WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Says "Batman vs Superman" or "Captain America 3" Must Change Its Release Date

Posted: April 8th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Says "Batman vs Superman" or "Captain America 3" Must Change Its Release DateSubmit Comment
When it was announced that Warner Bros moved its "Batman vs Superman" film to May 6th, 2016, it created a bit of a stir since Marvel is planning to release "Captain America 3" on the same date.

Just yesterday, Marvel commented on the situation, revealing that it will not budge from the date. Now, Dan Fellman, president of domestic distribution for Warner Bros also made a comment.

"It doesn't make a lot of sense for two huge superhero films to open on the same date, but there is a lot of time between now and [May 16th, 2016]," he said. "However, at this time, we are not considering a change of date for 'Batman vs. Superman.'"

Just as expected, it seems that Marvel and Warner Bros will play a game of chicken. Warner Bros probably feels confidant that Marvel will back down, but Marvel just scored big with "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" and may feel that Warner Bros will have no choice but to back down. Stay tuned.

Source: Bloomberg


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 9:44:34 PM

@DC: you're a pack of inbred loser morons. YOU move. You're the one with the failed movie franchises and the halting, erratic production schedule. Or stay where you are and get the f*ck run down. Your choice.

Losers.
Cannon writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 9:48:28 PM


What a bunch of babies: "They, they can't do that! It's not fair!"

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 9:51:49 PM

Mink- You took the words outta my mouth. DC is ran buy a bunch of Jack f*ck's who have no clue what they are doing.
Electro Rock writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 9:58:55 PM

Cue Beat It by Michael Jackson.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:09:39 PM

If it takes two years to pull together batman vs superman then I dont want to see it. Marvels got DC by the balls
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:16:35 PM

^^You mean by the ovaries.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:20:53 PM

Bazinga

No in all seriousness good one Hermann
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:21:50 PM

At this rate, Captain America 3 will smite Affleck meets Superman. WB will say uncle and move.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:25:58 PM

@Biz: don't complement me, thank DC for having such a huge p*ssy.

Speaking of "huge p*ssy", here's van Damme auditioning for Predator in original costume:

https://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-news/see-jean-claude-van-damme-suit-up-for-original--predator-172653785.html




(one for the cinema history books, I guess)
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:33:23 PM

Cry uncle*
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:34:15 PM

sounds pretty solid, i'm siding with marvel...DC had a wild card, but not now...marvel just threw down a draw four wild and said 'UNO BITCHES!!'
boogiel writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:50:04 PM

Oooh the staring contest intensifies. My guess WB/DC will blink first if TWS beats MOS's box office numbers.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:53:47 PM

@Badchad: didn't see your post, and I totally agree with you.

So my bad, Chad.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 10:56:14 PM

Boogiel: dunno, but Captain America has already made 308 mil versus Man of Steel's 668 mil total.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:00:49 PM

I don't mean to disagree but I think Captain America 3 should move. Not to sound like I'm supporting DC, but I feel it's the best move for Cap Merica 3. I don't think I'm being far fetched when I say BVS will be most likely making more money on this date.

That's just the way I see it. From a money making standpoint, 'merica should back off, but by all means fight for the date until you can't anymore.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:02:11 PM

Also: Won $250 at the casino tonight. Hookers and blow or Savings account. Vote!
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:19:52 PM

@tan

Put it in savings for Planes:Fire&Rescue merch.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:21:45 PM

@mink

Let's face it man. It's not just their schedules. Marvel is dedicated to the actual material of their films. Warner Bros. approaches it strictly as a business venture. Also Marvel keeps switching out directors which I was hesitant at first about but it allows the stories to feel like they grow and progress. They also plan this sh*t out. Assuming they have movies scheduled to 2018 or whatever that means they already have set places for what comes next. Warner Bros. is not to blame more than the fact that Marvel is specifically dedicated to their superhero films whereas Warner Bros. just owns the rights and are not allowed to use various parts of the characters. Wasn't that a big issue about not being able to use Superman's origin story or something?
Tanman32I23 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:25:52 PM

Well, just to clarify, by "hookers and blow", I actually meant that I'll be hiring male prostitutes and then I'll be blowing them, lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:28:00 PM

@Deaft
Hell now I can aford to get two copys!

For those who missed it. Below is my mini Reviews of Captain America, The Winter Soldier:

- Saw Captain America: The Winter soldier today. It was good but not as good as everyone making it seem to be. I found the action scenes to be pretty kick-ass but considerably unrealistic. I'm not going into examples but I'm sure you know what I mean.

Other then that the story was great and everything. I hadn't seen the first I know very little on his character or the stories of his past, but they did a good job of allowing you to still follow the story even if you don't know said knowledge.

-SPOILER-

I was a bit shocked at the death of Fury In the opening half, but was just as surprise when it was revealed he faked his death. Mainly because I knew damn well Sam Jackson had already signed on for Avengers 2.

Anyways.. I'd give the film a solid 7.5 out of Ten and say its one of the better films in the Marvel Cinematic universe.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:28:40 PM

@Fake Tanman

Lol you bastard
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:31:17 PM

@Sleuth: interesting post, so let me distill what you've said down to a simple sentence, if I may: Disney/Marvel is carving out stone empires upon mountain tops, while DC is building turd-castles by the sea.

Or perhaps: DC is a punch-drunk retard black guy heaving insults inside a redneck biker bar, and the Disney/Marvel gang just parked their twenty Harleys outside for a long, good drink and a few games of pool.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:35:28 PM

@mink
LOL Well smartass what I meant is that Marvel handles only it's superhero films whereas Warner Bros. doesn't have a company that specifically handles their poorly- conceived DC Cinematic Universe.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:37:07 PM

minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:41:28 PM

@Sleuth: you have a point, but Disney does more than make Marvel films. They have their own in-house garbage, they oversee and control Pixar's mass-produced CGI stuff, they're now doing Star Wars, they have an entire cable station, plus toys, merchandise, worldwide amusement parks, and on and on.

I would say then that although WB isn't solely dedicated to DC, they should have the time and resources to ensure that one of their flagship properties doesn't brazenly flounder to the jubilant howls of the entire Internet. They can do that much, at least, at yet, they are not, and that, ladies and gentlemen, is mismanagement of rather Homeric proportions.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:45:55 PM

*and
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:53:30 PM

@mink
Well my guess is Disney lets Marvel do it's thing on it's own since they were in production of the MCU before Disney bought them. Interesting they didn't interfere like they did with Pixar films but don't question it I say. Also warner Bros. is trying to reboot two franchises for the THIRD TIME each. Superman was done by Reeves and Routh, granted Routh was supposed to be in sames timeline as Reeves but it was handled slightly different. And Batman...do we need to go through that cinematic timeline of all the different versions they've covered? They have beat those two to death whereas Marvel is covering heroes most haven't even heard of in the general public. Everyone even said how Iron Man was not one of their biggest sellers compared to Spider-Man, X-Men, and so on. They hit audiences with heroes they weren't expecting to see and they took their time so all of them left a good first impression and have built off those first impressions gradually but intelligently.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 8th, 2014 at 11:55:05 PM

It doesn't make a lot of sense for two huge superhero films to open on the same date

nobody likes a whiner

Google/Microsoft
CalTech/M.I.T
Coke/Pepsi
McDonalds/everyone else

Competition is necessary for the advancement of the human race,moron
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:12:25 AM

^^More like Microsoft versus Oracle, Sun, and Netscape. Plus the DOJ. Plus Apple.

minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:17:28 AM

@Sleuth: Had WB possessed a brain, they would have spun part of their company off into DC Studios, giving DC the reins to control their own properties, while of source demanding DC answer to WB's shareholders.

Had they gone that direction, DC would have its own studio with which to compete with Marvel instead of relying on the hapless auspices of WB, who apparently has no clue whatsoever how to handle comic book properties.

So the first step would be to either spin DC off into a full-fledged studio in its own right, or sell the damned thing to a studio who will let DC control their properties according to their own culture and artistic vision.

WB's gross mismanagement and ineptitude has really fubar'ed DC's CU.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:18:38 AM

*course.
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:22:54 AM

Playstation is hiring,btw

This is a great opportunity for you to join our team of experienced artists and work with us to deliver our next-generation environments."

The Environment Art Contractor role involves:

Creating high-quality 3D environment assets, texturing and lighting to schedule times.

Modelling, shading, texturing in Maya.

High-detail sculpting in ZBrush and the baking-down to in-game process.

Experience of middleware solutions such as Unreal Engine would be extremely advantageous.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:26:48 AM

^^Pffft. I can't even get work with Sony's gaming tech support company up here in Mira Mesa. I think they said I wasn't friendly enough.


@Pornfly: thanks for reminding me. I need to go download Unreal Engine 4.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:48:33 AM

@mink
Yeah pretty much that is what needs to be done but Warner Bros. doesn't own DC I believe. They work with them to make versions of their stories but I don't think they own them exclusively unless I missed that.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:51:09 AM

@Sleuth: According to Wikipedia, WB owns DC

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DC_Comics

"DC Comics, Inc. is one of the largest and most successful companies operating in the market for American comic books and related media. It is the publishing unit of DC Entertainment, a company of Warner Bros. Entertainment, which itself is owned by Time Warner."
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:53:22 AM

so:

DC Comics << DC Entertainment << WB << TW.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 12:55:38 AM

What he truly meant : "we know you're going to Cap USA 3 and we know Bats vs Steelman is going to be sh*t but we want Marvel to change their date to allow us a chance. Please? Come onnnnnn."
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 1:12:53 AM

"It doesn't make a lot of sense for two huge superhero films to open on the same date"


Two? Well there's Captain America 3, and then there's Chin and Thin: The Movie.

Not really sure the last one is a "huge" comic book movie, unless "epic failure" is now a measure of a film's size...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 1:16:47 AM

@mink
Well like you said, they would have to have brains to forge DC Studios...so don't expect it anytime soon. LOL
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 1:31:22 AM

@Sleuth: Yep. Brains. And courage and heart. Seems they're lacking all three.



That's Man of Steel in the ruby slippers.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 1:34:15 AM

It's very clear that Marvel is beating DC and I'm a big fan of the Marvel movies and how they connected their films. But I'm thinking Marvel should move. DC is in All-or-Nothing mode, they have nothing successful in motion yet other than BvS. More than likely that BvS might not do so well, which then Marvel wins again and DC goes back to reboot. But what if, and itís a HUGE IF, BvS is a big hit. Then Marvel takes a small hit. I know itís a very small chance but I donít see why Marvel would put CA3 at a small risk for this weekend. I havenít looked up on what makes that weekend so popular other than maybe summer break is near. They can move it and probably make a bit more money. Because thatís pretty much what it all comes down to, and maybe some bragging rights.
Either way Iím going to watch both films. Captain America 3 will do great Iím sure. But I hope BvS performs great at the box office because DC needs to get that ball moving.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 1:37:42 AM

ksplatt writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 11:26:15 AM

I say release them the same date and see which one out-performs the other on the same night. People will pay to see both anyway.
vincere01 writes:
on April 9th, 2014 at 10:07:30 PM

@mink

I think it would be prudent to wait. Especially considering both guardians and antman could easily slide into the bomb fiasco territory before these movies come in 2016.

If they both bomb, which id say is more likely than not, it could considerably change this discussion.

If they do bomb, or even just break even or minor profit than marvel will be more likely to move the date. They will be more cautious not wanting to chance wb taking market share.

They could back off to not lose even more money.

Batman/supe will make 700 mil + if its good or not

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved