WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game WriterSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures just hired Will Staples to re-write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" film. Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3), previously worked on the script, but that was before Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) signed on to direct.

Staples' previous work has been mostly in video games. He worked on "Need for Speed: Rivals" and "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3." He's attached to several films in development, including "Blood and Treasure," a starring and directing project for Ben Affleck set up at Warner Bros. He also wrote "Myth" for Fox and the Jeremy Renner movie "King of Heists."

"Mission: Impossible 5" will see Tom Cruise reprising his role as Ethan Hunt. It's scheduled to hit theaters on December 25th, 2015.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:23:29 AM

I would say I'm worried but then I think of the fact Cruise has made some pretty good decisions with the people he's brought into the M:I fold being he's a producer. Although I hear they brought back Paul Hirsch, editor from the first film, and he really added some flare to the scenes with his editing. Bring him back please. This film is half about it's visual style and half about it's action flair with a little addition of a decent spy story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:24:50 AM

Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one.
Crambo writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:45:13 AM

wasn't this posted 5 days ago ?
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:10:26 AM

I continue to be entertained by this series, even when I expect not to be. Honestly, I'd be willing to say that, for the most part, they keep getting better. Which is incredibly rare for sequels. I think the third one is still the best so far. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Billy Crudup were fantastic villains.
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:26:09 AM


I'd still much prefer a Jack Reacher sequel (slower burn, better storytelling) but I'm sure this will be at least entertaining and I'm wondering what kind of change-up, if any, they'll be opting for this installment.

Still, it'll be opening in the wake of Star Wars, which might prove difficult.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 1:58:51 PM

leave it to a video game writer to write stories for hollywood...it's not like the writers are still on strike...are they?...wait, nobody answer that unless you feel you must
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:22:25 PM

@synthetic
I'd be happy to see a few of the better video game writers give movies a shot. They can't be any worse than the people already writing movies. Hell, let whoever wrote the first Bioshock make a movie, because they know how to tell a story.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:26:39 PM

Many games these days are interactive cinematic experiences, so this isn't a big deal.

Having said that, a new MI movie might just be what I need to forget the last five years of cinema.

"Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one."

Zzzzz. The editing was fine for the third as well, Hirsch or not, and the second wasn't terrible either.

Hell, the third was really even better than the fourth in terms of the way the scenes were paced using coverage in the editing room, so I'd say you're just talking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:31:25 PM

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer ... so in other words, it will be even worse than MI2, which is f*cking saying something.
jikae writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:19:28 PM

Writing in video games are brilliant these days. Now, to condense 5hrs of content to 120 cohesive, fast-pace is the real trick.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved