WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Maleficent" Dominates Box Office, "X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Already Biggest "X-Men" Film

Posted: June 1st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Maleficent" Dominates Box Office, "X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Already Biggest "X-Men" FilmSubmit Comment
"Maleficent," the live-action spin-off to "Sleeping Beauty," grossed a whopping $70 million domestically this weekend with another $100 million from overseas. That's $170 million worldwide debut, a huge win for Disney and star Angelina Jolie, the best opening of her career.

The film cost $175 million to make and Disney was hoping to match the domestic debut of "Oz the Great and Powerful" ($79 million) and maybe even the debut of "Alice in Wonderland" ($116 million). Even though the result fell short, it was still higher than expectations. "Maleficent" has a 51% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend was Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West," which grossed $17.1 million, a fraction of the $54.5 million debut of his "Ted" comedy on the same weekend two years ago.

"Million Ways" took third place and suffered mostly to bad reviews. The comedy currently has a 33% fresh rating.

"X-Men: Days of Future Past" dropped to second place with another $32.6 million, bringing its worldwide total to $500.2 million, eclipsing the $459.4 million grossed by "X-Men: The Last Stand" to already become the highest grossing "X-Men" film. It still has an impressive 92% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" sci-fi film was released overseas, where it took $20 million, far lower than expected. The $175 million movie is having trouble competing with all the big-budget films being released, but is hoping for a decent domestic opening next weekend. "Edge of Tomorrow" has a great 95% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:08:40 PM

I'm just glad to see the pubic and critics largely repudiated Seth's attempt at acting, which I hear is abominable.

Also good to see his tired, ugly and insipid Family guy shtick is no competition for films like Blazing Saddles, which will forever remain a comedic plateau far removed from Seth's unfunny grip.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:13:32 PM

And I can't believe or accept people thought Ted was a great film considering it's nothing but a live-action Family Guy film in old rom-com clothing.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:22:55 PM

@mink
I saw a review for X-Men where the guy actually said, "Logic? Who needs it?" Basically mink, they don't care as long as it entertains even if it doesn't make sense.

@everyone
Hard to believe Jolie still has that kind of box office pull but congrats to her. Her personal life aside she is a fine actress. And she was perfect to play the character even if the rest of the movie falls short. As for X-Men, it will be interesting to see how far it goes. As more movies come in to take it's box office business it will be interesting.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:31:18 PM

I hear ya Sleuth.

Anyway I'm kind of looking forward to Edge of TOmorrow, but I'm not sure I'm liking what I'm seeing in the trailer, and I have to question a movie that once again predicates its plot on the implausible narrative of vasty-advanced aliens heading to earth to engage in hand-to hand combat with humans.

I know, I know, nitpicking isn't appropriate film analysis, but still...and the fact that the trailer looks like a stew of every CGI device known to man combined with every war cliche and every Tom Cruise cliche...known to man isn'[t helping.

Could be good, but I smell a Ted Kaczynski.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:32:57 PM

"Hard to believe Jolie still has that kind of box office pull but congrats to her."

Perhaps, but one wonders how well the film would do if another actress had taken the lead instead.

Disney sh*t sells, and so does America's dangerous, dubious fascination with evil.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:35:30 PM

"and on the other hand this might be sad if the movie is half as good as the critics claim it to be."

Why? What the hell do you care how much money WB makes? I sure as f*ck don't. And I get to the see movie regardless.

Just saying is all, dog.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:00:35 AM

@mink
Well you have to remember the trailer has to be generic to get a wider audience. I feel underneath is a unique sci-fi tale that has to be revealed in the film itself you know so they don't give too much away.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:04:38 AM

@Crambo
Godzilla and X-Men have both exceeded expectations. Just because opening numbers are strong doesn't mean sh*t. Avatar ring any bells? Thing barely made anything opening weekend and now is the highest grossing nice of all time.

@mink
Oh and I'm glad took someone like Jolie instead of one of their generic drones. Jolie is back when acting was a skill and required passion and training. I didn't give her a lot of credit then I saw Changeling and my opinion...well changed. LOL Her commitment to this character and how well she seems to have captured makes me happy actors are willing to throw themselves out there and do a really unique character like this.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:05:34 AM

nice=film*

Edit button is needed. LOL
boogiel writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:17:13 AM

Why would I shell out good money to watch a Hollywood celebrity pretend to be a witch? I can think of more than one prominent politician in the U.S. Senate who fills that role admirably in real life.
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:35:45 AM

I think it would have done even better had it been named Femaleficent

as it is, I think a lot of people got confused
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:35:57 AM

"I'm just glad to see the pubic..."

You and me both, buddy, you and me both....
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 12:40:18 AM

MacFarlane's Refined Lard


anybody who has seen tonights episode of Cosmos gets that^
Database Error writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:01:14 AM

@Sleuth: sorry, dude, but if you think there's any "originality" left in cinematic science fiction, I feel for you. Why do you think Nolan's doing his Aldis in Space thing? Hell, literary science fiction is just about as empty. Most of it is transgendered this, transgendered that. Seems to be completely dominated by the transhuman movement. Just wait till that sh*t hits the cinema.

And I hardly consider Source Code + Battle: Los Angeles + Elysium + Saving Private Ryan to be "original".
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:02:02 AM

Darn it, that was me.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:04:15 AM

@Pornfly: you keep f*cking around with me, son, I'm going to open a big can of MAYheeCO jokes on your U-Haul-employed ass.

tee-hee.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:08:38 AM

@Rambo: Again I ask, why the f*ck do you care? If someone discusses the more detailed aspects of Hollywood finance you snarkily tune out. But you're obsessed with opening numbers? Are you just looking for something to say?

Really, what the f*ck do you care what H-Town brings in? Do you get a cut? Does it affect a film's quality? Do you enjoy a film less if it makes little money?

Me? I'm actually VERY interested in the financial aspects of film production, in the fiduciary side of things. You're clearly not. So it's just f*cking weird as hell to hear you bitch about what a film or studio makes when you've proven an absolutely willing obliviousness and ignorance of film finance.


Yeah, anyway is right.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:11:44 AM

to, not of.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:20:08 AM

Haven't seen the newest X-Men yet, Still wanna watch the million ways to die and I highly highly doubt I'll be ever watching Maleficent unless it means a step forward to getting in a girls pants. Movie looks boring as hell lol

minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:21:40 AM

Best way to get laid is to take a chick home to mom and a copy of Planes.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:35:57 AM

"I can think of more than one prominent politician in the U.S. Senate who fills that role admirably in real life."

Harry Reid?
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:37:55 AM

You folks have no real sense of humor at all. And no balls whatsoever.

I feel like I'm at a Goth Eunuch Convention some times.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:39:48 AM

I wonder how many people I'm annoying with all these posts. Probably at least half of the people who visit WorstPreviews. So like...three or four?


Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I had some Waffle Crisp and now I'm feeling high! Now I know what Pornfly feels every second of his life.

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:57:47 AM

I saw capt America 2 and it was meh.im really tired of Sam Jackson being in everything.never has Bucky looked so gay.and that Anthony Mackey plays the same role in every movie.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 2:08:16 AM

This movie deserved it. Waaaaay better than X-men was.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 2:13:06 AM

Where was your advise when I needed it mink! All this time I've been buyin girls dinner and drinks when I've got my Collectors edition of planes sitting here in my moms basement! :)
Words of Wisdom writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 2:16:02 AM

Love revels in authority.
Džeko writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 2:58:50 AM

@minkowski
Edge of tomorrow is awesome...went with no expectations what so ever and was blown away how good it was!If it wasn't for the somewhat weaker last act I would consider it as one of the best sf-action movies in the last decade.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 7:15:08 AM

Anyone got a link to the leaked Star Wars photos?
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 7:34:45 AM

Never mind I found it

Callan Mulvey to play joker in BvS
WallyDee writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 7:35:20 AM

@dzeko

Agreed.
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:48:33 PM

I'm not surprised A Million Ways To Die failed. It was put up against the release of Maleficient, and X Men and Spiderman 2 are still in theaters, plus a large bulk of the promotion for that movie was inbetween Adult Swim shows.
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 1:49:55 PM

Funniest thing about the performance of A Million Ways to Die In The West is there is a commercial where Charlize Theron straight up says "Seth needs you to see this movie. I can afford a bomb or two, but he can't"
Deckman writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 9:09:22 PM

I just recently reqtached Blazzing Saddles and yes. A million ways is a sad attempt
Deckman writes:
on June 3rd, 2014 at 9:12:56 PM

Xmen and Capt 2 are easily the best movies I have seen this year. I am not interested in malifecent until I torrent it.

This summer is MUCH better than last summers line up.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved