WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brad Pitt to Star in Second Season of HBO's "True Detective"?

Posted: May 15th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brad Pitt to Star in Second Season of HBOSubmit Comment
Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson starred as two detectives on the hunt for a sadistic killer in HBO's hit TV series "True Detective." But the two actors will not be returning for the second season, which means that the network will need a new set of actors.

According to the Daily Star, HBO is in talks with Brad Pitt to star in the new season, which is set to air on television later this year. While details are slim, there are conversations for Pitt to be the only lead and not have a partner.

If the deal works out, "True Detective" will be Pitt's first television gig since 2003 when he appeared on two episode of "Friends," which starred his former wife Jennifer Aniston.

Source: Mirror, Daily Star


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:44:33 AM

I would trust The Daily Star as it's one of the worst tabloid but I heard it months ago from Collider and Pitt would be excellent as a detective and if so I'm really looking forward to it.
lawman writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 7:45:18 AM

Pitt will crush this role if its written correctly. A second season of True Detective will either be a really good thing, or a really, REALLY bad thing. I hope its done correctly because I think the first season was one of the best things I have watched in my entire life.
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 7:56:35 AM

Well.. f*ck yeah. If they can make such a good show with an actor I normally hate, imagine what they could do with one who is already great.
lawman writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 8:31:58 AM

^^

Right?!

I didnt mind Harrelson but really didnt like McConaghey (?) and now Im a big fan of both.
Bunny X writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 8:37:19 AM

out on a limb here but it would be a great opportunity to do what happened to his character after the events in se7en.
A much older, broken version of who he was then. Freeman's character long passed away. Still haunted by what took place then.
Dunno, either way, I'm sure it;ll be pretty damn good.
lawman writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 8:43:37 AM

^^

Not a bad idea at all. Gets out after a few years in an institution and finds out that Spacey wasnt the mastermind but just a pawn. Sets out after the real killer. Something like that.
lawman writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 9:30:40 AM

^
God I hope they do it justice.
McQueen writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 9:50:56 AM

* I meant: I would Not trust...
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 10:14:29 AM

This could be one of those things where every year they recast and get huge actors to do a season. I'd watch that.
Džeko writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 10:27:00 AM

Whoever they get it will be impossible to top the first season...yes...it was THAT good.
lawman writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 10:42:26 AM

Tan,


Thats the word on what it is going to be anyway. Something like "American Horror Story". Different stars, different, cases, different time periods.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 11:07:18 AM

True Detective was a great show right until the last episode. Some great dialogue and cinematography, McConaughey was excellent in it further cementing himself as one of the best out there at the moment.

Building up a lot of tension that ended up almost turning it in to a cheap slasher flick right at the end. I like the fact that loads wasn't explained, I liked the fact that they didn't catch everyone but seriously a sister f*cking hillbilly is the best they can do for the last episode.... and don't even get me started on McConaughey "seeing the light" right at the end. One of the best things about the show was his openly atheist view point and slagging off religious people all the way through, then the writers p*ssy out right at the last hurdle.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 12:04:08 PM

^ Haha
bandolero999 writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 1:15:58 PM

Pitt is great but world war z and killing them softly were stinkers
vincere01 writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 3:04:24 PM

Still think it needs a partner dynamic. Holly hunter, julianne moore, or robin wright would be a nice match with pitt in my opinion. Or marisa tomei

Or hell, why not cast jolie? Shes an oscar winner. That way they can make it a family project and easier for them and theyre schedules.

They were fantastic together in mr. And mrs. Smith. Only downside is it might give will and jada ideas
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 3:10:36 PM

I wonder what television would do if they couldn't kill people every episode of whatever show. Just think about that for a minute. Networks can no longer use murder as a plot device, as a McGuffin. What would they use then? No 24, no CSI, no Dexter, no Breaking Bad, no Sopranos, no True Defective, no Hannibal, even no X-Files.

Can you imagine what television would do if they had to actually make a dramatic show that didn't revolve around someone being horribly murdered?

Impossible! We'd all go back to listening to War of the Worlds over the radio.

But yeah, Pitt would do a good job because we all saw his detective role in Seven....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 5:42:37 PM

Mink- Sherlock didnt have deaths every episode... At least I don't think so. But I suppose theirs still a fair few in each series or the threat of death. I will think of something that doesn't though. ..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:06:23 PM

Right looking through my dvd collection The best I could find is This Is England (the tv show). It doesn't use death every episode as a plot device its more about the characters lives. I think someone does die one episode but drama has to reflect real life to a certain extent otherwise u wudnt relate to it and death is as dramatic as youre gunna get
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:26:37 PM

@Cinema
I'm pretty sure there was at least one death in every single episode of Sherlock. And if I'm not mistaken, every one of them was a story about trying to catch a murderer, as well. Sherlock even killed someone himself in the most recent episode.
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:29:06 PM

He has a point. The only so-called "drama" shows that don't revolve around death/murder are bullsh*t shows like Sex and the City.
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:29:41 PM

Or nature doc*mentaries. Which is still death and murder, but none of it is humans.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:34:15 PM

Yeah I didn't really think the sherlock one through lol just first thing that popped in to my head. I think I was thinking more about the latest season with the wedding and thinking hes not just solving murders.
Stapes writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:36:48 PM

The Wonder Years, Highway to Heaven, The incredible Hulk, Arrow... the list goes on and on, plenty of shows don't contain murder as an overused plot device.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 6:50:17 PM

All the best ones do though ;) just started watching Fargo and that seems pretty promising. The Wire is still the daddy of them all though.
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 7:33:20 PM

Lol, Arrow isn't a good example of anything but bad television. And Cinema, it's funny that even the wedding episode still revolved around an attempted murder. I've said it already, but Fargo is my favorite thing on television right now. But it definitely has plenty of violence and murder.
Attos writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 7:35:57 PM

@Stapes
You have a fair point, but I guess I was trying to think of more current examples. I'm sure there are some out there that I don't watch or haven't heard of, but it really is mostly death and "informative murder porn".
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 7:46:00 PM

True but no one actually dies and surely Arrow and The Hulk are stopping people who want to kill people as well? I've only watched the first episode of Fargo but it seems good. I look forward to the rest. d
Stuntmanbob writes:
on May 15th, 2014 at 10:47:33 PM

I hate to admit it, but for some reason I like arrow. Just blazed through almost two seasons in a month. Besides the sh*t acting, and predictable storyline, what got me was the two story lines, jumps between present day superhero and at the same time jumps bakc years to when he was on the island. The two storys intertwine so you wont get something in the present then its explained in the past. Like how slade became deathstroke. Regardles my point was gonna be arrow basically goes on a killing spree in the first season, then he vows not to kills mofos which he obides for the most part, he does kill one or two here and there. But yeah dont knock it till you watch a couple episodes
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 12:12:10 AM

@Cinema: someone dies in every episode of Sherlock. In the fact the very first episode revolves around a serial killer, and the last episode Sherlock commits cold-blooded murder himself, which is entirely out of character, really, as Doyle's creation always solved crimes with his mind and left Lestrade to do the housecleaning.

As for the shows Stapes mentioned....that's like thirty or more years ago. I'm talking MODERN television, especially post-9-11.
SaulSilver writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 1:00:25 AM

I still have not gotten around to watching this show yet, even though I know it's really good. Except for a certain 3-4 minutes from episode 2. That I have watched several dozen times.
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 1:30:05 AM

How do you know it's good if you haven't seen it? Because that's what other people say?

Cool.

Well sh*t tastes really great, so when you u get a chance, make yourself a turd sandwich.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 4:14:23 AM

Yeah I really didn't think the Sherlock thing through, as soon as I posted it I started thinking about the first 2 series and remembered what they were actually about. As I said I think it was because the latest season wasn't about solving murders every episode, first episode was the train thing, second was the wedding and an attempted murder. Third episode obviously completely revolves around death.
Attos writes:
on May 16th, 2014 at 5:24:12 AM

Wasn't the first episode of season 3 when there was an attempt on Watson's life? With the bonfire? I can't remember. This season was forgettable. It was like one big trailer for season 4, considering how it ended. Nothing that happened had much relevance to the overall story.
SaulSilver writes:
on May 17th, 2014 at 1:43:22 PM

Friends, of which I trust their judgement have reccomended it. Did you really need to go off about me saying I know it's good even though I haven't seen it yet?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:33:07 PM

Pitt playing a detective on the second season of "True Detective" ? Only if he plays "Detective Mills" from Se7en ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved