WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Joe Carnahan Explains Why "Daredevil" Reboot Didn't Happen

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Joe Carnahan Explains Why "Daredevil" Reboot DidnSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox made an attempt to get another "Daredevil" film into development, but despite having a script, it lost director David Slade (30 Days of Night), who dropped out to focus on other projects.

By dropping out, he left "Daredevil" without a director and very little time before the rights were set to revert back to Marvel. Joe Carnahan (The Grey, The A-Team) got interested in the project, but ran out of time to get it in front of the cameras.

During a new interview, Carnahan explained what happened. "What people don't realize about the ['Daredevil'] project is that the producers of the film got to me very late," he said. "They had a script that I read and I thought that while the action was wonderful, the story didn't really have any additional bite."

Carnahan continued: "I suggested a trilogy as follows... 'Daredevil 73,' 'Daredevil 79' and 'Daredevil 85,' where I was going to make the music of those eras a thematic arc. So the first one would be Classic Rock, the second one would be Punk Rock and the third film would be New Wave. The problem was, the option was almost set to lapse. So we made an eleventh hour bid to Marvel to retain the rights for a bit longer so I could rework the script. Unfortunately, it just didn't happen. Marvel wanted the rights back. I don't blame them."

As soon as getting the character back, Marvel immediately got to work on a "Daredevil" TV series, which will be available on Netflix.

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:58:04 AM

"I suggested a trilogy as follows...'Daredevil 73,' 'Daredevil 79' and 'Daredevil 85,' where I was going to make the music of those eras a thematic arc. So the first one would be Classic Rock, the second one would be Punk Rock and the third film would be New Wave."

DA f*ck??
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:07:07 AM

I half expected to click the article and it just have a single sentence:

"Because no one wanted it."
boogiel writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:36:16 AM

Daredevil tv series? I thought we already have that.....on history channel.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:40:35 AM

A reboot never happened cause the first sucked!
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:42:40 AM

@cress

So what're your plans today man? Haha
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:21:25 AM

@Mcqueen
Thanks man, And that's the plan! Lol
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:31:01 AM


Ever hear this guy talk? He's a total blowhard.

Stapes writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 9:56:42 AM

I'll tell you why it never happened, because hollywood is more comfortable remaking financially proven properties than gambling with remakes of unsuccessful ones. Shame too, I liked carnahan's idea.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:19:13 PM

Joe Carnahan and Fox could run the Second Coming.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:10:27 PM

Alex is such a loser.


@Tanman: happy birthday, tanman. Here's hoping you get a lap dance from a hot stripper. But if Chippendales is closed, I'm sure you'll get something nice from the Disney Story, too.

minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:11:34 PM

Database Error writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:14:32 PM

awe some!
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:23:09 PM

So I guess we're not allowed to share other movie news, eh?
Glad you put the picture there, mink, because my link to it seems to have magically disappeared.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:23:09 PM

Joe could've just answered this easily with a four word sentence: Marvel: Agents of Shield.

You would've figured by now he would've learned his lesson from A*Team, but nope, obviously not.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:36:35 PM

Joe Carnahan is like Joe Quesada .... he can suck a lot of c*ck, but the j*zz gets stuck somewhere between the adam's apple and the collarbone.

Just like Dark 8's/D9rk's mum.
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:41:18 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T2S8GHzxqc
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:09:24 PM

Shia Lebeouf f*cking up again:

https://tv.yahoo.com/news/shia-labeoufs-insane-story-jaden-215900483.html

Why won't this stupid untalented f*ck just die already?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:30:21 PM

@minkowski

Michael Bay still has the contract that Shia signed for his soul ... and won't give it back.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:48:48 PM

@mink

I suppose that aesthetically Zack Snyder likes the look of the tumbler/Batmobile from Nolan's Batman trilogy. I liked it too and if it's mostly unchanged in this next movie that would be cool.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved