WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New York Times Finally Corrects Its "12 Years a Slave" Story, 161 Years Later

Posted: March 5th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New York Times Finally Corrects Its "12 Years a Slave" Story, 161 Years LaterSubmit Comment
Back on January 20th, 1853, New York Times published an article about Solomon Northup, a freed black person who was kidnapped and sold into slavery. Later, Northup's memoir, "12 Years a Slave," was released. And then came the movie, which just won an Oscar for Best Picture.

Now that many people are aware of Solomon Northup and his story, it has come to light that the original 1853 article misspelled his name, writing "Northrup" in the headline and "Northrop" once in the body. The error has gone unnoticed for 161 years, but thanks to a campaign via Facebook and Twitter, New York Times just announced that it has corrected the mistake.

To read the full original New York Times article, click here.

Source: The Verge


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 3:09:05 PM

I'm guessing the name of that article's writer may have been Ginsberg.
sedibus writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 3:46:53 PM

hahaha, good one, Stapes.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 3:56:27 PM

This news equals Mink has graduated from the Wanking Academy as the Master Wanker of the f*cking Year!

Congratulations after these four years without real intercourse with a female person, Mink is our renowned champion here: may Satan bless you and your f*cking dead family!

Our true hero right here on WP!


Sleazy sh*t, go f*ck your dead f*cking mother in the ass!

Next time, I'll bring up your illegitimate f*cking daughter of yours. You motherf*cking c*nt!

lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:00:38 PM

Bullitt,

You high again?
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:06:54 PM

Please laugh with your retarded f*cking monkey of yours just because your your f*cking ego gets bigger every time you log on here.

The sleazy sh*t needs a far more inferior retarded monkey bitch just to boost his over-sized ego. f*cking fat bastard can't go through the door without help of his sucking d*ck monkey bitch!

Speaking of size: you are the N░1 super fan of ALL f*cking China, you Master Wanking Man.

I'll be hearing from you from the Honoris Cousa Wanking Department for the biggest achievemnt.

f*cking wanker!
lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:09:21 PM

^

HOLY f*ckING sh*t!!!
lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:11:42 PM

I am running through a list of illegal narcotics that could be responsible for Bullitts rantings. I have narrowed it down to Meth, Peyote, and angel dust.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:20:12 PM





M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:40:18 PM

Nope, perfectly fine, I'm just referring to his latest comments towards me and it's FUN!

Next thread will be about his non-existent sex life: I'll prove to anyone that it is not human not to get laid after TWO f*cking years!

Take this very primarily example for an easy f*ck like Crambo: he said he'll f*ck the fattest chick after midnight so No One will dare to touch with a broomstick and yet he managed to finger it just because Nobody will. And that Master Wanker is doing it: Brother in Arms after midnight.

f*cking Bloody Wankers!

Not to mention his retarded c*cksucking f*cking monkey!

There you go!
lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:44:03 PM

Uh,

That wasnt really an argument AGAINST you being high as a kite. It certainly was FOR it though.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:47:22 PM

Amazing. A typo from a century and a half ago has finally been corrected. Yes. Thank god for that because we were all sitting around waiting for someone, someone somewhere to fix it.

In other news: no one cares.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:55:13 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:47:22 PM
Amazing. A typo from a century and a half ago has finally been corrected. Yes. Thank god for that because we were all sitting around waiting for someone, someone somewhere to fix it.

In other news: no one cares.

No One f*cking Cares!!!!

Yeah' In other news Master Wanker:

Why don't you f*ck your dead mother in the ass?

Next one will be about your f*cking daughter, you f*cking c*nt! How about that?
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:57:57 PM

I'm going to enjoy that you worthless primitive f*cking c*nt!

See you tomorrow you f*cking ass monkey!
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 5:07:51 PM

Everyone on this website is clinically insane.

Anyone else notice that little fact?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 5:21:11 PM

Oh my! What a travesty. How devastated must his relatives at that & how grateful they are now.

Crock of sh*t!
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 5:25:53 PM

Yep. A Facebook, et al, campaign to correct a one-letter mistake regarding a slave's name as found in a New York Times article written in 1853.


That's white people for you. Stupid to the end.

nowtheresabatman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 5:31:50 PM

this bulllitt guy sound like he has some mejor issues but the story makes me yawn. im stupid like that.
Quidd writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 5:57:09 PM

Don't worry Bullitt. I haven't had sex with a female in over three years either. But that's cause I prefer c*ck.
nowtheresabatman writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 6:03:19 PM

homosexuality is where mentally f*cked up people go to die from hiv
BillyBunter writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 6:58:46 PM

Another day at the worst previews insane asylum. Bipolar seems to be the number 1 metal disorder of choice with our fellow commenters.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 6:58:48 PM

I just saw the trailer for black Annie and wanted to poke my d*ck with swords
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:24:30 PM

Mink- Exactly, i was just about to say: who really gives a sh*t? It's been over 100 years and people still cared enough to start Facebook pages? Seriously lolá

Lawman- I'd go with peyote.

Billy- This isn't going anywhere. It'll be like this till the last day of WP. When mink dies and the world explodes!

Bullit- Honestly. You make zero sense sometimes lolá

Also: just saw Non-Stop. Was actually pretty good. Tanman Recommendsá
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:30:23 PM

@Tanman: I haven't recently made a single critical statement in Bullitt's direction, so I have no idea why he's attacking me. In fact, one of his latest posts was on the Oscars page wherein he said a post of mine was spot-on. Other than that, I laughed at JB's recent antics, but I didn't mention Bullitt.

So don't blame this one on me.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:32:14 PM

@Tanman: if you give me a photo of you grinning and displaying a thumbs up, I'll make it into a little virtual sticker you can attach to your "Tanman Recommend" posts.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:40:04 PM

@tanman someone said it recently on another post that if I wanted real movie news I would go to a better site. It's the hilarity of the community on here that keeps me coming back. And the odd decent bit of movie talk when everyone is on the same page.
vincere01 writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:44:42 PM

Now the Academy needs to go back a few days and correct its mistake of making this film best picture. Then all will be right
vincere01 writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 7:46:12 PM

It was just a bunch of black people getting all bent out of shape because that typo all the sudden was meant to be a way for the newspaper to be racist without being racist like they did it on purpose. f*cking bullsh*t waste of time and money on all accounts
thinkvideo writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 9:14:32 PM

Yes but now we're all even for the slavery thing.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 10:46:22 PM

Just wondering why anyone has a problem with them correcting the article? What's wrong with being right and having some editorial and historical integrity? Seriously think about how many of us rake Alex over the coals every time he drops one of his infamous grammatical errors. Now imagine that happening in a major national publication with important historical context. If anything they just might not want to look like fools with something that should get them praise.

PORN-FLY writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 10:51:55 PM

@Tanman: if you give me a photo of you grinning and displaying a thumbs up,while twisting your Canadian Ham nipples suggestively I'll make it into a little virtual sticker you can attach to your "Tanman Recommend" posts.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 10:52:55 PM

Not really all that different than James Cameron changing the stars in Titanic.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 6th, 2014 at 1:31:52 AM

Mink- I wasn't blaming you lol I was joking and Lmfao That sound like a great idea

Billy- Completely agreed. It'd be boring if everyone wasn't talking and sociallizing the way we do lo

Porn- Mhmmm Bacoonnn
!JB! writes:
on March 6th, 2014 at 5:40:59 AM

Notice that gutless Kerr called Bullit only strikes when I am not around, he was obviously sucking piss from some old man's c*ck last night making him go on a mink rampage. Seems someone is getting a weeee bit annoyed then?
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2014 at 3:51:38 PM

@Sac: because the error in question happened 160 years ago and was done only out of both political-correctness and white people's sickening need for spiritual atonement for "crimes" for which they played absolutely no part.

Cameron changed the stars because he's a perfectionist fruitcake, because Titanic is semi-historical in nature and the astronomical error is a scientific one.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2014 at 3:52:08 PM

*the correction.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved