WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Chooses Adam McKay to Direct "Ant-Man"

Posted: May 31st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Chooses Adam McKay to Direct "Ant-Man"Submit Comment
It was just reported that Marvel has been in talks with Adam McKay (Anchorman, Step Brothers), Rawson Thurber (Dodgeball, We're the Millers) and Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland, Gangster Squad) to replace Edgar Wright at the director of the upcoming "Ant-Man" film.

Now comes word that despite also being an incredibly busy producer, McKay has officially been offered the job. The helmer is currently in negotiations, so it seems that he's at least interested in accepting.

"Ant-Man" stars Michael Douglas, Evangeline Lilly, Michael Pena, Corey Stoll and Patrick Wilson. It's set to hit theaters on July 17th, 2015.

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:42:45 AM

So, Ant-Man is gonna be a comedy. Hmm...didn't see that coming.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:44:42 AM

McKay has the comedic sensibility to direct ANT-MAN, but I don't know about how well he can choreograph and manage action sequences. If Gunn can do GUARDIANS, though, then I'm sure McKay will be just fine directing BUG f*ckER.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:47:08 AM

@Boogiel. I knew Ant-Man would have a lot of comedy in it because of Wright's involvement. It's not a stretch that their getting someone like McKay to replace him.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:47:29 AM

*they're
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 8:27:25 AM

Where's Rudd?
Zubostl writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 9:19:14 AM

He proved his ability to direct action scenes with the battle scene in Anchorman! There were horses and a man on fire and Brick kills a guy with a trident.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 9:22:20 AM

lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 9:38:06 AM

Expect a Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly cameo in this somewhere
Cannon writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 10:39:25 AM


Odd. So, being too comical was apparently not the issue with Wright's version (assuming it wasn't comedic enough), if they're now opting for a flat-out comedy director that is McKay.

What, then, was Marvel/Disney's beef exactly?
Attos writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:21:20 AM

f*ck. I don't have any faith in his ability to direct this. The only reason I supported Wright for the job was because in films like Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and The World's End, I was always amazed by his ability to shoot action sequences. Some of the action/fight scenes in those movies were actually better than a lot of recent straight-up action films. And he was damn good at still maintaining a comedy element within them.

He was the right choice to direct this film, and the studios and the fans took a major loss when he walked away from it.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:21:43 AM

@Cannon. Wright's vision would've had his signature style, I'm sure, especially with the editing(SCOTT PILGRIM, for example). Marvel doesn't want that, but something that is more akin to all their other preceding films. Too bad, as I think Wright would've gave us something funky good.
Attos writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:22:39 AM

So now we'll just have Paul Rudd playing the normal boring version of himself (like he does in every Adam McKay movie) set to stale motionless backdrops. Ten bucks says Will Ferrell shows up for no f*cking reason.
vincere01 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:34:06 AM

I just dont see this ever seeing the cameras. Gotg will bomb hard and they will look at antman as a possibly even riskier mistake and cut theyre losses. Then bleed iron man and the rest of the avengers dry (2 more movies tops) and then offer boatloads of money to RDJ and co and when one or 2 of them balk that will be the end. Just straight to dvd after that, not even a bluray release
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 2:01:07 PM

I'd express my disappointment, but then again the guys who directed Captain America created Community and mostly directed comedies up to that point, so i'll give it a chance.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 2:26:02 PM

Adam McKay drops out of Ant-Man talks:

http://variety.com/2014/film/news/adam-mckay-wont-direct-ant-man-1201201146/
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 4:31:39 PM

Lmao nobody wants Ant Man. I'm not sure how this movie is gonna get made on time
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:42:54 PM

It would seem that no one wants this project, and one has to wonder why. Is it because of Marvel's strictures on creative control?

Marvel's going to dig back into the bag and find either a hungry newcomer or an old commercial workhorse. Anyone in the middle is either going to look elsewhere, or accept and despise the job.

Good luck Marvel.

P.S. Phase Three looks troubled.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 7:54:17 PM

I'd rather see this animated in the same fashion as Pixar. And at least Kevin Smiths' name isn't in the bag.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 8:23:46 PM

Sure, if you want to hire a guy who has a name that sounds like his career started at WWE's porno wrestling division...
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 8:41:51 PM

Rawson Thurber. lol.

Just looked up this jock-dude's resume. He played football in college then went on to write football commercials, plus he directed and wrote 'DodgeBall', a silly sports comedy that's popular with stupid Americans.

Then he directed We're the Miller's, a commercially-successful film heavily savaged for it's sloppy story.

No f*cking way. If Marvel goes with this dude, they're either f*cking idiots or they want a slave director, someone so hungry he'll eat literal sh*t for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Reuben Fleisher's the best choice. He's directed three large feature films, plus he's done television, commercials, music videos and short films.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 9:34:34 PM

@ attos

I couldn't agree with you more! Edger Wright was the whole reason I wanted to see this Antman movie. Have you seen scott pilgrim vs the world??? fricken amazing action sequences.

Antman is a character where you really do need a great director to shoot the movie. This isn't like Thor or Ironman where the movie can suck but still do good at the box office and still get mediocre reviews because people like to see thor throw his hammer and Tony Stark in his ironman suit. This is Antman, a character that the average audience knows nothing about and sounds kind of lame to begin with. Marvel messed up. Antman went from potentially being the best marvel movie ever. to sh*t. real fast.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 9:39:24 PM

and am I the only one that was disappointed with Captain America 2??

it had the most cliché plot line ever. Felt like it was an action movie from the mid 90s. The cinematography wasn't anything special either. And every scene with Black Widow was so stupid, all she was doing the whole movie was asking captain america if he has a girlfriend yet. WTF?
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 10:09:52 PM

"Antman went from potentially being the best marvel movie ever. to sh*t. real fast."

You've seen the movie, then? The final, finished project? If so, perhaps you would cared to upload it to The Pirate Bay so we can all adjudge it for ourselves.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:15:04 PM

@ minkowski?

notice how I said "potentially". Learn to read or take your pointless rambling comments some where else. You seriously never add anything good. In the past I use to read your comments about movies because I thought you maybe actually had something important and intriguing to say but now I don't even waste my time. Every thing you say is rambling garbage and mostly negative.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 11:49:20 PM

^^No, Supertard, I did read what you scrawled just fine.

You said "potentially" the best Marvel movie...to sh*t.

You should have qualified that "to sh*t" with another "potentially", if that's what you really meant.

But I love how you decry my "negativity" while illiterately bashing a movie that hasn't even been f*cking made yet.

lol.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 1:00:15 AM

The f*cker pulled out! Thank christ!
maulanamuldan writes:
on May 18th, 2016 at 11:42:19 PM

puputkantor writes:
on May 30th, 2016 at 3:53:12 AM

I used to be seeking this particular information for a
very long time. Thank you and best of luck. Obat Tradisional Asam Urat Yang Ampuh
obatasamurat.135street.com
pengobatanasamurat.135street.com
obattradisionalasamurat.135street.com
caramengobatiasamurat.135street.com
obatherbalasamurat.135street.com
obatdarahtinggi.135street.com
pengobatandarahtinggi.135street.com
obattradisionaldarahtinggi.135street.com
obatherbaldarahtinggi.135street.com
caramengobatidarahtinggi.135street.com
obatmaag.135street.com
obatmaagkronis.135street.com
obatmaagakut.88sunstar.com
caramengobatimaag.88sunstar.com
pengobatanmaag.88sunstar.com
obatdiabetes.88sunstar.com
obatherbaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
obattradisionaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
obattradisionaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
caramengobatidiabetes.88sunstar.com
obatkolesterol.88sunstar.com
obatherbalkolesterol.88sunstar.com
obattradisionalkolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatikolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatikolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatitipes.88sunstar.com
obattipes.135street.com

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved