WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game WriterSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures just hired Will Staples to re-write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" film. Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3), previously worked on the script, but that was before Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) signed on to direct.

Staples' previous work has been mostly in video games. He worked on "Need for Speed: Rivals" and "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3." He's attached to several films in development, including "Blood and Treasure," a starring and directing project for Ben Affleck set up at Warner Bros. He also wrote "Myth" for Fox and the Jeremy Renner movie "King of Heists."

"Mission: Impossible 5" will see Tom Cruise reprising his role as Ethan Hunt. It's scheduled to hit theaters on December 25th, 2015.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:23:29 AM

I would say I'm worried but then I think of the fact Cruise has made some pretty good decisions with the people he's brought into the M:I fold being he's a producer. Although I hear they brought back Paul Hirsch, editor from the first film, and he really added some flare to the scenes with his editing. Bring him back please. This film is half about it's visual style and half about it's action flair with a little addition of a decent spy story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:24:50 AM

Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one.
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:10:26 AM

I continue to be entertained by this series, even when I expect not to be. Honestly, I'd be willing to say that, for the most part, they keep getting better. Which is incredibly rare for sequels. I think the third one is still the best so far. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Billy Crudup were fantastic villains.
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:26:09 AM


I'd still much prefer a Jack Reacher sequel (slower burn, better storytelling) but I'm sure this will be at least entertaining and I'm wondering what kind of change-up, if any, they'll be opting for this installment.

Still, it'll be opening in the wake of Star Wars, which might prove difficult.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 1:58:51 PM

leave it to a video game writer to write stories for hollywood...it's not like the writers are still on strike...are they?...wait, nobody answer that unless you feel you must
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:22:25 PM

@synthetic
I'd be happy to see a few of the better video game writers give movies a shot. They can't be any worse than the people already writing movies. Hell, let whoever wrote the first Bioshock make a movie, because they know how to tell a story.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:26:39 PM

Many games these days are interactive cinematic experiences, so this isn't a big deal.

Having said that, a new MI movie might just be what I need to forget the last five years of cinema.

"Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one."

Zzzzz. The editing was fine for the third as well, Hirsch or not, and the second wasn't terrible either.

Hell, the third was really even better than the fourth in terms of the way the scenes were paced using coverage in the editing room, so I'd say you're just talking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:31:25 PM

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer ... so in other words, it will be even worse than MI2, which is f*cking saying something.
jikae writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:19:28 PM

Writing in video games are brilliant these days. Now, to condense 5hrs of content to 120 cohesive, fast-pace is the real trick.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved