WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Earns $92 Million at Box Office

Posted: May 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Earns $92 Million at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" hit theaters this weekend and earned a $92 million, taking first place at the box office. Internationally, where it opened two weeks ago, the film earned another $277 million for a worldwide total of $369 million. It has a 54% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The hope was to earn more than $95 million in order to beat "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" and grab the year's best opening in North America.

It's difficult to compare the sequel to "The Amazing Spider-Man," because it opened on Tuesday and earned $137 million in the first six days, including $62 million for the weekend. It went on to gross $752 million globally.

"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" is not even close to the opening of Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man 3," which opened in 2007 to $151.1 million. The film has the third best opening of all time behind "The Avengers" and "Iron Man 3."

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dark8 writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 10:39:50 PM

cant wait to see what mink has to say!!
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 10:54:39 PM

Why would he need to say anything? He shared this information with us already. Along with other things that are far more newsworthy than hearing about some guy who hopes to return in the next X-Men movie. That hardly seemed worth making an article about. That sort of information is something you expect to hear at the end of an interview as one of the final random followup questions. Pointless things like "Do you have a Hollywood crush?" or "What TV shows have you been watching."

"So, do you hope to return in the next X-Men movie?"
"Sure, that's be cool."
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 10:55:37 PM

Reading about the fact that Jamie Foxx's Electro is a metaphor for that ghetto trash trayvon martin makes me want to vomit and NEVER see this movie.
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 10:56:45 PM

Is that true about Spiderman 3?
That's a pretty good entry in the book of reasons not to trust sales numbers as a reflection of quality.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:01:21 PM

Confusingly written article, Alex. Which one went on to gross how much? You muddle the numbers there in your third paragraph.

And yes TASM isn't pulling in nearly as much as Spiderman 3, but then did Rami's third outing have nearly as much comic book competition? No. And that sub-genre was then still relatively fresh.

Regardless, verging on 400 mil in five to six days is decent gross, and may put it on track to best the first TASM film, although I wouldn't bet on it.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:04:42 PM

"Reading about the fact that Jamie Foxx's Electro is a metaphor for that ghetto trash trayvon martin makes me want to vomit and NEVER see this movie."


Not really where you see that, Deaftone. Yeah, Foxx wore a hoodie in support for Trayvon but then Cruise wore one in Ghost Protocol. So if you can prove Electro's hoodie in TASM 2 is related to Trayvon, I'll support your troll, but otherwise, one has nothing to do with another which renders your comment worthless.
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:07:33 PM

@mink
I actually think it might best the first one, but I base that mostly on how heavily this one was advertised. It might be annoying as hell, but it's proven plenty effective in the past.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:10:29 PM

*sure.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:12:55 PM

@mink

Not trolling at all.

http://m.nationalreview.com/article/377067/superpathology-armond-white

Other reviews mention it too.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:17:56 PM

I feel like I'm being manipulated again, since when does anyone post links form NRO but me? Right.

Anyway, Armond White is a race-baiting whore for NRO, and it's the only place he can get his work published outside his sh*tty own rag. He posts crap just to get people going, like his tenure on RT, which he abused to be as contrarian as possible to generate name-recognition buzz. So when he says something about race, I tune out, especially as long as he serves as the minority mouthpiece for National Review.


Having said all that, just because people say something, doesn't make it ture, just like people said Trayvon didn't deserve to get shot, that he was just a wee little boy skipping home with his candy and tea when a KKK member lynched for no darned reason at all. You know, the nonsense idiots like Jamie "Black People are the Most Talented People in the World" Foxx would say to get people to notice him.

f*ck NRO, f*ck Foxx, f*ck White and f*ck Trayvon Martin's rotting corpse.

Amen, hallelujah and praise Jebus!
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:21:26 PM

Lol mink i'm not f*cking with you. A few other reviews mention the parallels betwixt trayvons and J-Foxx's Electro portrayal.

I'll see it eventually but it looks like a migraine of a movie.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:22:44 PM

And a few other people think the moonshot was faked.
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:29:01 PM

It's not technically movie news, but apparently Kevin Spacey is "starring" in the new Call of Duty game. (Which I can't f*cking believe there is already another of.)
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:29:01 PM

I'd gladly watch Hard Target over some moonshine with you mink.

Then we can bitch about how every movie since 99 has mostly been sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:32:13 PM

Armond white is black??
Who would of knew
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:37:35 PM

Moonshot:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moonshot


@bando yeah he's black and such a good film troll he doesn't even know he's one, which is truly amazing.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:51:14 PM

He calls 12 years a slave torture porn
Slavery was no picnic
One of his favorite movies of 2013 was man of steel
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:55:48 PM

When is this full on Spider-Man bukake gonna end Alex? Are you still going to be telling us how many DVDs it's sold in six months f*cking time? Before you start the Spider-Man 3 suck-a-thon. Give it a rest we already know idiots throw money at sh*t just like monkeys throw sh*t at the wall.
boogiel writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:57:56 PM

Amazing how many morons spend good money for a 3rd rate movie at best.
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:58:06 PM

Lmao, the entries on that list for Moonshot are widely varying.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 11:59:26 PM

@Bando: exactly. It's not that he hates everything and has a good reason to do so (cough, cough) but that he deliberately says sh*t he KNOWS is not genuine to make people notice him.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:00:45 AM

The hope was to earn more than $95 million in order to beat "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" and grab the year's best opening in North America.

It opened in the U.S. and made 92 Million ? Wow, that goes to show that Spidey might wanna wait a while and cool his jets. Next up .... X Men: Days of Future Past. If Singer can't hit triple digits with the Mutants, then it goes to show that the two biggest franchises Marvel rolled out in the early 2000s have lost the heat and sizzle they once had.

I certainly wasn't surprise it would do as good on opening weekend in the States ... face it. Spidey is not a character that works well with multiple villains (no matter who's at the helm as director)
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:01:48 AM

The thing that gets me is the way Alex bangs on about everything about this film apart from its RT % plummeting through the f*cking concrete
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:02:46 AM

Rambo, is that you?
Dark8 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:02:53 AM

hannibal is a great series dont get me wrong. it brought alotof things to the table except one thing that im sure bothers everyone for the beginning. jack crawford being potrayed by a black guy? seriously way to ruin the essence and nostalgia of the original film. jack being black completletly mad me forget about the ridicolous time discrepcencies
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:10:27 AM

#BewareOfTheGaryOfWorstPreviews

#GaryIsAChildMolester
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:11:00 AM

Guess The Amazing Spiderman ain't so amazing.
Attos writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:12:28 AM

Wow, what a staggering example of going off-point there, Dark. You picked up as though you were in the middle of a conversation that no one else was actually a part of. By the way, I'm not naive enough to not realize you're just trolling for the sake of trolling, and I've finally resigned to going back to ignoring you, but I just couldn't help but laugh at that one.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:14:05 AM

Wow! Jaime Foxx went from acting roles in "Ali", "Ray", "The Soloist" and "Collateral" to ....

Nope. I will NOT besmirch the name of the actor who brought us such classics as .... Booty Call! Bait! Held Up! Toys! (although, TECHNICALLY he co-starred in two of those ...)

Nope!

Won't do it!

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:16:09 AM

Gee, Mr. Garfield .... guess President Garfield isn't the only one to feel like he's assassinated in less than four months.
Dark8 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:16:34 AM

ignore who and whatever you want. i mentioned off topic. and stated my opinion over a topic that has bugged me for a while. you dont like it ? cool you can go back to being completely ignored and disliked by every poster. you my friend have earned my ignorance towards you as well. godspeed all hail the king of worstpreviews.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:17:43 AM

It could only be more shocking if they electrocuted the whole audience.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:18:21 AM

Poor Paul Giamatti ... this was supposed to be his big breakout role, right ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:18:47 AM

Emma Stone's name is apropos, since she sunk like one.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:19:41 AM

It's difficult to compare the sequel to "The Amazing Spider-Man," because it opened on Tuesday and earned $137 million in the first six days, including $62 million for the weekend. It went on to gross $752 million globally.

Uhm ... no it's not. Obviously, Alex never rode a bike down a hill. That's what this is like, jackass.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:23:00 AM

"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" is not even close to the opening of Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man 3," which opened in 2007 to $151.1 million ....

BECAUSE THE f*ckING DIRECTOR NEVER READ A COMIC BOOK IN HIS LIFE, THE COMIC BOOK COMPANY THAT HOLDS THE RIGHTS TO THE CREATION OF THE CHARACTER IS RUN BY A DUMBASS, FATASS, MOTHERf*ckING PIECE OF sh*t (QUESADA, GROW A BRAIN, PLEASE), SONY DOESN'T KNOW WHAT THE f*ck TO DO WITH THIS PROPERTY AND QUITE FRANKLY, ANY FAN OF PETER f*ckING PARKER WOULD YELL AT YOU AND YOUR DUMBASS CRITICS AND DEMAND THAT YOU DEMAND MORE FROM A STORYLINE THAN REGURGITATED PAP, YOU SNIVELING, f*ckING WHOREHOUNDS OF TIT GUZZLING !!!!!
Dark8 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:29:19 AM

@max can you shut up now? its getting kind of annoying dude seriously. no offense
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:45:01 AM

@Attos
Compared to this new series, Spider-Man 3 is a masterpiece. LOL I mean 54%. Holy sh*t.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 12:48:51 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior
I have heard people saying how closer to the comic books Amazing Spider-Man is and all I could think is, "What are you smoking dumbass?!" The Ultimate Spider-Man series is a cheap "hip" update of the classic. In fact, judging by the history of Spider-Man that I have looked up, Venom was the only decent addition in the last 20 years. This whole revival process is pointless and takes away the essence of the character so a general audience will like it more even if all it shows is people don't like to have a specificity in taste.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 1:00:33 AM

Max does over-post. It is obnoxious.
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 1:22:46 AM

Yup...it offers f*ck all new to the franchise. The villains are poor just like the first. Garfield and fox are terrible, especially fox. It offers a little more action than the first but it's so amazingly generic it's boring. The effects looked a tad strange its like watching a computer game cut scene.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 2:10:20 AM

@Putmansp*ssy
Yeah I haven't even see the movie yet but the stuff in the trailer just looked so half-done.
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 2:16:35 AM

Yeah the whole thing feels half baked really. As crambo said it is better than the first but that isn't saying much. Worth watching just to see how much of a mess the thing is though
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 3:28:31 AM

I'm so glad Alex updated the site!
Unfortunately it's Spoderman news :(

f*ck this series. Alex probably blew his load before he went to the computer to type this out.
Dark8 writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 10:03:52 AM

@deaftome yes it'd very obnoxious
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 11:30:22 AM

I used to love Spiderman as a kid. Too bad they've ruined it for me.
Stapes writes:
on May 5th, 2014 at 1:05:44 PM

A Spider-man 2 review that I can use to rationalize never seeing this sh*t, as if I even needed a rationalization outside of my own common sense.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJUk8ZHckxo&list=UUSc16oMxxlcJSb9SXkjwMjA

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved