stood Still will direct Marvel's Doctor Strange

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=14153

minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 7:57:05 PM

@Cannon: really? Are you sure? Because I cannot recall one moment in TPM that included analog puppetry. Not one. Jar Jar, Boss Nas or whatever, the battles, et cetera were all digital. I even have the art books to prove it. Sure, some of the ext/int shots are of course analog, not like we're talking Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow or Sicker Punch, but very, very little old-school animatronics or puppetry, unlike the original trilogy.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 8:03:29 PM

*Sucker.
cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 8:20:39 PM

"Because I cannot recall one moment in TPM that included analog puppetry."

Really? How about the awful-looking puppet Yoda? He's been replaced by the excellent-looking CGI version in the mist recent DVD/BLURAY releases. He looked terrible in the 99 release.


Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 8:39:22 PM


Just watch the making-of featurettes, or even the Tatooine scenes themselves. It's quite apparent. Of course, all kinds of digital was used as well. My point is, unlike Sky Captain or Sucker Punch, as you mentioned, along with Spy Kids or Sin City or Speed Racer or even the Pandora scenes in Avatar, the prequels overall incorporated a much healthier mix of elements both hand-crafted and CGI.

So many of the settings and set-pieces even from the latter two installments that are often dismissed as purely digital video game backdrops -- the cloning facility, Geonosis arena, Wookiee planet, Utapau sink-hole planet, Mustafar -- are in fact an alchemy of scaled miniatures, 3D scanned matte paints and real-world, 2nd unit location plates/footage.

It's all composited digitally with CG details and atmospherics and, of course, numerous CGI characters. But, again, the rhetorical narrative that these movies were devoid of any lasting or substantial use of practical effects simply doesn't fit the actual production facts nor, at least in my opinion, what is actually shown on screen.

These photos of Episode VII are showing us the on-location work, which is naturally going to involve the largest amount of practical elements. And that's great. I even believe that Abrams will nonetheless opt for a more 'in-camera effects' look compared to the prequels. And that's fine, too.

But I think that people are being extremely na´ve in assuming the difference will be anything more than marginal at best, and that this film will not be rife with the CGI gloss of every other big fantasy/sci-fi blockbuster.

Just like with Jabba the Hut from Return of the Jedi, the big pig creature seen here looks great, but likewise there's only so many ways, angles and editing tricks with which one can shoot such things.

Hell, I actually hope Abrams employs as many of these kinds of effects as possible if only to force him to slow down his overly flashy camerawork and hyper-editing to let such imagery breathe better.


cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 8:56:06 PM

"...if only to force him to slow down his overly flashy camerawork and hyper-editing to let such imagery breathe better."

Well, I know I'm going to hear it here, so here goes...

I like Abrams. A lot of people here hate his style, yet applaud a lot of Michael Bay's films (THE ROCK, BAD BOYD) who exemplifies the style you speak of, Cannon. I hate Bay, yet recognize he does have a signature style and look, but no sense of overall primacy with work. Abrams seems to have a bit of Bay's frenetic style mixed with Spielberg's heart. I know he apes Spielberg too much (I hated SUPER 8), but he is talented and capable of delivering a good STAR WARS film

Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 9:01:34 PM


He's more capable than Bay, I'll give him that ...or Whedon or Nolan, for that matter. I might give him as much credit as, say, Zack Snyder. But, like Snyder, I still don't think his filmmaking is particularly interesting.



cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 9:03:02 PM

I'm not an Abrams bitch, either...

MI3 was great
STAR TREK was great
SUPER 8 sucked
STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS sucked

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved