WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Highest-Grossing "X-Men" Film, "Blended" Bombed

Posted: May 26th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Highest-Grossing "X-Men" Film, "Blended" BombedSubmit Comment
"X-Men: Days of Future Past" hit theaters this weekend and went on to gross slightly over $90 million and is on its way to earn $110 million through Monday. Internationally, the movie took in another $171 million for a worldwide debut of $261 million, the best of any "X-Men" film. The previous record was held by "X-Men: The Last Stand," which earned $203 million.

"Days of Future Past" cost $200 million to make, which means that it's already profitable. And it's getting lots of praise from critics, currently sitting on a 91% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend was Adam Sandler's "Blended" comedy, which took third place with only $14.2 million and has a lousy 15% fresh rating. Even though it will eventually end up at $18 million through the holiday weekend, that's still one of the worst openings for a Sandler movie in recent times, only topping "That's My Boy" ($13.5 million).

But because "Blended" has a modest $40 million budget, that means that it has a chance of breaking even, especially when international box office is calculated.

Regarding the other blockbusters... "Godzilla" grossed $315 million worldwide after 10 days in theaters, "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" grossed $674 million after 24 days in theaters, and "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" earned $707 million.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 10:56:14 AM

If anyone is interested in conversing on DOFP and where apocalypse might go. I posted my review and thoughts in the Xmen/roland emerich comparison thread. Happy memorial day bitches
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:02:34 AM

So glad Blended bombed, Sandler needs to find new directors already. Oh, and not agree to do fart jokes movies ever again.
Lancelot writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:20:15 AM

When Sandler will be funny again then I might consider saving 10 for the f*cker.

Until then, it's download material only.
BuIIit writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:27:33 AM

Maybe Sander should consider a sequel to Happy Gilmore?

Or maybe not.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:31:25 AM

Not gonna lie, I'd watch that ^
SeWerin writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:46:04 AM

X-Men deserves it. Unlike Godzilla and Spiderman 2. It's a really good sequel made with passion and understanding, combining best from Singers duology and First Class and somehow doesn't feel crowded, fast paced or even rushed. It even has nice love/friendship/sincere moments with awesome action and classic X-men humor and you can tell that Singer put his heart into it. It's the best X-men movie so far. Well, at least for me. Also credit must be given for awesome way to delete Last Stand from existence.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 1:39:39 PM

Nice to see it's doing well and hear all of the positive reviews coming in from both critics and fans. Very rare to have a film get praise from both and make bank at the BO.
Gates writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 4:03:13 PM

Sandler needs to ditch his usual customers: IE: Drew Barrymore, Rob Schneider, Kevin James, etc. and do something different....

...Or just quit making movies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 5:07:12 PM

Biz-

Well that's the sequel, everybody and my grandma knew the sequel film wasn't that good. They completely ditched the alien stuff and went with a "monster of the week" setting.

It's still not that bad of a film, but it didn't live up to the hype and is very slow paced
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 5:23:49 PM

I remember hearing about the sequel not being good but it's was on TV but I'll give the first a try if I ever get bored
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 5:46:23 PM

Adam Sandler has definitely got the winning formula, the only mugs in this situation are the people that still pay to watch his films.

Still need to watch X-Men but i'm glad that Singer is back to his best. I think they should definitely delete X-Men 3 from IMDB and existence and treat DOFP as the third in Singers trilogy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 6:17:58 PM

Biz my man! Don't watch the second first! The first was excellent man, you've got to watch that lol
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 6:19:45 PM

Cinema,

I understand you're not serious, but if they removed Last Stand, there's be no reason for Days of Future Past to obviate and obfuscate it. That's why Days of Future Past exists: to remove what Simon Kinsberg's script did to the franchise, which is interesting: Kinsberg destroyed the franchise with Last Stand only to rejuvenate it with Days of Future Past. He wrote both scripts. Funny how no one has notice that bit of anti-symmetry.

As for the news, no sh*t. Sandler's been on a inexorable downward slide for a decade now, and Blended is just the latest film to emphasis his decline. Perhaps the studios will finally realize he has no box-office draw and put him in the same box with M. Knight.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 6:53:24 PM

*noticed.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 7:35:22 PM

Mink- That is interesting, I didn't realise the same guy wrote both. I guess Last Stand came out before comic book films were expected to be more serious and dramatic. Also the studio having more control can never be a good thing.

I haven't seen Last Stand since it came out so not really sure about the quality of dialogue either other than Vinnie Jones' infamous "I'm the Juggernaut BITCH!"

Rewriting the history was the best move on their part. I just remember watching Superman Returns and thinking Bryan Singer left X Men for this and thinking how much of an idiot he was for it.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 8:08:52 PM

Cinema,

Last Stand came out in 2006, and was probably penned in 2004, which is long before Marvel and Disney got in bed together, so they probably had no clue comic book movies would eventually demand so much attention. This was also before Nolan lit up the sub-genre with his Dark Knight trilogy. Previously, comic book movies were just one avenue of box-office revenue.

As for Singer and Superman...the worst aspects of SR in my opinion is the terrible script and casting, aside from Routh. Unfortunately, Singer desperately desired to make a Superman movie, and it was one of his career dreams, so he left Fox for WB. The rest is cinematic history.

Thanks for your comment.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 10:49:02 PM

More like a six out ten. Maybe.

You really need to learn your movie-rating scale.


boogiel writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 10:58:09 PM

1 popcorn please
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:08:15 PM

I too downloaded it. My impression? It sucks. 6 out of ten, which is generous. Starts off well enough I guess, except for the text-messaging crap that made it look like BlackBerry: The Movie, which was then abandoned when the movie kicked off into generic Liam Neeson action mode.Films highest moment occurs when the script, during the second act, ably combines action with paranoia.

The ending reeked. Terrible effects that make Die Hard 2 look good, annoying attempt to give Liam's character part of his life back by having him save the kid during a contrived scene wherein that part of the plane exploded, Moore's worthless, no-dimensional character that was added for no apparent reason except for a forced love angle, the left-wing nonsensical lecture by the white bad guy, the stupid black guy with his Reebok-rap 1980s haircut, and the New York cop who is magically shot in the shoulder instead of the face even though that's where we saw the gun go. I also don;t think putting a bomb against the back door and letting it detonate would do much less than blow the plane in half, but the film isn't strong on common sense.

Also, Liam's character had no substance. He had no depth either. We never connect with his character nor do we ever feel or understand whatever pain he was supposed to feeling over the loss of his daughter. It's just added to the script to make him look unstable and sympathetic, often at conflicting moments.





And if you don't like my thoughts on the matter, which weren't intended for you specifically, you can go f*ck yourself.
boogiel writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:35:34 PM

I guess that since the movie is so good, we can forget that singer likes to molest and rape little boys.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:39:02 PM

"schizophrenic ala fight club"

Such a concept would have required a much smarter writer than the guy who penned Wrestlemania 22.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 11:39:28 PM

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1496753/?ref_=tt_ov_wr#writer
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:10:37 AM

Child molester? That depends on the definition. If he was messing around with dudes under the age of 18, he's a "something" in most states.

One thing I know: he's a homo, no doubt, and homos love young men, especially what they call "chickens". It's why Travolta's the way he is and Thomas Jane too. Probably how they got their careers. Glub glub glub.

Not to mention: there's no telling what Singer and company told those guys to get their cooperation. Probably told them "I can make you a star if you'll just slip this down your throat".

Wouldn't surprise me at all. But the sh*t people do rarely does.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:15:59 AM

*were
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:19:29 AM

I LOATHE subjunctive verbs.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 1:20:48 AM

"Was", I think, is correct in this case.

http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/660/if-i-was-or-if-i-were-which-is-more-common-and-which-is-correct
Lancelot writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 8:46:23 AM

I'm not Bullit you stupick homo f*ck!

Can't you read? Must be all the sperm glued to your crossed eyes!
BuIIit writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 12:14:07 PM

@Lancelot

Just ignore him, he's not worth the attention.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 27th, 2014 at 11:04:15 PM

Blended bombed ?

Wow! That's a f*cking Nostradamus moment!


Adam Sandler has outlived his welcome. At least Ryan Dunn had the decency to get drunk, drive his car off a cliff and run headlong into a tree.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved