WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel NOT Working on Female Superhero Movie, Captain Marvel Being Considered

Posted: March 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel NOT Working on Female Superhero Movie, Captain Marvel Being ConsideredSubmit Comment
While promoting "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," Marvel head Kevin Feige was asked about the studio's plan to make a film focusing Black Widow, the female superhero played by Scarlett Johansson.

"I think [Black Widow] has a central leading role in ['Captain America: The Winter Soldier']," he said. "What people are really saying is 'When are you doing a standalone female superhero movie?' The answer is: I don’t know. We only do two [films] a year, we know more or less what's coming up through 2016/2017. With Widow what's great is the interaction with all the [Avengers] team members, and the question is whether we want to pluck her out of that."

Feige continued: "I'm very proud of the way the Marvel movies handle the female characters who are in all the movies we are making, as opposed to feeling the pressure of 'When are you doing a female movie?' We’re exploring a lot of Widow, and that's going to continue with 'Age of Ultron' in a big way."

He went on to say that even if Marvel wanted to make a Black Widow movie, there wouldn't be a reason to do so. "If we do a 'Black Widow' movie after 'Age of Ultron,' when she's been central in three or four movies, I don't think we'd get the credit for it. People would say 'She's already a big giant superhero!' But if we had a great idea, we'd do it."

When asked if there's another female superhero that Marvel would actually want to see in a standalone film, Feige replied: "If we're going to do a [film with a female lead, we would choose a] new character, do an origin story. We've talked a lot about [Captain Marvel]. I think that would be very cool."

Source: Badass Digest


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 5:56:42 PM

Warning: date() [function.date]: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. Please use the date.timezone setting, the TZ environment variable or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected 'America/New_York' for 'EDT/-4.0/DST' instead in ..../includes/class_core.php on line 1130
Database Error Database error
The WorstPreviews' Movie Talk database has encountered a problem.
Please try the following:

Load the page again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
Open the www.worstpreviews.com home page, then try to open another page.
Click the Back button to try another link.

The www.worstpreviews.com forum technical staff have been notified of the error, though you may contact them if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 6:06:38 PM

Uh oh. DC sees their opening.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 6:15:21 PM

Yet another reason for the haters to hate DOFP:


http://movies.yahoo.com/news/x-men-days-future-past-unleashes-very-brady-194600917.html




Is Mr. Magoo doing the marketing for this film?
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 6:16:48 PM

"well,yeah,maybe because 95% of female super hero movies flop."

How many female superhero movies have they made? Not many. So the sample set is incredibly small which means no one can extrapolate any meaningful trends.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 7:00:26 PM

Super girl and Elektra yea that's about it

At least SG tried to broaden the universe
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 7:05:47 PM

I'm sorry can't believe I forgot catwoman and tank girl
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 7:07:58 PM

*Hermann, if I may don't give them any more ideas. Mr. Magoo
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 7:27:38 PM

@Biz: 99% of all people can name only Elektra and Catwoman. No one else even knows of the other two, which were made a long time ago.

Tank Girl, featuring the frightening dyke from Point Break, was filmed two decades ago, and Super Girl three decades ago.

Only Catwoman and Elektra are modern films, and one was a deliberate heap of sh*t and the other was made to capitalize on Garner's then-current sexual appeal.

Up until this point, no one, and I mean no one, has tried to make a proper female-led comic book movie, and I have a difficult time understanding why Marvel doesn't have the balls (pun intended) to nail (pun intended again) one down before someone else does, like Image, or Dark Horse, or some Down Syndrome kid down the street with his busted 8MM Sony Camcorder.

And maybe, just maybe, if they all fail, DC.



Perhaps after so many successes, Marvel's afraid of failing.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 9:13:48 PM

Lol in only remembered the first 2. I googled for then other two never watched tank girl tho. And I agree marvel may want to keep platings safe at least for now they are finally giving us three new solo films tho so everybody else has the time to risk it. And it won't be dc that's for sure. They're going to try gal out first which sucks cause if a studio was to take a different superhero approach on a female (lead at least) role they may succeed.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 9:18:14 PM

Someone suggested Carano, and I can certainly see that working. They'd have to slip the costume in, and her backstory, perhaps, but then it could work, especially if they made her more like Thor, and make Amazonia some kind of alter-dimensional realm instead of a modern-day fictional Greek-Roman-esque all-woman empire.

Yeah, I could see it working, and Aquaman too, but unfortunately the morons at DC/WB have only one way of viewing their characters, and that's via Nolanvision.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 9:19:16 PM

Not to change the subject but American horror story to be 1950's carnival-ish themed
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 9:23:02 PM

Yes f*cking Nolan started out cool and finished sh*tty

And yea she's got the look down and if they went alternate dimension then it could lead to man hunter and many more but that will never happen in our lifetime
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 9:49:06 PM

@Rambo: don't go all d*ck on me. You know what it means. You're not stupid. It basically means to peruse existing data (past and present) and then derive from that data the (future) data you do not have.

Like if I said "for every day the last eight years, WP has crashed like a drunken whore". Then from that large and consistent data sat I could predict (extrapolate) that tomorrow, and next week, WP will crash like a drunken whore, aka Alex's mother. The farther I go out, of course, the more likely (the larger possible errors) in my extrapolation.

Of course, Alex's mother will always be a drunken whore, regardless.
elrei writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 10:34:41 PM

The Fifth Element it's kinda a female superhero movie.
sedibus writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 10:52:53 PM

The Fifth Element is a Rip-off of The Incal, well, maybe not, but, it sometimes feels like that, I recently saw it, as a matter of fact.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 11:09:32 PM

@Rambo: I think they call that dustinitis.
boogiel writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 11:31:38 PM

A good lesbian porn is way much better than a female superhero movies.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on March 17th, 2014 at 11:40:04 PM

The only female "Superheroes" to do decent at the box office are video game characters after men get to play with them, control them, and make them do their bidding via remote control.

Tomb Raider

Resident Evil

...
TheAmicko writes:
on March 18th, 2014 at 4:13:50 AM

"she's already a big giant superhero" who talks like that.... Is the head of Marvel 6 years old. Lol.
!JB! writes:
on March 18th, 2014 at 4:26:41 AM

Bullit you give this site aids you fat repulsive piss soaked c*nt.
Feeno writes:
on March 18th, 2014 at 6:14:58 AM

Captain Marvel is the Female Superhero, ya f*ckin mong
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 18th, 2014 at 8:09:01 AM

Good, now write her out of all the Marvel films and we will have a winner.
!JB! writes:
on March 18th, 2014 at 6:53:45 PM

^^ Faggot alert

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved