WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Come Together to Grant Dying Fan's Wish

Posted: May 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Come Together to Grant Dying FanSubmit Comment
We've heard similar stories before, and each time it's amazing to see actors and directors come together to help their fans. In this case, that fan is Stratford Caldecott, a man who was diagnosed with advanced prostate cancer in 2011.

Just recently, his doctors told him that he has only twelve weeks to live. Apparently one of the last things he wants to do is watch "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," but is too sick to make it to a movie theater.

His daughter, Sophie Caldecott, wanted to make sure that her father got to see the film. So she launched #CapForStrat Twitter campaign in hopes that Marvel will find out what's going on and send a copy of the movie to their home.

While the studio didn't notice, Mark Ruffalo did. The actor posted a photo of himself holding a piece of paper with #CapForStrat written on it. That got the attention of other "The Avengers" and "Agents of SHIELD" actors, who posted their own photos (see below).

After that, it didn't take long for Marvel executives to hear of Stratford Caldecott and grant his wish. "We've actually achieved what we wanted to achieve in that Marvel have got in touch and are going to arrange for dad to see 'The Winter Soldier' at home, hopefully next week," Sophie told Huffington Post. "And the selfies of support for him from the cast are just a wonderful cherry on top that are making him smile. I'm going to get them all printed out and stick them by his bed for when times get tougher."

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 9:14:56 AM

Well isn't that nice.
Taco writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 10:17:57 AM

And DC falls further behind. (snicker)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:59:06 AM

Avengers assemble in real life apparently. This is indeed a little heartwarming.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 12:11:43 PM

Avengers publicity ad
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 12:37:08 PM

After watching last nights Hannibal..

#gillianandersonformyface
OneTime writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 12:41:04 PM

bad ass
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 12:47:00 PM

#alexandradaddarioformyweiner
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 12:59:36 PM

^This. x10.
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 1:00:54 PM

@porn
Okay, so that wasn't just me that felt that way while watching Hannibal? What the hell kind of sorcery is going on with Gillian Anderson? She seems to be more attractive by the day.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 1:58:44 PM

@Attos
I never found Gillian Anderson attractive when she was younger. She's really aged well.
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 2:44:32 PM

@Sleuth
I feel the same way. I hated that red 90s hair she always had in X-Files. I still liked her, I just didn't find her particularly attractive. She's always had a great voice though. But lately, I'm kind of blown away by how hot she is.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 3:40:49 PM

Agreed^

Also since NBC nixed her show Crisis, hopefully she will come back for S3 of Here Comes Hanny Boo-Boo!
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 4:20:38 PM

You get one last wish and you waste it on f*cking comic book characters? lol. Should have asked for a trip to the Bunny Ranch instead. But I do feel for the man and his daughter.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 5:05:37 PM

@Attos
I never watched X-Files but the red hair creeped me out for some reason. I saw a bit of her performance and she was indeed good. One of those undervalued actresses. Her role in Hannibal has been mesmerizing from the first scene she was in to the most recent episode.

@Deaft0ne
That be great if she was in season 3, especially given the lack of females on the show. Hannibal is a real boys club when you come down to it. LOL
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 5:18:31 PM

@Sleuth

You should watch seasons 1-5 of The X-Files on Netflix™.

Those episodes are the best ones.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 6:07:20 PM

Las Vegas hookers
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 6:20:48 PM

@Deaft0ne
LOL I'll add that to the long list I have of shows I want to see.
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 7:17:21 PM

Good one guys.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 8:11:50 PM

@Sleuth

My Netflix queue is so filled it's absurd. So much stuff to get to dude.

Btw I apologize for past infractions.
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 8:23:48 PM

@Sleuth
X-Files is definitely good. It suffers from the occasional stupid plot, but that can be said about any show with that many episodes. It's a good lazy late-night show to watch, without having to take it too seriously.
Attos writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 8:26:49 PM

And that last episode of Hannibal was definitely interesting, to say the least. (I don't think it really spoils it to talk about it, because as soon as Mason Verger came into the story, we all knew how it had to end.) I do wish they would have gone for the full-faced scarring instead of just the lower half. I liked Gary Oldman's version. But I understand that it was already gruesome enough as it was, especially to be on NBC. Michael Pitt is great in the role though. I hope season three still has a lot of him and more of Anderson's character. I could see her being a bigger part of the story now that she's back.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 9:27:25 PM

"las vegas hookers"

Exactly. But hey, the people who pretend to be comic book characters, for cupidity, once every year or two is almost as good....

Really though, I thought the kid asked for the Avengers, not the father. Had to read it again just to be sure.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 9:31:44 PM

Man, if that were me? Pfffft. No f*cking question. Penthouse with all-I-can-eat of the finest food and the hottest babes available.


EDIT: had to read it thrice to see the dude just wanted to watch The Winter Soldier at home.

Wow. He's dying and his last wish is to see a movie that's been on The Pirate Bay for over a month? Not even The Avengers in person, just a f*cking movie.

I feel bad for the guy, and that sh*t can happen to anyone, but...if you're going to ask the genie for one wish, ask for something GOOD instead of a f*cking movie you can already watch for free.
el-ray writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 10:56:35 PM

The man likes his superheroes so what if it's one of his wishes, he doesn't want some cam job from the internet, it makes him happy to see something in all it's glory before his time runs out, he has a daughter to be really proud of to get this kind of recognition.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:11:33 PM

Dog, you be trippin', yo. If dat foo wanna roll with dem superhomies yo he be doin dat sh*t right, aight?

*Translation provided by Minkowski*


No, but seriously, he should have asked for something good.

And the Winter Soldier CAM is pretty decent for what it is, not like the movie is anything special or even worth worth paying to see.





On the other hand, why didn't his family just contact the local theaters to see if they would accommodate his medical needs so he could watch the thing in the theater?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:18:00 PM

@Deaft0ne
Yeah I still haven't gotten through 24. No time ironically enough. LOL

Look man it's whatever. We all like and dislike what suits each of us based on our opinions. Frankly though you and the other guys here keep me honest so I don't overkill on those likes and dislikes. That is circle of life my friend. We feel wronged, we bitch about it, others get us to chill
out about it, and then we move on.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:22:23 PM

Winter Soldier kicked ass

But that lame placement of those stupid computer chips and Falcons take down being like a baby bird vs a BB gun will surely kill him

I mean
an old man walking his dog could see where those computer chips were on those carriers

Its an insult to common sense
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:24:52 PM

@Attos
Will check X-Files out ASAP if two people in a row day do it. Plus you seem to have similar tastes. Yeah Hannibal was gruesome for NBC last night. Maybe the most gruesome I've ever seen on basic cable. But that's what made it so good! They used Hitchc*ck's style
Of showing just enough to make your imagination wot against you and freak you out. That whole scene used basic shadowing and yet it was better than half the other sh*t I've ever seen on basic cable. It terrified me and made me want to see what happens next. And Michael
Pitt is an incredible actor! Saw him on Boardwalk Empire too. He is really diverse! I see great things in his future if he keeps that kind of acting up.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:26:32 PM

wot = work*
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 11:38:48 PM

"Winter Soldier kicked ass"

Really? Then why the f*ck don't I remember anything about the movie, other than the ending? And that sh*t has nothing to do with my memory because I can still mentally imagine the entire intro for The Lady Vanishes...

Kicked ass. Yeah if you're bored and stoned. Hell my brother said the same thing about Under Siege 2. he said it's a great movie. But when pressed he admitted it only seems that way because when he watched it he had absolutely nothing going on.

Even the action scenes aren't memorable, and the heavy-handed, contrived and forced political allegory was just that. Don't get me started on three ridiculously massive heli-carriers that arise out of the f*cking Potomac to shoot people (with what looked like stock Hollywood machine guns) from space.

Kicked ass? Only if your ass is more like Joan Allen's and less like Kim Kartrashian.
Attos writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 12:01:48 AM

@Sleuth
The nose scene made me cringe, and I'm usually fine with graphic things like that. That one was rough, lol. I think I first saw Michael Pitt in that old Murder By Numbers movie. Lame movie, but I remember him being good in it, and I remember hoping at the time that he would show up in more projects in the future. He's had a few decent ones since, but now he's finally seeming to make a name for himself. I also liked his cameo (along with someone else from Boardwalk Empire) at the beginning of Seven Psychopaths. That was pretty f*cking hilarious.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 12:26:51 AM

@Attos
I look forward to seeing him in "I Origins". It will be a test of a slightly more grounded character for Pitt.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:02:07 AM

Caps action scenes kicked ass,MINK
they did a good job of showcasing his abilities

Even the old broad from America Werewolf in London had some skills

nice cans on Smulders,too
front and back
She thinks her homo husband from SNL is hittin that right
but he's not
wutta waste of hot-vag

Better than Spiderman 2 with their AIDS lookin Dicaprio light Green Goblin
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:11:47 AM

@mink
Maybe it's just me but I remember everything about that movie. The film had so many memorable scenes from his hand-to-hand combat with Winter Soldier that, if you know the back story, was a real emotional fight to watch. The connections of that Senator from "Iron Man 2" and how they mix in Agents of SHIELD storyline with it. That whole film was well done.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:22:24 AM

Since Im the only guy around here with no cable
Odds are Im also the only one who watches Agents Of Shield
and the last story arc was a good companion piece for CA2
even with its little-none limited action
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:23:26 AM

The Stan Lee cameo was way better than TASM2,also
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:26:46 AM

what above ground subway in NY goes to 120mph??
(Raimi's SM2)
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:33:08 AM

thats right i said 'above ground subway'

Big whoop
Attos writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:55:49 AM

@porn
Lol, I don't have cable either. Just the magical world of the internet. I honestly don't think I've watched anything actually being broadcast on television in at least five years. I just download stuff, then hook the computer up to the TV.
Attos writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:58:52 AM

Lol, maybe she shouldn't put the Sam Jackson picture by his bed. He looks like he has no idea what's going on. Like someone handed him a piece of paper while he was on vacation, then asked for a picture.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 4:38:40 AM

that Senator from "Iron Man 2"=the great Gary Shandling
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 6:48:16 PM

"Caps action scenes kicked ass,MINK
they did a good job of showcasing his abilities"

Which is what, exactly? Throwing his shield? lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved