WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Film Critic Blames Santa Barbara Shooting on Seth Rogen's "Neighbors," Rogen Responds

Posted: May 27th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Film Critic Blames Santa Barbara Shooting on Seth RogenSubmit Comment
Washington Post film critic Ann Hornaday wrote an article about how Seth Rogen's "Neighbors" comedy and Judd Apatow films were the cause for Elliot Rodger to go on a murder spree that left six dead and thirteen injured.

Rodger, a 22-year-old who's the son of "The Hunger Games" second-unit director Peter Rodger, described himself as "lonely" and a "virgin," stating that girls don't like him, even naming a girl he had a crush on twelve years ago. In a YouTube video he said: "It all has to come to this. After I've annihilated every single girl in the sorority house, I'll take to the streets of Isla Vista and slay every single person I see there."

Hornaday noticed that Rodger specifically mentioned that even in college he wasn't able to get a girlfriend. She wrote the following: "How many students watch outsized frat-boy fantasies like 'Neighbors' and feel, as Rodger did, unjustly shut out of college life that should be full of 'sex and fun and pleasure'? How many men, raised on a steady diet of Judd Apatow comedies in which the shlubby arrested adolescent always gets the girl, find that those happy endings constantly elude them and conclude, 'It's not fair'? Movies may not reflect reality, but they powerfully condition what we desire, expect and feel we deserve from it."

Rogen responded on Twitter, stating: "I find your article horribly insulting and misinformed. How dare you imply that me getting girls in movies caused a lunatic to go on a rampage."

Apatow also commented: "Why is it always everything but mental illness? Because that doesn't sell papers. She uses tragedy to promote herself with idiotic thoughts."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:09:34 AM

What a dumbass. Just cause some lunatic references some films and filmmakers in his crazy post video doesnt mean THAT'S the reason why he did it.

And this guys should have sucked it the f*ck up, I rarely get the girl, don't see me shootin up the f*cking streets.
The only shame here is that this loser didn't take his own life to
boogiel writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:15:35 AM

That killer dude should have watch 'The Forty Year Old Virgin'. On the other hand, Seth Rogen certainly has a lot to say for himself, very very often.

TheSwipe95 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:24:43 AM

Really? Comedies are made to be entertaining, have fun, all that good sh*t. I think the critic's smokin' something if she thinks that a movie is the reason a lunatic went on a rampage.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:46:40 AM

Some guys have all the luck
Some guys have all the fame
Some guys get all the breaks
Some guys do nothin but complain

BadChadB33 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:48:24 AM

I wanna blame Seth Rogen for my eventual suicide BC I watched some of his movies.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:53:12 AM

This woman clearly hasn't watched a Judd Apatow comedy which is a much more realistic look at the awkwardness of sex and relationships than most bullsh*t romantic comedies that get churned out year after year. Don't even get me started on Disney cartoons...
SACdaddy writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:54:20 AM

Nowhere in the killer's manifesto did he ever criticize films for his situation. He didn't need to, apparently real life was enough of a burden to him already. He really just sounded like a very unconfident disturbed person who became increasingly discouraged because he never developed the social tools succeed with the opposite sex.

This critic is an idiot. She could have just as easily blamed Chronicle or Seven for sending this nut on his rampage, and she would have been just as wrong. She obviously missed the part of his story where he said he wanted to stab his roommates to death (which he did) for being too loud and too nerdy. Some people just don't handle life as well as others. It's not like no one noticed or tried to help this kid. He had relatives in the film industry that tried to show him the ropes in dealing with women. He had been seeing therapists since he was 8 yo for his mental issues. His parents even sent the police to check on him when he started posting cryptic sh*t about killing people on the net. According to his words the only time this kid found confidence and gained any since of empowerment was when he bought his first gun. That seemed to be the major catalyst that started to turn disturbed thoughts into disturbed actions. Maybe the critic might want to watch Falling Down again for a little insight into the matter.
cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:55:58 AM

That kid was a spoiled little sh*t. Whatever sense of entitlement he had came from his daddy taking him to red carpet premieres for films and flying first class to London t attend private Katy Perry performances. I feel horrible for the people he murdered, but at least he had enough sense to blow his own f*cking head off afterwards. One less f*ckhead on this planet.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:59:30 AM

Cress, did he kill himself after? I did a quick search an didn't find anything
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:59:54 AM

You can always see where things would go differently in real life than in comedies. I always ask myself why didn't they just do this or ask this instead of doing something dumb. The more I think realisticly about comedies, it stops being funny. And that's the point of these movies, to be funny, entertaining and to make money. Not to be real. If someone that age can't make that connection, then there's probably more wrong with them than you know.
Cannon writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:04:02 AM


People say stupid sh*t.

The Earth revolves around the sun, light travels at 186,000 miles per second, life forms are carbon-based ...and people say stupid sh*t.

cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:06:13 AM

It was said he had a self-inflicted gunshot wound to his head
Attos writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:17:23 AM

What porn said.
cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:19:45 AM

Maybe all those women rejected him because he looks GAY. A quick drive down the coast to San Fran years earlier might've solved a lot of problems for him and avoided this disaster.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:30:11 AM

http://ww2.nationalpost.com/m/wp/blog.html?b=news.nationalpost.com/2014/05/26/elliot-rodger-planned-on-turning-his-apartment-into-a-torture-and-killing-chamber-according-to-manifesto
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 12:02:21 PM

It wasn't my fault I got a one night stand pregnant, then asked her to marry me and expected a happy ending, it was Seth Rogen. Hey Seth, I need a direct sequel to Knocked Up so I know what to do next.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 12:37:43 PM

Um...wouldn't the movie "Hunger Games" make more sense seeing as how it's about kids killing kids? I mean seriously how do you get "Neighbors" causing this when his dad works on a film about killing based on a strange type of hierarchy?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 12:40:34 PM

Actually I saw a couple shots of him on the news from those Youtube videos and it reminds me a lot of "Rampage" from Uwe Boll. Like same deal. Kid talks about taking to the streets to cleanse it of people. It's weird how much it reminded me of it actually.
Evil_Disco writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:53:26 PM

It's always the movies and/or music who gets the blame.
I blame religion, politics and mental illness.
sleepingshane writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 5:28:00 PM

this is a 100 percent media hoax it a government push for gun control anybody who believes this sh*t acting deserves what the new world orders got planned for you, like sandy hook, boston bombing they use crisis actors in drills then they go live and the main stream bullsh*t media pumps out the liesas a real event , this incidents all ready full off holes. wake up dudes
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 5:34:34 PM

Blame it on the movies, blame it on the guns, but don't blame it on the fact he was mentally ill and no one tried to intervene before it was too late.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:20:44 PM

"Maybe all those women rejected him because he looks GAY."

Really? And what does a 'gay" look like? Is that anything like all criminals have big hooked noses and all blacks look like monkeys?

Besides, the dude had Asperger's, which may have greatly impacted his ability to relate to other people.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:26:06 PM

Very similar incident five years ago:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009_Collier_Township_shooting

American society is slowly coming undone.
halostingray87 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:28:21 PM

Sleepingshane you trolling or being serious? I live in LA and this did happen...
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:37:16 PM

"What a dumbass. Just cause some lunatic references some films and filmmakers in his crazy post video doesnt mean THAT'S the reason why he did it."

Millions upon millions of people watch violent movies, play violent video games and listen to violent music, and yet these incidents occur at about 0.00001% of the population. Correlation does not equal causation, and one could find more compelling explanations based on shoe size and pimple-count. It's just nonsense.

And when these events transpire, every nutjob uses them to grind their favorite axe. It's the music. It's the television. It's guns. It's religion. It's sexism, agism, whatever. Obama, the f*cking NRA. Republicans. Every excuse is trotted out except for the killer's own explanations issued via manifesto. These exegeses are more like a Rorschach test for the speaker's own prejudices instead of scientific, rational reasons why so and so did such and such.

Fact of the matter is, the guy did what he did because he was estranged and alienated from other people and the frustration and rage was too much to bear. sh*t travels down the path of least resistance, and that path was murder and suicide. Not much different from Ted Bundy's slow, simmering rage, really.



But kudos to Alex for covering this news four days after it occurred. Great job, dude, as always.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:38:06 PM

Sleepingshane is a trolling wackjob.
vincere01 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:54:33 PM

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/05/27/quentin-tarantino-saddling-back-up-for-the-hateful-eight

Queertin terriblino says his new dumbf*ck movie hateful eight is back on after all the leaks. I call bullf*ckingsh*t.

I think he leaked it just to build press and awareness for it. And the fact that hes acting like hes some sort of godsend of directing and writing just makes him an even more pretentious foot licking douchebag.

Its all a front. Plan all along. Stick to your word you hack. STOP making f*cking movies you suck.

Sorry I just really f*cking hate this fake pretentious *sshole. He blatantly steals others work, not in an homage way, actual complete scripts and stories and plays them as his own. Cant stand him. Hes worse than m. Night in my eyes
WorstPreviews Sucks writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 7:28:53 PM

blah blah blah

cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 7:48:41 PM

@Mink. I thought you would already know. Aren't you genetically predisposed with Gaydar?
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 9:01:39 PM

Yes, that's why I don't like you.
drewsmit24 writes:
on May 28th, 2014 at 5:04:31 AM

Damn sounds like someone is still mad they sat through Green Hornet

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved