WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond

Posted: April 14th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James BondSubmit Comment
While promoting his upcoming "The Love Punch" heist film, Pierce Brosnan spoke about playing James Bond in "Goldeneye," "Tomorrow Never Dies," "The World is Not Enough," and "Die Another Day."

"I felt I was caught in a time warp between Roger [Moore] and Sean [Connery]," he said. "It was a very hard one to grasp the meaning of, for me. The violence was never real; the brute force of the man was never palpable. It was quite tame, and the characterization didn’t have a follow-through of reality -- it was surface. But then that might have had to do with my own insecurities in playing him as well."

When asked if he ever rewatched his Bond films, Brosnan replied: "I have no desire to watch myself as James Bond. Because it's just never good enough -- it's a horrible feeling."

Source: Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 9:44:09 PM

Whatever. He was the best Bond imo, and his films are vastly more watchable and entertaining than those of Sean Connery and Daniel Cragface.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:10:04 PM

After Die Another Day, I knew he was done. He was looking old for Bond and that surfboard scene was just ridiculous. I loved Goldeneye, one of my favorite bond films. It's the first I remember watching and I thought he was a great Bond. It might have also have something to due with the fact that I played Goldeneye 64 for months. The sequel movies were never as good.
Dirt writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:19:47 PM

It's not his fault, they were all written horrendously after Goldeneye.

Craig is the best Bond though.
Electro Rock writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:29:37 PM

Am I the only one who enjoyed Dalton as bond?

Or is this the part where i get pelted with produce?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:36:19 PM

@mink
I argue Craig is a competent version but the problem is that they try to turn every character into an action star. Bond had action moments but he didn't run around for two hours. There used to be build. Now it's just, time to run for another 10 minutes! Honestly I think the new Bond films basically took the Bourne movies and just made it Bond. I notice similarities now that I think about it.
Cannon writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:36:37 PM


The World is Not Enough is my 2nd favorite Bond entry. Others may find this perplexing to downright blasphemy, but I think that movie is highly underrated, and a very effective mix of action, mood and character conflicts.

GoldenEye is also in my Top 10.

So there.

Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:49:33 PM

at least he knows it
Cannon writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 10:58:16 PM

In truth, Brosnan has always seemed rather smug and callous, or at least indifferent, towards his gig as Bond, even way back during interviews from the mid 90s.

That, in part, is what I like so much about his version of the character: Brosnan's Bond really is kind of a d*ck, but he also gets the job done. That what makes him so cool.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 11:02:05 PM

anyone is better than roger leather muppet moore
OneTime writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 11:06:48 PM

still love goldeneye..

maybe its cause i playin it on n64 like a crackhead.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 11:35:52 PM

Goldeneye is definitely the best Bond film in my opinion.
boogiel writes:
on April 14th, 2014 at 11:47:48 PM

In fairness, I never blamed Brosnan. The writers should have been strung up though!
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 12:48:33 AM

Not even going to read this
He's a modest absurdist

Or an absurd modesto

The opening scene to Goldeneye is classic and made the ten year gap worth the wait

Shame they took damn near all the movies off NF
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 3:12:49 AM

For my own personal lack of watching any other actors portray bond I have to say Daniel Craig is my fav over Brosnan. I watched Die Another Day in theaters when I was Ten

I've only watched the last 5 or so bond films. They have them for $5 each at many local stores. I've always planned on starting from the beginning and buying them all.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 3:21:30 AM

Think it will always be hard to see yourself in such a role and I really think Brosnan is the best so far, unfortunately the movies suffered from story problems.
In Die another day Bond was almost a superhuman with far out action and crazy gadgets as well !
Really like Goldeneye and The world is not enough but Tomorrow never Dies was halfassed allthough it followed the classic Bond-recipe.
@Electro
Dalton was good and fit the role in the 80īs and itīs good to see how each actor was right for the job in each timeperiod.
60īs -Connery
70īs - Moore
80īs - Dalton
90īs - Brosnan
Quidd writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 6:28:21 AM

Brosnan will always BE Bond for me. Goldeneye was my favorite film as a kid, as well as the N64 game. Brosnan just rocked that classy charming Bond better then the rest, and didn't need the action bullsh*t that Craig needs. The other three were meh, but Goldeneye will probably forever be my favorite bond film, then Goldfinger/Casino Royal.
Quidd writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 6:30:11 AM

@BJ

You forgot George Lazenby in 1969
Imation writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 6:40:29 AM

Lazenby is my favorite.
Stapes writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 6:53:04 AM

Meh, I always thought Dalton was better as well.
TheAmicko writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 7:41:57 AM

@Porn : It was only a 6 year gap from Dalton to Brosnan. Again i agree a lot with Sleuth. The new bond movies needs the gadgets and the magic. Bond is supposed to be a little over the top (not to much as moonraker etc. though) Pierce seem like a top notch guy and is way to modest (i do believe him though in that he did not feel he did it good enough) That is bullsh*t. Goldeneye is one of the best Bond films ever. The rest is pretty bad (liked Robert Carlyle as the villain in TWINE though)because of the writers. The reason they couldn't make the violence more realistic is because they followed the old school bond pg13 recipe.
TheAmicko writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 7:48:13 AM

Now you can show more in a pg rating than in the old days.
Just googled Moonraker rating. it had a pg/A rating.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 8:49:16 AM

I've never really had a problem with any of the actors playing Bond. Connery will always be the best imo. Even growing up way after his era was over, his films were still very appealing from a style and substance standpoint to me as a kid. Connery was the first serial action star imo so he'll always carry more weight and bravado in the character than any other actor.

Pierce was always meant to play the part and probably would have been second best to Connery if he didn't have the bad luck of getting the role when the Flemming material was just running out. They were making sh*t up on the fly in the Brosnon era and that's why every of line was some terrible pun and the plots were so redundant. Pierce did his best with sh*tty material and probably deserves more credit for working with so little. He still managed to make Golden Eye and Tomorrow Never Dies two of the best non-Sean installment in the franchise. And Die Another Day is still a guilty pleasure of mine. Best opening sequence of any Bond film imo.
TheAmicko writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 10:27:22 AM

Tomorrow never dies? You thought that was one of the best bond films sac???
MurphBucket writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 10:59:46 AM

SHAME ON ALL OF YOU!!! SEAN CONNERY IS BOND! pierce should have been Robin Hood. The fact that none of you like Sean Connery just proves that none of you deserve a voice because you don't have all of the information. There is a reason that there are 25 bond movies. Those first ones with Connery caused such a riff that it is still going on. Connery is Bond. And everyone else has tried to duplicate it. Don't get me wrong I like all of the bonds in their own way, but Connery is a God in my book.
WallyDee writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 11:24:54 AM

@Mink

I agree! He was f*cking awesome! Not saying he was the best but like you said his Bond movies were all very entertaining, even Die Another Day.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 1:51:42 PM

Yeah I liked Tomorrow Never Dies a lot. Had the best stunts and action of the Brosnan era imo.

@Murph: you're not alone on Connery. You just didn't read enough of the comments.
minkowski writes:
on April 15th, 2014 at 9:46:44 PM

All I know is although Connery did a fairly decent Bond, his performance leaves a lot to be desired, thanks in part to a heavy accent that's clearly better suited to Highlander than Bond.

After all, Bond is supposed to be English IIRC, not Scottish, but that's how Connery sounds. He simply doesn't carry the genteel refinement of the upper echelons of English society. Brosnan does.

I also hate the Connery films. They're just terrible, terrible, terrible. One chick after another is murdered, but only after ridiculously running around in her underwear for no damned reason.

If anything, Brosnan's films added polish and sophistication, and made them more than just quick renditions of Fleming's cheap dime novels.
Bane 54321 writes:
on April 16th, 2014 at 1:32:28 AM

''The violence was never real..
it was quite tame ''

shooting Vincent Schiavelli in the head ?

head butting sean bean ?

stabbing Gotz Otto in the chest ?



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved