WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon, James Gunn and Edgar Wright React to Wright's "Ant-Man" Exit

Posted: May 27th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon, James Gunn and Edgar Wright React to WrightSubmit Comment
Marvel recently announced that despite being attached for years, director Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) decided to quit "Ant-Man." It has been rumored that Wright didn't want to abandon the project, but the studio altered his script to a point that he no longer recognized it or had any interest in directing it.

"Guardians of the Galaxy" director James Gunn quickly released a statement, explaining that he loves both Wright and Marvel, but it became clear that they "don't have personalities that mesh in a comfortable way. They donít make each other happy."

"The Avengers" director Joss Whedon decided to take a more subtle approach, posting a photo on Twitter that likely went unnoticed by most of his followers. It features a shot of the helmer holding a wrapper. But if you look closely, the wrapper is for Cornetto ice cream, which is a reference to Wright's The Three Flavors Cornetto Trilogy, which includes "Shaun of the Dead," "Hot Fuzz" and "The World's End." Without coming out an saying it, it's still clear who's side Whedon is taking.

Meanwhile, Wright posted his own photo (that he quickly deleted), a Photoshopped image titled "selfie" showing Buster Keaton also holding Cornetto ice cream. The photo is from 1928, when the actor made the self-described "worst mistake of my career" by leaving independent film to join MGM. It's assumed that Wright is making a similar statement about Marvel.

Joss Whedon: (click to enlarge)


Edgar Wright: (click to enlarge)


Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 9:48:11 AM

Well...if "Ant-Man" was going to be like the last of the "trilogy cornetto" then thank god he dropped out....that film is a clusterf*ck of a movie.
Dirt writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:07:40 AM

Wouldn't be a trilogy then Dave.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:10:15 AM

I
don't
f*cking
care
boogiel writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:25:12 AM

BadChadB33 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:49:53 AM

And I care why?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:50:36 AM

Well...if "Ant-Man" was going to be like the last of the "trilogy cornetto" then thank god he dropped out....that film is a clusterf*ck of a movie.

I personally thought The Worlds End was hilarious until the action started... which was way too early. Spaced and Shaun of the Dead and Scott Pilgrim show Edgar Wright's true genius.

It can only be bad for Marvel for him to leave the project as well because it will make future directors think twice before signing up. I'm sure they get promised ultimate control but when it gets deep in to production they find out it ain't the case. Some of them will bend over, lube up and take it along with the money. Some people will sh*t the bed and run.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:03:53 AM

Edger Wright is a great director. This just went from being potentially the best marvel movie ever, to sh*t. real fast.
Cannon writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:11:33 AM


I the prospect of Wright staging and executing action setpieces unique to an Ant-Man movie -- the vision and editorial moxie he would bring to it -- was something that had me genuinely excited.

With him now gone, so too is my enthusiasm. Not saying the film still can't be good but Wright's departure does not bode well for me personally.

cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:15:15 AM

I love HOT FUZZ. I love SCOTT PILGRIM. I hated THE WORLD'S END.
Cannon writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:26:34 AM


In a perfect universe, this would article would be about Abrams leaving another Disney owned franchise.

That's just me.

Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:15:16 PM

Speaking of Star Wars


You know in back to the future there was a marquee that said disney presents Star Wars episode 7
vincere01 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:53:23 PM

@biz

Thats not true. Huge bttf fan here have the films memorized.

You must be referring to the hoax someone did back in 2012 with photoshop. Someone edited the still of the scene where marty arrives in town square in 2015 and sees the theater marquee.

Originally in the film its a jaws 19 sequel and a virtual shark attacks him. Someone just changed the sign to say disney and star wars.

So debunked. Dont believe everything you see
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 4:50:01 PM

But I read it on the internet!!!!!!!!
vincere01 writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 4:57:56 PM

^^^dont we all!!!??
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 6:24:30 PM

I love it when wealthy, famous people fight for each other. Really gives my own life so much value and meaning.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 7:57:14 PM

@dirt...touche!

@cinema & dirt...I love, SOFD, SPVTW & HF....just thought that Simon Peggs character in THWE was not very likable and yet I am meant to root for him.
c-prime writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 8:31:27 PM

Had this situation been avoided, "Ant-Man" stood a high chance of being the first Edgar Wright movie I actually liked. (Simon Pegg's absence in any flick is enough to make me do cartwheels.)

On a different but related note, I found an article that basically calls out a couple of the narrative incongruencies between Marvel films' post-credits scenes and their respective follow-up features. It makes me laugh given that comment I made about detecting no major plot holes in "X-Men: Days of Future Past" on that thread a few days ago. How very, very, very wrong I was.

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/watch-the-wolverine-post-credits-scene-illustrates-why-film-tags-can-backfire-20140527

Like this whole "Ant-Man" incident, it's funny what messes can happen when a franchise lacks unanimous agreement and complete transparency among its chief creative arbiters.
cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 8:39:28 PM

@Boogiel. I'm really loving your post right about now. lol..so good
cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 8:50:23 PM

I keep getting this message when I try to view the "Never Been Kissed, So Now I'm Pissed" thread. This is the only thread it pops up on. What the f*ck's up, Snowden?


http://some_attacker/cookie.cgi?gn_country=US;%20visitor_country=US;%20ws_lastvisit=1401140031;%20ws_lastactivity=0;%20__utma=49181344.377607437.1401140044.1401233696.1401233696.23;%20__utmb=49181344.2.10.1401237019;%20__utmc=49181344;%20__utmz=49181344.1401140044.1.1.utmcsr=(direct)|utmccn=(direct)|utmcmd=(none);%20__atuvc=101%7C22
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 8:53:42 PM

hello?
cress writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 9:04:17 PM

Skynet...is that you?
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 9:08:10 PM

Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
Kill all humans!
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:06:49 PM

What's REALLY going on?
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:20:03 PM

Johnny Depp??
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:34:00 PM

@C-Prime: your article link doesn't make much sense itself. It nitpicks the post-credits ending of The Incredible Hulk for not agreeing with The Avengers, and then compares that insignificant flub to Days of Future Past, which not only doesn't make much sense at all in relation to any of the previous X-Men movies, but it doesn't make much sense according to the standard cinematic time-travel tropes and concepts we the viewers have come to accept.

Isn't it just a tad unfair to compare some minor Marvel post-credit flub to FOX's inability to keep their X-Men movies consistent and to foresee the future of films? Yes, there's a similar thread running beneath both Marvel's and Fox's handling of their respective properties, but Marvel's mistake is so comparatively tiny as to not even merit a mention, whereas FOX has clearly failed to maintain consistency over a span of fifteen years, largely due to what Ratner and Company did to the property in 2006, which prompted not one reboot, but TWO, the last and most recent reboot to reconcile the first reboot with the original trilogy.

Really, who the f*ck cares who recruited The Hulk? But isn't it much more of an issue that Days of Future Past acts as if there are two X-Men histories, each within separate universes, and that the past of one can and does affect the future of another, thereby rendering the entire concept of Days of Future Past a non-sequitur?

Really, an inconsistent post-credit scene and FOX's fifteen-year f*ckery of a fanboy franchise do not even begin to compare to one another any more than a toy submarine compares to the USS Nimitz.

minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 10:35:53 PM

-but. +reconciling

And to think I proofread.
c-prime writes:
on May 28th, 2014 at 12:00:30 AM

@ minkowski: That's a fair point. Frankly, I'm willing to give a pass to both flubs pointed out in the article, given that the films in each studio's canon have a tendency to entertain me more often than not. I still find it a little bit funny, though, that despite all the work Marvel undertakes to tie in every property together, really to the point where a ripple in one hero's pond can presumably unleash a tide of consequences on his allies' respective quests, little retroactive accidents can still happen.

What I found most significant about the article's discussion on "X-Men" was the supposition (which sounds plausible to me, even within the context of a fantasy world occupied by mutants) that the devastating effects of Trask's Sentinel project, being that it was launched in the 1970s, would presumably have ravaged civilization a lot earlier than the 2010s, given that the last installment in the franchise preceding "Days of Future Past" (last year's "The Wolverine") depicted a present day setting where the dawn of the Sentinels seemed to be only now just...well, dawning.

Time travel plots are hard. I think they garner some of the hardest scrutiny and beg more for an audience member's suspension of disbelief than any other type of narrative.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2014 at 1:49:18 AM

@C-prime: I don't have time to reply atm, but I sincerely thank you for a thoughtful and intelligent response, one free of manipulation and sh*t/fart jokes. That's really rare around here these days.
c-prime writes:
on May 28th, 2014 at 3:46:45 AM

It's a major reason I've abstained from commenting on this site for so long. Thank you for the compliment.
Papillon writes:
on June 1st, 2014 at 6:20:12 AM

t

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved