WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edgar Wright Drops Out of Directing Marvel's "Ant-Man"

Posted: May 24th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edgar Wright Drops Out of Directing MarvelSubmit Comment
In a surprising move, Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) has decided to drop out of directing "Ant-Man" due to creative differences, despite working on the project for years.

"Marvel Studios and Edgar Wright jointly announced today that the studio and director have parted ways on 'Ant-Man' due to differences in their vision of the film," said Marvel. "The decision to move on is amicable and does not impact the release date on July 17th, 2015. A new director will be announced shortly."

Marvel is already in talks with other directors, but it seems that "Ant-Man" co-writer Joe Cornish, who directed "Attack the Block," has yet to be approached.

All the actors, including Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas, Patrick Wilson, Michael Pena and Evangeline Lilly are still on board.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 8:11:19 AM

That doesn't sound good. sh*t just got real.
boogiel writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 9:00:14 AM

Enter Brett Ratner.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 9:38:10 AM

Isn't Mc G due to ruin another movie sometime soon?
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 11:05:30 AM

Renny Harlin, Russell Mulcahy, or Paul WS Anderson please.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 11:24:51 AM

Wtf?!?!?
cress writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 12:16:12 PM

What a bitch. Learn to work with the studio, dipsh*t. Fincher had a horrible time making ALIEN 3, and he didn't get what he wanted, but he carried on and delivered a decent film regardless of studio interference. I personnally hated ALIEN 3 when it released, but it's well-made and decent, but just doesn't work well with the films that preceded it. Sorry, didn't mean to go sideways with ALIEN 3 stuff. Anyways, Marvel has a pretty good record of delivering solid films, so leave your ego at home, Edgar, if you want to make a Marvel film
Whitta writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 12:55:30 PM

Marvel studio's needs to realise that Edgar Wright is gonna ALWAYS be right.

If this movie goes to sh*t, it's because of Marvel. They can cope the entire blame.
Attos writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 2:20:38 PM

@cress
I agree that ALIEN 3 is out of place in the original trilogy, but compared to what we get these days, it's definitely still enjoyable. That, and I'm a total sucker for Charles Dance. I still watch Last Action Hero sometimes, just for him. Benedict has always been one of my favorite villains, even though he comes from one of the cheesiest movies ever made.
vincere01 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 2:36:27 PM

Well at least alex used the link I posted for good use this time, even used the source I posted for his source this time.
Bob82 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 3:01:05 PM

@cress
'Alien 3' was Fincher's directorial debut. So I guess he wasn't in the position to fight the studio. It was either to cope with that or struggle to direct another film after that. Then he went on to make films like 'Se7en', 'Fight Club' and 'The Social Network', and just recently, he quit on directing the Steve Jobs biopic for differences with the studio.
So how is this different from Edgar Wright, who directed four films (not as massive as Fincher's work, but still great and with unique vision)? Also, he's been working on the project for several years, so the studio or him should know who are they working with and trust each other.
But in the end, the studio pulls the strings and Wright, knowing this, stayed true to himself and wisely left the project.
Bob82 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 3:03:18 PM

@Attos
'Alien 3' is a cool movie and 'Last Action Hero' a masterpiece. I guess you must be a fan of Tywin Lannister.
warriors187 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 5:14:46 PM

Glad to hear some of the Attack The Block crew are doing so well. The kid that played Moses in Star Wars...Hopefully Joe Cornish will get a shot at directing Ant Man. He isn't Edgar Wright, but still could be interesting.
Attos writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 5:46:26 PM

@Bob
Yes sir, I am indeed a fan of father Lannister. But there are plenty of other reasons to love that show. Another example of excellent casting for nearly every character. Everyone but that f*cking tool who plays Jon Snow. (Though I'm awfully sad about what's going to happen with Tywin very soon.)
Bob82 writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 6:34:24 PM

@Attos
Hey dude, watch out with the spoiler!!! (Good thing I've already read the books). Yeah, I'm really looking forward for that scene, specially for Dinklage performance.

On that note: SPOILER ALERT BOOK 5 - You must be happy for what happens to Jon Snow in a couple of seasons (though we don't know for sure, that fat bastard Martin is one tricky bugger)
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 6:42:14 PM

I imagine much of the completed work will just be shifted over to another director since films these days aren't manufactured much as they were fifty years ago when everything was edited and filmed far more conservatively staidly.

Everything is modular with modern film, so they'll take what they have, the scenes already shot, and shift them over and migrate them into a new director's workflow. No biggie.

I did have hope for Gunn, since he seems to be more innovative than much of what Marvel is pushing, and that's probably what heralded his departure. I imagine Marvel wanted a more formulaic interpretation of the given material and Gunn wanted to innovate and get creative; thus Gunn chose art over commercialism and was shown the door.

Sadly, this won't do wonders for him with future gigs, even if Marvel gives him a recommendation. Just never a good thing to see a director on a big high-concept film take a permanent powder, regardless of the reason(s). Shows an inability to compromise with a studio. So I don't foresee his name on an y big0ticket items any time soon.

Darned shame, even I despise the man's previous films.
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 6:43:35 PM

Wow. I'm totally confused. I said Gunn yet I clearly meant Wright. What I said still stands but I retract what I said about despising his work. So just invert that part.

Early dementia for me, I guess.
Attos writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 6:46:51 PM

@Bob
Lol, I think I avoided any spoilers. Saying "something happens" could mean literally anything on that show, and there are plenty of things to be sad about. Like how sad I was when Sam DROPPED THE f*ckING OBSIDIAN BLADE after he used it. It seems like you would want to desperately hold on to something like that.
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 7:17:49 PM

I imagine much of the completed work will just be shifted over to another director since films these days aren't manufactured much as they were fifty years ago when everything was edited and filmed far more conservatively staidly.

Everything is modular with modern film, so they'll take what they have, the scenes already shot, and shift them over and migrate them into a new director's workflow. No biggie.

I did have hope for Wright, since he seems to be more innovative than much of what Marvel is pushing, and that's probably what heralded his departure. I imagine Marvel wanted a more formulaic interpretation of the given material and Wright wanted to innovate and get creative; thus Wright chose art over commercialism and was shown the door.

Sadly, this won't do wonders for him with future large-studio gigs, even if Marvel gives him a recommendation. Just never a good thing to see a director on a big high-concept film take a permanent powder, regardless of the reason(s). Shows an inability to compromise with a studio. So I don't foresee his name on an any big-ticket items any time soon, and he'll likely be back to making films for Rogue Pictures soon.

Darned shame, since I've greatly enjoyed his previous œuvres.








Stupid website where you have no control over what you post because the damned post function is nothing but a Javascript call to dump text within a comment box into a DIV element appended at the end of the current page.
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 8:04:37 PM

+and
DriveMemento writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 8:26:39 PM

this just went from potentially being the best marvel movie ever made, to sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved