WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pacific Rim" Sequel May Still Happen

Posted: March 20th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pacific Rim" Sequel May Still HappenSubmit Comment
During a new interview, Legendary Pictures CEO Thomas Tull revealed that the studios is still interested in developing a sequel to Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim."

"We love being in business with Guillermo and frankly that movie did more business than the first 'X-Men,' did more than 'Batman Begins,' did more than 'Superman Returns,' 'The Fast and the Furious,' 'Star Trek.' So for a movie that was an original property it's done really well," he said. "It did north of $400 million globally and both the home video sales and the merchandise have [performed well], so it seems like fans really loved the world. So we're going to sit down with Guillermo and as long as we think it's authentic and there's something to say, we're certainly open to it."

We checked Tull's numbers and it's true, "Pacific Rim" grossed more than all the films he mentioned. What's interesting is that those movies went on to have follow-ups and those follow-ups earned two, three and four times more than the first movie. By that logic, it makes sense to move forward with "Pacific Rim 2."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 9:22:53 PM

Pacific Rim 2: Godzilla
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 9:26:00 PM

Yeah, but it's a lot easier to expect returns beyond the first film in the context of a well-established franchise like Batman and X-men. On the other hand, not so much for something like PR, especially if the bulk of your revenue comes from the CG spectacle and curiosity.

In other words, people know what PR is and what it looks like. Now are they going to return for more? Might want to gauge that interest first, ole wise studio.
sedibus writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 9:32:45 PM

wasted material, I had high hopes for Del Toro and Beacham as writers.

What an offensive movie this was.

Cool spectacle, but hell man, after watching it in the theater I felt I was robbed, somehow.

Yeah, the trailer from the Amazing Spider-Man 2 looks very visual and cool too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 10:25:06 PM

I loved the first one, bring on a sequel please.
sedibus writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 10:36:24 PM

Deaft0ne: I know what you mean, me too loved the first one, but for a reason it made me feel bad about the picture as a whole.

What I mean is, it is such a blalant rip-off, which is not that bad, but, I made me angry because I consider Del Toro a very capable artist in every sense.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 10:41:06 PM

Although I wish Del Toro would make Hellboy III first to finish out the trilogy. Ron Perlman has said that the draft he read is excellent and he'd like to do it while his body still allows it.
sedibus writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 10:49:17 PM

Yeah, of course. Hellboy III needs to be.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 11:40:32 PM

The movie didn't perform as expected because they had no known actors in the lead roles.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 11:55:11 PM

Pacific Rim 2- Rimjob Harder!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 11:57:02 PM

Neither did StarWars^

Unless you count Alec Guiness/Peter Cushing
vaodsi writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 12:56:44 AM

Pacific Rim also COST just shy of $200 million, not including adverts. The majority of the films he mentioned did not cos $200 million. F&F cost under $40 million and X-Men cost $75 million.
Still hope they make a sequel. It was dumb fun.

Superman returns cost over 200 million and that did NOT get a sequel, but a reboot.
sedibus writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 1:03:17 AM

Now that the doc*mentary of Jodorowsky's DUNE is out there some crazy f*ck should attempt and make that f*cking saga once and for all.

Not me, of course.
!JB! writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 4:03:15 AM

I liked Pacific Rim, I actually like all rimming.

!JB! writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 4:04:06 AM

I liked Pacific Rim, I actually like all rimming.

TheAmicko writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:42:36 AM

Why does the pic show 2 dudes rimming??? That's just wrong :-(
TheAmicko writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:42:40 AM

Why does the pic show 2 dudes rimming??? That's just wrong :-(
TheAmicko writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 7:45:25 AM

What about bass to mouth?
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 21st, 2014 at 9:47:44 AM

Either way, it'd be hard to come up with a not stupid premise for a Pacific Rim 2, since it ended kind of definitively, without any hint that the aliens survived.

Either way, the movie was still a lot of ridiculous fun to watch, and I'd probably pay for a second outing.
umamirama writes:
on October 24th, 2016 at 6:04:28 AM

konstruksi baja pipa jasa konstruksi gudang i http://www.fabrikasikonstruksi.com/ konstruksi kuda-kuda baja wf
umamirama writes:
on October 24th, 2016 at 6:06:21 AM

Daftar Harga Pipa Besi Hitam Medium Dari Agen Pabrik Daftar Harga Bondek Cor Ter Murah Distributor Pabrik Daftar Harga Pipa Besi Hitam Medium Dari Agen Pabrik
Daftar Harga Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 40 Dari Distributor Pabrik sentra besi baja Daftar Harga Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 40 Dari Distributor Pabrik
g
umamirama writes:
on October 24th, 2016 at 6:08:21 AM

undangan pernikahan islami undangan pernikahan islami >< undangan pernikahan islami undangan pernikahan islami
undangan pernikahan elegan undangan pernikahan elegan >< undangan pernikahan elegan undangan pernikahan elegan
umamirama writes:
on November 17th, 2016 at 3:18:17 AM

www.sentrabesibaja.com Daftar jual Besi Hollow Dari jual Pabrik
jual Besi Beton Daftar jual Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 40 Dari jual Pabrik
jual Besi H beam Daftar jual Besi H beam Yang Dijual Dari Pabrik Ke Agen
jual Besi Wf Info jual Welded Beam T beam King Queen Cross Castellated Beam
jual Pipa Besi Hitam Medium Daftar jual Bondek Cor Ter Murah jual Pabrik
jual Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 40 sentra besi baja
jual Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 80 Daftar jual Besi Unp Baja Profil Kanal jual Pabrik
jual Wiremesh Daftar jual Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 80 Dari jual Pabrik
jual Besi Hollow Daftar jual Plat Kapal Dari Pabrik Ke jual
jual Besi Cnp Profil Baja Gording Daftar jual Atap Spandek Sni Dari Supplier Pabrik
jual Besi Unp Baja Profil Kanal Daftar jual Plat Besi Hitam Dari Supplier Pabrik
jual Jual Besi Siku Baja Daftar jual Jual Besi Siku Baja Dari Supplier Pabrik
jual Plat Kapal Bki Krakatau Steel Daftar jual Pipa Besi Hitam Medium Dari Agen Pabrik
jual Plat Besi Hitam Daftar jual Wiremesh Yang Dijual Dari Pabrik Ke Supplier
jual Plat Bordes Kembang Daftar jual Besi Wf Dijual Dari Pabrik Lewat Supplier
jual Atap Spandek Sni Daftar jual Plat Bordes Kembang Dari jual Pabrik
jual Bondek Cor Daftar jual Besi Beton Yang Di Jual Dari Pabrik Ke jual
jual Welded Beam T beam King Queen Cross Castellated Beam Daftar jual Besi Cnp Profil Baja Gording Supplier Pabrik
jasa konstruksi jual laptop asus
jasa konstruksi baja jasa konstruksi baja wf
jasa konstruksi gudang jasa konstruksi jembatan
jasa konstruksi gedung jasa konstruksi bangunan
www.husnialbardani.com www.husnialbardani.com
www.mrosidin.com www.cerahcollection.com
jual laptop asus murah jual laptop asus murah

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved