WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas

Posted: April 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of IdeasSubmit Comment
In a new interview with IGN, "The Amazing Spider-Man" producer Avi Arad revealed that the only way Spider-Man will end up in an "X-Men" film is when they completely run out of ideas.

"I think it will take a moment in which we've run out of ideas," he explained. "There's so much to tell about Spider-Man. There's so much to tell about the Sinister Six. The relationship between Spider-Man and Venom will bring a whole other world in."

Arad continued: "In the toy business we used to make toys glow in the dark when they weren't selling well and it gave at least another Christmas. We don't need it yet."

Producer Matt Tolmach added that as soon as Spider-Man leaves his world and joins the "X-Men" or the "Avengers" franchises, it will feel like a gimmick. "If you were to do that, Spider-Man in the 'Avengers' is a stunt," he said. "When you think about the Sinister Six and you think about Venom and you think about Carnage, they feel like they're built for Spider-Man. That's where his story needs to go and wants to go and it has to be about more than a stunt."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 10:32:00 PM

"is when they completely run out of ideas."


So ten years ago, then?
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 10:38:38 PM

"Arad continued: "In the toy business we used to make toys glow in the dark when they weren't selling well and it gave at least another Christmas. We don't need it yet.""




Awesome. People from the toy business making movies, and then comparing the two industries like making art and making junk intended for bath time and a child's various orifices naturally have much in common.

Perhaps one day I can get a Marvel movie with my Happy Meal. Seems to be the trend.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 10:45:20 PM

@mink
Well they know Spider-Man is losing steam. They have to build encouragement. The last one didn't sell as well, it did sell really well in comparison to others, but it just was a carbon-copy of the original. After seeing the original cast of X-Men return I wouldn't be surprised if Macguire got a call soon because you still have that audience from the original franchise watching this. This wasn't like Batman where they waited almost ten years. This was barely 5. You need at least a decade because of the desire to build a new generation out of kids who becomes teenagers.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 10:54:50 PM

^ word!!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:04:52 PM

@Crambo
How dare you?! He was a DOUCHEBAG shy nerd idiot in the reboot! LOL
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:14:09 PM

Correction: "Marvel Comics movie"....because someone might think I think Spiderman/X-Men are "Marvel" films when they're in fact "Marvel Comics" films...
boogiel writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:14:17 PM

When They Run Out of Ideas = when the cash cow have gone completely dry.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:19:57 PM

"f*ck spiderman and f*ck worstpreviews "


This place could be great. It has an open, free-for-all attitude which encourages communication and fun, whereas most movie news sites are heavily modded such that if you fart, you get perma-banned.

The REAL problem is the f*cker running the place, and I'd get into why and whatnot but you and the others really don't give a sh*t about this little issue, or anything else outside sex and money, to be perfectly candid, so I'll spare you and myself the trouble.

The point being is that WP could be a decent enough site if the dude running it weren't such a greedy, mindless c*nt, but there's nothing I or anyone can do about him and his lazy, loser mentality, short of running him down on his way to the synagogue or PetCo.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:25:08 PM

@mink
As you said in the Michael Fassbender post...if the world was right yes this place be awesome. Heck I'd run one for the privilege of allowing a truly awesome forum where people can be more than cheerleaders for every f*cking piece of garbage that "graces" the big screen. Still, it is pretty cool compared to others where it's mostly housewives who watch reality shows...about other housewives. LOL
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:32:42 PM

"really ? then why 'the amazing spiderman' was a rehash of sam raimi's first movie ? what's left to tell ? every movie is the same...peter parker is the shy idiot nerd who can't get laid and then when he becomes spiderman his entire personality changes miraculously."



"Well they know Spider-Man is losing steam. They have to build encouragement. The last one didn't sell as well, it did sell really well in comparison to others, but it just was a carbon-copy of the original."








You two are completely right, of course, and all of us, including myself, have spent much time lamenting how the first film is nothing but a retread of Raimi's first and second installment.

The problem then, with Spiderman, isn't just a lack of originality, so let's be honest: Spiderman is nothing but a thin parable on the ancient coming of age cliche. Zits, shyness, premature ejaculation, the works. In between bouts of all this adolescent bullsh*t, Spidey tucks a badguy into a paddy wagon. Not much more there in terms of material, so much that even Raimi was still milking that "you shot my uncle!" line in his third film, which meant that even he, a director and writer of considerable imagination, had run out of material by the end of Spiderman 2. So how the hell is Webb, oh helmer of 500 Days of Summer, going to do any better?

Face it: there's not much to Spiderman. It's an analogy for adolescence, and it's marketed to that audience alone, and there's not much else one can so with it without venturing into James Cameron's script-land of R-Rated blood and guts, and that's not going to happen because then what would all the fifteen year-old emosexuals do with their Friday nights? Knit Marilyn Manson sweaters?

minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:37:05 PM

"that has such a big hard on for spiderman and other comic book movie news."


As you likely know, it's about money and traffic. That's it. WP's traffic has shrunk, as I've posted many times, because the guy running it relied too heavily on massive ads people now easily block and posters who now have jobs instead of pounding this place with comments.

So Alex compensates by filling up the news with sh*t he knows young idiots with disposable cash will click on. Period. End of story.

Clicks=adverts viewed=cash paid.

QED.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2014 at 11:47:26 PM

Pretty lady.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:10:22 AM

@mink
Hey Spider-Man is a spectacular comic book with tons of concepts to it. And let's remember, the producers got involved in Spider-Man 3. If Raimi were given more control it would have been spectacular and you know it. The problem isn't the source material, but the people handling it who don't know how to utilize it. Even X-Men: DOFP had to rely on a very popular, "everyone knows it" story arc to make it seem more like a comic book series as opposed to the others that were more rooted in down to earth elements. Now we got sentinels flying around. And Singer even admits to not having read the comics before he signed on for it. Look at the best superhero films. Most of them were directed by comic book fans. Iron Man, Spider-Man 1 and 2, Avengers, and, in my argument, Captain America's films. They were done by people who understand the material or the type of material it was. It took Singer 14 years to make one that utilized more extreme elements of the comics. We need comic book geeks like Whedon and Raimi to handle this stuff. I already know Avengers 2 will be great because you got people who love the material working on it. Amazing Spider-Man 2 and X-Men could be good movies, but not necessarily good comic book films.
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:18:04 AM

@Sleuth: there may be more to it, but the character concept is simple and thin, as Rambo said. Sure, there's other villains and other plots, but at the end of the day, a comic book movie for adolescents is going to focus on the adolescent aspects of Spiderman, not his more adult incarnations and experiences, thus the story is forever shoehorned betweenst tribbling teen angst and him fighting someone he knows gone supermagically rogue.

Bah.


minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:20:29 AM



minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:23:00 AM




Lick the clit? Click the link.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:27:35 AM

Tanman likes ^
Tanman likes a lot.

Also. f*ck spiderman. That is all.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:30:11 AM

Now thats some red and blue i can get into
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:30:28 AM

No you cant
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:30:38 AM

f*ckoff
Cannon writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:41:51 AM


Here's an idea, then: run out of ideas.

minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 12:47:54 AM

Anyway, I'm out, which means Cress can once again feel safe enough to post his unfunny dribbling drivel and constant badmouthing of old men who have lived a thousand times his pointless, wasted sub-existence.

You know, because nothing says "winner" or "admirable" like forty-year old anonymous internet failures taking cheap shots at extremely-successful, still-working septua- and octogenarian millionaire celebrities churning out movies arguably better than webcam selfies of middle-aged losers gripping dripping dirty diapers.

f*ckhead.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 1:12:55 AM

I'll drink to that!
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 1:46:42 AM

Good to know that what the fans want is only a "stunt" to the big wigs at Marvel.

I swear get these asshats out of the decision making process, and let some of the actual comic book writers like Bendis and Brubaker oversee Marvel licenses.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 2:03:05 AM

Do you want the big gun or the good package?
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 2:35:29 AM

Wow, I love her personality ^
cress writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 7:56:09 AM

Ahh...Mink finds it necessary to sling jabs at me in a thread I wasn't even in. Congratulations, c*cksucker! And as to your assertions in the Eastwood thread. ..

Get your facts straight, dipsh*t. I go days, sometimes a week or more, without commenting. You comment everyday, because your life revolves around this pathetic website. This is a sh*thole website and your are King Turd of sh*t Mountain. I'm laughing at the superior intellect.


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 3:05:30 PM

Nice to know that the House of Ideas endorsed the following smart "ideas":

Wolverine: Origin
Spiderman III
Electra
Punisher
X Men: The Last Stand
Blade: Trinity
Hulk
Ghost Rider
Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance
The Punisher
Nick Fury: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.
Man Thing
Daredevil
Fantastic Four
Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer
Captain America
Fantastic Four (1990)
The Amazing Spiderman

.... Yep. Definitely the House of Ideas.
PutmansPussy writes:
on April 19th, 2014 at 10:11:26 PM

^^ Jesus that's the most depressing list I've seen on a long time. I think what we need is a twisted little gem of a superhero movie like the crow or darkman. These popcorn marvel films do jack sh*t for me at all
Doucheception writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 1:59:07 AM

So in after The Sinister 6 flops?
Cody Fairless-Lee writes:
on April 22nd, 2014 at 7:54:39 PM

Okay, f*ck the X-MEN and f*ck THE AVENGERS! Sony's SPIDER-MAN franchise is the only good Marvel movie franchise and it does not need to be connected to those other franchises!!!! >:(

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved