WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game WriterSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures just hired Will Staples to re-write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" film. Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3), previously worked on the script, but that was before Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) signed on to direct.

Staples' previous work has been mostly in video games. He worked on "Need for Speed: Rivals" and "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3." He's attached to several films in development, including "Blood and Treasure," a starring and directing project for Ben Affleck set up at Warner Bros. He also wrote "Myth" for Fox and the Jeremy Renner movie "King of Heists."

"Mission: Impossible 5" will see Tom Cruise reprising his role as Ethan Hunt. It's scheduled to hit theaters on December 25th, 2015.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:23:29 AM

I would say I'm worried but then I think of the fact Cruise has made some pretty good decisions with the people he's brought into the M:I fold being he's a producer. Although I hear they brought back Paul Hirsch, editor from the first film, and he really added some flare to the scenes with his editing. Bring him back please. This film is half about it's visual style and half about it's action flair with a little addition of a decent spy story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:24:50 AM

Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one.
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:10:26 AM

I continue to be entertained by this series, even when I expect not to be. Honestly, I'd be willing to say that, for the most part, they keep getting better. Which is incredibly rare for sequels. I think the third one is still the best so far. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Billy Crudup were fantastic villains.
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:26:09 AM


I'd still much prefer a Jack Reacher sequel (slower burn, better storytelling) but I'm sure this will be at least entertaining and I'm wondering what kind of change-up, if any, they'll be opting for this installment.

Still, it'll be opening in the wake of Star Wars, which might prove difficult.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 1:58:51 PM

leave it to a video game writer to write stories for hollywood...it's not like the writers are still on strike...are they?...wait, nobody answer that unless you feel you must
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:22:25 PM

@synthetic
I'd be happy to see a few of the better video game writers give movies a shot. They can't be any worse than the people already writing movies. Hell, let whoever wrote the first Bioshock make a movie, because they know how to tell a story.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:26:39 PM

Many games these days are interactive cinematic experiences, so this isn't a big deal.

Having said that, a new MI movie might just be what I need to forget the last five years of cinema.

"Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one."

Zzzzz. The editing was fine for the third as well, Hirsch or not, and the second wasn't terrible either.

Hell, the third was really even better than the fourth in terms of the way the scenes were paced using coverage in the editing room, so I'd say you're just talking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:31:25 PM

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer ... so in other words, it will be even worse than MI2, which is f*cking saying something.
jikae writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:19:28 PM

Writing in video games are brilliant these days. Now, to condense 5hrs of content to 120 cohesive, fast-pace is the real trick.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved