WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Dec 13th, 2014
Sony Asking Sam Raimi and "Captain America 2" Directors For Help With "Spider-Man" Franchise
Dec 13th, 2014
James Gunn Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Will NOT Team Up
Dec 13th, 2014
"Ghostbusters 3" Actresses Shortlist Revealed, Sony Planned to Sue Bill Murray
Dec 13th, 2014
Animated "Super Mario Bros" Movie Coming
Dec 13th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs

Posted: April 20th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny DeppSubmit Comment
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" remained in the top spot at the domestic box office with another $27 million, bringing its worldwide total to $586 million.

The best opening of the Easter weekend for a new release went to the faith-based film "Heaven is for Real," starring Greg Kinner. The movie, which landed in third place, is based on the real-life story of pastor Todd Burpo, whose young son said he visited heaven during emergency surgery. It earned $21.5 million on a budget of only $12 million and has a 53% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking fourth place is Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" sci-fi film, which bombed with $11.2 million on a budget of $100 million. It also has a terrible 20% rating. "The movie just missed its audience," said Warner Bros.

Marlon Wayans' "A Haunted House" sequel, which cost only $4 million to make, ended up in fifth place with $9.1 million. The first film hit theaters in January of last year and earned $18 million during its opening weekend on a budget of $2.5 million. After seven weeks of release, the movie brought in a total of $60 million worldwide. The sequel, which has a dismal 7% fresh rating, will likely not reach those type of numbers.

The last wide release of the weekend was Disney's "Bears" nature documentary about a family of grizzly bears living in Alaska. It was a mild disappointment for the studio since the movie earned only $4.7 million and landing in 11th place. "Bears" has an 89% fresh rating.

The movie won't hurt Disney, which is not only dominating with "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," but it also just saw its "Frozen" movie become the 6th highest-grossing film of all time with $1.129 billion.

Meanwhile, John Turturro's "Fading Gigolo," co-starring Woody Allen, opened to $198,379 from five locations. That's an impressive per-screen average of $39,680. The movie has a 58% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:20:08 PM

Wow it's amazing. The better movie is actually leading the box office numbers and continues to.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:21:16 PM

@sleuth

Order van helsing ps2, its a good game
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:23:16 PM

@Deaft0ne
I will try. Luckily I still have a working PS2.
Stapes writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:33:13 PM

Just missed its audience my ass. That movie is boring as sh*t.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:33:22 PM

*burpo*
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:37:52 PM

@sleuth

I got the tiny slim ps2 as a precaution to play classics.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:38:38 PM

The audience just missed its movie.
boogiel writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 10:59:58 PM

Well Johnny boy, you better start wearing those pirate costume again.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:09:39 PM

@Deaft0ne
Unfortunately the one I have is the heavy duty one. I had a slim one but it broke down after 3-4 years. It was a good old system. Got to play God of War, my first PS2 experience. What a game that was. Chain blades...the f*cking coolest weapon ever in my opinion.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:33:41 PM

lol@yousef.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:43:14 PM

"The movie just missed its audience,"

Why? Couldn't they get a therapeutic weekend furlough?

MadHatter writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 11:58:54 PM

@Boogiel
Lol :)
M. Bullitt‎‎‎‎‎‎ writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:07:04 AM

@Deaftone: you're a bloody stupid wanker c*nt. The PS2 slim has a different bios (SCPH-75001) versus the original large version (SCPH-30001), and it runs *less* games, not more, than the Sony's first edition. So stop talking out of your *sshole as always.
Deaft0ne‪ writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:18:38 AM

@Bullitt: sorry my bad, bro, I just random sh*t as found on the internet!
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 12:49:06 AM

I wonder where Yousef went...he was so gung-ho on Transcendence, to the point of attacking people for not liking the film or its concept...he should come on here and defend what everyone with half a brain knew from the beginning would be nothing more than Lawnmower Men of the Internets: At Download's End.

f*cking quasi-religious pseudo-scientific claptrap.

And Pfister thought he could steal Nolan's style and name recognition, huh? lol.
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:04:52 AM

Fake Bullit is here, Where is the real c*nt? Dead Me thinks, in his heaven which would be a gay bukkake with hoards of elderly homeless men.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:23:21 AM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:28:06 AM

@PORN-FLY
Dude is that the underage chick from that stupid Disney show? I remember her showing up on the news for doing a promiscuous modeling gig at like age 15. All I could think is, "Well the world has lost all of it's decency."
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:29:41 AM

damnit M.BULLIT!
i should have picked up on that
I owe DEAF one

I dont own a Slim for just that reason

Matter of fact,i have to take my PS2 in to fix the disc reader after adjusting it on my own numerous times
THAT or buy a refurbished 60gb PS3 to play my classics
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:33:57 AM

MUAH-HAHAHAHHH

Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:42:59 AM

@mink
Responding to your comment on the other article, give me a few more years dealing with people like that guy who trolled me and trust me I'll be just as homicidal as you. LOL
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:42:50 AM

@Porn that chick is very average at best.
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:46:33 AM

_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 5:48:58 AM

Deaft0ne writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 6:23:55 AM

Yeah that's a fake clone of me there.

I have the final slim ps2 and I have never had a problem with it playing any games.

The 2 previous ones I had frequently did the DRE sh*t a lot.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 7:55:21 AM

I hate that whole Heaven is for real story bullcrap. Didn't really believe it when the story was huge and everyone was reading the book, And I still don't believe it now
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:00:03 AM

@Sleuth

Haha Just read about your fake account. Welcome to the club buddy! Please enjoy a complimentary glass of champagne.
leilei89 writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:26:17 AM

"The movie won't hurt Disney" ha after john carter its proof nothing can!
What's with all the fake accounts? Is it one person impersonating you all?
_JB_Enforcer writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 8:34:00 AM

BlackDynamite writes:
on April 22nd, 2014 at 5:07:30 AM

Man, Transcendence was the biggest waste of $2 I ever spent, that movie was bland, boring, and took an interesting concept and boiled it down to weird love story/HAL circlejerk.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved