WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Simon Kinberg Compares "X-Men: Apocalypse" to Roland Emmerich's Disaster Films

Posted: May 25th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Simon Kinberg Compares "X-Men: Apocalypse" to Roland EmmerichSubmit Comment
While promoting "X-Men: Days of Future Past," writer Simon Kinberg spoke about the next "X-Men" film, called "X-Men: Apocalypse," which is set to hit theaters on May 27th, 2016.

While the filmmakers already know what kind of film they want to make, the main obstacle is figuring out how to handle Apocalypse. "The thing that we've spent the most time talking about is not just the visual execution of the character, which is its own challenge," he said. "[But] creating a character that's the most powerful I think of any mutant villain that we've seen in the 'X-Men' movies so far. More powerful than Magneto."

He continued: "But we've also been talking about how to give him a real emotional and philosophical underpinning. So he's not just somebody who's out there destroying the world because he can. What he's doing is in his mind justified and validated by a real compelling, coherent philosophy. He tries to convert people maybe some of our most familiar characters to come to his cause."

Regarding the scope and scale of the film... "We're talking about [it] like a disaster movie, extinction level event," Kinberg explained. "Sort of Roland Emmerich-style moviemaking, which you've never seen in an 'X-Men' movie, or any superhero movie, which I think is exciting."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Attos writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 8:33:41 AM

We already saw "more powerful than Magneto", and they completely f*cked it up. Just don't go wiping out half of the cast again.
boogiel writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 8:40:48 AM

Of course it will be a disaster. It's FOX.
cress writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 9:35:31 AM

Kinberg sounds confident in his interviews with regards to the approach he wants to take with the Apocalypse storyline. He wrote a damn fine script for DAYS/FUTURE PAST, and I have faith in him with his involvement in the Star Wars universe.
cress writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 9:46:27 AM

I wouldn't say underwhelms. It's a series with 7 films, and interest has been waning for a while. FIRST CLASS opened a little over $50 million, which was a low after X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE and LAST STAND had huge opening weekends. I'm impressed that it's going to have a Top 5 Ever Memorial Day haul, after a few lackluster entries contributed to audience fatigue with the series. Singer, and I know everyone here hates him, delivered a great film, expertly directed. It had a few script flaws, but it's such a well-made film, they are minor complaints.
cress writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 9:48:18 AM

^^@Rambo
Dirt writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 10:13:44 AM

It's good, the ending was a little anti-climatic. In regards to the story line though, it was the best we could of hoped for. It's probably the best xmen movie, but that's not really saying much.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:34:09 AM

Disaster #1
Channing Tatum
BuIIit writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:53:29 AM

Guess who won the Palme d'Or?

A Turkish!
ozymandiass writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 12:39:29 PM

Well this is exactly what we need to see from an Xmen Movie. I am truly excited that we are finally getting to see this character.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 1:01:01 PM

Ok, so just got back from seeing DOFP. Heres a mini review.

WOW. f*cking fantastic. I was expecting a return to form, but in my opinion received not only the best xmen movie but possibly the best superhero movie to date.

Better than spiderman 2, better than any batman movie. Way f*cking better than Avengers or anything Marvel has put out to date. The xmen is marvels crown jewel of characters and this film has shown why, and how when used correctly can be molded into not just a good superhero movie but a great movie in general.

First off, the story. Ive seen some people complain about the multiple times being underutilized, as well as some of the characters. As far as the multiple times I say it was a balancing act that succeeds greatly.

They spent alot of the movie in 1973 but also a generous amount in the future. More than enough screen time to justify bringing all the old actors back. I had heard that ian, pstew, iceman, page,storm etc were going to have small cameos. They each not only got more than that, but I feel each got just the right amount to justify theyre presence. And when each of them meet theyre much publicized demise in the future it carries some weight (some more than others). All in all the duality play well, neither of which overstaying its welcome.

A far as the characters go, yes wolverine is prominently featured and rightfully so. However, that said, it still also prominently featured mystique, magneto, xavier, beast, and future prof x with plenty of screen time, some even yo the point of rivaling jackman.

Its obvious that they are trying to build towards solo films, but it was not done in anyway as a detriment to the story or characters. There were some smaller characters, like havoc returning from first class that got very little screen time. As well as rogue also only getting one brief scene as also told before release.

As far as directing, cinematography, and effects go it was also a superb effort. The action sequences were well executed and paced as well as not too much at once. They were quick, good and not overdone. X3 through everything and the kitchen sink at viewers in a bid that more is better.

While DOFP features its fair share of effects and cgi it is done somewhat tastefully and not without purpose. This is not a michael bay 20 minute action cgi explosions galore sequences. They are lean, mean, entertaining scenes that have a purpose and do not linger.

The camera work was good to brilliant throughout with tension and beauty throughout. I cannot think of a single frame that was extraneous or wasted. It was just that good.

As far as acting goes I give outstanding grades accross the board. Jackman, ian m., pstew, macavoy, lawrence, fassbender all fantastic as they have been in the roles in the past. Berry seemed to be on somewhat of an auto pilot but I give her a pass due to being heavily pregant while shooting. The fact that she was able to perform in that many action scenes and look like the storm of old while doing it was enough for me to give her a pass and believe if brought back again can continue to do good by her character.

The scenes involving fassbender and macavoy were particularly great. They brought outstanding dramatic weight to the film in theyre tense scenes together. Young and old prof x scene was also well done and a blast to see. Jackman just nails it again. He plays closer to his actual age in the future and looks perfect as an aged logan. Then when shown in 1973 looks just as old as he did in x1 which is dumbfounding. He literally could possibly play this part forever.

I also enjoyed the understated drama that was left unspoken that only fans of the previous films would understand. The words unspoken between old friends eric and charles in the future sequences. Its alwaysba pleasure to see those old friends (on and off screen) play off each other. But it was also the unspoken moments and looks as well. Similar thing for ellen pages kitty pride and iceman. They both evoked the emotions of theyre characters and feelings for each other without saying anything at all.

The guy playing the young striker and dinklage were the only weak links to me. And they were not bad at all, just not as strong as compared to the others on screen.

---now starts spoliers, stop reading if you do not want to know--------

Story wise this was masterfull in how to fix ratners f*ckup while also delivering a satifying sequel to first class. Also in a way, looking back at x3 after seeing this film I have grown a new opinion.

At the time x3 was made this idea did not exist. In a vacc*m I completely hate 90% of what ratner did. Now with how DOFP takes those f*ck ups and changes, corrects or expands on it now allows me to see that film in new light.

I now see x3 and appreciate the deaths of cyclops and jean grey. I have seen how they have played out that storyline to dramatic effect. How those events have been used to fuel jackmans logan. Especially the death of jean.

When seen through the glass that is DOFP I have come to terms with x3 and when seen now as a whole series of films I can now watch x3 again and have less hate knowing that DOFP exists and where the story will eventually be taken. With that said, I still say f*ck ratner.

By the end of the film logans actions in the past coupled with xaviers knowlege of the future the timeline is drasticly different. Cyclops was never killed by jean, jean seems to have become the phenoix but overcame her control issues since she sports the red hair still. Rogue looks to have never chosen the cure, and is still in a relationship with iceman. Which leaves kitty as a teacher possibly involved with collosuss.

The movie does not answer where magneto and mystique are, but I feel they intended that. It seems they intentionally left that unsaid most likely to allow for solo films to explore the time betweem 1973 and present.

I feel good and bad for logan. For one all his friends seem to be alive and well, and the sentinels are nowhere to be found. However he changed the future to where jean is alive but back with scott and not him. And even though he changed everythinf he still lives with the knowledge of what had happened.

He still remembers theyre deaths, especially him killing jean. Which could lead to some truly facinating character growth and storylines for logan going forward. I completely understand now how jackman has been reenergized by this film and the possibilities it alllows him. Very excited to see this explored.

This film perfectly sets up the possibility of continuing the first clasd timeline post 1973, especially magneto and mystique focused films. But more interesting to me is how it resets basicly the timeline for the old cast to basicly for all purposes allows them to do a true sequel to x2. The possibilities there are endless and obviously the most fun to explore and see.

In conclusion this film was fantastic. In my opinion the best superhero film to date. Extremely entertaining, great performances, and the possibilities it allows exciting. Must see film.

I give it a 9.5 out of 10.

Pros-
-great performances from main cast and tons of supporting players
-outstanding story
-great effects, not too much on screen at once
-satisfying standalone film
-but allowing great possibilities going forward
-pacing was top notch, balance of action/comedy/drama is superb

Cons-
-underutilized actor in dinklage
-one weak performance from striker character actor

Last thoughy entails after credits sequence.

While short I feel it set up next film nicely. It shows apocalypse in yhe desert constructing the pyramids in the past using his powers. No dialogue is spoken, and his name is not shown. But knowledge of the comics will make it obvious.

I also enjoyed the hints to his identity found in the images on screen. Specificly the brief glimpse of four horseman in the background of the shot, obviously in reference to the 4 horseman of the apocalypse.

Anyway this was just my fresh thoughts right after viewing. Feel free to comment back if you agree or disagree. Thanks guys
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 1:01:32 PM

^^^posted last night, thought id share here as well
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 1:03:19 PM

@cress

My bad. Forgot all about him, my mind was still swimming in awesome and it was 2am and nearly passing out I was so tired.

Brief thoughts-

I felt peters did a fantastic job as quicksilver. I know some have said he didnt have a big enough role and that he stole the show, and I agree his scenes were great.

However, I felt his screen time was just right. His powers, story wise would have changed alot as far as plot goes in the later stages.

For instance he could have drasticly changed the outcome of the magneto showdown with the sentinels. He could have saved everyone and taken magnetos helmet before he had a chance to blink while he stood in front of the cameras.

Im curious to see how he is used in future installments. He is a good character and fun to watch. But I, and I suspect singer and company agree, that too much of quicksilver could be a bad thing.

For one, he could easily turn into a story crutch with solving problems and/or defeating the enemies. His powers just have the potential of overmatching most roadblocks.

I think they need to do theyre homework and buckledown and find a way or another mutant that can counterbalance out his power ala magnetos helmet countering charles mind control.

As is, I feel the story choice to only include him for that stretch was the right choice and gave them the most dramatic and tense scenes possible later in the film.

Overall as a character I also feel he does not have as much depth to him as the other major players. But a well written story and a counter mechanism as I explained could change that.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 1:07:17 PM

http://m.hollywoodreporter.com/entry/view/id/347541

Xmen box office. It has the best global opening of any xmen film to date. Also the largest opening of any Fox film to date and that includes AVATAR people!!! This movie is gonna be f*cking HUGE!!!

Were not just talking will it get to a billion anymore folks. Were talking how much more than a billion will it go
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 1:41:09 PM

@vincere01
I'm going to go with your are a huge X-Men fan? LOL I admire your enthusiasm but, like the Godfather, I'm a superstitious man. Knock on wood, hope for the best, but ease your excitement for fear of disappointment and just go with the flow. LOL I've had that excitement before and I've 95% been disappointed by hoping too much. I'm glad X-Men is really good and can't wait to see it so thank you for the enthusiasm. Calling it the best superhero movie ever is a stretch as I find the film is, more than anything, fixing it's own continuity issues and paving the way for a more focused set of stories, keeping in line with what everyone else is doing. But I've yet to see it and understand if, to you, it's one of the finest superhero films around.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 2:18:36 PM

I've been hearing some good stuff about the latest X-Men film, Could have seen it last night but didn't want to go watch 3D. Fuccckkkk 3D
Frank_Castle writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 2:22:33 PM

Having a mention to emmerichs films is a huge turn off
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 2:30:41 PM

@Tanman
I hate to say it but 3D feels like the worst thing to happen to films. I think the idea was a sense of investment when it happened but now it's become almost a distraction unless the point of the film is immerse in them. Like with Avatar...I get it. The movie was a visual spectacle but I tried to watch "Tangled" with a now ex-girlfriend, and it really didn't add anything to it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 2:44:01 PM

for all the ginger lovers out there
like a chic,she's gonna ask alotta questions

Just say yes

http://porn.im.433a8cab.1175614.x.xvideos.com/videos/3gp/8/1/5/xvideos.com_8151087b097e0c26e38739588ff28677.mp4?e=1401054038&ri=1024&rs=85&h=2df1b4beea57257f2017ce53e893490d

bandolero999 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:14:43 PM

eva andressa is hot thanks for sharing.im gonna go to the gym now
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:18:08 PM

I don't want Marvel to get the X Men rights back after Days of Future Past, and I know this will make a lot of you want to argue with me over this but Fox f*cking know what they are doing with the X Men as of TODAY, I said TODAY, so no, that does not mean Origins and The Last Stand. f*ck you very much. Death to Dark13, Alex updates slower than the plot speed of Transcendence.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:18:33 PM

It looks like Dark13 is now Dark14, so f*ck Dark14.
BuIIit writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:30:25 PM

And say hello to Dark15.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:36:25 PM

@sleuth

Actually im not. I mean im a fan but never had been a big one for xmen in general. I have enjoyed the movies but never truly got excited for any except for DOFP and The Wolverine. Both had great potential and previews going for it and both succeeded on that promise in my opinion.

Wolverine put the franchise firmly back in the right direction after first class course corrected in that direction away from what ratners *sshole pooped out. Then DOFP nailed it on every account and cemented the franchise back on track with promise.

I actually prefer batman as my character of choice followed by daredevil. Affleck was passable but not horrible in that role. The rest of the movie let him down in my opinion. With better writing and acting all around his attempt at batman should provide better results.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:36:42 PM

Yessir,BANDO
I saved her youtube vid for 'gym motivation' as well

Hope everybodyz enjoyin a lazy afternoon
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:41:48 PM

Also report's are saying that the 3d/larger screens are only accounting for 9% of dofp gross. Which is very interesting. I for one had no want to see it in 3d.

I actually prefer to watch continuations in the same format as previous films. Just like when the hobbit came in 48 frames I prefered the former format
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:47:41 PM

It's funny how you keep thinking I'm Mink, personally, I am speechless. Mink? how do you respond to this?
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:50:13 PM

I feel like next weekend jolie's newest disney movie might just bomb, and bomb hard.

Firstly, its gonna be competing for blockbuster money that xmen, and strong holdover godzilla will not easily be giving up. Most young adults/teenagers I believe will rather see those than a fairytale disney movie starring angelina jolie and dakota fannings younger and more talented sister.

Secondly, its a "disney" movie. But so far the marketing has been showing it to be much darker fare than the brand is known for. Correct or not thats the vibe im getting from it.

So I just dont see alot of kids begging to go see that movie at all. The new OZ movie with franco got darker but the promotion generally kept it somewhat cheerfull and they plastered zack braffs monkey all over the place to win over the kids (and me lol).

So if they dont get the kids, and they dont get the pivotal teen and young adult demo who is left during the summer??? This has expensive bomb a la waterworld all over it.

Jolie is gonna take a big hit career wise. Although I dont think this will effect fanning at all due to her age and still relativlely low key nature so far.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:56:34 PM

@vincere01
I found Daredevil to be an undervalued film and the Director's Cut showed off a more diverse performance for Affleck (Blind guy driving the car of a corrupt official was awesome). He'll make a good Bruce Wayne and by building off his Daredevil role he might do better as Batman in the dark hero concept.

As for X-Men, I am sure the film is spectacular. Singer, regardless of his personal life, is the X-Men director and it looks like he is starting to find life from the comic books itself instead of just making his own stories up. First Class had a lot t offer but Wolverine, to me, dragged. The third act though redeems it and brings the character to a great place for DOFP, in a way realizing he's not alone.

MY problem with DOFP is some of the logic I am hearing, even within the mythology of the world the character live in, seems to not completely flow to me along with various motivations that build off of First Class. To me though I'm always going to think "Spider-Man 2" is the ultimate superhero experience because, instead of a frontal assault in the real world like X-Men, he has to contend with problems like a normal person. I'm a sucker for a good guy as the hero though which is why McAvoy made me love First Class. His idealism, clouded by having too much faith in both Magneto and Mystique, is what made the film and Fassbender's performance bounces off him brilliantly. To me, while they seem to be making Mystique the center of the story, Professor X will always be the spine of the series. His contemplative personality is what fuels the questions brought about in the films. I'm so happy that, if anything, Professor X and Magneto, the opposing sides of the concepts of prejudice and evolution, have always been cast right from day one both their younger and older counterparts. I hope to see Stewart and mcKellen again as they made these characters come to life and ooze a gravitas that is incomparable. I could watch these two in anything together and their real friendship only strengthens my resolve to hope for the return of them and the original cast.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 3:58:50 PM

Just got back from X-Men. This is now the very best X-Men film with X2 being second place.

I do wish that the old cast had some more screentime. Most of them were just glorified cameos aside from Xavier, Magneto, and obviously Wolverine. It was cool though that Fassbender and Macavoy are the actual leads of the film and they did one hell of a job.

9 out of 10
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:02:00 PM

@vincere01
On another note, Maleficent has a 50/50 of doing well. I like the fairy tale, fantasy element and am finding Elle Fanning to have real potential as a big actress down the line. It will be interesting because the people I've talked to really seem to be interested in it and Jolie is the perfect actress to play Maleficent.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:10:51 PM

^^^ I dont have a doubt the film will be decent. I just believe the timing is what will kill. Just like the studios dumbass idea of releasing a sandler film against arguably the best tracking numbers wise movie of the year. Just plain stupid.

And I dont think jolies film will do any better. I do agree that they are both good actresses
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:13:39 PM

@sleuth

As far as the characters and theyre motivations I did not find any to be out of place. 10 years have passed since first class and alot changed. But they are all explained and none of them feel forced or out of place in context to first class. To me at least.

@deaft

Glad you liked it. Feel free to read my review above, and let me know your thoughts. We agree on the overall quality just curious of your thoughts on the specifics
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:20:02 PM

@vincere01
Well to each his own. We'll see after I hopefully get to see it this week if anything.

I am aware of the time jump over 10 years. I just found some motivations in First Class to be silly and I wish they had made Magneto and Charles Xavier's friendship longer. It seems they didn't have the length of friendship that, up until this point, I had assumed was decades before they split ways.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:25:27 PM

^^^ its widley acknowledged by the writers that first class messes with continuity. So I wouldnt use that to compare with the original trilogy. At least not down to that specific of a thing. The general ideas stayed mostly the same, just changed so of the parts.

But dofp does somewhat retcon a little of first class as well as last stand. Being the bridge movie it is by necessity they changed to make them fit better. Basically dofp dumps everything on the floor that has acc*mulated plot wise and reorders everything in a more coherent and understandable way better allowing them to coexist
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 4:29:28 PM

@vincere01
That is an acceptable answer. Glad to know they finally made it all exist and make sense. I will curious to see what they do with Apocalypse now that they have a set continuity and can't just piece together stuff from previous movies.
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 5:02:07 PM

@sleuth

Not sure if you read my review past spoliers warning or not. But if u stopped there dont read further.

----'spoliers----

The ending of DOFP not only reorganizes the plot to better coexist but it straight up deletes a large chunk of the xmen trilogy as we know it.

When logan goes back and changes things, the future was completely altered. Not just some characters not dying, all together lifetimes of experiences and motivations are gone for some.

Mystique, possibly, does not continue down the vilan path. Logans past may actually be the most changed judging by the events shown in 1973. The movie does a good job at leaving enough wiggle room to keep options open.

To sum up though, all the events depicted in the movies after 1973 may have been altered or completely erased all together. Magneto probably does not try to kill the senator with the statue of liberty, to storm killing toad, all the way down to cyclops and jean dying.

In a way however all that still exists as well. Since logan has retained all his memories of it, replacing all his memories of the new altered timeline like he was never there. And xavier knows some of that old timeline after he searched logans mind in 1973.

Other than those 2 guys memories, that timeline and all its events are gone
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 5:04:48 PM

^^^^

So for any future sequels with the original cast, things would be greatly different. Most relationships would revert back to theyre pre x2 form and possibly earlier when it comes to cyclops, jean, wolverine and magneto
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 5:29:32 PM

@Sleuth

The simplest way to explain DoFP is that it's a reboot occurring as you view the film. It's brilliant the way that it's all handled.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 5:32:55 PM

Yes, the comparisons to Star Trek 2009 have already been made, which is exactly what I thought they would do ever since I heard the first DOFP news.

FOX didn't f*ck up this time. Good for them.

Zzzzzzzzz.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 5:33:38 PM

@vincere01
We'll see. No I haven't seen it yet. I suspected nothing would stay the exact same even if they fixed the timeline but changing everything defeats the retcon nostalgia that, in a way, fuels this film. So I'm hoping.

@Deaft0ne
I suspected they would attempt to reboot everything without removing the cast. I'm sure it t is good but also made it took so many films to fix it.
SaulSilver writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 6:22:27 PM

Funny how they wouldn't dare even attempt Apocalypse until Marvel Studios teased Thanos. Just like with Quicksilver, they're just stealing the good ideas and putting them out faster.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 7:20:51 PM

God damn vin one paragraph next time
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 7:21:16 PM

God damn vin one paragraph next time
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 7:21:16 PM

God damn vin one paragraph next time
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 7:57:56 PM

@vincere

A few things,I felt like Bolivar Trask was severely underused. For all the hoopla during production over Dinklage playing such a well-known character, his scenes were mostly just expository and not much else.

I would like to see Dinklage play MODOK in the next solo Hulk film.

The exchanges between Ian Mckellen and Patrick Stewart were great as always but those were totally eclipsed by the fantastic scene between Stewart and Macavoy. It was both eerie and compelling and had so much important dialogue in only a few minutes.

The Sentinels were truly menacing, both the older prototypes and the present day ones, they reminded me of Golem-type enemies.

Bryan Singer's take in Quicksilver deserves his own solo movie. His scene was so cool and creative and I really enjoyed it.

Overall, and some may disagree, but Macavoy and Fassbender are so good as Xavier and Magneto that by the end, THEY own the characters now even more than Stewart and Mckellen. They both gave absolutely definitive versions of the characters.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 7:58:59 PM

on*
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 9:28:27 PM

@deaft

As far as dinklage I agree and expanded upon that in my review. He was not bad at all, just not usually in a compelling way. Closest he came to that was his short speech about how destroying mutants will lead to peace and cooperation a la star trek.

A quicksilver movie would be hard to pull off, as I mentioned in my follow up to review I thought he was great in the film. But the nature of his power would be hard to counter and therefore make any encounter become to easy to defeat.

Picture him at the whitehouse. He would have saved everyone and stolen magnetos helmet before he would have blinked. They need a counter character or a sort of kryptonite in order to make a whole movie based on him. Otherwise it would be boring, and him used as a story crutch in my opinion. Fight scenes would be boring. Just non stop slow mo gags
vincere01 writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 9:30:30 PM

Nobody wants a matrix revolutions with a teenager again
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 10:48:55 PM

alternate text label
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 10:56:02 PM

just saw Wolf Of Wall Street

boy did Leo get robbed at The Oscars

say what you want about the movie itself of how its a longer carbon copy of Goodfellas

but if i knew Leo was going to perform that well, I would have made more of an effort to see it sooner

Monuments Men was a nice change of pace
if you can fight through the heavy on the Clooney first act or so
WorstPreviews Sucks writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:00:22 PM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:12:02 PM

Comparing anything to a Roland Emmerich Disaster Films is a bad publicity move.

Also how big are they gonna make this guy? He'll just end up being like an angry Iron Giant.

Also I hope they don't change him too much like some Hero films do, making villains look more human because they assume the audience would be too dumb to have any connection to the character, and because they want the expensive actors to actually [see: The Amazing Spider Man].
WorstPreviews Sucks writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:14:07 PM

minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:18:46 PM

Cinema,

I think Kinsberg is referring to Rollie's scale of destruction, which is something,perhaps the only thing, he gets right in his films. They mean, then, that Apocalypse will feature massive and epic global destruction, which means FOX believes that the only way to quickly compete against Marvel is to raise the CGI destruction ante, which seems to me be the wrong tack, instead of developing layered and complex characters and stories, not that either Marvel or DC has done much in that area.

Inn the end, it comes down to money, and blowing up the world makes good financial sense when discussing proven ways to sell Americans more big-budget summer tentpole crap.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:26:20 PM

Oh, and Apocalypse is your typically-sized mutant IIRC, but has abilities at allow him to grow at will. Doubt FOX will explore that much due to cost overruns, but all they need to do is give him mega-Magento-like abilities over basic matter, like say the villain of Chronicle extrapolated to extreme dimensions.

I should not I had to look this crap up, simply because comic books are not my area of interest of expertise.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:26:42 PM

*magneto.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:27:56 PM

- should not I

SMH.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:31:48 PM

minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:32:12 PM

I can do that too.

lol.
WorstPreviews Sucks writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:35:07 PM

where are u minkowski? I need to speak to speak to u.

minkowski will run and hide as he always does hese a coward

-mace windu
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:35:53 PM

I'm right here you little whore.
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:36:58 PM

I'm waiting, motherf*cker.
WorstPreviews Sucks writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:38:26 PM

mink aka d*cksuckingmonkey. give up you cannot win this over. we know our alex leave now and rot in hell. there is no place for u in gods kingdoms

#DARKSIDERRULESWORSTPREVIEWS
minkowski writes:
on May 25th, 2014 at 11:40:25 PM

Take it in the ass, d*ckhider.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 12:22:08 AM

Well I see everyone's having a nice Sunday! Lol Tanmans bored.. And drunk..
Words of Wisdom writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 12:23:52 AM

A token of gratitude is often one floor above you.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 1:06:56 AM

Shut up! ^
vincere01 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 1:15:53 AM

@tan

When u wake up and stop being hungover from the booze and the planes marathon you should drag your skinny (im guessing) canadian ass to see xmen. Then u can add to the conversations and not be bored. Bam! Blew yo mind fool! Lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 4:15:17 AM

Vince-

Weigh 145 last I checked, some would call that skinny. Depends on the person really lol Regardless, gonna watch it soon my friend.
Lancelot writes:
on May 26th, 2014 at 7:29:17 AM

^ ^ Your obsession with Bullit is really disturbing JB!

f*ck off already!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved