WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film

Posted: May 22nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for MarvelSubmit Comment
Disney/Marvel is planning to unveil the first trailer for its upcoming "Big Hero 6" animated film, which is based on a Marvel comic of the same name, later today. But somehow, the trailer ended up online early. It's a little squished, but we'll make sure to have a better version as soon as it makes its way online.

Update: We now have the official version.

Plot: The movie is an action comedy adventure about robotics prodigy Hiro Hamada, who finds himself in the grips of a criminal plot that threatens to destroy the fast-paced, high-tech city of San Fransokyo. With the help of his closest companion - a robot named Baymax - Hiro joins forces with a reluctant team of first-time crime fighters on a mission to save their city.

"Big Hero 6" is directed by Don Hall (Winnie the Pooh) and Chris Williams (Bolt), It's set to hit theaters on November 7th, 2014.

Trailer:


Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 11:27:10 AM


Looks pretty generic. And what's the point of making your kid hero Japanese if you're just gonna animate him to look and sound American?

Tanman32123 writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 11:33:25 AM

This sounds lame as f*ck..
Deaft‪0ne writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 12:46:52 PM

Visually stimulating!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 12:55:52 PM

Won't wastey time watching this.
McQueen writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:57:53 PM

Well, f*ck Marvel and their f*cking comic "books" while I fully enjoyed a very good BBC production with "The Crimson Field".

Real drama with great acting with historical facts and plot. But to deepest chagrin it ended up after only six episodes.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 6:18:14 PM

No.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 6:42:27 PM

I like the look.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:01:51 PM

"And what's the point of making your kid hero Japanese if you're just gonna animate him to look and sound American?"



Are you like, new to planet Earth or something? Ever hear of anime/manga? Ever watch shows like Trigun and Cowboy Bebop? Even Dragon Ball? Do they look Japanese to you?

Wow. Just...wow.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:31:26 PM

Don't give a sh*t.just more sh*t in marvels pocket
Cannon writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:33:52 PM


@Mink

And that's supposed to be some kind of legitimate excuse?

The standard manga illustrated, anime animated character design, even if not accurately resembling a real Japanese person, is nonetheless a distinctly Japanese creation; a projection of themselves into a cartoon context and a signature of Japanese pop-art.

Not really the best analogy.

This being an American production, they didn't even bother to honor that look. They just animated a generically Westernized white kid with a generic, Disney channel sit-com, white kid accent.

I'm hardly asking for realism, but even with something like Lilo and Stitch an effort was made to incorporate an Asian-Hawaiian resemblance into their caricatured designs.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:47:28 PM

So in other words you're bitching about a Manga-ish/Anime-ush movie sat inside the fictional Western-Asian city of San Fransokyo (San Francisco plus Tokyo) not making the characters purely Japanese looking??? Got to tell you, lots of white people live in San Francisco.

And again, more than five decades of Japanese Manga/Anime have employed European-esque instead of Asian characters, but this movie is where you draw the line?

Whatever. It's a f*cking 3D cartoon Anime-like movie based on the fusion of an Japanese and an American city. There's simply no reason at all for the characters to be four feet tall, slant-eyed and baby-d*cked.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:50:01 PM

"but even with something like Lilo and Stitch an effort was made to incorporate an Asian-Hawaiian resemblance into their caricatured designs."

Yes, but Lilo and Stitch is actually set in Hawaii, not the fictional city of San Fransokyo.

And there isn't decades of similar cultural precedent either. Not to mention the fact Hawaiians might get annoyed if you made a movie set in Hawaii but used totally white people. Even Hawaii 5-0 and Magnum PI knew better.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:53:03 PM

Dunno if this has been posted

New 'Star Wars' film coming December 2016 from the director of 'Godzilla'


http://www.theverge.com/2014/5/22/5743160/godzilla-director-gareth-edwards-reportedly-signs-on-for-star-wars-movie
Cannon writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:00:57 PM


I'm not bitching or drawing any lines. I'm simply asking a question: why story a character named Hiro Hamada without making any further effort to visually or characteristically incorporate his ethnicity onto the screen? Why not just call him "Zack Smith" or something?

The movie might be manga-anime inspired with its content but, at least from what the trailer shows of its main character, they don't seem much interested in even a manga-anime visual style.

Color the kids hair blonde and he's virtually indistinguishable from a kid character from Bolt or Meet the Robinsons or whatever.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:08:14 PM

That's kind of racist to think a guy with a Japanese name should look Japanese.

So I guess you'd have a problem with a black guy named John Smith?

Whatever.

It's a f*cking 3D cartoon anime-ish movie based on a fictional Western-Asian city.

Maybe the designers felt the main character should reflect that Western-Asian hybridization.
Cannon writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:24:57 PM


"That's kind of racist to think a guy with a Japanese name should look Japanese."

Lolwut?

"So I guess you'd have a problem with a black guy named John Smith?"

Not even sure how (you think) that analogy works but, as you say, whatever indeed.

Anyways, this being a Asian-Western future hybrid setting is fine, but without any aesthetic allusions to the (pop)culture that spawned the very idea just seems kinda wasted. And animating a Japanese-American kid without actually animating -- resembling, even on a cartoon caricatured level -- a Japanese-American kid just seems kinda pointless.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:37:43 PM

Yeah there are a lot of people in San Fran but most of them are gay so how would we end up all Asian American mulatto
elrei writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:47:02 PM

Does it have musicals? 'cause i'm still trying to forget Frozen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 9:53:45 PM

Just let it go already ^
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 9:54:18 PM

I love how "Cannon" is deliberately obtuse. Must be a new twist on the trolling-manipulation here. Play stupid, say stupid things, and then watch other people react; and when that fails, send in a clone to exacerbate the situation.

Okay, I'm game. But only this one time because I'm bored.



"Not even sure how (you think) that analogy works but, as you say, whatever indeed."

...because you said a character with a Japanese name should look Japanese, which begs the question: a black person with a white person's name wouldn't be "right" to you. Durrrrr. Which then means certain races should have certain looks and thus have certain ethnic-sounding names. Else you're just deliberately inconsistent as usual.



"And animating a Japanese-American kid without actually animating -- resembling, even on a cartoon caricatured level -- a Japanese-American kid just seems kinda pointless"

Animating in this context would be moving 3D surfaces around and then setting keyframes. Not really sure what you mean when you say "animating", then, and I'm not sure how one can animated a Japanese-American kid to look Japanese-American, or what that even means.

So how should one animate a Japanese-American kid? Do they look different from other kids? Should I study one in the wild? And where's that thing called artistry and imagination? Wouldn't that have an impact?




"but without any aesthetic allusions to the (pop)culture that spawned the very idea just seems kinda wasted"

It's wasted only if you think the movie should be "allusions to...." instead of a movie about what it is.

Kinda like watching Jaws and then moaning that it isn't full of ichthyological references, like anyone but a pretentious troller would try to make that kind of connection...







Whatever. You got your response. Hook, line and sinker. Just know I bit the bait willingly out of boredom.


Zzzzzzzzz. I'm done with this manipulative, childish nonsense.
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 10:00:28 PM

@Tanman: you must be new here, because if not, and if you were paying attention, you'd know there's like one or two people changing masks daily in pursuit of attention and sh*t-stirring.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 10:10:45 PM

Meh.
triggax writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 10:14:57 PM

Well. That was extremely insightful, Mink.

Forget to change the ol' tampon this morning?
Cannon writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 10:32:24 PM

"...because you said a character with a Japanese name should look Japanese, which begs the question: a black person with a white person's name wouldn't be "right" to you. Durrrrr. Which then means certain races should have certain looks and thus have certain ethnic-sounding names. Else you're just deliberately inconsistent as usual."

African-Americans with European surnames is common. Animated Japanese-American characters that don't look (not even on an anime level) or sound in any way Japanese is pointless.

"Animating in this context would be moving 3D surfaces around and then setting keyframes. Not really sure what you mean when you say "animating", then, and I'm not sure how one can animated a Japanese-American kid to look Japanese-American, or what that even means."

By using caricature forms or designs, which is a basic concept of animation and which I explicitly stated. (Obtuse? Pot, kettle, black)

"So how should one animate a Japanese-American kid? Do they look different from other kids? Should I study one in the wild? And where's that thing called artistry and imagination? Wouldn't that have an impact?"

Uh, actually it's the lack artistry and imagination that I'm noting, in that the character design here appears wholly stock via the current trends.

"It's wasted only if you think the movie should be "allusions to...." instead of a movie about what it is."

No reason why it can't be both.

"Kinda like watching Jaws and then moaning that it isn't full of ichthyological references, like anyone but a pretentious troller would try to make that kind of connection..."

Goofball analogy No. 3 ...as if I'm demanding any kind of anthropological truth here; see my basic question posted above.

"Whatever. You got your response. Hook, line and sinker. Just know I bit the bait willingly out of boredom.

Zzzzzzzzz. I'm done with this manipulative, childish nonsense."

= signature empty Mink rhetoric.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 22nd, 2014 at 11:25:27 PM

e v a a n d r e s s a v i e i r a
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:14:14 AM

@triggax: forget to cash your welfare check this morning?
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:15:09 AM

"= signature empty Mink rhetoric."

What was that? Another "rhetorical comment"?
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:20:24 AM

"African-Americans with European surnames is common. Animated Japanese-American characters that don't look (not even on an anime level) or sound in any way Japanese is pointless."




Ah, so if it were "common" it wouldn't be pointless?

You make less sense the more you try to defend your nonsense. Just stop already.

Besides, it's just a f*cking name. And he looks fairly Japanese here:



You haven't even seen the f*cking movie, thus you're just mouthing out about some stills. Go do something with your time. Something productive instead of talking about things you neither can understand nor have experienced.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:22:24 AM

"By using caricature forms or designs, which is a basic concept of animation and which I explicitly stated. (Obtuse? Pot, kettle, black).

Caricatures aren't a basic concept of animation, dude and the very first animations were actually very realistic, long before Disney perfected realistic cartoons.

Caricatures are merely one way of interpreting reality and transposing it into a non-real format.

You really should learn something about the art of animation before speaking.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:25:20 AM

Mink-

I think you misinterpreted what I said. "why don't you just let it go already" was a kick at a joke. You know, from the song "Let it Go" from the movie. Lol

Crambo-
Contacts ending was f*cking sh*t. End of story lol
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:27:13 AM

"Uh, actually it's the lack artistry and imagination that I'm noting, in that the character design here appears wholly stock via the current trends"

So it's not artistic unless it bucks current trends and does something totally different and previously unseen? Funny then my dictionary doesn't list any of that as criteria for "imaginative" and "artistic".

Perhaps you mean avant garde, which isn't exclusively synonymous with either of the aforementioned terms?

In fact, the definition of artistic seems to be "having or revealing natural creative skill" and "aesthetically appealing", not "fit's some random dude's opinion of what constitutes art" or "has a name that matches characters ethnicity, which as I demonstrated above appears to not be the actual case, compared to your misplaced and inaccurate lamentations.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:28:57 AM

"No reason why it can't be both."

No reason why is SHOULD be both, actually, except to placate some random non-name moaner on some sh*tty movie news site who hasn't even seen the character in question enough to make a determination whether said character matches said name.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:35:38 AM

"Goofball analogy No. 3 ...as if I'm demanding any kind of anthropological truth here; see my basic question posted above."


Goofball analogy. That's funny. You're mocking an analogy for not being fully and literally applicable when the intent of said analogy was to demonstrate creative and imagination with said comparison, all while you're crying that some Japanese cartoon character with a Japanese name isn't portrayed as indelibly Japanese as Tojo Hideki, because the ability to blend Eastern and Western influences isn't considered artistry or creative or imaginative, I guess.

Really, who the f*ck are you to criticize Marvel and Disney, multi-billion dollar companies crewed by some of the most creative and talented people on the planet? Do you even DRAW? Do have any experience in anything artistic other than some introductory film classes at your local community college?

I fully f*cking doubt it.

Words of Wisdom writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:39:52 AM

A stumbling first step shakes beliefs that are widely held.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:41:02 AM

Some production stills *AND* the trailer. Forgot that was even here. So I watched it. Dude looks fairly Japanese to me, in a non-realistic interpretative way, and certainly looks way more Japanese than hundreds of supposedly Japanese anime and manga characters that preceded this movie by decades, so I have no idea what Cannon is moaning about. per usual....

Maybe the dude expects Hiro to have big buck teeth and speak with a lisp like that character in Breakfast at Tiffany's.

Sorry dude, we don't live in the 1950s anymore.





@Tanman: yeah I know, I was performing my basic PSA for the day. And the ending to Contact didn't suck so much as the part about the second Machine and Matt's stupid role, which I'm sure "Cannon" will say was actually the film's best part.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:42:06 AM

@Triggax: stop lurking, loser, and actually post.

Barring that, go away and f*ck off already.

:D
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 12:48:34 AM

Any interesting reads mink? Bored and taking a dump
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 2:30:53 AM

This will probably do great with kids, but no mention of Marvel anywhere? I guess they don't want audiences confusing it with their Avengers film universe
Cannon writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 4:35:45 AM

"Zzzzzzzzz. I'm done with this manipulative, childish nonsense."

Followed by...SIX more goddamn posts in response, hence calling you out on empty rhetoric.

["African-Americans with European surnames is common. Animated Japanese-American characters that don't look (not even on an anime level) or sound in any way Japanese is pointless."]

"Ah, so if it were "common" it wouldn't be pointless?"

If what where common, generically animated characters failing to distinguish a specific, storied ethnicity? No, that would still be pointless. That gif you posted is a perfect example: if the characterís name was Miguel Manrique, one wouldnít know the difference judging by how he was animated.

"You haven't even seen the f*cking movie..."

I thought I made that clear. I thought I specifically said, "at least from what the trailer shows". Regardless, if the feature length film in full somehow puts said character design in a whole new light, fair enough, but I donít think it unreasonable to judge the gist of their sensibility from the footage shown thus far.

"Caricatures aren't a basic concept of animation, dude..."

Uh, yes, they are. I never said they were universal rules or the only way to animate, but they are definitely basic concepts of the medium, particularly concerning the modus operandi of the general Disney, 3D animation style in question.

"So it's not artistic unless it bucks current trends and does something totally different and previously unseen? Funny then my dictionary doesn't list any of that as criteria for "imaginative" and "artistic".

Iím not chastising the animators for not reinventing the wheel. It doesnít have to be totally different or previously unseen, just more accurate in distinguishing and bringing to life the very ethnicity that is being storied, in part, yes, by not opting for such a generic form (save for changing hair colors) used to represent virtually all other non-ethnic kid characters in western animation. Not a difficult concept.

"No reason why is SHOULD be both, actually, except to placate some random non-name moaner..."

An odd claim. Are you not, by definition, just a random, non-name praiser or approver? I donít expect any one to make a movie the way I want them to make it. Iím simply sharing my opinion. In doing so, logically, I can only speak for my own tastes and preferences. They make an animated movie largely inspired by Japanese anime but without (again, judging by what Iíve seen so far) any noticeable effort to honor, homage, incorporate or experiment with the actual anime style. Itís not a crime, not even a deal-breaker for me, necessarily. But, in my opinion, it just seems like a wasted opportunity.

"Goofball analogy. That's funny. You're mocking an analogy for not being fully and literally applicable when the intent of said analogy was to demonstrate creative and imagination with said comparison..."

Iím mocking your analogy because itís extreme to the point that it doesnít apply to my criticism or original question. Pretty simple.

"Really, who the f*ck are you to criticize Marvel and Disney, multi-billion dollar companies crewed by some of the most creative and talented people on the planet? Do you even DRAW? Do have any experience in anything artistic other than some introductory film classes at your local community college?"

This has 'logical fallacy' -- appealing to peer pressure and bandwagon superiority -- written all over it. Hey, guess what? Transformers is 2 billion dollar-plus franchise backed by a multi-billion dollar studio crewed by some of the most talented FX artist on the planet. But that doesnít mean Iím about to dismiss my own creative differences with those films as invalid because, well, because Iím just little ol' me.

Lancelot writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 5:04:05 AM

And Cannon wins this thread!


Mink has to trash someone from time to time but this time he's arguing because "he's bored". So, Cannon should be grateful to him because he dedicate his precious time for Cannon?!

What an arrogant prick! The bloke is really Not healthy in his head.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:23:40 PM

The original claim, after all his backtrack babblings, by Cannon was that this guy has a Japanese name but doesn't look Japanese. I dispelled this notion by noting three things:

1. the movie in question has anime-manga roots, which means the character in question looks perfectly fine as some kind of Euro-Asian hybrid

2. The character looks distinctly Japanese but not explicitly Japanese, thanks to artistic interpretation.

3. The movie is based on the fictional American-Asian city of San Fransokyo, which means the character need not look specifically Asian, even though, to me, it does.

This is the matter in question. Instead Cannon thinks Marvel and Disney should waste their millions making a movie that uses untried artistic styling to render Anime-ish CGI characters, which is just stupid.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:28:25 PM

"That gif you posted is a perfect example: if the characterís name was Miguel Manrique, one wouldnít know the difference judging by how he was animated."

You mean render, not animated. Animated refers to MOTION. You really need to be more clear on your terminology.

Never mind, though, because you're wrong, largely because the kid in question looks Asian to me, and many Latin and South Americans share with Japanese a common racial genetic heritage. Certainly Hiro doesn't look Mexican. Or even Peruvian.

But if you think Marvel and Disney need to take extra time to make sure the audience doesn't mistake an Asian character with a Japanese name for some guy from Guadalupe, then that's your issue and your issue alone.

It's really a non-issue for those that don't really care and those who can tell the difference between a CGI character from Brazil and one from Japan.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:33:05 PM

" Regardless, if the feature length film in full somehow puts said character design in a whole new light, fair enough, but I donít think it unreasonable to judge the gist of their sensibility from the footage shown thus far"


In other words, you think the character doesn't look Japanese enough, but that's merely your opinion, and I disagree. I think most people will also disagree. I also think most people will realize that a highly-interpretive CGI cartoon with anime-roots situated in a fictional American-Asian city shouldn't SCREAM Japanese, and most people would agree you're being ridiculous in both your inordinate demands for such a depiction and in your expectations such a non-realistic movie should take such a realistic tack.

It's just absurd, irrational, and unwarranted.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:39:50 PM

"They make an animated movie largely inspired by Japanese anime but without (again, judging by what Iíve seen so far) any noticeable effort to honor, homage, incorporate or experiment with the actual anime style."


The movie's roots is anime, apparently, or more appropriately, Marvel-style anime, and as I've shown, anime doesn't adhere to any consistent roots itself, often blending European and Eastern influences seamlessly and to varying degrees. So your expectation this movie, which is NOT actually anime, should somehow offer an homage to anime in the form of the main character, who imo DOES look rather animeish, is just absurd, especially when you haven;t seen enough of the movie to judge it on those merits and instead are using the main character as your sole guide.

Not to mention this wasn't your original complaint, which was the character wasn't explicitly Japanese enough to suit its name, which again, as I've shown, is a baseless complaint.



"Itís not a crime"

I'm glad we've cleared that up....


"not even a deal-breaker for me"


I'm sure Marvel and Disney are breathing a sigh of relief as we speak...


"necessarily. But, in my opinion, it just seems like a wasted opportunity."


Because the point of this particular movie is to fit one random guy's expectation some CGI cartoon anime-ish hybrid movie's main character should look explicitly Japanese enough to warrant his name, and NOT to make a lot of money and entertain the masses, right?


Absolutely absurd.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:44:51 PM

"Iím mocking your analogy because itís extreme to the point that it doesnít apply to my criticism or original question. Pretty simple."


No, what's pretty simple is your understanding.

My original analogy in fact was a snarky, hyperbolic mocking of your expectation some CGI cartoon anime-esque movie made to entertain, and not offer a class on Nipponese anthropology, should feature a character that screams Japanese, as if the main character will solely be defined and remembered by his look and not what he did and said and how he acted while doing it, as if that's what makes memorable and entertaining characters: how well they hew to some pre-fabricated politically-correct notion of what constitutes the Japanese phenotype.

Absurd.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 6:54:37 PM

I'm well aware of the "appeal to authority" fallacy, but thanks anyway.




"This has 'logical fallacy' -- appealing to peer pressure and bandwagon superiority -- written all over it. Hey, guess what? Transformers is 2 billion dollar-plus franchise backed by a multi-billion dollar studio crewed by some of the most talented FX artist on the planet. But that doesnít mean Iím about to dismiss my own creative differences with those films as invalid because, well, because Iím just little ol' me."





No, but when you take the time to argue an opinion that's ostensibly absurd, one that's not likely to resonate with anyone other than d*ckless hipster snobs, and one that's refuted by literal ARMIES of people, all of whom are probably individually more artistic talented than you, at Marvel and Disney, it makes you look like a nut arguing over a subjective nitpick. It's just....well, absurd.

Oh, and your comparison, your analogy above is not only logically fallacious but also incorrect as you're comparing this movie's one character design to the entirety of Transformers 2, instead of that film's CGI and VFX, which is pretty f*cking amazing and topnotch...so you're way off, because you can't compare apple stems to oranges as you've done.

Also, my point wasn't to say that just because Disney and Marvel make billions, whatever they do must then be the correct decision, but only to illuminate the fact you're whining about a non-issue, one I'm sure has long ago occurred in the minds of the many people working on this movie, which means not only are they aware of your complaint, in some way, but they've totally ignored it because it's not relevant to them or their design process.

It's like some guy on the internet nitpicking some minor command decision by the US Army in Fallujah before the fighting even began, just because he remembers something his community college professor read to him from Sun Tzu.

Absurd. Totally absurd.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2014 at 7:05:13 PM

Here comes psycho, here comes psycho, right down psycho lane:
Cannon writes:
on May 24th, 2014 at 1:40:17 AM

"The original claim, after all his backtrack babblings, by Cannon was that this guy has a Japanese name but doesn't look Japanese. I dispelled this notion by noting three things:

1. the movie in question has anime-manga roots, which means the character in question looks perfectly fine as some kind of Euro-Asian hybrid"

Subjective, which is fine, but dispels nothing.

"2. The character looks distinctly Japanese but not explicitly Japanese, thanks to artistic interpretation."

See above.

"3. The movie is based on the fictional American-Asian city of San Fransokyo, which means the character need not look specifically Asian, even though, to me, it does."

I have no problem matching the design with the stated premise. Or, more specifically, I have no problem getting the point that this character is supposed to be Japanese-American, but really only because the premise is telling me so. I just donít think the design is interesting enough to make that idea pop on its own; that the animated film has to rely first on stated settings, exposition or ethnic names to convey any particular kind of ethnic mix of its character instead of using the animation itself more imaginatively to convey as much in a visual sense.

"This is the matter in question. Instead Cannon thinks Marvel and Disney should waste their millions making a movie that uses untried artistic styling to render Anime-ish CGI characters, which is just stupid."

Thereís nothing untried or wasteful about employing more effective caricature designs.

"You mean render, not animated. Animated refers to MOTION. You really need to be more clear on your terminology."

Or, you could try being less anal. To render, to cause or become; make or create Ė a general use of the word that works perfectly fine here without the above bullsh*t fussy objection. Thanks. Moving on...

"Never mind, though, because you're wrong, largely because the kid in question looks Asian to me, and many Latin and South Americans share with Japanese a common racial genetic heritage. Certainly Hiro doesn't look Mexican. Or even Peruvian."

He doesnít look anything except generically "ethnic" Ė generic to such a degree that you could change the premise of the film from an Asian-American future city to a Latin-American future city and the design in question would still function. My criticism is that it only functions.

"But if you think Marvel and Disney need to take extra time to make sure the audience doesn't mistake an Asian character with a Japanese name for some guy from Guadalupe, then that's your issue and your issue alone."

This, specifically, was never my issue.

"It's really a non-issue for those that don't really care..."

LoL! No sh*t. Pardon me for the fact that I do kind of care, or at least that I seek something a bit more inspired.

"In other words, you think the character doesn't look Japanese enough, but that's merely your opinion, and I disagree. I think most people will also disagree. I also think most people will realize that a highly-interpretive CGI cartoon with anime-roots situated in a fictional American-Asian city shouldn't SCREAM Japanese, and most people would agree you're being ridiculous in both your inordinate demands for such a depiction and in your expectations such a non-realistic movie should take such a realistic tack."

Realism has nothing to do with it. Using animation to better and more artfully express a premise or setting is where Iím coming from. And why shouldnít it scream Japanese? This doesnít mean the character must be animated as some insulting, dehumanizing, 1940s American stereotyping of a Japanese person.

I simply would have preferred they animated him to a degree that doesnít merely serve the storied premise on some basic functional level, but celebrates it with a richer and more distinct caricature design.

"The movie's roots is anime, apparently, or more appropriately, Marvel-style anime, and as I've shown, anime doesn't adhere to any consistent roots itself, often blending European and Eastern influences seamlessly and to varying degrees. So your expectation this movie, which is NOT actually anime, should somehow offer an homage to anime in the form of the main character, who imo DOES look rather animeish, is just absurd, especially when you haven;t seen enough of the movie to judge it on those merits and instead are using the main character as your sole guide."

By definition, so are you. And while anime can vary in style, there is a general ďanimeĒ identity, which I simply thought could have been better evoked or alluded here.

"Not to mention this wasn't your original complaint, which was the character wasn't explicitly Japanese enough to suit its name, which again, as I've shown, is a baseless complaint."

You have? Your subjective opinion doubles as objective evidence? Fascinating.

"I'm sure Marvel and Disney are breathing a sigh of relief as we speak...

Because the point of this particular movie is to fit one random guy's expectation some CGI cartoon anime-ish hybrid movie's main character should look explicitly Japanese enough to warrant his name, and NOT to make a lot of money and entertain the masses, right?"

You keep bringing this up as if itís any kind of relevant point.

"My original analogy in fact was a snarky, hyperbolic mocking of your expectation some CGI cartoon anime-esque movie made to entertain, and not offer a class on Nipponese anthropology, should feature a character that screams Japanese, as if the main character will solely be defined and remembered by his look and not what he did and said and how he acted while doing it, as if that's what makes memorable and entertaining characters: how well they hew to some pre-fabricated politically-correct notion of what constitutes the Japanese phenotype."

And since I desire nothing of the sort, your analogy was just a straw man.

"I'm well aware of the "appeal to authority" fallacy, but thanks anyway."

Followed by...

"No, but when you take the time to argue an opinion that's ostensibly absurd, one that's not likely to resonate with anyone other than d*ckless hipster snobs, and one that's refuted by literal ARMIES of people, all of whom are probably individually more artistic talented than you, at Marvel and Disney, it makes you look like a nut arguing over a subjective nitpick. It's just....well, absurd."

"Oh, and your comparison, your analogy above is not only logically fallacious but also incorrect as you're comparing this movie's one character design to the entirety of Transformers 2, instead of that film's CGI and VFX, which is pretty f*cking amazing and topnotch...so you're way off, because you can't compare apple stems to oranges as you've done."

My analogy was in direct response to the following:

"Really, who the f*ck are you to criticize Marvel and Disney, multi-billion dollar companies crewed by some of the most creative and talented people on the planet? Do you even DRAW? Do have any experience in anything artistic other than some introductory film classes at your local community college?"

...and, reiterated, simply states that Iím not going to disregard my own personal preferences and bow to those of a billion dollar enterprise simply because theyíre a billion dollar enterprise. Nor am I questioning the talent or technical expertise of the artist involved, only certain artistic choices theyíve made, an approach for which theyíve opted. People can do this with movies. Itís not heresy.

"Also, my point wasn't to say that just because Disney and Marvel make billions, whatever they do must then be the correct decision, but only to illuminate the fact you're whining about a non-issue, one I'm sure has long ago occurred in the minds of the many people working on this movie, which means not only are they aware of your complaint, in some way, but they've totally ignored it because it's not relevant to them or their design process."

Which amounts to a non-point. Iím perfectly aware of that which the filmmakers have ignored. And since when did stating oneís personal preferences via discrepancy constitutes whining?

"It's like some guy on the internet nitpicking some minor command decision by the US Army in Fallujah before the fighting even began, just because he remembers something his community college professor read to him from Sun Tzu."

Itís nothing like that. At all.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved