WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer

Posted: May 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game WriterSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures just hired Will Staples to re-write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" film. Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3), previously worked on the script, but that was before Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) signed on to direct.

Staples' previous work has been mostly in video games. He worked on "Need for Speed: Rivals" and "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3." He's attached to several films in development, including "Blood and Treasure," a starring and directing project for Ben Affleck set up at Warner Bros. He also wrote "Myth" for Fox and the Jeremy Renner movie "King of Heists."

"Mission: Impossible 5" will see Tom Cruise reprising his role as Ethan Hunt. It's scheduled to hit theaters on December 25th, 2015.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:23:29 AM

I would say I'm worried but then I think of the fact Cruise has made some pretty good decisions with the people he's brought into the M:I fold being he's a producer. Although I hear they brought back Paul Hirsch, editor from the first film, and he really added some flare to the scenes with his editing. Bring him back please. This film is half about it's visual style and half about it's action flair with a little addition of a decent spy story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:24:50 AM

Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one.
Crambo writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 4:45:13 AM

wasn't this posted 5 days ago ?
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:10:26 AM

I continue to be entertained by this series, even when I expect not to be. Honestly, I'd be willing to say that, for the most part, they keep getting better. Which is incredibly rare for sequels. I think the third one is still the best so far. Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Billy Crudup were fantastic villains.
Cannon writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 8:26:09 AM


I'd still much prefer a Jack Reacher sequel (slower burn, better storytelling) but I'm sure this will be at least entertaining and I'm wondering what kind of change-up, if any, they'll be opting for this installment.

Still, it'll be opening in the wake of Star Wars, which might prove difficult.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 1:58:51 PM

leave it to a video game writer to write stories for hollywood...it's not like the writers are still on strike...are they?...wait, nobody answer that unless you feel you must
Attos writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:22:25 PM

@synthetic
I'd be happy to see a few of the better video game writers give movies a shot. They can't be any worse than the people already writing movies. Hell, let whoever wrote the first Bioshock make a movie, because they know how to tell a story.
minkowski writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 5:26:39 PM

Many games these days are interactive cinematic experiences, so this isn't a big deal.

Having said that, a new MI movie might just be what I need to forget the last five years of cinema.

"Correction, they brought Hirsch into the fourth one. I hope he returns to the fifth one."

Zzzzz. The editing was fine for the third as well, Hirsch or not, and the second wasn't terrible either.

Hell, the third was really even better than the fourth in terms of the way the scenes were paced using coverage in the editing room, so I'd say you're just talking.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 7:31:25 PM

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hired Video Game Writer ... so in other words, it will be even worse than MI2, which is f*cking saying something.
jikae writes:
on May 18th, 2014 at 1:19:28 PM

Writing in video games are brilliant these days. Now, to condense 5hrs of content to 120 cohesive, fast-pace is the real trick.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved