WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Thor's Hammer Weighs as Much as 97 Million Titanics, According to Science

Posted: March 25th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
ThorSubmit Comment
About a year ago, astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson was asked how much he thinks Thor's hammer, Mjolnir, weights. Tyson replied that since it was made of netron-star matter, it weights as much as 300 billion elephants, which is 4.5 quadrillion (4,500,000,000,000,000) pounds.

Now, a new video exploring the science behind Thor's weapon, claims that if Mjolnir was real, it would weight closer to 10 quadrillion tons, which is as much as 97 million Titanics condensed into the size of an American football.

The video explains that a sugar cube-sized piece of material from a dying neutron star is equal to the mass of the entire human population. The hammer is so heavy, that if Thor dropped it, it would sink all the way through the Earth's crust and into its core, which would create damage equal to that of the asteroid that wiped out the dinosaurs.

But Thor doesn't need to drop Mjolnir to destroy everything on Earth. Just by existing, its gravitation pull would be so strong that it would attract anything within 100-foot radius and contain a force that would rip a human being into shreds.

Video:


Source: Gizmodo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sedibus writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 6:55:29 AM

ooooooohhhh, sh*t, here we go again. I mean, c'mon.
M.Bullitt writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 7:33:49 AM

^Sleazy f*ck
M.Bullitt writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 7:34:55 AM

@sedibus sorry mate again the f*cking meds. I am a f*cking inbred c*nt just like JB.

Apologies

Cheers.
jaredhamline writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 8:01:48 AM

That's funny. The wife and I watched the sequel finally the other night and Thor put his hammer on a coat rack and it stayed. It must've been one of those fancy new Ikea models that can stand the weight of several Titanics.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 8:34:30 AM

Maybe they should do another study...

What makes grown ass men of think imaginary objects & guess their exaggerated weight?!!

Maybe we should ask their mothers to go down to their basement & ask them!!
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 9:19:06 AM

"97 million Titanics condensed into the size of an American football."

You don't have to say "American" football, just football. Everyone knows that European sh*t doesn't count.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 9:47:17 AM

@Cannon


Is that right? Allow me to enlight you: it's in the title. Football as we kick the ball with the foot while you're carying an odd shape of a ball for 4 hours and eventually you'll kick it but most of the time carrying it and then your're throwing it. We invented football way before you stole the bloody name.


John Cleese will explain it to you far more better than me:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2sD_8prYOxo
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 10:24:55 AM

Well good for it.
DarthMaul writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 10:43:18 AM

f*ck Minkowski the wretched slime ball
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 11:46:14 AM


Bullitt, don't make me bomb you.

BlackDynamite writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 11:50:46 AM

Lol Cannon, as an American, I can surely tell you that Football is a much more popular sport around the world than American Football, and it's also not just a European sport, its big in Africa and Asia as well, hence the World Cup.

As a matter of fact, nearly every facet of "American Football" is uncreative. It stole the name from Futbol, and the gameplay from Rugby.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 11:52:03 AM

On topic however, who cares about how much Thor's hammer would weigh according to science? there have been so many times Thor's dropped his hammer, and it didn't destroy the world.

And if his hammer weighed that much, how could Thor pick it up, or the Hulk?
insightlessness writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 12:05:23 PM

Pretty sure it's just netron coated.
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 12:10:05 PM


Yeah, but here's the thing: America invented Christmas and pizza and blowjobs and the Nintendo Power Glove and freedom and the periodic table and most other things in life that actually matter.

So I don't really give a sh*t what other countries call their silly ball kicking sports.

BlackDynamite writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 1:02:12 PM

Lol cannon, know i know you're kidding. The Power Glove was a huge piece of sh*t
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 1:12:57 PM

Ugh, that's all fascinating and all, and certainly a child could calculate the mass of a hammer if it were made of neutron stellar material, but where do they get the idea Mjolnir is made of highly compressed stellar material?
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 1:26:53 PM

Do I dare ask the inevitable question of Who gives a f*ck?
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 1:59:49 PM

Who gives a f*ck? Apparently some "astrophysicist" who never seems to do any real work, outside criticizing crappy movies.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 3:19:49 PM

@Cannon

You're gonna "bomb" me. All right! Let's see how that works.

Stating that football is European sh*t is not very smart. What are you on so early?
TrentReznik writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 3:59:32 PM

Well, it's not that heavy. I borrowed it once to re-shingle my roof, Thor was pissed when he found out.
jamieC writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 4:32:30 PM

Bullitt says - "as we kick the ball with the foot"

Dude has never kicked a played a game in his life by that line alone.

Man up mcqueen and show some knowledge, dont let the english down with our greatest export!
M.Bullitt writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 9:32:41 PM

@Cannon

In a nutshell I think you are a c*nt. I hate America and all it stands for.

Cheers
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 10:22:07 PM

So do I.
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 10:34:41 PM


@Bullitt

I think you might be taking me just a tad too seriously.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 25th, 2014 at 10:43:05 PM

Neil, the next time they ask you how much Thor's hammer weighs ask them " How small is your f*cking brain ? It's a f*cking prop in a movie, you jackass!!!! "

Case in point ... if it weighed 10 quadrillion tons, how would a f*cking coat rack hold it up ?

Fucccccck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved