WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Godzilla" - What Did You Think?

Posted: May 16th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Godzilla" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Warner Bros' reboot of the "Godzilla" franchise is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "Godzilla" has a decent 76% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that the reboot is very entertaining, with many split whether the film focused on Godzilla too much or not enough. Whether there were too many CGI scenes or just the right amount.

While it's still early, many predictions are placing the film to have a $70 million domestic opening, which would put it on track to easily make back its $160 million budget.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Venom1970 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:53:46 AM

I think I will wait for Blu Ray release.
boogiel writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:54:51 AM

Fat and bloated Godzilla. But overall, I think it's quite decent. I just wish they can include the Ifukube's original godzilla theme.
cress writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:37:46 AM

From my post last night:

"Saw GODZILLA this evening. It's a 5/6 out of 10 for me. The first hour is kind of slow and picks up in the second hour, but the momentum is interrupted with a lot of "start/stop" with the story. Also, too much action takes place off tge screen, sometimes with only shots of the aftermath. Edwards did a decentjob, but nothing spectacular.The finalmonsters battle is satisfying, which put the Zilla Nerds into cheering frenzy in the theater--I honestly didn't think those f*ckers existed outside of Japan. Anyways, I liked it better than PACIFIC RIM, it's not cheesy, it's well-made, but the pacing is a bit slow, and it could've used a bit more Godzilla screentime."

Also, Aaron Johnson didn't impress me much. He has a nasally, whiny voice.



Tanman32123 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 9:56:36 AM

Cress- Good review.

I plan on seeing it around Monday. Bunch of friends are going. Maybe Drive in? Never know.
JonDrama writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:36:18 AM

It's a well made film. Pacing is a bit slow in the 2nd act but the 3rd act is ridiculously good. My favourite scene was the HALO drop, it's beautifully shot. 7/10 easily
j-man writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 11:16:28 AM

Boring
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 11:16:29 AM

I like how critics are suppose to be "movie experts" and yet they can't seem to make up their mind about this sh*t. LOL

"...many split whether the film focused on Godzilla too much or not enough. Whether there were too many CGI scenes or just the right amount."
Raider writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 12:02:51 PM

Movie was great FACT!
BillyBunter writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 3:37:15 PM

Saw it and enjoyed it, pacing was abit slow in parts I agree but when it kicks to gear in the 3rd act and all hell breaks loose the theater was clapping. Try and find a theater with a great sound system because the sheer noise from Godzilla is intense. I give it an 8 of 10 and if you have kids they will loose their mind over this film. My nephew has already put a Godzilla toy on his birthday list. Between cap and this it's been a good start to the summer blockbuster season for me.
OCTO-TROLL writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 3:42:31 PM

Yay, my latest tentacle = "Mr Bean"!

"Attos", "McQueen", "JB", "BillyBunter", "Deaft0ne", "Venom1970", etc.: where are your manners? Come and greet your new brother!
el-ray writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 3:48:29 PM

For what it is I enjoyed it, it's good to not have too much over blown action it focuses more on story and character development, I also like the fact they give a bit of history to Godzilla that he doesn't just show up to terrorise a big city he is looking for an equal opponent to fight which comes in the form of Muto. I think Gareth Edwards has shown what he can do with big studio backing going from Monsters to this I give it a solid 9/10 I just wanted a little more Godzilla
BillyBunter writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 4:15:23 PM

@el ray good review I agree with your sentiments. I think it largely paid homage to the first one with not revealing to much of Godzilla and giving us the build up with the back story. It was more like an origin story so it's a good first addition to what will most likely be a new franchise for people who have no idea about the character.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 4:40:15 PM

I find it deeply weird you'd want deep thoughts on a movie that has as much depth as pond sc*m.

Just saying.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:00:16 PM

I'm right there with Cress, the film was mediocre at best. Cranston was great for the 15 mins he was in the film. HUGE disappointment that the story didn't focus on him. All the rest of the acting, story, and action was blah and pretty pointless. Godzilla looks good but is a little too fat and clumsy to really amp up the monster fights. Pacific Rim was much more entertaining and action packed.

Weirdest thing in the whole movie is Ken Watanabe's role. He was literally paid to stand in front of the camera with his mouth open looking scared. After the first 10 shots of him in awe I had to start laughing. Then the entire film started laughing too. Proof that I wasn't the only patron that saw how cheesy his part was. The whole movie was dumb....just dumb. But like Cress said plenty of Zilla whores were dropping their panties and cheering at the end of that ridiculous shame of a film.

5/10
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:04:43 PM

"The entire theater started laughing"

Sorry yall
el-ray writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:24:02 PM

@sacdaddy I agree I did like having Cranston in the movie but I think his character was built up more in the trailers and he was kinda of only in it to set up the 2nd act which was to bring his son into play for the rest of the movie
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:24:53 PM

It's nearly impossible to not compare this film to Pacific Rim which puts it at a distinct disadvantage. Godzilla missed a huge opportunity to separate itself when it decided to underuse it's biggest stars. Cranston was wasted but so was Godzilla frankly. The director had no idea who or what he wanted to focus on in the film. Ultimately he decided to put the most attention on the weakest link of the story, some soldier trying to get home to his family. We already saw that in a much better giant monster movie called Cloverfield and it was done better. It's a shame but Godzilla is just kind of late to the party. Cloverfield did it's story better and Pacific Rim did it's monsters and action better. Godzilla even steals the look of its creatures from both of those films, Zilla looking like the fat monster in the PR shipping yard fight and his enemies looking a lot like the Cloverfield monster and the flying Kaiju from PR. Too bad, lots of hype over nothing.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:38:19 PM

@el-ray: And that's the kick in the nuts. Cranston was by far the best part of the film and he was done in the first act. Can you imagine how much better the film would have been if he was running around for the rest of the movie. The director made a choice to go with the simplest product he could manage, people running around and screaming while giant creatures pushed each other around.He didn't want to take any chances of adding a scientific or problem solving element to the story, so Cranston's character was basically useless other than for what you said, to push the story into the next act. It was an extremely stupid choice on par with the Prometheus choice to turn all of its scientists into complete idiots.
el-ray writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:39:20 PM

Cloverfield was good but it still mimics other movies with hand held shakey camera which has been done time and time again also similar to the mist in many ways.
So I think it's hard to compare it to a film that mimics so many others, as for pacific rim I agree I enjoyed the fast paced action and the battles between monster and machine which were fun
el-ray writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:42:25 PM

Let's just see where they take it now, I'm sure the studios are already counting there dollars and trying to work out if they can turn this into a trilogy
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:42:59 PM

Zzzzzzzz. Talk about real film.
McQueen writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:54:02 PM

Monsieur Verdoux is a real film.
el-ray writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:12:41 PM

So why bother reading the posts mink?
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:18:47 PM

Ignore him Ray. He's a professional hater that would have something negative to say any film "real" or not. You must be new here.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:21:05 PM

Want to waste more time, ask him about what films he actually likes. Good luck getting an answer.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:22:00 PM

Let the rant begin....
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 6:52:01 PM

@el-ray: As far a Cloverfield mimicking other found footage films, I have to disagree a little. It came out pretty early in the found footage age and did maybe the best job of merging the style with great special effects. It was frustrating at time but the acting and chances it took made it fun.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:02:25 PM

Nonsense. Found footage goes all the way back to the early 80s, the dawn of magnetic recordable media, with Cannibal Holocaust. Cloverfield came out in 2008, a mere six years ago!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Found_footage_%28genre%29



And *this* is why you're stuck babbling about Garbagezilla.

Go watch Transformers.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:10:51 PM

I bet SacDaddy and ElRay are part of Infini-Troll. Same year. 2009. Wouldn't surprise me a bit. I bet there's like five unique people posting on here and eighty accounts from one guy. lol. What a comedy of errors.

How's the weather in Sacramento, SacDaddy?

Here he is, folks:



Stud!

http://www.datehookup.com/User-254581956.htm

minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:14:10 PM

You like Bernie Mac, dude. After he died.

Just kidding.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:14:50 PM

But no, seriously, Godzilla looks great.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:16:42 PM

*look
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:21:33 PM

***spoiler alert***

Just for comparison, the way each movie deals with offing major characters it like night and day. Cranston (who was promoted as the star) is unceremoniously erased from the film after 20 mins, while the Cloverfield ensemble is dealt away in major WTF moments which always surprised or put the audience on edge and added something to the movie. Most of all their demise didn't negatively effect the film.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:23:44 PM

See why I ignore him. Seriously biggest troll on the Web.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:24:13 PM

Okay, Sacramento Daddy, this is for you!

http://www.cnet.com/news/bryan-cranston-reveals-why-he-loves-godzilla/

minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:24:40 PM

SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:27:18 PM

When I refer to the found footage age I'm talking about after Blair Witch which ignited the genre. Cannibal Holocaust was arguably before it's time but it wasn't a trend setter. It's glory was realized much later after its release because it's be content was too graphic for mass audiences.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:29:05 PM

Seriously need to start reading this sh*t before I hit submit.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:34:48 PM

Doesn't matter. You said Cloverfield came early in the found footage genre, and that's not true because the sub-genre goes back over thirty years, plus Blair Witch appeared in 1999, nearly ten years before Matt Reeves' movie.

Now, if you had said that Cloverfield appeared during or roughly coincided with the sub-genres' modern peak, I would agree, because I don't think found-footage has hit quite the high of 2008, not even with Chronicle, which was a rather cheap movie that succeeded largely because it duplicated TBWP economics.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:38:12 PM

Lol keep stretching Mr Armstrong. I'm sure if you try hard enough you can find some way to satisfy you trollish argument.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:38:48 PM

Your.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:42:38 PM

The only thing stretching around here is your stomach.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:45:48 PM

Btw, I said "found footage age" not genre. Genres are timeless. Ages deal with a specific era. Name 5 found footage films that came out between the release of Cannibal Holocaust and Blair Witch. Then name at least 5 found footage films than came out 10 years after Blair Witch.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:46:57 PM

So what's the weather like up there in Sacramento? Did you read about that apartment fire there this morning? Pretty nasty stuff.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:50:01 PM

f*ck off Mink once again you bell end. Let people talk about Godzilla, Alex wants a discussion so that's what people are having. You have not seen the movie and you don't care to so why troll on here, Ohh...yeah because you are sad c*nt who likes to try and get a rise out of people you attention starved man child.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:50:24 PM

Found footage age would be the age during which found footage films were employed, just as we talk about the Stone Age, i.e., the age when stone tools were used, or the age of the zeppelin or the age of the zoetrope or the age of the bi-plane or the age of the horse and buggy carriage.

Really, if you can't bother being more precise with your language, that's your problem.

But do keep up this little game.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:53:45 PM

Why bother? It just distracts from the actual topic which is just what you want considering you didn't see the film.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 7:55:38 PM

Guess you still haven't gotten over that middle school phase when you talked sh*t about the party you weren't invited to.
Attos writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:01:37 PM

Dang. All the name-calling.

Anyway, didn't see this movie yet.
Someone let me know if they find a copy online, because I'm not about to sit in a theater full of obnoxious retards.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:02:45 PM

And I guess you haven't grown past the phase where you sat around enthusiastically babbling about your latest favorite toy, either.

Oooh, look, it's a Bryan Cranston doll! And did you see that awesome "Hannibal" action playset?


Sorry. Carry on, "SacDaddy".

I'll now let you get back to your teary-eyed Toys R' Us Wish List catalog monologue.

*snicker*
BillyBunter writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:03:32 PM

No Attos you should go see it in a theater because mink won't be there.
Attos writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:10:39 PM

Jesus. That's taking a little far, don't you think? I have disagreements with mink from time to time, but there's no point in turning every post into an attempted insult. I mean, if you don't like what he says, skip over it. It's not that big of a deal.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:15:22 PM

I "found footage" of minks mom taking a dump while combing her gay son's hair.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 8:15:44 PM

I "found footage" of minks mom taking a dump while combing her gay son's hair.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:18:00 PM

Sorry Mink I didn't know there was an age limit to enjoying cinema.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:29:23 PM

I can agree with mink in a sense. When you ask 70% of people how far the "found footag" genre goes back they bring up Blair witch project. Completely forgetting about Cannibal Holocaust in the 70's? (maybe 80's?, can't remember). It's a very simple wiki search guys. Research before you comment.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:31:16 PM

And lmao Welcome Back Blumpkin!
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:36:17 PM

@tanman: Yep. People know only Blair Witch because they see film as merely what floats on the ocean of motion pictures. To them it's about fads and trends and what's hot right now. They view film the way women view clothes and the way kids view toys.

Thanks and good comment, tannymanny.
Attos writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 10:45:37 PM

If you watch Godzilla backwards, it's about a benevolent lizard that rebuilds a city and then moonwalks into the sea.
30YoVirgin writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 11:09:10 PM

I watched a movie called "Boobzilla". enjoyed it and it's sequels, all 22 of them
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 11:10:10 PM

Anytime minky, when it comes to WP most people recognize your negative comments but overlook your intelligent and usually correct responses to the questions at hand. (see above).

It's fascinating sometimes. Obviously when you dislike someone you laugh at their everyword. BUT when they're correct and you're wrong, just except it. Why argue lol

You know how many times I've googled 30 mins of research before making a comment here! It's not hard guys lol
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 11:36:38 PM

@Tanman: thanks, man, and you're right: a little research doesn't require much, but it makes commenting all the more fun, for me at least.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 4:05:56 AM

Boring, hollow shell of a film. Wasn't even enough action to make it worth it for that. DOGzilla was made out to be some kind of hero but he surely killed thousands of people smashing through the city as well.

It was literally and emotionally a very distant film that made me have no attachment to any character. As people have said Bryan Cranston was the most 3 dimensional part in his small role. The script was as cheesey as Pacific Rim and the "coincidental" locations of all of the main characters that happened to be in the monsters path was standard Hollywood cheese. Why is anyone giving this film good ratings?

The only good thing was the cinematography. But no director should be getting payed millions without having that level of expertise.

5/10
el-ray writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 2:08:41 PM

To the people who have seen it, it's good to hear there opinions but other people who come on here to troll just seems like there a bit envious of those who like it and this is there time in spotlight to start sh*t

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved