WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Already Lost Top Spot at Box Office

Posted: May 11th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Already Lost Top Spot at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
After debuting to $92 million in its first weekend, "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" already lost the top spot at the domestic box office by grossing only $37 million. In total, the superhero film earned $148 million domestically, but thanks to foreign ticket sales, it grossed $550 million worldwide so far. Unfortunately, the sequel still has a lousy 54% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The first place went to "Neighbors," a new comedy starring Seth Rogen and Zac Efron. The film earned an impressive $51.1 million domestically, the fourth highest opening of all time for an R-rated comedy, behind "The Hangover II" ($85.9 million), "Sex and the City" ($57 million) and "Ted" ($54.5 million). The movie also performed well overseas, grossing an additional $34.4 million for a worldwide debut of $85.5 million.

"Neighbors" cost only $18 million to make, which means that it's already a huge success. The new movie, which is Rogen's best opening for a live-action film, has a 74% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, the Christian female comedy "Mom's Night Out," opened to $4.2 million to take seventh place. It cost $10 million to make and has a 17% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was the animated "Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return," which landed in eighth place with $3.7 million from 2,525 theaters. Production company Summertime Entertainment ended up with a hugh loss, since the movie cost $70 million to make. It's one of the worst openings of all time for a film opening in 2,500 to 3,000 locations. "Legends of Oz" has a 14% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, Jon Favreau's "Chef," co-starring Sofia Vergara, John Leguizamo, Scarlett Johansson and Robert Downey Jr, grossed $204,201 from six theaters for a decent per-location average of $34,034. It has an 86% fresh rating.

James Franco's "Palo Alto" also performed well in four locations. It earned $80,640, for a per-location average of $20,160. It has an 84% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 9:57:57 PM

Reboot this reboot.
Marc Webb should be directing douche and tampon commercials, not superhero films.
Attos writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 10:18:22 PM

"the Christian female comedy 'Mom's Night Out,'"
Wow, those are some pretty dead-giveaway keywords on why it has 17% rating.

And I'm surprised I've never even heard of 'Chef".
cress writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 10:24:08 PM

..the Christian female comedy "Mom's Night Out..."

I'm not religious, but I feel like saying a prayer right now.

"Dear Lord baby Jesus, lyin' there in your ghost manger, just lookin' at your Baby Einstein developmental videos, learnin' 'bout shapes and colors. Please, please tell people to quit making these sh*tty christian films. Amen."

minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 10:59:21 PM

^^Another troll account.



Anywho, SpiderMan 2 will make south of 700 mil, probably, possibly, maybe, so who the f*ck cares? Maybe Sony because they're greedy, but it made a lot more than it should have. Now maybe they'll realize they can't milk it much more and will decide to sell it back to Marvel for a few bil, which is more than Sony can hope to make over the next ten years.


boogiel writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 10:59:35 PM

Amazing Spiderman was not so amazing after all. All those hype and hoopla. Right down to toilet.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:02:47 PM

We're letting the world dictate if a movie is a success therefore eligible to make sequels

No wonder our superheroes are Brits
and the movies suck
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:11:52 PM

TASM 2 was another movie that had, before it debuted, glowing early reviews; but here is it now? 54 f*cking percent?

That's why you wait for the real critics to weigh in, not the d*ckless fanboys like Dustin who get paid by studios in Kibbles and Bits to shill good reviews.
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:12:08 PM

*where
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:45:51 PM

Hopefully this place will be but a bad memory before that can happen...
BillyBunter writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:46:11 PM

@attos I heard off a few friends chef is great. I am planning to try and catch it this week. Plus it has the rather tasty scar Jo in so I am sold.
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:48:12 PM

trollin', trollin', trollin' on the river!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:52:45 PM

@cress
It's a long shot but you think Raimi would take the call? Because I've seen a couple Webb interviews...he's kind of a dumbass. LOL No wonder Raimi hasn't responded much to this bullsh*t. He doesn't need to say sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2014 at 11:55:45 PM

The Annoying Spider-Ham 2 arrived into the States like Dark8/D9rk did when he slithered/slimed out of his mother's oozing vagina ..... stillborn.
BilIyBunter writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 12:05:11 AM

If I were a female vocalist, I'd have a lovely conTROLLto singing voice.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 12:23:16 AM

I have been cloned, amazing! Someone has Actually taken the time to waste their life on me by doing this. I guess I should feel sort of honored.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 12:39:34 AM

It's my birthday! Get drunk!!!! Lol

And Happy Birthday Cress! :P
BillyBunter writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 12:42:34 AM

Happy Birthday Tan, granted I was just finishing a beer I will grab another one in your honor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 2:52:13 AM

@billy

Haha Thanks man. Glad I can help Someone get drunk. That's like my life's mission :P I've had a bunch already. Just got home now. (2:50am my time) Definitely turned out to be a good Early Night party with unexpected friends.

Cheers man :)
Quidd writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 3:42:02 AM

Neighbors was a huge disappointment. Not really funny at all imo, and I thought I would be. No interest in seeing Spiderman. Saw chef at the newport film festival a few weeks ago. Decent flick but quite slow and low on humor for favreau, and to cliche on the dad connecting with son/daughter bullsh*t.
cress writes:
on May 12th, 2014 at 6:20:08 AM

@Tanman. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

@Sleuth. I think it would get Spiderman fans excited at the prospect, but it would never happen.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved