WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg to Direct "The BGF," Based on Children's Book

Posted: April 26th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg to Direct "The BGF," Based on ChildrenSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg is attached to direct a live-action adaptation of Roald Dahl's children's book "The BFG," which is a fantastical tale of a Big Friendly Giant who befriends a young orphan girl.

There has already been one other adaptation of the book, a 1989 animated TV movie in the UK. Spielberg's version is written by Melissa Mathison, who previously wrote "E.T." for the helmer.

While Spielberg has at least five other films that he's considering, he's fully committed to "The BFG" and is planning to begin shooting in 2015 for a 2016 release. It's still unclear if he'll be willing to squeeze in another movie before that.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DeathMaster writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 9:15:54 AM

Big Giant Friendly? Ok.
cress writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 9:22:12 AM

ROBOAPOCALYPSE.

Goddammit!! Do it!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 9:26:45 AM

Steven Spielberg to Direct "The BGF," Based on Children's Book

Can the director who made E.T. the Extra Terrestrial do really well on a children's story about a giant befriending a young orphan girl?

I kind of think he can. It is in his wheelhouse. But if what was said is true "While Spielberg has at least five other films that he's considering, he's fully committed to "The BFG" and is planning to begin shooting in 2015 for a 2016 release. It's still unclear if he'll be willing to squeeze in another movie before that." then he may want to take his time on it.

Otherwise it will look like something he squeezed out.

cress writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 9:37:06 AM

Technically, Spielberg is still on top of his game. Take WAR HORSE, for example, a film that seemed more like an exercise of his skills rather than a labor of love. I actually liked the film, but it's on the low end of the "Spielberg Spectrum" for me, and that's due to it's largely forgettable story. I won't lie, I'm a huge Spielberg fan. He directed some of the most inspiring film's of my childhood. The only Spielberg film I never liked was LINCOLN. I think DeaftOne described it as "visual Benadryl"--I totally agree.

I just want one or two more sci-fi/fantasy BIG films from him before he croaks. Please, Steven.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 10:10:34 AM

THE BIG GAY f*ck
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 10:11:26 AM

Robopacalypse please!
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 2:34:20 PM

BGF or BFG? Choose one idiot.
Bob82 writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 3:03:44 PM

@cress:

"Technically, Spielberg is still on top of his game. Take WAR HORSE, for example, a film that seemed more like an exercise of his skills rather than a labor of love"

Really? I thought it was a huge love letter to his favourite classic films, and specially to John Ford.

I mean, we can't argue that he's still in perfect shape when it comes to storytelling and (even though he uses classic thechniques for visuals, except some CGI for the horse) he works like a young and enthusiastic filmmaker.

I loved War Horse and always saw that movie like a little pleasure for him, a trully labor of love.

I agree that he could do more sci-fi again, but these new project (with E.T. screenwriter attached) sounds interesting.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 4:45:40 PM

Booo! he'll ruin it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 5:04:14 PM

good catch, PHOENIX

thank Elvis Alex doesnt work in the food industry where chicken a tad undercooked could someone
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 5:04:29 PM

kill
Cannon writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 7:18:41 PM


Unexpected but not surprising, if that makes any sense.

I remember reading this in grade school. It actually has some pretty grim and scary moments, for a children's book, anyway, as the giant in question is but one of many (and by far the smallest) who also happens to be the only one who's friendly.

I suspect Spielberg will take this down some pretty dark roads for the classic fairy tale effect, and hopefully pull-off something less generic than Singer's competently made but wholly forgettable Jack the Giant Slayer.

As mentioned, it's not like Spielberg has anything less than total mastery over his technical cinematic craft. It's only a matter of how well he manages his storytelling sensibilities.

Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 8:20:35 PM

BIG GRAPHICS FREAKSHOW
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 11:44:47 PM

So basically he's going to go the Bryan Singer/Robert Zemeckis end of life way? Great. Besides I saw this already and it was called Iron Giant, Or Transformers, or AI, if that's your thing, which is all I need to see in the "boy and his giant friend" trope.

Just film The GFE instead and make at least a few of us heteros happy.
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 11:47:30 PM

I still say Alex throws these errors in on purpose as a verbal form of Where's Waldo. Either than or he's incredibly incompetent.

I'm leaning on the latter.
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2014 at 11:48:07 PM

Where the f*ck is Tim Burton?
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 27th, 2014 at 2:23:49 AM

Robopacalypse
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 27th, 2014 at 5:41:32 AM

I didn't read the article, but i really doubt that Spielberg can make an entire movie based around the Big f*ckin Gun from Doom.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved