WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jurassic World" to Bring Back "Jurassic Park" Actor

Posted: March 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jurassic World" to Bring Back "Jurassic Park" ActorSubmit Comment
In a new interview with IGN, "Jurassic World" director Colin Trevorrow revealed that the new film will bring back a "Jurassic Park" actor to reprise his role.

"I know a lot of fans want to see the original characters back. But I respect those actors too much to shoehorn them into this story for my own sentimental reasons," he explained. "'Jurassic Park' isn't about the bad luck of three people who keep getting thrown into the same situation. The only reason they'd go back to that island is if the screenwriters contrived a reason for them to go."

Trevorrow continued: "But there is a character from the first film who makes sense in our world. This hasn't been announced yet, but BD Wong will be returning as Dr. Henry Wu. He had a much larger role in the original novel [by Michael Crichton]. He was the engineer of this breakthrough in de-extinction. He spent two decades living in Hammond's shadow, underappreciated. We think there's more to his story."

The director also spoke about Chris Pratt's role in the film, comparing him to the characters from the original film. "He's a classic hero in a very modern context," he said. "He's the guy who will get you through the jungle alive -- but like Malcolm, Grant, and Sattler, he's an expert in a scientific field that's connected to our story. The character allows us to explore some new ideas about our relationship with these animals, without losing the humor and sense of adventure. He's a great contrast for Bryce Dallas Howard's character, who starts off very corporate, very controlled. Until the running and screaming starts. Then they need each other."

"Jurassic World" is set to hit theaters on June 12th, 2015.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 1:56:30 PM

"I know a lot of fans want to see the original characters back. But I respect those actors too much to shoehorn them into this story for my own sentimental reasons"

A rarity, unlike Disney/Abrams.




minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 2:11:34 PM

Pfffft, Colin's reasons stink of sh*t.

The only reason they're bringing back the Asian guy is to help sell this movie to the Chinese.

Stop lying already.
minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 2:23:49 PM

@Cannon: FOX made three films that didn't have one of the original actors, so what's the big deal they're bringing them back to tie in the new films, which occur after the first original trilogy, to help blend the mythos?

You think they should make a new Star Wars film set after Jedi, but omit all of the original Jedi cast?

And if they did that, you folks would be bitching they're sh*tting all over Lucas' best films.

Jeez.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 2:28:37 PM

I'm excited to see what they can do with this movie. I've always loved the Jurrasic park films.
Cannon writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 3:30:38 PM

Cannon: FOX made three films that didn't have one of the original actors, so what's the big deal they're bringing them back to tie in the new films, which occur after the first original trilogy, to help blend the mythos?

Because their story is done. Bringing those characters back less out of genuine inspiration and more for nostalgia and mythos blending ends up diminishing them and their closure in the 6th film. The mythos of the fictional universe in question can be maintained well enough with story point continuity.

"You think they should make a new Star Wars film set after Jedi, but omit all of the original Jedi cast?"

Why not?

"And if they did that, you folks would be bitching they're sh*tting all over Lucas' best films."

I'm not you folks.

minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 6:36:50 PM

"Because their story is done"

Uh, says who? You? Lucas and Disney totally disagree. They seem to think there's more story to all of them, and to be perfectly honest, I want to see what happened to them post-Jedi. Pretty sure a LOT of people, fans old and new, are interested in seeing where those three characters will go, although most would say the new films should concentrate on new characters...
minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 6:41:42 PM

"I'm not you folks."



No, you're far too special, unique and...special to be part of "you folks". I forgot. My bad.


"Why not?"

Because we did that dance already. Remember The Phantom Menace, the Clone Wars and Revenge of the Sith? Pure CGI trash. Wooden acting. Terrible, terrible characters.

At least with the 7th film, we can FEEL like we're returning to the original trilogy, like coming home, instead of continuing the abomination that was, is the second trilogy.

I think they're doing the right thing, at least with respect to the spirit of what Star Wars so damned popular to begin with.



But hey, carry on with that knee jerk cynicism.
Cannon writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 7:00:42 PM

"Uh, says who? You? Lucas and Disney totally disagree."

Disney, yes. Lucas, not really. He had initial story treatments post Return of the Jedi but the fact is, he ultimately decided not to pursue them because, by his own words in later interviews and commentaries, felt that the storylines of those characters was thematically finished, and that Jedi was the strongest note to go out on concerning them. But even that aside...

"Uh, says who? You?"

Yeah, says me. It's my opinion. If Abrams, his writers and Disney have inspired ideas that would actually make it worth revisiting those characters, I'm at least open to it. But my judgment says otherwise. Abrams' storytelling choices with Super 8 and the two Star Trek reboots were nothing but cannibalizations of pop-culture for the sake of nostalgia and trying to ape movie moments of the past, while Kennedy/Disney have shown only their most generic intentions in pursuing Abrams to direct in the first place.

In short, I simply don't think the storytelling will be strong enough or interesting enough to outweigh the effect of seeing badly aged actors reprising their roles merely to appease the childhood memories of OT fanboys. If I'm wrong, great. I'm always ready to enjoy a good movie. I just don't it will be the case here.

Cannon writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 7:10:08 PM

"No, you're far too special, unique and...special to be part of "you folks". I forgot. My bad."

No, I'm just not some flippant generalization.

"Because we did that dance already. Remember The Phantom Menace, the Clone Wars and Revenge of the Sith? Pure CGI trash. Wooden acting. Terrible, terrible characters."

I disagree but, regardless, what does that have to do with these new films as they're being made by different people anyhow? There was ample opportunity to re-tap the spirit and enthusiasm of the OT while starting completely fresh characters and storyliines, without having to retread that which was already wrapped up nicely in the previous films.

minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 7:17:00 PM

@Cannon: that's your opinion and of course your welcome to it, but apparently Disney and others disagree, and to be honest, I think you're greatly exaggerating the amount of time Carrie, Toehead and Ford will have in the film, which from I've read won't be the majority.

As for Lucas, he seems to endorse what Disney has done, from what I can tell, and although perhaps his original stories post-Jedi didn't concern the cast and crew, it's highly unlikely if Jedi had had a direct sequel back in the eighties, Ford and company would have been jettisoned, an idea that seems highly unlikely since they were the core of those three films, and anyone would have expected them to return.

So what's the big deal? They're doing now what they should have done 25 years ago. And like I said, the main cast of the film will be new characters for a much younger crowd, as we've already seen.

As for Abrams, I'm really not a fan of anything he's done outside MI3. Not sure where he was going with that Super 8 crap. Should have just sucked off Steven Spielberg instead.

His Star Trek movies are awful imo, and although they try to ape TOS, they absolutely lack not only the spirit of Roddenberry but also the brains of thoughtful sci-fi. They're loud, stupid, bright vomitorious carnival rides, and not thoughtful, engaging films. But I've said that for years.

Most of all though, I blame the ST scripts, because nothing in Abrams, outside his inveterate use of lens flares, tells me he cannot direct, and from a cinematographical viewpoint, his direction is well done, although he certainly lacks the artistry of many more talented filmmakers like Kubrick and even Singer, who although tends towards dry projects does have a excellent handle on camera composition.

Abrams is, in short, a competent director and he has a mind for sci-fi, which I respect and admire, as I've previously said, and if Disney hones the hell out of their script and keeps in check Abram's penchant for blinding the audience, Star Wars 7 will do fine, at least compared to the trash of the second trilogy, which is some of the worst high-budget film-making I've ever had the misfortune of seeing.



Finally, the addition of some "old" actors will deliver to the film some much-needed contrast and help bridge it to the middle epic arc, which is what's needed imo.
minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 7:17:40 PM

what.


OMG I'M TIRED AS f*ck.
Cannon writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 7:35:31 PM

@Cannon: that's your opinion and of course your welcome to it, but apparently Disney and others disagree...

Well, obviously, nor do I expect them to take Episode VII back to the drawing board because of some comments I posted on WP.

"..and to be honest, I think you're greatly exaggerating the amount of time Carrie, Toehead and Ford will have in the film, which from I've read won't be the majority."

Hopefully, that will be true. But in a way it only emphasizes the trivialness of bringing them back at all, reminding audiences that they're only seeing a fan service a la The Expendables instead of something worthwhile. Again, I might be wrong, but I'm just not feeling the direction they're taking here.

"As for Lucas, he seems to endorse what Disney has done..."

I'm sure he does because, why not? They're no longer his films and he has no real reason to harp or object when his involvement is really nothing more than honorary to begin with.

"...and although perhaps his original stories post-Jedi didn't concern the cast and crew, it's highly unlikely if Jedi had had a direct sequel back in the eighties, Ford and company would have been jettisoned, an idea that seems highly unlikely since they were the core of those three films, and anyone would have expected them to return."

Probably, yeah. My only point is that no direct sequel was made by Lucas, partly for reasons mentioned.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 10:05:10 PM

I JUST SAW THAT MOTHERf*ckER AT MY KAISER PHARMACY
Jaros428 writes:
on March 19th, 2014 at 11:39:04 PM

Would have liked to at least see Malcolm, but if he says the story doesn't call for them, then, whatever. Perhaps some sort of cameo may happen.
Whitta writes:
on March 20th, 2014 at 2:11:10 AM

Just put Jeff Goldblum in there somewhere for god's sake.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved