WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Bruce Wayne and Catwoman in Batman Prequel TV Series "Gotham"

Posted: March 22nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Bruce Wayne and Catwoman in Batman Prequel TV Series "Gotham"Submit Comment
The upcoming "Gotham" TV series, which is a prequel to the "Batman" franchise, is still shooting in New York City. And today we have new set photos of Bruce Wayne (David Mazouz), Thomas Wayne (Grayson McCouch), Martha Wayne (Brette Taylor), Harvey Bullock (Donal Logue), James Gordon (Ben McKenzie) and 14-year-old actress Camren Bicondova as Selina Kyle/Catwoman. Check everything out below.

"Gotham" follows James Gordon through a dangerously corrupt city teetering on the edge of evil and his first major case, which is the murder of Thomas and Martha Wayne. The TV series will also chronicle the birth of one of the most popular super heroes of our time, Batman.

"Gotham" has yet to announce a debut date.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:40:19 AM

Everyday this show goes forward another step is another day I watch in amazement it's actually happening,
WV-Films writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:42:17 AM

A batman show without Batman.... Soon to be followed by a James Bond movie without James Bond, and hopefully a Ninja Turtles movie without Ninja Turtles...
boogiel writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:45:23 AM

That Bicondova girl surely looks a lot like a young Michelle Pfeifer. That or a MiniMe version of her.
sleepingshane writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 9:58:15 AM

who wants to watch bruce wane when he 14 years old no gadgets and cant fight, and catwoman stealing milk what a redundant series this will be.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 10:05:43 AM

Keep the Batman villains out and stay with the mob.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 10:51:01 AM

AWww
Mazouz's first boner
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 11:40:30 AM

I think it could be a decent show. Wait until it actually airs ya shmucks.
raza12 writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 12:14:23 PM

While subjected to the horrors of Gotham City, young Selina finds solace by stealing milk.

The Milk Thief

Coming soon.
Tyrkae writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 12:22:18 PM

Got to agree with Badchad keep villains out of it only one MAYBE would be any of the "unknowns" like calendar man, the ventriloquist, victor zsasz, or other small time DC villains
vincere01 writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 12:22:35 PM

My gut tells me they will stick to the more grounded realistic take on the criminal world and police world at least to start.

First few seasons to focus on the police/mob battle while throwing in people like cobblepot before he becomes penguin etc.

I think it could be very interesting to see the cities decent into lawlessness and gordons plight to save it.

I think it will also make good character arcs for bruce, gordon, bullock, and all involved. Show the vilans rise to prominence and how they aquired theyre power. Show gordons path from ideological detective to a cop just trying to stay true to himself in a sea of corruption.

See bullock go from a still honest cop who bends the rules, to becoming a crooked cop and then show how that affects his and gordons relationship (I think that could be crazy good to see).

Show selinas dissolution in the city and its ability to be good and how she becomes the catwoman we know who teters in the edge between bad and good.

Also would be interesting to explore more of bruce growing up in this environment that molds him into the man he becomes, and drives him to become batman. I know its been touched on in the films before but theres still room to explore that.

I think it would also behoove them to add lucious fox into later seasons and show him creating what will eventually become some of batmans gadgets. Maybe have episodes based around someone stealing items from his dept and gordon tracking down the thieves. Etc

I just really think this show has alot of promise and alot of rich stories open to tell. I think theres good reason to be glass half full on this one.

Then again they can execute it so wrong and do nothing like what I described and then it will be horrible. Eh

I also think the series will eventually mold into having batman on the show, maybe skipping years in between seasons idk. Or possibly having the final season be a setup for a spinoff batman series based on batman year one. That could be cool.

I think it could also be a good idea that they do flash forward sequences now and then showing batman, maybe just a scene with batman going against the penguin, just to set up bruce meeting them as a kid. Like a this is when they first meet, and this is what will eventually come from it cool kind of thing.

Also should have affleck as batman cameo the episode before or after his movie comes out. Could be good cross promotion and show that its all connected and cannon
vincere01 writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 12:24:01 PM

Also I believe if/when they bring in vilans I think they will be pre/batman type. As in cobblepot just being a normal guy within the mob and growing in power
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 1:10:58 PM

@vincere

This is not set in the same Batman universe as the Nolan films nor the Snyder one. It's set in it's own.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 4:12:06 PM

Meh. Just another excuse to pander to pre-teens and teenagers like everything else these days.

And I see the resemblance of the little girl to Michelle Pfeiffer.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 4:39:02 PM

I still say Mann and Scorsese should direct early episodes. They both have the right style and attitude. And if Nolan had the time, his name on the pilot would probably ensure this show's first season alone.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 5:10:56 PM

If DC had any brains, they'd attempt to connect all of their live action TV shows into one universe, or tying the Tv universes with the cinematic universes, but that's probably to much work for the dunderheads that run DC.
vincere01 writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 5:46:52 PM

@deaft

I have not seen anything to the effect that this is a standalone not connected to the new movies. They have only said not connected to the nolan ones. I believe this show is intended to be connected to what is coming
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:04:22 PM

@BlackDynamite: that's not a bad idea, but unfortunately one of their biggest pieces of the CU puzzle is Superman, which is tied up in Smallville. So they'd either have to reboot Smallville in some way, or incorporate it into their television microcosm.

Basically this is what happens when you wing it, which is why ad hoc roadmaps aren't roadmaps at all.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:14:14 PM

Marvel really has DC bent over a pew

DC had SO many chances to do what Marvel is doing

sure everybody and their mother is gonna see BvsS
(My money is on sh*t)

but its going to be 2 hours and some change of hot beautiful gahbage

But after all that
DCs got nothin like a 'phase 1,2 or 3' goin on
and if they do
its just thrown together like Dustin's first pocket 'p*ssy'
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:16:57 PM

And by p*ssy you mean melted chocolate in a Swiss roll.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:21:18 PM

@vincere


http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gotham_%28TV_series%29

From the development section:

Speaking of the project at the 2014 winter TCA press tour, Fox president Kevin Reilly described the series as "this operatic soap that has a slightly larger-than-life quality. This is no

t some adjunct companion series. This is the Batman franchise, just backing it up [in chronology."He also added that the series will be separate from any cinematic universe DC is attempting to build with their films.

Link to that article:

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/01/13/foxs-gotham-is-a-batman-origin-story-and-will-have-a-christopher-nolan-esque-tone
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:23:32 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:27:18 PM

^^So the show they haven't made is a companion piece to the Batman series they finished years ago, none of which has anything to do with the incoherent movie they haven't made yet, all of which has nothing to do with any of the other films and shows they've made, like Smallville, Arrow and Green Lantern?



At this point, the only way DC could win the comic book movie war is if Al Qaeda nuked the Epcot Center.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:27:55 PM

@Pornfly, cute, but sick, you sick, sick man.

lol.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:32:15 PM

@mink

Lol, it's not in the same universe as the Nolan films, it's just going to have a similar tone. Sort of like the Arkham games on PS3/360.

That's why I think this series could be decent. Also Donal Logue is always watchable in whatever he does. I wish Terriers on FX had lasted longer than 1 season.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:40:33 PM

@Deaftone: So when he says "This is the Batman franchise, just backing it up [in chronology]", to which "Batman franchise" is he referring?

Certainly can't be the Tim Burton one, because this looks NOTHING like Burton's world, so it must be a "backing up" of Nolan's universe.

Has to be, because there's no other "Batman franchise" out there, and no one refers to comic book series as a "franchise".





In any case, even if you're right, and I don't think you are, that would mean "Gotham" is free-floating out there in the void, essentially connected to nothing else in DC's purview, which is even worse.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:42:56 PM

Maybe he means he's "backing up" the Arkham Asylum "franchise", although most people don't reefer to a game series as a "franchise", especially when all the given games originate from the same publisher.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:48:04 PM

@mink

It can't be connected to the Nolan films if it's going to show villains such as The Riddler and Penguin. Batman never encountered them in the Nolan trilogy and they were never mentioned either.

The Nolan trilogy makes it very clear that Batman only ever encountered Ra'a Al Ghul and Scarecrow, The Joker and Two-Face and then Bane and Catwoman.

If this series depicts a different origin for Harvey Dent becoming Two-Face then obvuously it has no connection to the Nolan-verse.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:48:50 PM

Obviously*
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 6:52:27 PM

I think what he means is chronologically it's following the origins of the villains as depicted in the comics while at the same time showing a young Bruce Wayne and Gordon.

Also if Selena Kyle is Catwoman as a teenager then that is a definite ret-con because she has always been an adult as the character.
OneTime writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 7:20:02 PM

whats wrong with her face
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 7:57:34 PM

@Deaftone: that's not right. He said "franchise", and in terms of motion picture can and does only refer to films. He certainly wasn't talking about comic books.

As for what Nolan did and didn't that's not relevant because it can't be said that something doesn't exist in Nolan's universe simply because he didn't show it, and I certainly doubt that just because Nolan didn't get around to some canon villains doesn't mean that he has disavowed them, nor even if it did would it matter much because it's DC's CU, not his.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:00:36 PM

"Also if Selena Kyle is Catwoman as a teenager then that is a definite ret-con because she has always been an adult as the character."


Well, it certainly excludes Burton's vision, but Nolan's never said she didn't take on the role at some point earlier in life, perhaps as some kind of child play.

Doesn't make sense regardless, but that's what we've come to expect from the Twelve Monkeys helming DC.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:02:50 PM

"The Nolan trilogy makes it very clear that Batman only ever encountered Ra'a Al Ghul and Scarecrow, The Joker and Two-Face and then Bane and Catwoman."



Nolan's universe is just a container. It's not the end-all be all of what can be done with that take on the character and his environs, and certainly DC can expand, backwards and forwards, his vision at will if they so choose. Nothing is stopping them, just as nothing stops anyone else to add onto the universe someone else created, like how Cameron enlarged Ridley's Alien universe.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:04:47 PM

*from adding.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:08:00 PM

This is from the ign article:

Reilly followed up by saying that this would be a serialized show that will function on its own, separate from the Warner Brothers DC cinematic universe. "We own all the rights.That's what we're licencing," he said. "They brought us the entire franchise for a very healthy licence fee. We're not negotiating this piece meal. We have all of the underlying Batman rights for the entire franchise for this series."
He continued, saying, "That's what I like about this, it's not some sort of adjunct companion series. This is the Batman franchise, just backing it up. I think that gives it a real focus as to what the show is about and what stories we're telling."
There will be no connection to the Batman/Bruce Wayne that Ben Affleck will be introducing in Zack Snyder's Man of Steel 2, tentatively titled Batman vs. Superman. "Warner Brothers manages the entire franchise and its one of their top global franchises of all," Reilly said."So there will be an awareness of both and we'll have to coordinate when we're in the market place, but the productions are not piggy-backing off one another."
The series will be in the vein of the grittier tone that Christopher Nolan established in his Dark Knight trilogy, it will be very organic to that world, though Nolan will not have a direct connection to the production.

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/01/13/foxs-gotham-is-a-batman-origin-story-and-will-have-a-christopher-nolan-esque-tone

Similar in tone only, but not in the same universe.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:17:38 PM

@Deaftone: That's great and all, but I'm merely going on what you originally posted, and from that I can (and could) only conclude it's situated inside the same universe as Nolan's Batman.

After all, when someone says "same franchise, only earlier", there's not much room for alternative interpretations.


As for your latest posting, well, that's fine, but it's largely irrelevant with respect to my original opinion since i did not have that information available then.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:23:25 PM

@Deaftone: actually, your article, now that I;ve read it, actually proves more my point than yours.

First, it says with respect to licensing, it's not connected to DC's cinematic universe, which isn't relevant.

Second, it says it's not connected to Superman vs Batman, which is fine because that production isn't connected to Nolan's universe at all.

Third, it says it's very similar to Nolan's universe but that Nolan isn't involved, but we all now that much and his involvement isn't required to make conflate it with his universe, as, again, Ridley wasn't involved in Cameron's Aliens.





I agree that this production isn't officially/directly connected, but it is based on Nolan's world, not Burton's and certainly not either the new movie or any of the recent comic books (last ten, twenty years).

So basically not officially a Chris Nolan production, but situated within his universe, at least in tone and style.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:24:03 PM

I've -actually.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 8:25:42 PM

-make.

""You remember that face I said I was making? Well I'm making it now."

--Fox Mulder

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved