WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs

Posted: April 20th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny DeppSubmit Comment
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" remained in the top spot at the domestic box office with another $27 million, bringing its worldwide total to $586 million.

The best opening of the Easter weekend for a new release went to the faith-based film "Heaven is for Real," starring Greg Kinner. The movie, which landed in third place, is based on the real-life story of pastor Todd Burpo, whose young son said he visited heaven during emergency surgery. It earned $21.5 million on a budget of only $12 million and has a 53% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking fourth place is Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" sci-fi film, which bombed with $11.2 million on a budget of $100 million. It also has a terrible 20% rating. "The movie just missed its audience," said Warner Bros.

Marlon Wayans' "A Haunted House" sequel, which cost only $4 million to make, ended up in fifth place with $9.1 million. The first film hit theaters in January of last year and earned $18 million during its opening weekend on a budget of $2.5 million. After seven weeks of release, the movie brought in a total of $60 million worldwide. The sequel, which has a dismal 7% fresh rating, will likely not reach those type of numbers.

The last wide release of the weekend was Disney's "Bears" nature documentary about a family of grizzly bears living in Alaska. It was a mild disappointment for the studio since the movie earned only $4.7 million and landing in 11th place. "Bears" has an 89% fresh rating.

The movie won't hurt Disney, which is not only dominating with "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," but it also just saw its "Frozen" movie become the 6th highest-grossing film of all time with $1.129 billion.

Meanwhile, John Turturro's "Fading Gigolo," co-starring Woody Allen, opened to $198,379 from five locations. That's an impressive per-screen average of $39,680. The movie has a 58% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:20:08 PM

Wow it's amazing. The better movie is actually leading the box office numbers and continues to.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:21:16 PM

@sleuth

Order van helsing ps2, its a good game
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:23:16 PM

@Deaft0ne
I will try. Luckily I still have a working PS2.
Stapes writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:33:13 PM

Just missed its audience my ass. That movie is boring as sh*t.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:33:22 PM

*burpo*
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:37:52 PM

@sleuth

I got the tiny slim ps2 as a precaution to play classics.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:38:38 PM

The audience just missed its movie.
boogiel writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:59:58 PM

Well Johnny boy, you better start wearing those pirate costume again.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:09:39 PM

@Deaft0ne
Unfortunately the one I have is the heavy duty one. I had a slim one but it broke down after 3-4 years. It was a good old system. Got to play God of War, my first PS2 experience. What a game that was. Chain blades...the f*cking coolest weapon ever in my opinion.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:33:41 PM

lol@yousef.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:43:14 PM

"The movie just missed its audience,"

Why? Couldn't they get a therapeutic weekend furlough?

MadHatter writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:58:54 PM

@Boogiel
Lol :)
M. Bullitt‎‎‎‎‎‎ writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:07:04 AM

@Deaftone: you're a bloody stupid wanker c*nt. The PS2 slim has a different bios (SCPH-75001) versus the original large version (SCPH-30001), and it runs *less* games, not more, than the Sony's first edition. So stop talking out of your *sshole as always.
Deaft0ne‪ writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:18:38 AM

@Bullitt: sorry my bad, bro, I just random sh*t as found on the internet!
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:49:06 AM

I wonder where Yousef went...he was so gung-ho on Transcendence, to the point of attacking people for not liking the film or its concept...he should come on here and defend what everyone with half a brain knew from the beginning would be nothing more than Lawnmower Men of the Internets: At Download's End.

f*cking quasi-religious pseudo-scientific claptrap.

And Pfister thought he could steal Nolan's style and name recognition, huh? lol.
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:04:52 AM

Fake Bullit is here, Where is the real c*nt? Dead Me thinks, in his heaven which would be a gay bukkake with hoards of elderly homeless men.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:23:21 AM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:28:06 AM

@PORN-FLY
Dude is that the underage chick from that stupid Disney show? I remember her showing up on the news for doing a promiscuous modeling gig at like age 15. All I could think is, "Well the world has lost all of it's decency."
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:29:41 AM

damnit M.BULLIT!
i should have picked up on that
I owe DEAF one

I dont own a Slim for just that reason

Matter of fact,i have to take my PS2 in to fix the disc reader after adjusting it on my own numerous times
THAT or buy a refurbished 60gb PS3 to play my classics
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:33:57 AM

MUAH-HAHAHAHHH

Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:42:59 AM

@mink
Responding to your comment on the other article, give me a few more years dealing with people like that guy who trolled me and trust me I'll be just as homicidal as you. LOL
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:42:50 AM

@Porn that chick is very average at best.
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:46:33 AM

_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:48:58 AM

Deaft0ne writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 6:23:55 AM

Yeah that's a fake clone of me there.

I have the final slim ps2 and I have never had a problem with it playing any games.

The 2 previous ones I had frequently did the DRE sh*t a lot.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 7:55:21 AM

I hate that whole Heaven is for real story bullcrap. Didn't really believe it when the story was huge and everyone was reading the book, And I still don't believe it now
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:00:03 AM

@Sleuth

Haha Just read about your fake account. Welcome to the club buddy! Please enjoy a complimentary glass of champagne.
leilei89 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:26:17 AM

"The movie won't hurt Disney" ha after john carter its proof nothing can!
What's with all the fake accounts? Is it one person impersonating you all?
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:34:00 AM

BlackDynamite writes:
on April 22nd, 2014 at 5:07:30 AM

Man, Transcendence was the biggest waste of $2 I ever spent, that movie was bland, boring, and took an interesting concept and boiled it down to weird love story/HAL circlejerk.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved