WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Adam McKay Turns Down Offer to Direct Marvel's "Ant-Man"

Posted: June 1st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Adam McKay Turns Down Offer to Direct MarvelSubmit Comment
After Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) dropped out of directing Marvel's "Ant-Man" film, the studio immediately began searching for his replacement. After meeting with several helmers, Adam McKay (Anchorman, Step-Brothers) was offered the job.

McKay is known not only as a director, but also as a very busy producer, which would make it tricky for him to drop what he's doing to take on "Ant-Man." And now comes word that McKay passed on the job.

"Yes, met with Marvel," McKay wrote on Twitter. "But have other projects I'm committed to. Not sure it can work."

That leaves Marvel with two other directors, Rawson Marshall Thurber (We're the Millers) and Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland). Both have already met with the studio.

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: THR, Adam McKay


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 7:13:21 AM

This franchise is starting to look like a train wreck and seriously turning into a soap opera.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 7:26:42 AM

This won't be as good now.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 7:30:10 AM

Not sure it can work doesn't mean it won't. Just kill this and make black panther or a female solo film bunch of sausages I'm trying to see some sexy bitch kick some ass and saladana doesn't donor for me. How about ms marvel? Jamie king or some other blonde?
shafe41 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 8:27:17 AM

Turns out McKay is smarter than I thought. This is a disaster of a film and it's not even made yet. To be released in a year and nothing is done. Just throw in the towel.
shiteater writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 11:18:08 AM

I'll direct it
Cannon writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 1:29:30 PM


Here's a suggestion: Edgar Wright.

CelluloidMan writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 2:15:52 PM

I don't think anyone will actually be better to helm this than Wright. He was the only one that really pulled for and loved the unpopular character years enough the understand it, understand its appeal and how it would make a great story to tell to make a great addition to the current Marvel Universe.

And on a side note, what a d*ck move from Marvel/Disney...

To have a guy that believed the your B-List (in some fanboy circles C-List) comic book character that not even the Marvel Universe itself had any plans for anytime soon with a polished plot joining the old and new comics in one storyline, setup the look, working out all the kinks for the SFX, cast/ crew already setup and for what? Filming in June? July? To all of a sudden nitpick and eject the driving force behind it out?!!

Not liking the screenplay when all this could've been taken care at the original development YEARS AGO!! C'mon...the screenplay or plot outline (like Whedon did in Avengers 2) is the first thing that needs authorized before being green-lit!!

I don't know...this kinda sounds like a screw-job if you ask me.

Shame, really...but all part of the movie business.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:18:45 PM

@mink
I agree with you. The director of Zombieland is the best chance they have of retaining a somewhat inventive mixture of comedy and off-the-wall action that Wright would have gone for. I am hoping the script established was one of Wright's final drafts and they retain it.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:30:49 PM

^^Well, I agree with you, but I fear they'll hire this Furby guy instead because he comes very cheap and we'll bark and roll over when they snap their fingers. I really think that's what they want. They want a robotic helmer, someone to perform on command like a trick pony.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:30:50 PM

^^Well, I agree with you, but I fear they'll hire this Furby guy instead because he comes very cheap and we'll bark and roll over when they snap their fingers. I really think that's what they want. They want a robotic helmer, someone to perform on command like a trick pony.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:31:04 PM

What the f*ck?
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:33:25 PM

Anyway, Wright and McKay want nothing to do with this, apparently, and I don't think the problem is entirely with the screenplay. I think it's with Disney.

Wright and McKay want some creative control, the right and ability to place upon the film their personal imprimatur, to give the auteur theory merit, instead of letting Disney control every single aspect of production.

Either that or the screenplay is a total, absolute mess.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:48:58 PM

@mink
I find Wright's stories are always too notch. Somehow I don't find it's just Disney because Gunn is an independent director who has been allowed to keep his vision. I think Wright indeed want creative control and he had a very specific style so maybe it was that. See hate him all you want but this is why I love James Cameron. He fights for his visions and manages to please studios without sacrificing what he wants in a movie. Whether that was the case here or Disney got tyrannical is unknown but it could just be Wright face high expectations, a small film that would tie into a large universe, and it forced him to sacrifice the intimacy he tends to have with his characters.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:49:33 PM

top notch*
Doucheception writes:
on June 2nd, 2014 at 2:12:41 AM

I would like Phil Lord and Chris Miller those guys would be great!

Or maybe Brad Bird or Jon Favreau?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved