WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Hint at "Captain America 3" Storyline, Will We See Psychotic Captain America?

Posted: March 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Hint at "Captain America 3" Storyline, Will We See Psychotic Captain America?Submit Comment
While promoting "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," writers Christopher Markus and Stephen McFreely spoke about the third installment, revealing that they're digging through the comic books for the new storyline.

"You can probably predict some of the threads we would like to pick up again that we've laid out," said McFreely. "And we always go back to the comics and look at anything we've missed in the last few years that might be relevant."

Markus added: "We've definitely set out on a more realistic road in the ['Captain America'] movies. So it kind of rules out Cap fighting the Dinosaur Man or something like that. There are a couple [storylines] we're playing with right now that we really want to take elements from. Which we'll not reveal. All I'm saying is psychotic 1950s Cap."

In the comics, Steve Rogers was frozen in the 1940s, but fought the Communists in the 1950s. It was later revealed that the person wearing Captain America's costume wasn't Rogers, but William Burnside, a man who was also injected with the super soldier serum. Unfortunately for Burnside, he experienced side-effects, eventually becoming insane and brainwashed to become the leader of the Neo-Nazi army.

Markus also mentioned that the writers didn't want to "bring back [Red Skull] so soon," hinting that the villain may return in the future. "I think it's fairly clear he didn't die in that first movie, but f*cked off into Wonderland."

Source: Den Of Geek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:08:31 PM


Nah, forget that. Let's just get down to brass tacks: Civil War.

By the time Cap 3 rolls around, audiences should have enough time with the Avengers franchise. That can't keep fighting robots and random bad guys from space forever. That sh*t gets repetitive. Civil War would be an evolution for Marvel into more high concept storytelling. And that can start with Cap's third outing.

minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:16:18 PM

^^How are you going to have a Civil War film series without one of the largest pieces of that puzzle, The X-Men?
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:17:30 PM

Psychotic Captain America? Screw that and channel all your angst into a proper Punisher film.
Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:22:47 PM


I honestly don't think Marvel will ever get X-Men back, at least not anytime soon. Right now Marvel has momentum with the Avengers. So I say, go for broke and make what they can of the best storylines.

That said, true, without mutants in the mix it would take a lot of the impact out of the premise. But if they can introduce enough non-mutant superheroes by then (powers or no) they can proceed with the Superhuman Registration Act on more general terms.

They could never do something Like House of M without the X-Men, but I think this one's worth a shot.

vincere01 writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:25:37 PM

I just want a civil war movie with xmen. I wanna see magneto just flatten the hell out of starks huge ego in a suit. I wanna see jackmans wolverine tear the rest if them to pieces.

Personally I feel like xmen 2 is still the best marvel based movie made. Still cant stand wheedon and his bullsh*t I hope they just ditch him sooner rather than later. Hes a one trick pony creatively(women character's matter most in everything) and I think he happened to fluke out the avengers and now he is on a do no wrong pedestal.

Mink, how you feel about nolan?? Wheedon is ten times worse for movies than he could ever hope to be.

Ill put memento, batman begins, inception, against anything wheedons got or will ever make
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:27:32 PM

Perhaps, but since the Civil War arc is all about, and nothing else, mutants against humans, not having The X-Men is going to leave a very, very large hole in that story, and with most of the characters Marvel is pushing, they'd have to fast-track quite a few mutant films, because as it stands, almost none of the their current roster could be classified as "mutant".

Hulk, maybe, but that's really it.

What would be cool is if Marvel offered FOX a cross-studio franchise buy-in for a Avengers-X-Men crossover, and I'd go for it, but as it stands, if anyone is going to do the Civil War arc, it's probably going to be FOX, not Marvel.
Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:28:47 PM


I don't think much of Whedon either. But The Avengers, as amateur-hour as it may have been, was at least one thing that no Christopher Nolan film has yet to manage: fun.

Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:30:17 PM


Well, than, f*ck it. Do Planet Hulk instead.

minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:32:11 PM

@Vince: Whedon? Not a fan. At all. Much of what he's done just isn't all that clever or artistic. Nolan, on the other hand, at least knows how to write engaging stories with depth. Whedon's stuff reminds me of Bazooka Joe comic strips. No substance.

And he tries too hard to liberally and transparently borrow from greater directors and superior material without him ever creating anything that could be seen as fresh and new, which he then says is his hallmark and defining feature, like having no original ideas is a virtue.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:34:31 PM

@Cannon: true. Nolan=better quality, but no fun. Whedon=fun, but lower quality. Cameron (young)=fun and quality.

What we need is another Cameron, or Spielberg, a guy who knows how to do fun in a technically artistic and demanding way. Someone who can blend entertainment with excellence.

Until then: comic books, reboots and left-wing Oscar bait.
Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 6:52:10 PM


I'm thinking Edgar Wright might be that very guy. Not certain, but maybe.

vincere01 writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:00:41 PM

@mink. Kubrick had little fun to his films in the general sense. I liken nolan to him. But I wont say they are on same shelf. But I am really interested in how nolans interstellar turns out.

I think his style will transfer well to space
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:15:21 PM

@Cannon: not really seeing Edgar Wright as the next Cameron. He's had some previous movies that were more original than Ant Man, sure, but now he seems to be bought and paid for by the studios.

Cammy, on the other hand, went his own way, even getting locked out of the editing booth during Piranha 2's production, just because he sought to do things his own way.

Even with Aliens, Cameron won the studios over, not the other way. His script, which was part Platoon and part epic horror, forcibly compelled FOX to give Cameron his first big directorship. Until then, Jim had done only Terminator, which was a relatively small production using unknowns and stop-motion. And to this day, when people say Alien franchise, they think of Aliens, which blew the doors off what had been up until that time a small, limited single horror film.

Cammy made it into a franchise, not Scott.




Wright has done his own, sure, but he's sold out. He may possess a technical artistry that's clearly lacking in other director's, like Whedon, but it appears he's now just another studio tool with no real power over the projects he helms, and no real desire to do his own thing. He has the talent, but not the vision or ambition, and certainly not the will, which is where Cameron's real strength resides.
Cannon writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:16:05 PM


I would contend that Dr. Strangelove, A Clockwork Orange, The Shinning and Full Metal Jacket had plenty of fun moments, albeit darkly. Kubrick was, among many things, an absurdist.

minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:21:49 PM

@Vincere: Nolan is more akin to Kubrick than Whedon, but I suspect people will probably remember Cuaron as more the inheritor of Kubrick's mantle than Nolan.

The thing about Nolan, compared to Kubrick, is that the latter was smart and smart enough for people to realize it without broadcasting that fact to the world, whereas Nolan feels compelled to scream his superiority as vociferously as possible, which is why I have far less respect for him than Kubrick. Doesn't also help that Stanley is the far more talented director.



As for Interstellar...well, space is a dark, cold and gloom place, so Nolan is probably a hell of a lot more at home there then here on earth where people do, however occasionally, laugh, smile and joke, with those being aspects of humanity sorely lacking in anything Nolan has ever made.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:23:55 PM

@Cannon: I think Vincere means fun in the popular, convivial sense, and not in the fantasist, satirical and surrealist sense.
vincere01 writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:35:52 PM

@mink

Correct as to my meaning.

In regards to nolan I like to think he has kept his films on the more serious side as he has been making a name/known product of himself. I honestly think he is trying to win oscars, and once he accomplishes that I think he will branch out into films with more "fun".

I liken this outlook as how bill murray and dicaprio have chosen to go as well.

Leo does not make any films that are not including great directors, scripts, high drama, and oscar hopefulness. And most importantly respectability. I think he specificly limits the roles he takes to ones like this because he does not want to lose his aura of respectability until he wins an oscar.

Then he will branch out and relax. I think he actually would be good in a comedy.

Same with bill murray and I think it is also the single biggest reason he wont do ghostbusters 3. He has left the ghostbusters, what about bobs, scrooged, groundhog days behind him. And will not return to fair of that kind until he gets an oscar.

Closest he will get is with wes anderson and those are more "artsy fartsy comedy" than anything else. Actors do win awards from those films and I think bill thinks he eventually will win in one of them
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 22nd, 2014 at 5:18:03 PM

I would hope that they don't go into Psycho Cap, since it's essentially a lamer version of the Winter Soldier arc.

I would expect Cap 3 to deal with the increased paranoia around superpowered characters that i speculate will start during Avengers 2, ending in Cap being "assassinated" by a superpowered criminal, resulting in Bucky to take up the mantle as the new Captain America, and investigating who was behind the hit.

Insert the return of the Red Skull, who was picked up floating among the universe by Thanos, sent back to Earth, and has started a secret Cabal of villains to take out the Avengers and take over the earth, since a full scale invasion clearly didn't work.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved