WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Explains How He Almost Directed Series of "Spider-Man" Films

Posted: June 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Explains How He Almost Directed Series of "Spider-Man" FilmsSubmit Comment
During the LA Times Hero Complex Film Festival, James Cameron spoke about a bunch of topics, including how close he came to directing a "Spider-Man" film, which was right before he directed "Titanic."

"Spider-Man was kind of going nowhere," he explained. "Canon, a very low budget film company back in the 80s, had it briefly. Nobody had really done anything with it. Marvel characters in general weren't being developed very well at that time."

Cameron continued: "I got Carolco Pictures to buy Spider-Man. I was going to launch that as a series of films. I wrote quite an extensive treatment, I think eighty or ninety pages long. And then again when Carolco collapsed, those rights were in play and I didn't pursue it because I was on to 'Titanic' and I was doing other things."

He went on to say that just because he was interested in Spider-Man, that doesn't mean he's interested in directing a superhero film. "When I was a kid: to me there were all the superheroes and then there was Spider-Man," said Cameron. "So having not gotten Spider-Man, it's not like I'm looking around for the next comic book character."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 8:39:29 AM

Really Alex? You've posted this before.
Papillon writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 8:42:57 AM

Considering that he's one of the greatest filmmanker out there, I really don't know how relevant this is. When he's not babbling about Avatar he has tell us that he was once involved with one of the most today's profitable franchise.

Pissing in the wind much?
sherv writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 11:21:20 AM

Loved Cannon back in the 80s!!
Cannon writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 11:45:14 AM


Downey Jr. or no Downey Jr., I would have preferred he directed Iron Man. That would have been right up his alley, and I think he would have made it far more visionary than the overrated mediocrity we got from Favreau.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 3:14:52 PM

PORNFLY Explains How He Almost Banged a Half PuertoRican/Italian Broad

Her friend came into my room and dragged her away half naked because she had a boyfriend.

The End
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 5:55:25 PM

I think I recall reading about his back in 2001, long after Marvel and Company decided they weren't interested in his dark, half-hearted and violent update to what is supposed to be a sophomoric allegory for adolescence.

And as I recall, Cameron said something to the effect that at that point in his life he felt he could write any script any way he wanted without any worries, which is why he didn't treat Spiderman with more respect and seriousness.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 8:30:27 PM

Do not care!
SaulSilver writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 11:20:18 PM

Michael Biehn would have been better than Tobey McGuire...that's for sure.
Attos writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 6:44:10 AM

...I don't like James Cameron..
I hate both Avatar and Titanic, which are the two highest grossing films of all time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 4th, 2014 at 11:26:08 PM

From the closet of old-ass news: James Cameron talks about his f*cking detailed as a hair up his ass script and how he almost directed Spider-Man.

Someone wake me up when Alex announces how the Allies won World War II.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved