WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Good Kill" Film
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Man Up" Comedy
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Footage in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" TV Spot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "Wayward Pines" TV Series
Mar 20th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Trailer Breaking Records
Mar 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game WriterSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures just hired Will Staples to re-write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" film. Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3), previously worked on the script, but that was before Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) signed on to direct.

Staples' previous work has been mostly in video games. He worked on "Need for Speed: Rivals" and "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3." He's attached to several films in development, including "Blood and Treasure," a starring and directing project for Ben Affleck set up at Warner Bros. He also wrote "Myth" for Fox and the Jeremy Renner movie "King of Heists."

"Mission: Impossible 5" will see Tom Cruise reprising his role as Ethan Hunt. It's scheduled to hit theaters on December 25th, 2015.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:23:29 AM

I would say I'm worried but then I think of the fact Cruise has made some pretty good decisions with the people he's brought into the M:I fold being he's a producer. Although I hear they brought back Paul Hirsch, editor from the first film, and he really added some flare to the scenes with his editing. Bring him back please. This film is half about it's visual style and half about it's action flair with a little addition of a decent spy story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:24:50 AM

Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one.
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:10:26 AM

I continue to be entertained by this series, even when I expect not to be. Honestly, I'd be willing to say that, for the most part, they keep getting better. Which is incredibly rare for sequels. I think the third one is still the best so far. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Billy Crudup were fantastic villains.
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:26:09 AM


I'd still much prefer a Jack Reacher sequel (slower burn, better storytelling) but I'm sure this will be at least entertaining and I'm wondering what kind of change-up, if any, they'll be opting for this installment.

Still, it'll be opening in the wake of Star Wars, which might prove difficult.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 1:58:51 PM

leave it to a video game writer to write stories for hollywood...it's not like the writers are still on strike...are they?...wait, nobody answer that unless you feel you must
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:22:25 PM

@synthetic
I'd be happy to see a few of the better video game writers give movies a shot. They can't be any worse than the people already writing movies. Hell, let whoever wrote the first Bioshock make a movie, because they know how to tell a story.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:26:39 PM

Many games these days are interactive cinematic experiences, so this isn't a big deal.

Having said that, a new MI movie might just be what I need to forget the last five years of cinema.

"Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one."

Zzzzz. The editing was fine for the third as well, Hirsch or not, and the second wasn't terrible either.

Hell, the third was really even better than the fourth in terms of the way the scenes were paced using coverage in the editing room, so I'd say you're just talking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:31:25 PM

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer ... so in other words, it will be even worse than MI2, which is f*cking saying something.
jikae writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:19:28 PM

Writing in video games are brilliant these days. Now, to condense 5hrs of content to 120 cohesive, fast-pace is the real trick.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved