WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?

Posted: April 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?Submit Comment
Whenever a major blockbuster is released in theaters, the only other films opening on the same date are meant to be counter-programming, for people who want to see a movie, just not that major blockbuster.

So to see two blockbusters, "Captain America 3" and "Batman vs Superman" being scheduled for May 6th, 2016 and to hear that both Marvel and Warner Bros are refusing to budge, something is definitely wrong. After all, why would either studio want to risk losing potential profits to its competition?

But as predicted, it looks like one of the studios has decided that it's best to avoid going head-to-head. According to several sources, "Batman vs Superman" will be released in South America and the UK on April 29th, one week before its US release.

While it's normal for movies to open internationally before hitting theaters in US, this may be a sign that Warner Bros is backing away from "Captain America 3." Some are predicting that Marvel will want more room between the two movies and actually push its film back, leaving May 6th, 2016 without either ""Captain America 3" or "Batman vs Superman." Stay tuned.

Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 9:03:13 AM

Ha! I am not surprised at all. As I wrote before, DC will blink first if Cap 2 generates more money than MOS.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 9:47:16 AM

@boogiel

With Winter Soldier already at $510 million worldwide in 3 weeks, i'm sure it will surpass MoS.

Batman & Superman will flinch for sure.
Cannon writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 11:39:06 AM


I still think they're gonna jump to June or July.

hellsing writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:15:27 PM

sweet we in the uk are getting the best film a week before you yanks
WV-Films writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 1:02:12 PM

"Some are predicting"
What is this? Fox News?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 2:52:19 PM

It probably is avoiding the fate that happened to Green Lantern (along with the early release) and to release it during the summer will help it get more money in the long run.

The only downside for DC is that Cap 3 will probably come out on DVD release earlier.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 5:39:02 PM

@Crambo
The fact is this. Captain America has, over all, become a quality series whereas Man of Steel is a mess. People are smarter than you think. They may see the MOS sequel for fun by CA 3 will give them something from the material.
Stapes writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 6:22:17 PM

Yes
elrei writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 7:13:16 PM

WAY OFF TOPIC:

I need some help here. For some reason I remember this scene where this guy (can't remember the actor) enters a room in which some people are playing russian roulette. The guy takes the gun, points it to his head and fires it five times and wins a ton of money.

Can someone please tell me the name of that movie?
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 9:13:07 PM

I don't know, but the moron running this dump is going to milk the possibility until they do, just to get the terms "superman", "batman" and "Captain America" returning his site as a search result.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 9:40:32 PM

@Crambo
I would definitely check out Phase 2 which felt like a more competent set of films. Say what you want people but Iron Man 3 was a solid film even if it went off the story from the comics. Thor 2 was a fun fantasy film, brimming with actual fantasy elements in an era where we are hooked on making everything dull and "realistic" which with "fantasy" is an irony and part of the reason I want George RR Martin to f*cking die. I have watched Game of Thrones which has almost no fantasy elements present throughout, instead doing the now overused "back and forth deception" game where everyone is after everyone and all that sh*t. The most recent episode was the best one because it finally felt like a progression in the story was coming.

And then there is Captain america 2. Well Crambo you've probably seen my praise for that film. It was a spellbinding political thriller with great action, really great acting, and surprisingly smart storytelling. Phase 1 I enjoyed but Phase 2 finally started getting the ball rolling in my opinion. I can't wait to see what Guardians of the Galaxy does.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 9:41:44 PM

@elrei
I figured maybe be try and help you. I looked it up and was wondering if it was "The Deer Runner". Was it an older movie?
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 10:04:34 PM

Can you imagine how funny it would be if Marvel did the same thing.
PutmansPussy writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 10:20:15 PM

@ Elrei
The film is 13

...and it's sh*t
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 10:30:52 PM

"With Winter Soldier already at $510 million worldwide in 3 weeks, i'm sure it will surpass MoS.Batman & Superman will flinch for sure."



Wrong. Industry expectations have a proper Batman vs Superman film pegged at 1bil+, which is a 50% improvement over Man of Steel's ROI.

Stapes writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 1:13:07 AM

I think you mean The Deer Hunter.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 20th, 2014 at 2:28:23 AM

@Stapes
Oh damn. Thanks man. Don't know how I typed that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved