WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Letterman is Retiring Next Year

Posted: April 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Letterman is Retiring Next YearSubmit Comment
With the face of late-night talk shows getting younger and younger, David Letterman has now announced that he will retire from CBS' "The Late Show" next year.

"The man who owns this network, Leslie Moonves, he and I have had a relationship for years and years and years, and we have had this conversation in the past, and we agreed that we would work together on this circumstance and the timing of this circumstance," explained Letterman. "And I phoned him just before the program, and I said 'Leslie, it's been great, you've been great, and the network has been great, but I'm retiring.'"

He continued: "We don't have the timetable for this precisely down I think it will be at least a year or so, but sometime in the not too distant future, 2015 for the love of God, in fact, Paul and I will be wrapping things up."

As of next year, Letterman will have hosted "The Late Show" for 22 years. He put in 11 years as host of NBC's "Late Night" before famously being passed over at NBC for Johnny Carson's job on "The Tonight Show" over Carson's objection. Letterman has worked on more than 6,000 episodes during his long career. The combination of his NBC and CBS runs makes him the longest-serving late-night host in history, surpassing Carson's 30-year tenure.

Regarding who will replace Letterman... Craig Ferguson has been in contract talks with CBS in recent months as his current deal is believed to expire later this year. He has a clause in his contract that calls for him to either succeed Letterman or get a payout from CBS.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DarthMaul writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 9:25:54 AM

Mink is a child molester
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 10:08:24 AM

when i was too young to stay up late
all you heard was talk about what Dave did or what Dave said to some smug celebrity

now he's just there
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 10:08:45 AM

not anymore^
PORN-FLY writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 10:09:34 AM

HA,wutta funny guy!^
Raider writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 10:47:20 AM

David Letterman is kind of a hack so it's good he's retiring.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 1:02:27 PM

Glad that Leno finally retired cuz to me Jimmy Fallon has been killing it. He comes across as someone who is actually appreciative of his status and is genuinely enthused when he talks to his guest plus tha fact that he's near my age makes everything he does so much relatable. As far as Letterman's replacement good luck. I tried to watch Craig Ferguson, but just didn't find him funny. Maybe I'll give em another chance, but it's gonna be hard to compete with the 2 Jimmys *no homo*
vincere01 writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 5:06:13 PM

Dave, outside of a few moments here and there, has been the driest most unfunny late night host in history. And that paul guy, ugly as sh*t just like dave and not funny either.

Id rather watch pete holmes than dave and petes only made 40 or so shows so far following conan on tbs.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 10:37:20 PM

Good.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 4th, 2014 at 11:22:14 PM

Peters tie peters tieeee
M.Bullitt writes:
on April 5th, 2014 at 5:54:18 AM

I wonder if Letterman f*cks Paul between commercials? I find Letterman very handsome.

Cheers
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 5th, 2014 at 1:41:28 PM

First Leno leaves the Tonight Show, then Letterman retires ?

... I would've said this was a coincidence, but really ... way to anally rape Lame Leno in the ol' sheriff's badge, Dave.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 5th, 2014 at 1:42:16 PM

Conan finally had his revenge. Too bad those Jay Leno voodoo dolls he ordered are non-refundable.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 5th, 2014 at 1:43:40 PM

It's interesting that Fallon has made the Tonight Show more interesting in his short tenure than Lame-O did through his whole time stealing, I mean hosting the Tonight Show.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved