WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Halo" TV Series Coming to Showtime, Produced by Steven Spielberg

Posted: May 3rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Halo" TV Series Coming to Showtime, Produced by Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
There have been lots of talks of a "Halo" movie, but now comes word that the popular video game will be heading to Showtime as a live-action TV series produced by Steven Spielberg.

The project has actually been in the works for more than a year, but it's only now that Microsoft is approaching networks. The goal is to create a high-end series in an effort to promote the Xbox platform as an entertainment service.

This TV series is not the same as Ridley Scott's "Halo" project that was announced recently. That one is to be directed by Sergio Mimica-Gezzan from a script by Paul Scheuring ("Prison Break"). It's believed that it will be a web series or be part of the video games.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 3:37:27 AM

Halo was so 2008
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 6:28:06 AM

True but as absurd as it sounds if they do it in a gritty realistic way like band of brothers could be something special with the universe they have to work with
Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 6:39:33 AM

Yes, it COULD be a decent story.
It won't be, though.
I'm so f*cking tired of Spielberg, and I'm sick of his name being attached to every other thing that happens in the world of films. I feel pretty certain he stopped doing any actual work at least two decades ago, and just spends his time throwing his money at whatever project strikes him as mildly interesting. His reputation somehow still scrapes by off of nothing more than the handful of good things he did so so so many years ago.
Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 6:41:19 AM

I didn't even see the part about the other Halo project being written by the creative geniuses behind Prison Break. Good luck with that...
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:15:08 AM

a Halo show with just the planes for TAN,please
DarthMaul writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:40:57 AM

MINK IS A CHILD MOLESTER
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:11:31 AM

Porn-
That's the way to go! Damn it!
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:03:12 AM

BlackDynamite writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:17:39 AM

I never saw the appeal of Halo. The story isn't all that intelligent, the gunplay is for the most part barebones, And it generally is not interesting at all. Its essentially a Space CoD for me
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:29:51 AM

Porn-
Lmao, where do you keep finding this sh*t haha
Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:47:24 AM

@BlackDynamite

That's a pretty accurate description of it, honestly. It's CoD with a super jump and grenades that stick to people. I definitely played my fair share of Halo 3, but it was mostly by default. As much as I like online multiplayer FPS games, I still despise the learning process for the maps (which every game seems to continuously add more of, provided you pay for them) and the ins and outs of the finer details that I'm too obsessive to overlook. So once I learn a game, I'm hard pressed to move to the next one. It took me forever to feel like I'm any sort of genuinely good at Black Ops 2 (and even longer to summon the effort to pick it up in the first place) but I'll be damned if I move on to another Call of Duty game for a while. It only took me five minutes of playing Ghosts to know I'd never play that catastrophe again.

And even after playing the campaign mode on Halo 3 several times through, I honestly couldn't tell you what the story was, so it must not have been very gripping. Considering the lack of originality these days, they're likely to just copy and paste the same sub-par story onto a television show format, and I expect it'll be equally lacking.
Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:49:35 AM

The world and setting of Halo could easily lend itself to a well-made story. But how often does that happen?
Cannon writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 1:06:34 PM

@Tanman: "Halo was so 2008"

2008? More like, 2001 and 2004 era.

Tanman32123 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 2:04:58 PM

Lol i was referring to the last "good" and popular installment in the series. Which was the 3rd. Came out 2007. Close enough!
Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 2:54:14 PM

Halo 3 really was the last good one. Actually, I'd go as far as to say it was the only good one, and even that is contained strictly to the online portion. It seems that well-made single player campaigns in video games are quickly becoming a thing of the past. I feel sorry for the kids who didn't get to grow up with the games that existed before the dawn of the online multiplayer. I still remember how crazy it felt the first time I played a game with 15 other people at once. Before then, multiplayer games were 4 players max, and the other three people had to be in the same room with you, and almost always sharing what little space was provided on our good old CRT TVs.

This generation never got to enjoy that constant high-pitched whirring noise that our screens used to make, especially when you first turned them on. Or that ridiculous dust-gathering air of static electricity that exuded like 6 inches outwards from the screen, so much that if you tried to wipe the dust off, you'd feel those thousands of tiny shocks as you did.

Anyway, now that I've gone all nostalgic and off-point... Like I was saying, Halo 3 was the last good one, but man they sure did start cranking them out after that. And sadly, I don't recall hearing a single good thing about any of them.

Oh, speaking of video games (and while I'm so enthusiastically swapping topics constantly) has anyone else seen anything about the new game Evolve? Seems to have the first moderately unique take on the way we usually play multiplayer games. I'm hoping it turns out well. It's by the same people who made Left 4 Dead. And while I enjoyed both installments of that series, both of them felt noticeably unpolished to me. The graphics were well below average for their time, and the animations for a lot things felt really clunky and unnatural. Luckily, the games were fun enough to excuse it to a certain degree, but it still felt like they had missed a chance to make something truly great. Hopefully they'll do things a little better this time around, and from what I've seen so far, they're doing a pretty damn good job. And here's to hoping that it doesn't turn into another Titanfall. While I have yet to actually play that game, I just feel uneasy about the way it was handled. They basically told the world that the game was already a smash hit long before anyone ever got to play it. I'm worried that the only reason it's popular is because they said it would be. Though hey, I could be wrong, and it could be a genuinely wonderful game. It'll be a while before I'm willing to pay to find out though, and it damn sure won't be while it's $80.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 2:57:12 PM

Either make the movie or shut the f*ck up.

@Cannon: Tan's right. Halo 3 was the best of the series and its high-point. After that, it fell off and slipped farther into oblivion, which is why TitanFall was going to be the XBox biggie and not some ramped up version of Halo, or so I've read.
Stapes writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:23:03 PM

I think "destiny" is supposed to replace halo.
PutmansPussy writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 12:56:09 AM

Yes destiny is also made by bungie and looks very halo like. I wasn't really a fan of the games but agree halo 3 was probably the best one. Apart from that sh*tty vehicle level at the end where the floor was falling away which was total sh*t and annoying
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 6:13:15 PM

I haven't heard of Destiny. Not an Xbox gamer. Some Steam sh*t but that's it. All I heard was how TitantFall was going to be the Xbox One's killer app, so to speak, and how Halo was passe.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 6:13:59 PM

Regardless, what I said stands: Tanman was, is right when he said Halo is so 2008.
Attos writes:
on May 4th, 2014 at 7:35:18 PM

@mink
Destiny is another Bungie game, and is a clear indicator that they are a one-trick-pony kind of company. They talked all this bullsh*t about how they were branching into something new and unlike Halo. Then as information started coming out, it's turns out to be a a futuristic space-marine FPS with a nearly identical look and feel to Halo, with a little bit of "magic" sprinkled in there. The designs for the suits even look like rejected Halo concept art.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved