WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Remake of Sylvester Stallone's "Cliffhanger" in the Works

Posted: May 30th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Remake of Sylvester StalloneSubmit Comment
StudioCanal and producer Neal Moritz (I Am Legend, Fast Five, 21 Jump Street) have teamed to remake Sylvester Stalone's 1993 "Cliffhanger" thriller, which revolved around a traumatized mountain climber forced back into an expedition after a plane crash leaves a lot of stolen cash and bad guys on the Rocky Mountains.

Many writers pitched ideas for the remake, but in the end, Joe Gazzam's version was the one that Moritz liked. As a result, Gazzam is now working on the script. A director has yet to be hired.

"Cliffhanger" cost $70 million to make and grossed $255 million worldwide. It was the film that resurrected Stallone's career after several box office bombs and a bad reputation for being difficult on set. In fact, the actor begged director Renny Harlin for the job. Harlin eventually gave it to him, but only after Stallone agreed to listen to him all the time and get him coffee when he wants it.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:02:28 AM

"...Stallone agreed to listen to him all the time and get him coffee when he wants it."

Really? That really f*cking happened? GTFO!
I'm sure Stallone hated doing that, and put his special creamer in that coffee when Harlin wasn't looking.
(I.E. Renny Harlin drank Sylvester Stallone's sperm.)



Attos writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:02:28 AM

STOP IT.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:02:39 AM

I don't think we need a remake.. Lol
SACdaddy writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:15:59 AM

Wtf?!?!?! Why, Cliffhanger is still better than 90% of the action films released today. Nothing about it is in need of an update.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:19:25 AM

Yeah, cliffhangers a pretty good flick.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:20:41 AM

Cliffhanger and Vertical Limit are untouchable in my book. You're just not going to get better cheesy action excellence than those two films.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:34:25 AM

Renny Harlins Hercules bombed hard.he hasn't had a hit since probably cliffhanger
Cannon writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:39:56 AM


So now they're remaking Die Hard knock-offs? I mean, don't get me wrong, I enjoy Cliffhanger well enough from time to time, but that's all it ever really was.

Might as well remake Under Siege, Speed and The Rock while they're at it. Hell, might as well remake Die Hard itself, for that matter.

vincere01 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:41:27 AM

With any luck (not) they will get tater tots to be slys part. f*ck this sh*t
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:45:52 AM

Cannon-

The day they remake Die Hard is the day I go postal. Id be f*cking pissed if they remade my favorite movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:50:13 AM

I knew Stallone went through an *sshole phase but I didn't know it was that bad. Nice to see he grew out of it. I blame Bridget Nielsen. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:52:19 AM

@Tanman
The day they remake "Die Hard" is the day I give up on film. That film set a mold in "Guy defending one place". Even Willis said that the film had become so popular that it went full circle to him where a movie pitched to him was described as "Die Hard in a building". LOL
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:56:10 AM

http://www.thegloss.com/2011/09/26/culture/people-you-are-not-allowed-to-look-in-the-eye-552/gallery-page/5/
cress writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 12:04:51 PM

@DeaftOne. I always thought that was funny about Sly. Clearly, we are inferior beings to the man who brought us RHINESTONE.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 12:16:26 PM

@cress

Lol, yeah it's ridiculous. I wonder if Sly still acts like that.
lawman writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 12:43:41 PM

^^

Isnt he like 5'8"? What normal sized man is even able to look him in the eye?
Attos writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 12:52:50 PM

@Tan
Yeah, I can't imagine any other actors being able to do a Die Hard remake any sort of justice. Not only is Bruce Willis irreplaceable as McClane, but I would never want to hear anyone but Alan Rickman utter the words "Mister Cowboy".
bandolero999 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 1:04:43 PM

According to imdb sly turned down the role of john McLain
That would of been gayyyy
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 1:41:47 PM

Demolition Man remake coming soon.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 3:06:55 PM

Sleuth-

Yeah I've heard that before lol

Attos-
Exactly. The movie just wouldn't have been the same with another actor in the role. I couldn't invision anyone else playing him as well.
BuIIit writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 3:42:58 PM

f*cking incestual PISSING c*nt!
darthraige writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 3:46:58 PM

Let me guess? PG f*cken 13? c*nts.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 4:03:38 PM

Anyway, I seriously doubt the remake will be made, or if it is, it won't be much like the original, largely thanks to that film's budget, which included paying one stuntman a million dollars for the airplane-to-airplane scene.

But hey, who cares? Not like I have to watch it and not like it's going to affect the original, so why complain?
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:14:44 PM

lol. The production company making this remake is named Original Pictures.

They should just do a sequel with Stallone instead.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:16:12 PM

Sure does take a lot to make Alex do his damned job...
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:28:44 PM

I thought they remade Cliffhanger already. Wasn't it called Ace Ventura 2?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=897R5qNVYlU
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:36:06 PM

@mink
Original Pictures is anything but. They did the film "SWAT" back in 2002 which I actually enjoyed. It was fun and the cast had good chemistry as a team. Anyway this production company is anything but. I think they also did "Battle: Los Angeles".
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:40:00 PM

They're about half and half. The did Click and Stealth but then they did Fast Five and XXX. SWAT was decent too.

http://www.imdb.com/company/co0011134/
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:41:49 PM

Hal Tucker watches his girlfriend fall to her death again ... and who's going to top Papa Walton as the old codger at the stick * of the helicopter ... and at least this time we don't have to have John Lithgow chew up the scenery ... mountain included.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:43:49 PM

"In fact, the actor begged director Renny Harlin for the job."

Why ? Was this AFTER Rocky V: The Quest for $$$ ?

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:46:22 PM

minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 4:03:38 PM
Anyway, I seriously doubt the remake will be made, or if it is, it won't be much like the original, largely thanks to that film's budget, which included paying one stuntman a million dollars for the airplane-to-airplane scene.

But hey, who cares? Not like I have to watch it and not like it's going to affect the original, so why complain?


@mink

Not to mention that they'll CGI the f*ck out of this movie. I wouldn't be surprised if they don't do the "climbing" scene on a green screen or a wall like they have in those f*cking bowling/party game places that has the climbing wall and just green screen or photoshop the whole f*cking thing.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:47:29 PM

@mink
Fast Five was good and XXX was fun. Click was actually heartwarming if you were willing to dispense cynicism. Stealth...really depends on my mood but first time I saw it I almost fell asleep. I had to get up and walk around a couple times. LOL
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:51:13 PM

^^Stealth is garbage to me just for the way they expeditiously killed off the token black guy so the two white folks could canoodle. I also didn't buy much of the character's motivations and it seemed like a wanna-be high-concept film just going through the motions.

And Vin needs to make a new XXX.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:55:20 PM

@Max: I don't know. Original Pictures has a thing for stunts it seems, but they also have a thing for CGI.

But I don't expect the original film's level of realism since it cost CarolCo millions upon millions to make that happen, and I don't see Original Pictures paying to film the remake in Italy like the original Cliffhanger, which lent the movie a grounded reality missing from most modern flicks.

Yeah, probably lots of Taters or some other idiotic actor on a greenscreen.

Maybe they'll hire Jai Courtney...
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:57:22 PM

From IMDb:

"The movie is in the Guinness Book of World Records for the costliest aerial stunt ever performed. The scene in which Travers crosses from one jet to the other at a height of 15,000 feet was done without the aid of any safety devices or trick photography. The insurance company underwriting the film refused to insure a stunt man for this, so Sylvester Stallone offered to reduce his own fee for the movie by the amount that the stunt cost to produce in order that the film could be made. The stunt was performed by Simon Crane. Because of the extremely dangerous nature of the stunt, it was only performed once."




So yeah, don't expect to see this one done right in the remake.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 7:58:40 PM

@mink
Diesel has been talking about doing another XXX for awhile. All the stuff that happened with FF has thrown those plans off.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 8:02:46 PM

@Max:

"In fact, the actor begged director Renny Harlin for the job."

Why ? Was this AFTER Rocky V: The Quest for $$$ ?







Whoever said this is an idiot.

CarolCo approached Stallone. In fact, the movie started out as a Harlin film entitled Gale Force, a movie that was basically Die Hard in a hurricane, starring Stallone, but costs forced the studio to change the film to a mountainous setting.


http://articles.latimes.com/1995-12-21/entertainment/ca-16222_1_renny-harlin
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 8:04:01 PM

@Sleuth: The script for XXX 3 should be finished by now, so we might see production start before or right after Fast 7 wraps.

http://screenrant.com/xxx-3-return-xander-cage-script-vin-diesel/
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 8:46:22 PM

So I got deleted for sparking that sh*t?

Well at least Alex has an edit button
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 8:52:12 PM

Anyway Xmen was a 5/10 not nearly as good as first class and still to many plot holes
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 9:08:13 PM

the guy from HEROES who kinda looks like Sly Stallone should play Sly Stallone's character in the remake
vincere01 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 9:37:28 PM

http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/star-wars-empire-strikes-back-3621578

New top movies poll of quarter million movie fans.

Empire strikes back dethrones previous number 1 godfather.

I agree with everything having merit in top 10 except pulp fiction and inception myself
vincere01 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 9:50:06 PM

Nobody? I thought it would be a good starting point for a lively discussion in movies and debates in greatest films.

Surely thats gotta be better than talking abouy a cliffhanger remake and just exactly how badly they could f*ck it up.

Just for the record, hiring jai courtney and tater tot would be the answer. With uwe boll himself in the lithgow role
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 10:11:13 PM

lol, Empire Strikes Back is the top movie in their poll? Who the f*ck did they ask, a room full of nerds and losers?

Whatever. The Empire Strikes Back is certainly the best of all six films, but it's still a goofy, juvenile adventure romp with some rather lackluster moments and unsure acting and action.

And it certainly doesn't compare to genuine masterpieces like The Shawshank Redemption, which, barring its morally dubious material, would be a hit if it appeared in 1955 or 2055.

Just can't say the same about Empire as it relies far too heavily on then-current pop-cultural trends and expectations and special effects and not on dialogue, acting or plot development.

Really, I can't even name more than a few lines from that movie anyone would regularly quote, although I'm sure Trollbo will dig up a few just to prove me wrong.

Really, other than "Luke, I'm your father" what do people really remember? And of course the concomitant "big reveal" of Vader's parentage of Luke.

Not very impressive for a space-western, and such material doesn't lend itself to much more than the Buck Rogers comics that inspired it.

Kind of forgettable, actually, and to be clearly candid, although I've seen the original films more than once, they haven't lent themselves to my memory much.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 10:31:57 PM

Crambo

I'd say pulp fiction was better then a 6/10. And die hard 10 outta 10? Duhhhh! Lol
xtlhogciao writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 10:33:29 PM

Yeah. where's the source of the coffee and fealty from Stallone addition?
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 10:37:12 PM

ALIENS, Terminator 2, and ESB are the greatest sequels ever made.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 10:46:45 PM

The Road Warrior.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:06:56 PM

I am jacks lack of surprise. And really not surprised. I mean they are about to start filming Point Break remake. Prolly gonna make this a trilogy too.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on May 30th, 2014 at 11:10:16 PM

And really Stallone was the face but Lithgow was the spine of the film. If it wasn't for him. It would have been another dud for ole Sly.
vincere01 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 12:17:42 AM

I dont like making top 10 lists cuz its too hard to narrow it down. But ill take a shot at top 10 sci fi/fantasy films since that narrows the field just enough.

1. Back to the Future

2. Blade runner (directors cut)

3. Alien

4. Empire Strikes Back

5. Lord of the Rings: The fellowship of the Ring

6. Moon

7. Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan

8. Aliens

9. 2001: A Space Odyssey

10. The Matrix
vincere01 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 12:21:05 AM

My reasoning is each of them is completely original in its own way. Either by being something that no one had ever seen before in film, by completely re-inventing what everyone thought could be done in film, or by laughing in the face of those who said a sequel cannot expand upon and outdo the predecessor while also doing the previous things.

And all made contributions to cinema and arguably changed the way we view films in our own lifetime and what came before.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 12:27:24 AM

Oh f*ck it. Here are my top 5 serious dramas:

1. The Godfather: a masterpiece simply because everything is great about it. Great acting, complex story, and dozens of memorable lines.

2. Superman: The Movie : What can I say? Mario Puzo made my day. The first superhero film with a big budget is still one of the best. An engrossing visual feast with a wide variety of characters, impressive effects even by today's standards, and a well crafted story of the hero's journey. Every major superhero film since then have been inspired by it from Singer's X-Men to Raimi's Spider-Man to Nolan's Batman. The first is still the best.

3. Rocky: Say what you may about Stallone but he crafted the ultimate underdog story. None have compared since because it is ultimately what we all want I think. We all want to be given a chance to prove to the world out worth. To defy all odds and expectations. A simple story but fueled by great, grounded performances and wonderful music.

4. Alien: No film has ever freaked me out as much simply because of how twisted it is in atmosphere and production design. Simple performances but an emerging wonder that to this day is good.

5. Spider-Man 2: I know. Everyone probably is thinking "Really Sleuth?" But the fact is to me, this film is a great combination of visual effects and characters. The effects blend the best with live action footage that I've ever seen. It was one of the last times I saw a genuine lead character worth rooting for.

@vincere01
Does that create enough discussion for you?

@mink
Good. I could go for more XXX action if they are as inventive and off-the-wall as the first one.
vincere01 writes:
on May 31st, 2014 at 12:54:04 AM

^^^^better than cliffhanger remake at least

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved