WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Josh Hartnett Turned Down Superman, Spider-Man and Batman Roles

Posted: May 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Josh Hartnett Turned Down Superman, Spider-Man and Batman RolesSubmit Comment
While promoting his upcoming "Penny Dreadful" TV series, Josh Hartnett spoke about the many superhero roles he's been offered in the past, including Superman in Bryan Singer's 2006 "Superman Returns."

"Spider-Man was [also] something we talked about," he added. "Batman was another one. But I somehow knew those roles had potential to define me, and I didn't want that. I didn't want to be labeled as Superman for the rest of my career. I was maybe 22, but I saw the danger."

Even though Hartnett's agents didn't appreciate the actor turning down these massive opportunities that came with massive checks, they worked hard to make him a star by getting him roles in "Pearl Harbor" and "Black Hawk Down."

"I was on the cover of every magazine," Hartnett recalled. "I couldn't really go anywhere. I didn't feel comfortable in my own skin. I was alone. I didn't trust anyone. So I went back to Minnesota and got back together with my old friends, ended up getting back together with my high-school girlfriend for a while, and I didn't do any filming for 18 months. I'm still finding my way through all that."

Even though he's not getting as many offers, Hartnett has learned to deal with fame and is now more open to play a superhero. "Compromise doesn't scare me anymore," he said.

Source: Details


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:39:22 AM

Who's Josh Harttnett?
cress writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:05:40 AM

The pilot for PENNY DREADFUL is very good. He's not bad in it, and Eva Green is f*cking smokin' hot.
lawman writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:09:39 AM

JOsh is a very underrated actor. I dont think I have ever seen him in anything where he wasnt good.
Attos writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:31:55 AM

Say what you will about the man, but he's an entertaining actor. It can't be coincidence that most of the things he stars in are usually great.
30 Days of Night is one of the VERY few correctly-made horror movies of the last decade, and I still love Lucky Number Slevin.

Which is funny, because I remember a time when I would make fun of him for seeming like just another Hollywood douchebag, and then I realized how many of his films I actually enjoyed, and I had to shut up.
boogiel writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:59:42 AM

"Hartnett has learned to deal with fame and is now more open to play a superhero. "Compromise doesn't scare me anymore," he said."




Yeah, that happens after he realizes that his wallet is getting empty.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:14:44 AM

You're not in the sin city sequel
Hollywood homicide is sh*t
bandolero999 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:15:46 AM

Willis saved lucky number slevin
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:02:31 AM

and Ben Kingsley^
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:11:21 AM

He did a great job in Black hawk down. Easily his best film. I think it's pretty cool when you hear stories like this. Cause to be honest that's probably what I'd do if I was an actor.

Work my ass off for a couple years, get some money flowing but nothing to make you not want to walk down the street.
Attos writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:13:43 AM

I mean, I feel like nobody in Lucky Number Slevin was in any danger of ruining the movie by any means. Even Lucy Liu was more entertaining than usual.

But yes, Bruce Willis adding to his collection of one-liners with "I'm world-class assassin, f*ckhead." was funny.
And when the hell ISN'T Ben Kingsley good?
Suspect Zero, anyone?
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:15:17 AM

Also: I knew I recognized the name lol, He Was in Halloween H20. Seen it a hundred times :P
Dark8 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:15:32 AM

bando go back to mexico no one wants you here now piss off to your land of sh*t
Attos writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:18:14 AM

@Tan

Man, I have to say, if I were an actor (no matter how good or bad) I would never ever ever take a role like Batman/Superman/Spiderman. I'm entertained by superheroes, but I'd never want my name to be tied to them for the rest of my life. Nor would I honestly want the responsibility of making sure I portray a correct version of a character that is already so incredibly well-defined through so many different types of entertainment. I'd rather be the guy who works on an original story (wherever those are hiding) and who makes a name for the man himself, not tag along behind the name of my character(s) for the rest of my life.
Then again, I've never been a desperate-for-work actor. I'm sure it's a lot easier to give up your moral values when payments are due on all of your expensive sh*t.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:41:34 AM

This was a pointless article.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 10:30:38 AM

@atto

Exactly lol It's a hard thin to commit too, you've got to be one damn good actor to portray a big name character. Some times it works and sometimes it doesn't.

Robert Downey- Sherlock, Worked.
George Clooney- Batman, Failure.
Daniel Craig- Bond, worked.
Halle Berry- Cat women, Horrible lol
sleepingshane writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:26:00 AM

he would make a good namor sub mariner if they ever get round to making a movie
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:29:43 AM

Clooney made a fine Wayne because he's a smarmy, superficial, conceited arrogant c*nt playboy in real life. Playing Batman though required he exhibit a darker, deeper side, one Clooney simply lacks. Probably would have been fine if they had hired someone else to do the role of Batman and ADR Clooney's voice in post.

Anway. Hartnett didn't want to do a Batman or Superman role, and that's fine because he was a poor choice anyway, because he felt it would "define" him, whatever that means, but in the end he ended up on television doing not much of anything, so had he taken those early roles, he'd have greater name recognition.

Just another actor who took himself and his career far too seriously and suffered for it instead of doing the work, taking the chances and earning the right to sit at Hollywood's gilded table.

But hey, he did Pearl Harbor because he thought that would make him the next DiCaprio, I guess.

And Slevin is fine, but it's an ensemble cast and as such a machine with many cooperative pieces, of which Hartnett was but one, and perhaps not even the best aspect of the film, considering I recall he seemingly sleepwalked through his performances.

In fact, Slevin is a film that worked because it pulled a M. Knight twist, a big "gotcha" reveal, another The Usual Suspects gimmick ending, not because any particular performance was exceptional, especially not Hartnett's typical dopey-eyed where the f*ck am I performance.

Not sure what you folks are smoking, other than Josh's pole.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 12:03:37 PM

Armond White reviews Spiderman 2:




Jamie Foxx isn’t “poor” — he’s valued at $85 million according to celebritynetworth.com — but he is artistically impoverished. He resorts to portraying another stereotypical victim-villain in The Amazing Spider-Man 2. That dubious casting choice briefly sparks this latest, uninspired comic-book-franchise movie, but most important, it plays into current Hollywood political sentiments.

As corporate nerd Max Dillon, Foxx falls into a tank with fuses and electric eels and acquires lethal electromagnetic powers. Post-shock, Dillon-now-Electro channels his envy of Spider-Man (insipid Andrew Garfield) into destroying Times Square, a routine sequence of Hollywood’s video-game-CGI excess only inspired by peculiar pathos: Fox repeats the same sorrowful black-male oddity he used in his portrayal of a maladjusted musical savant in the mawkish 2009 race-relations drama The Soloist.

Electro’s menace and confused motives evoke still another black science-fiction miscreant, Samuel L. Jackson’s disturbed, merciless, outlandishly garbed comic-book villain in Unbreakable, which since 2000 has stereotyped the genre’s naive racial attitudes. Electro’s skin is tinted blue, like the Na’vi creatures in Avatar, but luminescent, as if teeming with SamJack anger. He cloaks his ferocity beneath a Trayvon Martin–style hoodie — a sly, fatuous political reference recalling Foxx’s awards-circuit appearances last year in a t-shirt emblazoned with Martin’s photo (commemorating the politically charged controversy surrounding the youth’s 2012 death). Foxx acts out Electro’s wounded ego to sneakily exploit the Martin case, but his role is disgraceful, silly in concept and shameless in performance.

I point this out to clarify how specious racial and political assumptions clog contemporary film culture; part of what mogul Harvey Weinstein praised as “The Obama Effect” among Hollywood elites.

Electro’s demeanor defines the limited, pathological range circ*mscribing Foxx, restricting his choices as with other black Oscar-rewarded actors. Some form of black pathology is always foremost in Hollywood’s current post-racial pretense, and this is what makes “The Obama Effect” so noxious. Even the action-based Spider-Man series ensnares a black character in sentimentality that allows Hollywood and the media to feel superior — a continuation of the self-righteous liberal fantasy that voting for Barack Obama vanquishes racism. All other blacks are patronized as, if not inferior to the Obama ideal, then, as Electro demonstrates, superpathetic. Outside the comic-book world, Electro would be seen as a freak. And freakishness — or Superpathology — defines Hollywood’s Obama-era view of black folk in Precious, The Help, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Captain Phillips, Blue Caprice, Django Unchained (Foxx again), last year’s 12 Years a Slave, and this year’s Belle.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 12:28:58 PM

I also felt he was an underrated actor. He's never been full of himself and never let the fame he did succeed in affect him. I had heard he was up for both Superman and Batman at one point, obviously think he'd be more at home with Superman than the other one, but he does allow for some interesting characters. Say what you guys want but I liked Lucky Number Slevin. It was a fun action film with a really good cast leading the way. Morgan Freeman, Ben Kingsley, and Bruce Willis in one film with Lucy Liu and Hartnett adding some flair to it. It was worth watching I think

I'd honestly like to see Penny Dreadful succeed if not just because he is one of those underdog actors I'd like to see succeed.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 12:32:09 PM

@mink
That article cracks me up that you put up! Black actors are limited to roles because they choose to be. For God sake's he is making an all-black cast version of Annie with Jay-Z. They choose to be stereotypes. Don't get me wrong, in a lot of cases, they have capture a certain time period, but in present-time stories they choose to remain that way and it's just white noise at this point.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 12:40:46 PM

Crambo-

Didn't care to much for Sleven either. Watched it once, got the DVD and I seriously doubt I'll be watchin it again anytime soon.

Side Note- Sort of a trailer for Stephen Kings next book "Mr Mercedes". Looks pretty good, gonna get the book.

http://stephenking.com/promo/mr_mercedes/letter/
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 1:26:47 PM

I enjoyed penny dreadful and he wasnt too bad in it either
Attos writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 1:34:24 PM

Lol, I'm definitely not claiming Slevin was a masterpiece. But in an era where "entertainment" seems to be strangely and fundamentally lacking any ACTUAL entertainment, I remember find it to be a nice refreshment.
It's not on any lists of my favorite movies, nor do I go back and watch it that often. But it absolutely succeeded in the entertainment department, despite it's flaws. The story was easy to predict by the end, yes, but to me that doesn't detract from the overall quality. I'm not looking for a mystery/whodunit ride stuffed with strange turns and plot twists. I'd go watch Filth again if that were the case.

But Lucky Number Slevin entertained me. If had some spaced out action scenes, better-than-average character development (I couldn't help but chuckle a few times at both duos of henchmen. At least they were more than just some big dumb silent brutes pretending that their imposing looks actually mean something.)

It had a cast of people who I'd enjoyed in many other films before, in a setting that remained interesting throughout. It was a good story, and it was told and filmed better than so so many other things I've seen.

@Tan

Yeah, it doesn't seem like either outcome is very desirable when it comes to playing an already well-known character. Either you go the Ben Affleck routes- getting a chance to play a superhero and f*cking it up (Daredevil), OR being despised just for getting the part, LONG before anyone even has a chance to honestly assess your portrayal of it.
Or you do a good-to-decent job (RDJ's Iron Man or Ledger's Joker) and never escape from it- either from people wanting you to repetitively return to that character, or when society stops seeing you as an actor and stays fixated on a single role (Daniel Radcliffe will be Harry Potter until the day he dies.).
There's no real appeal in any of those outcomes as far as I'm concerned.

Let's give it up for Gene Wilder for only going as far as wanted to do, and for doing the things he wanted to, and managing to get the f*ck out. Similar props to Dave Chappelle for deciding to cash out and live the rest of his life on terms closer to his own. (He'll never truly escape, but he's about as far out of the business as one can willingly get without dying.)
Attos writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 1:35:32 PM

And I just downloaded Penny Dreadful.
Honestly, the trailer didn't make it look all that great, but I've given much worse shows a chance.

I'll never get back the thirty minutes I wasted to find out that Grimm is one of the worst shows in television history.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 1:43:52 PM

Attos-

Ledgers role as Joker was excellent but more or less loved because he died before it came out. Not to take anything away from his job but it did Boost the films release a lot. I personally don't know how anyone can top his performance.

Watch an episode of Grimm once.. Yeah.. Anyways.. I watched the episode of Breaking Bad your Avatar is of last night. Watched them all before just goin through it a second time now. Onto season 5!
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:48:41 PM

Hartnett is a poor choice for any superhero role, he's got baby hands.
KillerCOck writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 3:19:16 PM

he'd make a good nightwing
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 3:20:43 PM

That picture says hold up I only suck Bullits d*ck
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 4:16:30 PM

I tell you an easy to predict movie: The Hidden.

I knew within the first ten minutes or so the FBI agent was really an alien in disguise in search of a fugitive ET, and I also guessed his pursuit was a personal vendetta.

I figured the FBI/alien wanted to catch and kill the bad alien because the latter killed someone close to the former. Basically the film gave itself away when the FBI/alien admitted he stole his Porsche.

Anyhow decent movie, I guess, for something that looks like it was crafted for television, but low production values made it seem like a feature-length X-Files episode sans Scully instead of theatrical fare.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 4:18:20 PM

@Tanman: Ledger did well with what Nolan gave him, but as I've said many times, Nolan's Joker is a very poor and unpalatable rendition of the character.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 4:51:09 PM

Nice to see a few people acknowledge Hartnett's talent. The is a pretty decent actor. Love his choices in roles ever since his semi debut in The Faculty. Surprised no one mentioned his part in 30 Days of Night. The film was pretty ambitious and though it might not of lived up to its own expectations (mainly due to a sh*tty ending) he was awesome in the lead role.

I always thought the guy would have made a great new Superman, even suggested it during the Man of Steel casting talk on this site. He had the size and look for the part and the acting chops needs to flesh out the character. If he read the script I could understand him opting out. That role was written for a robot which he is not. He's more of an Ethan Hawk type, skilled actor, pretty face, but not mainstream enough to ever draw the masses.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:00:49 PM

@Sac

I was thinking of saying that film. But I've only seen it once and can't really remember which part he played. I recall it being a pretty good flick tho.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:03:37 PM

@Sac: do you actually read the comments? Attos clearly remarked on 30 Days of Night up above, a fact even I know and I couldn't give less a damn about Hartnett or his alleged "talent".

If you're going to join the conversation, you might try to at least read what other people have said.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:11:17 PM

"That role was written for a robot which he is not."


Actually, the role in Superman Returns was written, or at least cast. for someone who looked like Reeves, Sac, and not a robot, and if you think, Routh was "robotic" in the role, you should go back and watch the film, because all though his performance therein isn't the most mature, it's very much human, such as his interaction with Lois which competently apes Reeves' sensitive performances in Superman 1 and II, and his interaction during the scene wherein he's brutally pummeled by Lex and his goons.



"He's more of an Ethan Hawk type, skilled actor, pretty face, but not mainstream enough to ever draw the masses."



lol, well then it's strange then that some talentless bore like Paul Walker had far more mainstream success than either Hawke or Hartnett.

Perhaps it's the sh*tty films they take on because they think they're too good for mainstream, commercial projects, or perhaps audiences just don't care for them for whatever reason(s).

I say it's the former, which means your comment makes no sense. They're not mainstream because they didn't take on more mainstream projects. Their fault, not the fault of the audiences.


minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:16:16 PM

@JB: if you're reading this, I sent you a message. Let me know how that works out.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:18:57 PM

Well he is better than Channing Tatum but that's not really saying much
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:01:47 PM

@mink

The Hidden was an independent film with a limited budget and I wouldnt pat myself too hard on the back, the FBI agent being an alien wasn't intended as any sort of twist, unless you're a viewer not familiar with cop or sci fi genre films. What I'm sure you did not predict was the ending. Just plain good writing uncompromised by big budget studio involvement.
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:03:44 PM

I believe the x files even stole the premise for an episode.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:34:20 PM

No, I suspected he would go home in his spaceship, which would have been cool, not take over the corpse of the dead cop so he could have the latter's wife and kid, which is just creepy as f*ck, and not eighties-happy as the movie implied.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:36:27 PM

He turned down Spiderman AND Superman ? ... maybe he can sniff a turd afterall.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:37:26 PM

"I was on the cover of every magazine," Hartnett recalled. "I couldn't really go anywhere. I didn't feel comfortable in my own skin. I was alone. I didn't trust anyone. So I went back to Minnesota and got back together with my old friends, ended up getting back together with my high-school girlfriend for a while, and I didn't do any filming for 18 months. I'm still finding my way through all that."

... f*cking surprised you didn't offer to work at the local Dairy Queen too, you f*ck.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:38:12 PM

Spider-Man was [also] something we talked about," he added. "Batman was another one. But I somehow knew those roles had potential to define me, and I didn't want that. I didn't want to be labeled as Superman for the rest of my career ....

you have one ? Noone seemed to notice.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:39:10 PM

Even though Hartnett's agents didn't appreciate the actor turning down these massive opportunities that came with massive checks

* and the commission they would earn, based on muling him out to those movies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:40:14 PM

Even though he's not getting as many offers, Hartnett has learned to deal with fame and is now more open to play a superhero.

Sure. Anyone wanna See Captain Boredom, Conqueror of Interest ?
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 6:42:46 PM

"I believe the x files even stole the premise for an episode."

Yeah, Travelers, I believe. And I loved the plate glass scene. Made me think I was watching an old movie, such as What's Up, Doc?

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/SheetOfGlass




Decent movie, better than most sh*t they make these days, but under-budgeted.
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:31:42 PM

In the director's commentary he mentions the hit the stuntman took in the plate glass scene as being particularly renowned in stuntman circles.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:31:47 PM

I'm a little shocked TASM 2 was the only real release today. I read the Cage's "Joe" is finally at a theater in Toronto. Gonna see it Monday, looks good.
Stapes writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:35:51 PM

Trying my damnedest to get through Jonathan Lethem's book on They Live. Idiotic liberal pseudo intellectuals live labeling They Live as an indictment of Reagan era and conservative politics.
boogiel writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:44:04 PM

ERROR: ERROR: Access denied for user 'alexgi_3'@'%' to database 'alexgi_worstreview' ERROR:

Tanman32123 writes:
on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:45:20 PM

Alex what are you good for!?
Alex is a Child Molester!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:01:45 AM

"In the director's commentary he mentions the hit the stuntman took in the plate glass scene as being particularly renowned in stuntman circles."

True, but I read it was an homage to the screw ball comedy, and not just from that trope website.

As for The Live, not the first time I've read that the film is parable on Reagan era politics, but it seems more apropos for Obama instead, what with all the propaganda and spying.

But liberals are notorious for projection.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:03:41 AM

Anyway, out of the three movies I watched that day, The Hidden is the best of the batch, although going up against Captain America 2 and RoboCop is a mean feat.
Dark8 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:13:35 AM

all hail the king
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:17:03 AM

Pointless drivel, Rambo. Had some good moments, like those elaborating on Bucky Barnes and Captain America's past relationship, but largely a movie built to once again set up the forthcoming Avengers movie. The thing with Fury faking his death was cliched and I guessed he wasn't dead. Tried to hard to be a parable for our current police/surveillance state, but the message was lost in all the endless explosions and gunfire. Also felt the ending was scripted first and the film was built backwards from there. It's like they knew the film had to have a ten minute blow-em up finale, and that's where they started.

And Black Widow was not only unnecessary but pointless with respect to the story.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:19:57 AM

@tanman: that was the Cleveland Torso Murderer, and yes, he was never caught. No less than Elliot Ness tried to bring him down to no avail. They call him the Torso Murderer because that's all that was found. Usually he preyed on homeless people, like bums and winos. Probably voted Democrat.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:23:06 AM

"But liberals are notorious for projection."

And sucking d*ck.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:33:15 AM

I've said the same thing, Rambo, that Evans' Captain American looks like an underwear model and not the rugged hero of World War 2 I would have expected but Marvel makes this stuff for less mature audiences than you and I....

The terrible thing is that Chris isn't all that buff and he's still more Not Another Teen Movie than superhero fodder.

But the film had a good start, a good whodunnit, one that could have kept Cap guessing until the film's end, but was ruined by revealing the bad guy too early.

And if you'll notice, most of these Marvel movies follow the same tired plan of having of some older white guy turn out to be the bad guy, which may be Spiderman 2's only saving grace: having the balls to make the black guy the villain instead of the Helpful Negro (Falcon, Rhodes...) and not some evil white Tea Party business owner.

Propaganda indeed.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:41:00 AM

Dunno, Rambo, I haven't followed the plot for Spiderman 2. All I know is that it has that idiot turd goof Garfield and is directed by the same hack who brought us the first piece of Raimi-rip-off piece of sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:41:25 AM

-piece of
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:44:01 AM

Gotta agree on the makeup. Way too much. One of the things I thought when I watched Captain America 2. I was thinking that it looks like his face was put on my the Mary Kay lady, and you would think a rugged hero like Cap would shy away from beauty products and go au naturale, not primped up like a f*cking prom date priss.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:45:03 AM

"this make up on making him look like a he just stepped out of a DP vs. Alex lube party"

All that's missing is a stained and matted ring of cat hair around the mouth...
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:51:14 AM

Awwww, cute cat. Makes me want to squeeze its head off, which is different from Alex and Dustin who want to give it a tight "head squeeze"...
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:52:22 AM

Cat's are cute but damned if their sh*t doesn't stink up a house. Dogs are better but require a lot more attention.

Oh well.

Where the f*ck is the news?
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:59:41 AM

lol.
minkowski writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 1:04:40 AM

You now how I fixed it? By watching the 1987 version.
PORN-FLY writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 1:29:00 AM

Attos writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 5:59:12 AM

So late back to the conversation here.
By the way, speaking of Captain America, I happened to randomly catch a piece of Thor: The Dark World earlier that had Loki turning himself into Captain America for a minute. Was that in the theatrical version? I'd completely understand if I just blocked it out the first time I saw it. Still, I don't feel like I had seen that before.
DarthMaul writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:43:39 AM

MINK IS A CHILD MOLESTER
Dark8 writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:12:17 AM

@ darth maul we already know that idiot.

@jb is that suppose to be a joke?

but don't worry the king is back
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:06:33 AM

I could see him as Batman, or at the very least, Nightwing or the Red Hood.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved