WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Liam Neeson Explains Why He Turned Down James Bond Role

Posted: March 10th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Liam Neeson Explains Why He Turned Down James Bond RoleSubmit Comment
While promoting his new action film "Non-Stop," Liam Neeson spoke about why he turned down the chance to play James Bond. This was nearly two decades ago, when the producers eventually went with Pierce Brosnan. They considered Neeson, Mel Gibson, Sam Neill and Hugh Grant.

Nesson explained that producers were very serious about handing him the franchise, but it was his late wife (then girlfriend) Natasha Richardson (The Parent Trap) who persuaded him against taking the job.

"I was heavily courted, let's put it that way, and I'm sure some other actors were too," he explained. "It was about 18 or 19 years ago and my wife-to-be said, 'If you play James Bond we're not getting married!' And I had to take that on board, because I did want to marry her."

Source: Hull Daily Mail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 4:28:48 PM

Imagine how awful Hugh grant or psycho sideshow Mel would have been
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 4:35:52 PM

Neeson would have been great as Bond just as he's great in everything he's ever done that I've seen. He just has that class and dedication to his work that makes him worth watching.

Gibson would have made a fantastic villain, especially if he were allowed to leave Bond voice messages...
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 4:43:51 PM

Stapes writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 4:44:49 PM

A good followup up question might be why she was against the idea of him playing Bond.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 5:18:59 PM

neeson is always great in everything he's in regardless of how good or bad a movie is
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 7:01:51 PM

Glad everyone here loves neeson. Cause I agree with everything said. He's such a great actor, I haven't seen him in a bad movie lol He always gives 110%
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 7:17:39 PM

Liam Neeson is always fantastic in every film he does. If you can find it, watch his Charlie Rose interview when Schindler's List was released.
nowtheresabatman writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 7:43:41 PM

liams a wanker fagg for not taking the job and his wifes a right ole c*nt
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:06:08 PM

@stapes said it right.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:15:21 PM

^^Yep. Except the interviewer never asked the question and Liam didn't volunteered any further info.

We'd all know that much if Alex had posted more of the interview...
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:17:39 PM

Nowtheresafagboy is the worst troll ever.
elrei writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:26:18 PM

WAY off topic:

SPOILER ALERT!

http://geektyrant.com/news/post-credits-scene-spoilers-from-captain-america-the-winter-soldier
!JB! writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:28:16 PM

If anyone is low on protein I am sure a straw in Bullit's ass will do the trick you are bound to find a warm pool of sperm up his piss soaked ass.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 8:47:49 PM

@Elrei: thanks for that, but meh.

Expect your news to headline here tomorrow, though.
elrei writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 9:12:04 PM

@Minkowsky

Could be possible that they kill Captain America by the end of the movie?
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 9:45:11 PM

@Elrei: I doubt that since the rumors going around is that Captain America is to replace Iron Man as the lead in Avengers, at least symbolically. He could die though in Avengers 2, and I actually think they'll kill someone off in that film. Could be Caps, for which they could bring him back in a third film. But that's just speculation. I really don't know.

I also read Nick Fury would die in Winter Soldier.




Anyway, no, I don't think he'll die. I think that's just the way it was written in the article to which you linked. I don't think the past tense wording means Caps will pass on and I doubt Marvel would do that anyway, not with Winter Soldier leading right into Avengers 2.

Cheers.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 9:47:29 PM

@Rambo: I forgot all about that Dark Man scene until you mentioned it. Reminds me of Michael Douglas' role in Falling Down wherein you see him, via the television, forcing his kid to ride a plastic horse (iirc). Almost the same angry reaction, too.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 10:44:08 PM

@Rambo: Rachel Ticotin. And I agree. Robert Duvall's scenes mostly sucked, especially the ones dealing with his super-annoying wife and the big-haired prick who got sucker-punched near the end.

I guess Duvall's character was supposed to be the protagonist and the writers everything they could to make him likeable and sympathetic. Too bad everyone around him broke the film's beat, which was otherwise awesome.

I did like the jabs at modern culture, though, like the stoogish Latino gangbangers and the way the one patrol cop felt Douglas' wife was a mean-spirited c*nt. Too bad the film didn't poke more fun at ethnic stereotypes, although the super-sensitive Japanese cop gave me a momentary laugh.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 10:44:42 PM

*did.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 10:59:12 PM

True, true, but he did make Phone Booth and Flatliners, so the skill and talent is in there, but it seems his perverse side often prevails. Other non-terrible Shchumacher films: Bad Company, The Client and 8MM.

So...lots of talent, he just doesn't always use good judgement.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:10:52 PM

No, it doesn't, not because I hate gays but because Schumacher does everything he can to shove it in your face, like the Nazi-queer scene in Falling Down, which was more like propaganda then anything else. And of course his homoerotic takes on Batman.

Most of his films, though, don't possess gay subtexts, not that I've noticed, so again it comes down to that whole bad judgment thing.

I did enjoy Flatliners. What a weird movie. And Kiefer is always good, although I became a fan in retrospect after seeing him in 24.

Speaking of which:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2576841/Action-man-town-Kiefer-Sutherland-rushes-London-Jack-Bauer-films-scenes-24-Live-Another-Day.html
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:22:57 PM

You're a dirty man, Rambo. lol.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:45:25 PM

lol.


Here's a good one:

minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:47:40 PM

@Rambo: that damned plane? Who knows? Could have been terrorism, could have been a simple malfunction like the one that brought down Flight 800 (which was the inspiration for Final Destination, which was originally titled Flight 180 and started off as an X-Files script).

We'll know if and when they find the black box.

One thing's for certain: everyone on board is dead.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:49:48 PM

Seems the ringing phone thing isn't as much a mystery as it appears

http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/missing-jet/malaysia-airlines-passengers-phones-ringing-maybe-not-n49371
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2014 at 11:57:00 PM

I like mystery, Rambo, but it has to make sense. Just throwing a bunch of weird incongruous sh*t out there to me isn't mystery. Just look at Prometheus, which is as about mysterious as you can get and yet makes no real sense.

Mysteries are like puzzles and all the pieces have to fit together logically. Lost fails that condition, although so does The X-Files, but I give it a pass because it's far better written than Abrams' baby-man moneymaker.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 12:19:35 AM

Now I'm the one Zzzzzz'ing.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 12:44:28 AM

PORN-FLY writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 1:19:40 AM

WHERES MY FRIGGIN Darkman:The Animated Series?!?
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 1:20:12 AM

maybe when Neeson gets too old^
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 1:46:31 AM

@rambo

Falling down is a pretty kick ass flick lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 2:49:04 AM

I just got up to piss and drink some water.

A few things:

It is very bizarre how this plane seemed to have just vanished into thin air. Maybe it hit a black hole or something and went into an alternate dimension. I don't think any trace of the plane will ever be discovered. Something paranormal occured.

2- Kiefer is always a good actor to watch and season 9 of 24 will be cool.

3- go back to bed!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 2:58:39 AM

4. Hell's Kitchen Thursday^
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 3:16:58 AM

5. Ita not unusual at all. I can't tell you how many times I've gone from - Watching Say X-Files to - "Hey I know that actor!" to - "oh my god he was in that".

Then next thing I know I'm looking up facts on the spanish inquisition :P
!JB! writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 4:22:15 AM

@deaftone The plane got lost up McQueers *sshole
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2014 at 7:52:40 PM

Is it just me or does Upton have a serious lack of ass? I mean she's fine in every other area but no ass is a serious...drawback.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved